Xiaomi Xiaomi Mi A1 - A Pure Stock Android Experience V1, Discussion & Opinion - OREO UPDATE!

lleihuan
post Sep 16 2017, 11:57 AM

385 posts

Agreed.Bought one this morning.Delivery next week.
Stock Android experience.
Pure Android Nougat out of the box.
2 future updates, Android Oreo and Android P and
free unlimited cloud storage on Google Photos.
With all this, I think it a good bargain.
lleihuan
post Sep 16 2017, 12:54 PM

385 posts

actually is the phone is running pure android.And Nougat is out for quite some time.
it's perfectly stable.nougat is rock stable.
lleihuan
post Sep 16 2017, 03:52 PM

385 posts

Xiaomi MiA1 Pure Android with unlimited google photos space offers means-

Unlimited storage is available for 'high-quality upload',
which means your photos will be compressed to 2k ish pixels.
This is for all users.

Xiaomi MiA1 gives unlimited storage for original quality photos.
That is the different.
lleihuan
post Sep 17 2017, 12:13 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Sep 17 2017, 11:06 AM)
Just purchased mine at rm919
Definitely better offer than any other shops right now
very good price.
lleihuan
post Sep 19 2017, 08:39 AM

385 posts

Google is selling its own high-end phones under the Pixel brand.
Android One devices are for bargain hunters looking for stock Android
software and reliable updates.
So if MIUI is your 1st choice, there are so many models to choose from.
lleihuan
post Sep 19 2017, 12:15 PM

385 posts

Received today.beautiful phone.
lleihuan
post Sep 19 2017, 02:12 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Sep 19 2017, 02:05 PM)
Damn i am considering buying ipong7 than this....
LOL look almost like iphone 7 plus
lleihuan
post Sep 20 2017, 08:51 AM

385 posts

A quick day one summary.
Mi A1 goals is trying to attract those who were staying away
from the Xiaomi ecosystem (MIUI).
Having stock Android over MIUI is definitely something
that will makes it a very reliable smartphone.

In low light(2X optical zoom) just too much noise.
Hope can improve this with software updates.
Other than this, good camera that is capable of taking great shots.

Battery life is strong, but not the best in this price bracket.
The back is a bit slippery, better buy some kind of skin or cover
for this phone.

The metal body and overall finish are superb and that makes it look premium.
Side by side next with the iphone 7 plus, the build quality is almost as good.

The display and overall performance are good.
The fingerprint reader is located at the back, and it works very well.

Expanded(max) using a Sandisk 128GB microSD card(as external)
on the second SIM slot.Supported.No problem.(very good
decision from Xiaomi)
But you cannot install apps on SD card.

AGAIN IT IS REALLY ABOUT THE SOFTWARE.
The most important about this phone is Android Nougat without any
skinning atop it.

*This are for those using Nougat for the first time.
Mi A1 is tall at 155.4 mm in length,comes handy when
Nougat features on the device include split-screen multitasking that
allows users to work on two apps simultaneously(By holding on the "recent
apps")on the bottom left.

Mi A1 isn’t groundbreaking, just worth the money.Its a steal.
It is just being the “Pixel on a budget”.
I think Mi A1 is probably the best looking smartphone Xiaomi
has ever built in "this price segment".

lleihuan
post Sep 21 2017, 09:20 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(Nog_1985 @ Sep 20 2017, 06:55 PM)
Anyone have idea how to disable the touch vibration...?
setting>language and input>virtual keyboard>gboard>
preferences>disabled-vibrate on keypress
lleihuan
post Sep 23 2017, 02:47 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(nmb3rs @ Sep 23 2017, 12:52 PM)
is the Mi 5x tempered glass and case compatible with Mi A1?
Bought a Nillkin's Tempered Glass Nillkin 2.5D,0.2mm for Mi 5X.
Hope it fits.
lleihuan
post Sep 28 2017, 09:20 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(bakajiat @ Sep 27 2017, 03:35 PM)
Anyone know how to get rid of the Google assistant and get back the Google now which long press the home button straight give u search thing instead of through noobie Google assistant, Google assistant is really unnecessary to me.

I try to untick this one, but it still Google assistant pop out after long press home button.
can please explain why Google Now works better than Google Assistance, for you?
I am using Google Assistance, and like to know the differences.
lleihuan
post Sep 28 2017, 11:26 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(bakajiat @ Sep 28 2017, 10:11 AM)
Because i need quick search instantly by quick activate the Google Now when something come in my mind . For me Google Now i more user friendly, as I say so is because I dont even i want search through speech, this is the main point. So I may conclude that Google Assistant does not help me,and yet make more troublesome or steps to proceed to where i want. Actually, it just based on individual usage to decide which one is better.
thanks for the explanation.
lleihuan
post Oct 2 2017, 09:07 AM

385 posts

Do not notice any major lag on the phone even though I have a lot of apps on it.
lleihuan
post Oct 9 2017, 02:04 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(Japanties @ Oct 9 2017, 01:35 PM)
i tested...cant add mp3 into it
btw i not using sd card
By any chance, did you try using music manager to upload to Google Play Music?
lleihuan
post Oct 9 2017, 03:48 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(Japanties @ Oct 9 2017, 03:43 PM)
not yet test
I guess so because it I think your Music Library is empty(from the way I look at it.Sorry if I am wrong)
lleihuan
post Oct 10 2017, 10:03 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(Japanties @ Oct 9 2017, 05:17 PM)
i dun wan to dl song...i wan to play my song in my storage.
You can play directly from Google Play Music from your Music Library.

lleihuan
post Oct 10 2017, 11:40 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(Japanties @ Oct 10 2017, 10:30 AM)
can not la...no add music tab........unless i upload all those music to the cloud,but yet to test
I see, so have not upload anything yet.Once you upload you will see something like this.
lleihuan
post Oct 10 2017, 12:12 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(Japanties @ Oct 10 2017, 11:45 AM)
mine shows nothing at all

maybe my mp3 is at 'ringtones' folder and not in 'music' folder
I think you have problems uploading.Maybe you can tell us what you have tried.
Then only some of us here may try to help you out.

Just to share (only for those who do not know)
Google Play Music allow you to upload 50,000 of your own songs onto
the cloud so that you can stream them from anywhere.The only requirement
that you have a google account.

lleihuan
post Oct 11 2017, 11:03 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Oct 10 2017, 05:20 PM)
so google play music is actually streaming and not playing from storage?
sorry, didn't use google play music before although i have it on my Honor 6.  laugh.gif
yes, streaming only.Apple has something similar in iTunes match but has to pay.
lleihuan
post Oct 11 2017, 11:14 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Oct 11 2017, 11:06 AM)
Google Music does have Spotify/Apple Music feature. It also allows you to upload 20000 songs of your own.

But Google Music does not have the Spotify/Apple Music feature in Malaysia. Thus you are streaming 20000 songs of your own now.
Yes.That is correct.Google Music only allow uploading of your own song.As mentioned in the earlier post.

0.0316sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:54 PM