210 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Xiaomi Xiaomi Mi A1 - A Pure Stock Android Experience V1, Discussion & Opinion - OREO UPDATE!

lleihuan
post Oct 11 2017, 12:22 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Oct 11 2017, 12:16 PM)
ah I see. So A1 really does not have a music player installed in the phone when bought?
have to install music player to play music from storage if dont wanna upload and stream from Google Music?
cry.gif
I think it is good to move and store in google music.you can access it on all devices.you do not
have to spend too much on sd card.And you can store FLAC songs instead for mp3.This is 2017,
do not think people still listen to MP3 anymore(my personal view)
technosakai
post Oct 11 2017, 12:39 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Oct 11 2017, 12:22 PM)
I think it is good to move and store in google music.you can access it on all devices.you do not
have to spend too much on sd card.And you can store FLAC songs instead for mp3.This is 2017,
do not think people still listen to MP3 anymore(my personal view)
True. It has its advantages. But then it requires data to stream music. Luckily I dont listen to music often from my phone.
But Malaysia is not entitled for music subscription on Google Music yet right?

has anyone tried using Spotify on A1 and use Google Assistant to open playlist?
Saw MKBHD use Google Assistant on Pixel to play his playlist from spotify.
Or is it because he linked his Spotify to Google Music?

This post has been edited by technosakai: Oct 11 2017, 12:44 PM
lleihuan
post Oct 11 2017, 01:24 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Oct 11 2017, 12:39 PM)
True. It has its advantages. But then it requires data to stream music. Luckily I dont listen to music often from my phone.
But Malaysia is not entitled for music subscription on Google Music yet right?

has anyone tried using Spotify on A1 and use Google Assistant to open playlist?
Saw MKBHD use Google Assistant on Pixel to play his playlist from Spotify.
Or is it because he linked his Spotify to Google Music?
You can use wifi if data usage is a concern.
you do not have to listen directly from the phone if sound quality is an issue.
Many options-
use Bluetooth speaker or
Chromecast Audio attached to any old speakers

I did not renew my Spotify Premium account.Sorry, can't test.
Because I used Google Play Music for playback from
either Mi A1 or Google Home using Google Assistant.
The voice command for both devices is the same.Example "Play Adele from my playlist".
Works perfectly.
azhar75
post Oct 11 2017, 01:38 PM

17,220 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Oct 10 2017, 05:20 PM)
so google play music is actually streaming and not playing from storage?
sorry, didn't use google play music before although i have it on my Honor 6.  laugh.gif
QUOTE(lleihuan @ Oct 11 2017, 11:03 AM)
yes, streaming only.Apple has something similar in iTunes match but has to pay.
Actually, we can store all music in the micro SD card or internal eMMC storage.

In Google Play Music, just create a new Playlist and link the musics to this new Playlist.

I've also triggered the "OK Google" voice command to launch the Google Play Music and play the desired playlist accordingly. See image below for "Shortcut" command in Google Assistant settings:

This way, we can have unlimited playlist and give voice command to play whichever playlist(s) we want OFFLINE without worrying data/broadband connection...

GPM is actually very powerful and handy if we know how to tinker with it...we can "link" Google Assistant to connect with our Spotify account if we wish, as shown below:

Another tips for GPM, see YouTube below:

technosakai
post Oct 11 2017, 01:42 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Japanties @ Oct 11 2017, 12:59 PM)
or u can put those file in the 'podcasts' folder.then it will appear in the stock player liao...i just tested yesterday
so no need to stream?

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Oct 11 2017, 01:38 PM)
Actually, we can store all music in the micro SD card or internal eMMC storage.

In Google Play Music, just create a new Playlist and link the musics to this new Playlist.

I've also triggered the "OK Google" voice command to launch the Google Play Music and play the desired playlist accordingly. See image below for "Shortcut" command in Google Assistant settings:

This way, we can have unlimited playlist and give voice command to play whichever playlist(s) we want OFFLINE without worrying data/broadband connection...

GPM is actually very powerful and handy if we know how to tinker with it...we can "link" Google Assistant to connect with our Spotify account if we wish, as shown below:

Another tips for GPM, see YouTube below:

This is a very good tip and info. Thanks bro! thumbup.gif
azhar75
post Oct 11 2017, 01:43 PM

17,220 posts

"OK Google" voice command is very handy and powerful...start using it now and you'll be glad to have stock Pixel-like device ...

Unfortunately, for MiA1, Google Voice command can't wake up from standby or deep sleep mode. So, still need to have the phone wake-up manually. This is where Pixel is better than Android One.

This post has been edited by azhar75: Oct 11 2017, 01:53 PM
alucard89
post Oct 11 2017, 02:51 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Oct 11 2017, 01:43 PM)
"OK Google" voice command is very handy and powerful...start using it now and you'll be glad to have stock Pixel-like device ...

Unfortunately, for MiA1, Google Voice command can't wake up from standby or deep sleep mode. So, still need to have the phone wake-up manually. This is where Pixel is better than Android One.
Other than pixel & motorola, what other (cheaper) phones that can wake up for google voice command on standby?
KeSToN
post Oct 11 2017, 03:08 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Oct 11 2017, 11:46 AM)
is it good to put your phone directly expose to the car air cond there?

it will become pretty cold, but when u take your phone from your car, i scare it will generate some moisture in your phone and make your board short circuit.
QUOTE(Wolgie @ Oct 11 2017, 11:27 AM)
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/lates...evices-27289716

This magnetic will faulty our phone?
Just buy 1 from 2 ringgit shop.. lol
i used to use that magnetic thingy on my mi4
no issues with moisture entering or short circuiting the phone
cause if play pogo, can get overheated, so putting there helps cool it down

i ask one of the phone shop fellas, they told me there is a risk of spoiling the phone battery since the magnetic charge is there. idk true or not. maybe someone with better experience can comment on it

now change to mi a1 phone, i use the hook/ring type instead of magnet type at the back of the phone

azhar75
post Oct 11 2017, 03:22 PM

17,220 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Oct 11 2017, 02:51 PM)
Other than pixel & motorola, what other (cheaper) phones that can wake up for google voice command on standby?
We can root the device and cook Pixel ROM....
eadec
post Oct 11 2017, 03:23 PM

480 posts

Just bought an unit From qoo10

wish can get it two days later
alucard89
post Oct 11 2017, 03:58 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Oct 11 2017, 03:22 PM)
We can root the device and cook Pixel ROM....
But would affect the battery life greatly?
Since it will always be on standby for voice command
azhar75
post Oct 11 2017, 04:29 PM

17,220 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Oct 11 2017, 03:58 PM)
But would affect the battery life greatly?
Since it will always be on standby for voice command
It will but those pro-cook in XDA should be able to iron it out... with the help of 10nm SoC (7nm in the making...) and neural engine tech in the SoC (I'm looking at you, Kirin 970), the efficiency will be boosted....
tenchi0205
post Oct 11 2017, 08:08 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

Pink is in the house rclxms.gif Not mine...
TSjovigrunge
post Oct 11 2017, 08:27 PM

2,607 posts

Under MI affordable phones, we can always change newer models. If next year they launch Mi A2, just change to that model and sell this one! We won't rugi a lot one compared to those who fork out thousands on a smartphone device. brows.gif
ivandj
post Oct 12 2017, 05:08 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Oct 4 2017, 09:20 PM)
Vibration is a bit soft but I like the way it is.

I used for a few days now. Updated to September security update, unlocked bootloader and rooted. My usual SOT is around 4hrs 30min to 5hrs 30min when it hit 50% battery. The phone is very cool even when gaming, I think this is my first phone that is very comfortable to use for gaming.

I've tried to improve things on this phone but one things are clear, there is no camera2 API on it. I tried enabling it but it made all 3rd party apps unable to use any manual feature, no ISO, no shutter speed control.
Guide or links to unlock bootloader & root .
Btw can install TWRP ?
Najmods
post Oct 12 2017, 05:55 AM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(ivandj @ Oct 12 2017, 05:08 AM)
Guide or links to unlock bootloader & root .
Btw can install TWRP ?
Head over to Xiaomi Mi A1 xda and get the AIO tool v2. Follow the instruction. TWRP is still in developement, I dont recommend flashing it.
lleihuan
post Oct 12 2017, 09:22 AM

385 posts

Just for sharing purpose.
Ignore this if you do not need it.
Just got this for the Mi A1 yesterday.
All the Pixel 2-style features.
[attachmentid=9227875]
xiawei
post Oct 12 2017, 09:37 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Oct 12 2017, 09:22 AM)
[attachmentid=9227875]
how did you do that?

NtgBetterToDo
post Oct 12 2017, 09:37 AM

342 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 11 2017, 08:08 PM)

Pink is in the house  rclxms.gif Not mine...
wow.. where to get the pink one ? is it already official ? confused.gif confused.gif confused.gif
boneyM
post Oct 12 2017, 09:45 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Oct 12 2017, 09:22 AM)
[attachmentid=9227875]
You use third party launcher?

210 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top