4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Xiaomi Xiaomi Mi A1 - A Pure Stock Android Experience V1, Discussion & Opinion - OREO UPDATE!

technosakai
post Sep 21 2017, 09:09 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Sep 21 2017, 03:30 PM)
after played with it for about 6 hours.

I'm sad to say that no built in dual apps is a deal breaker for me as I need to use it badly.

Tried to install parallel space but it's just so lousy with all the disturbing ads.......

Guess will need to fork out few hundreds more for mi6?

anyway.

built quality good, colour nice
fingerprint slightly slow, but overall okay
camera should be better then my rn3
gps no problem at all

so for those who like stock android experience, you can go ahead and buy it.
no dual apps?
what do you mean by no dual apps? as in can't use apps side by side?
how is it different from dual space?
i thought its a feature for Nougat to have dual apps?
technosakai
post Sep 22 2017, 09:40 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(x-death-x @ Sep 21 2017, 09:23 PM)
That one split screen. Dual apps if you want to use 2 whatapps account for example. Because it come with dual sim slot
i see.. thanks for answering my question. Sorry if it's a noob question notworthy.gif
so overall this phone is quite good right?
Thinking of getting one too hmm.gif
technosakai
post Sep 24 2017, 01:43 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(x-death-x @ Sep 22 2017, 02:16 PM)
Its okay, no one know everything. You should do some research on pure android experience before jump to one. Some people don't like because they don't see feature that they already familiar with.
yeap. planning to go to directd and play with the phone.
thanks for the heads up biggrin.gif
technosakai
post Sep 27 2017, 10:44 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Japanties @ Sep 27 2017, 05:39 PM)
holy fak guyz
i get a watsapp....wan to click it then screen goes black liao......phone still got sound and stuff...just screen blk...how???
i cant remove the batt to restart it
QUOTE(Japanties @ Sep 27 2017, 05:44 PM)
oh ok liao....need to restart and guess where is the on screen button is... mad.gif
so how did you restart?
what actually happened to your phone?
technosakai
post Sep 28 2017, 11:23 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(Japanties @ Sep 28 2017, 05:30 AM)
since i can hear the phone un lock with my print,then i hold the power button few sec,then tab middle of the black screen ,then it restart liao.

it happen  when i got a watsapp then i tab on the notification few times,but cant open it (need to unlock the phone but i forgot) then it just go black after that...
How come like that bro? Is it because of the new update or because phone still buggy? :/
technosakai
post Sep 29 2017, 07:59 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(PrintScreen @ Sep 29 2017, 05:08 PM)
Just received my A1 yesterday. Here's my thoughts over a little of 24 hours of using the phone. Previously using a Honor 6.

-Build quality is generally solid. Design wise it does look like an iP7+ copycat but i don't really care/mind too much lol. Coming from a phone w/o a FP reader, i'm impressed with how quick the one on the A1 is. If i were to nitpick, the vol and power buttons does wiggle very slightly

-Display is good, nothing to complain. Gets bright enough for outdoor

-Performance is good. No major hiccups. Played some Asphalt 8 just to test.

-Stock Android is a breath of fresh air over the mess that is EMUI. Some improvements can be made though, e.g no control over the behavior of the navigation bar. App kiling is also not as agressive as EMUI.

-Can't gauge battery life cos I;m using the phone 100% wifi without a SIM yet. Now at 59% with 3h20m of SOT

-Camera is definitely IMO the weakest link, it is on par for the price but don't come expecting much more

Overall, for RM1099 i think its a decent buy, for RM919 i think should definitely consider . I paid RM949 for mine.
overall is it a good buy and worth the money?
I'm currently using Honor 6 as well. Battery started to swell up that even the back plastic is coming out from the frame. lol
I'm currently aiming for A1 too.. hmm.gif
just reading for more reviews while waiting for Huawei Nova 2I ( 4 cameras ) rclxub.gif

QUOTE(boneyM @ Sep 29 2017, 07:31 PM)
I tried to insert my headphone into the audio jack and I found that the connection is not tight and made the sound coming into the headphone distorted. Anyone encountered the same problem? Anyway, I am using ATH MX40 with the original cable provided by Audio Technica.
Did you try inserting it fully?
last time I tried new earphone also, thought i couldn't plug in my earphones. Turns out because I didn't push the jack in fully only sweat.gif
technosakai
post Sep 30 2017, 04:48 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(PrintScreen @ Sep 29 2017, 08:52 PM)
For me personally it was worth it. I had the rear panel popped up too, really uncomfortable to use because of the edges.

I kinda wish it was OxygenOS type of stock Android. On this phone even you if enable the battery percentage it's really hard to see at a glance so I just use an app called Energy Bar. Still, not a dealbreaker for me cause I much prefer the flat design of stock android tongue.gif

Battery should last much longer eventhough similar 3k+ mAh size, cos of the more efficient Snap625

Cant really review on camera cos I'm not big on photography sweat.gif but took a quick pic of my house this morning in bright light and i thought it looked really nice (w/ HDR)

Overall, im satisfied and no buyers remorse lol
Alright. Thanks for your input bruv. Might be getting this if my Honor 6 fail me soon.

QUOTE(boneyM @ Sep 29 2017, 10:51 PM)
Bro,you are right!! I thought I got a defect unit haha. Thank you anyway thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif . The phone's jack is much tighter than my Redmi 4's, that's why I thought I had it fully inserted doh.gif
No problem bro. Haha. Probably because phone is still new so the jack is a bit tight. How's the sound quality though? Most YouTube reviews said the sound is amazing and has built in amp
technosakai
post Oct 9 2017, 12:34 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(x-death-x @ Oct 7 2017, 09:26 PM)
Which telco you use? I'm using Maxis and my 4g not stable since last week
QUOTE(boneyM @ Oct 8 2017, 08:17 PM)
I'm having the same problem too. Btw, I'm using Celcom.
is it because of the band that maxis and celcom use?
from the xda review, they say that A1 is not really compatible with band 40 TDD-LTE.
so maybe maxis and celcom using the same band?

anybody here can help to confirm this problem? icon_rolleyes.gif
technosakai
post Oct 10 2017, 05:20 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Oct 10 2017, 12:12 PM)
I think you have problems uploading.Maybe you can tell us what you have tried.
Then only some of us here may try to help you out.

Just to share (only for those who do not know)
Google Play Music allow you to upload 50,000 of your own songs onto
the cloud so that you can stream them from anywhere.The only requirement
that you have a google account.
so google play music is actually streaming and not playing from storage?
sorry, didn't use google play music before although i have it on my Honor 6. laugh.gif
technosakai
post Oct 11 2017, 12:16 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Oct 11 2017, 11:06 AM)
Google Music does have Spotify/Apple Music feature. It also allows you to upload 20000 songs of your own.

But Google Music does not have the Spotify/Apple Music feature in Malaysia. Thus you are streaming 20000 songs of your own now.
QUOTE(lleihuan @ Oct 11 2017, 11:14 AM)
Yes.That is correct.Google Music only allow uploading of your own song.As mentioned in the earlier post.
ah I see. So A1 really does not have a music player installed in the phone when bought?
have to install music player to play music from storage if dont wanna upload and stream from Google Music?
cry.gif
technosakai
post Oct 11 2017, 12:39 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Oct 11 2017, 12:22 PM)
I think it is good to move and store in google music.you can access it on all devices.you do not
have to spend too much on sd card.And you can store FLAC songs instead for mp3.This is 2017,
do not think people still listen to MP3 anymore(my personal view)
True. It has its advantages. But then it requires data to stream music. Luckily I dont listen to music often from my phone.
But Malaysia is not entitled for music subscription on Google Music yet right?

has anyone tried using Spotify on A1 and use Google Assistant to open playlist?
Saw MKBHD use Google Assistant on Pixel to play his playlist from spotify.
Or is it because he linked his Spotify to Google Music?

This post has been edited by technosakai: Oct 11 2017, 12:44 PM
technosakai
post Oct 11 2017, 01:42 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Japanties @ Oct 11 2017, 12:59 PM)
or u can put those file in the 'podcasts' folder.then it will appear in the stock player liao...i just tested yesterday
so no need to stream?

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Oct 11 2017, 01:38 PM)
Actually, we can store all music in the micro SD card or internal eMMC storage.

In Google Play Music, just create a new Playlist and link the musics to this new Playlist.

I've also triggered the "OK Google" voice command to launch the Google Play Music and play the desired playlist accordingly. See image below for "Shortcut" command in Google Assistant settings:

[attachmentid=9224689]

This way, we can have unlimited playlist and give voice command to play whichever playlist(s) we want OFFLINE without worrying data/broadband connection...

GPM is actually very powerful and handy if we know how to tinker with it...we can "link" Google Assistant to connect with our Spotify account if we wish, as shown below:

[attachmentid=9224690]

Another tips for GPM, see YouTube below:

This is a very good tip and info. Thanks bro! thumbup.gif
technosakai
post Oct 16 2017, 07:16 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 16 2017, 06:42 PM)
Uninstall or turn off app notification.
what is cell broadcast?
first time hearing this term
technosakai
post Oct 16 2017, 10:31 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(eadec @ Oct 16 2017, 09:54 PM)
Please refer below.

Can't find the application notification...
meaning? mass send of sms?
im asking what is it, not asking how the notification is like whistling.gif
nvm.. dont have to answer me dy

This post has been edited by technosakai: Oct 16 2017, 10:34 PM
technosakai
post Oct 17 2017, 12:31 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Oct 16 2017, 11:16 PM)
Cell Broadcast/Cell Information (CB) messaging is a mobile technology feature defined by the ETSI's GSM committee and is part of the GSM standard. It is also known as Short Message Service-Cell Broadcast. (SMS-CB). Cell Broadcast is designed for simultaneous delivery to multiple users in a specified area.

now this is the sort of reply i was expecting.
I was asking what was cell broadcast and he replied me with an image of the notification.
Its like asking whether someone has eaten and that person reply you he's shitted.
like rclxub.gif
technosakai
post Oct 17 2017, 10:24 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Oct 17 2017, 01:56 AM)
Well I was trying to help by googling around.

Your question was What was cell broadcast?

The answer I found was

Cell Broadcast/Cell Information (CB) messaging is a mobile technology feature defined by the ETSI's GSM committee and is part of the GSM standard. It is also known as Short Message Service-Cell Broadcast. (SMS-CB). Cell Broadcast is designed for simultaneous delivery to multiple users in a specified area.

As for the image sample, consider that as a bonus of your question.  smile.gif
yeah i know. i googled too. so I assume it was like mass sending of sms at one time.
yup my question was what is cell broadcast. but that dude replied me with an image of his cell broadcast being on?
irrelevant to my question right?
your answer though was spot on. Thanks thumbup.gif
technosakai
post Oct 17 2017, 12:46 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(BudgetUser @ Oct 17 2017, 11:40 AM)
Hi Japanties. your info - my answer.. definitely asnwered my question!!!

Hi all.
Argghhh… Xiaomi A1 or Huawei Nova 2i ? Any Huawei Nova2i discussion thread in lowyat or review?

Front Camera: Nova2i?
Rear camera: Mi A1?
Performance: Mi A1.
Display: Definitely Nova2i.
Battery: Mi A1?
Android OS: Definitely Mi A1.
Price (value): MI A1.

What Else?

Thanks in advance! smile.gif
QUOTE(adix4 @ Oct 17 2017, 11:48 AM)
Mi A1 lar....

Nova 2i only aesthetics la

at the end of the day you still want performance related stuff

price range around 1k no need fikir jauh, just fikir about performance
right.. i was thinking between these 2 phones.
1k of course performance quite important. A1 is tempting for the pure android experience.
nova 2i display is tempting too.. hmm.gif
camera isn't a priority for me though.
which one should i get? rclxub.gif

technosakai
post Oct 17 2017, 01:28 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Oct 17 2017, 12:54 PM)
I think your key decision is will do you want an almost 6 inch screen in your palm or a 5.5 inch screen in your palm?

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Oct 17 2017, 12:56 PM)
Yeah yeah correct. Previous i use 5.0 inch, now i use 5.5 Mi A1. Feel very big.
( not suitable phone in toilet.  tongue.gif hard to grab 1 hand )
So u think about it, Nova 2i is 6inch.
both phones almost have the same size and dimension.
nova2i have 6 inch screen because of the 18:9 ratio whereas A1 have normal 16:9 i guess?
so yeah.. but from the geekyranjit camera comparison video seems like A1 camera is a bit lacking.
Colour are much brighter on nova2i. However A1 have better audio recording but that focusing though. Seems like its a common problem among Xiaomi phones where in video mode the camera keep on seeking focus points sweat.gif
technosakai
post Oct 17 2017, 02:39 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Oct 17 2017, 02:27 PM)
The reason why I don't buy Mi Max 2 is because of the too large screen size although I heard the GPS lock in is good.

If you want a bigger screen size, go for Nova 2i and pay a little extra lah. My focus is GPS lock in and pure Android (no pre installed rubbish apps). You need to know your focus is where? The camera, the screen or others. If you want all, go get a Flagship.  smile.gif
no money for flagship that's why im here nitpicking between nova2i and A1 cry.gif
technosakai
post Oct 17 2017, 05:23 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Oct 17 2017, 02:42 PM)
Everyone wants the best but in reality choose the function/s that you really really really going to use a lot!  smile.gif
right. Quite true. I think its time to compare these 2 phones in their specs.
If im not mistaken, A1 wifi is a/b/g/n/ac and nova2i is just 802.1 b/g/n?
correct me if im wrong.
will compare other specs and list here as well later.

Right. this is a comparison of the specs of the phones side by side

A1 l Nova2i
dimensions: both phones almost the same
display size: 5.5" LTPS l 5.9" IPS
battery: 3080 mAh l 3240 mAh
chipset: SD 625 8-core 2.0Ghz l Kirin 659 4x 1.7Ghz 4.2.36Ghz
Memory: 4 GB RAM 64 GB ROM
Camera: 1 wide angel 1 telephoto l 1x16MP and 1x2mp for bokeh only
Sensors: All the normal sensors l No gyroscope

this is just a brief summary. because other information are almost similar.

IMO, i think the A1 would perform better in terms of performance because of the pure stock Android and SD 625. I have never heard of Kirin 659, therefore do not know how well it will perform whereas SD 625 is already quite popular. rclxms.gif
A1 LTPS display is also a type of IPS, therefore probably wouldn't differ much with Nova2i's IPS display. biggrin.gif
A1 wifi also has all protocols but Nova2i only has b/g/n. ohmy.gif
1 thing that I don't understand is why Nova2i does not come with a gyroscope sensor. shakehead.gif

Currently, im quite veered towards A1 cuz of the specs. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by technosakai: Oct 17 2017, 05:45 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0882sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:13 PM