LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

Neo_Y
post Aug 25 2017, 02:25 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Honto @ Aug 25 2017, 01:47 PM)
Thanks for the explaination on the AWD. Is the stock sound louder in front than the back? Where does the installer tap the signal output? Is the back of the honda player have the signsl output for the amp?
Stock sound system is good enough actually, high and mid range is good, the only problem was low bass, it's almost non existent.
The stock head unit do not have RCA output (low level inputs) the installer spliced the input speaker wires to stock speaker wire (high level inputs) so to use the signal coming from the speaker outputs as an input source for the amplifier.
Neo_Y
post Aug 25 2017, 02:30 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(keane04 @ Aug 25 2017, 11:02 AM)
can share what is the damage? rough figure will do.
All in around 5k.

QUOTE(harryboy @ Aug 25 2017, 11:26 AM)
So do you hear more noisy ride if yr audio is off since you had disconnected the ANC?
Barely any different like before actually, ANC need a dedicated sub-woofer and our car do not have one.
(others country do come with high end sound system, there are sub-woofer originally equipped at the boot space area)

This post has been edited by Neo_Y: Aug 25 2017, 03:20 PM

Neo_Y
post Aug 25 2017, 03:07 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 25 2017, 11:05 AM)
Sorry to differ AWD not only for snow or off-road condition, raining or wet condition does help with AWD especially flash flood or sudden heavy rain at highways.

AWD vs FWD vs RWD
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hlnw2SUgY6U
Yes, it does help in wet condition, only when you're doing 150-200 km/h on freeway without turn on your traction control.
Would you ask yourself: should I hit the highway when it is pouring outside and my car only move with its front wheel?
When the car slipped and about to loss traction, there are traction control (Honda called Vehicle Stability Assist) come into play to bring the car back on track by applying the brakes to any individual wheel or adjusting the engine output.
This gen CRV also come with Agile Handling Assist (AHA), which basically identical to Mazda G-vectoring Control, it reduce engine torque and apply brake pressure on individual wheel during cornering.
So in wet condition, traction or stability control is more important than all wheel drive.

Also, the video you shown demonstrate the AWD traction with hot-hatch is actually inappropriate here.
Please refer to this link, this is how people test the ALL WHEEL DRIVE on SUV.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7B0VpJGdz40

The purpose of AWD in a hot hatch is differ from SUV because you don't speed and corner with your SUV.
Let's make thing simple, the purpose of AWD in SUV pull or push you out when you're stucked in snow or mud. It gives you extra traction during off road condition, when one wheel is stucked, it uses another wheels for traction and 4 is better than 2 in this case.

So now ask yourself, do you need AWD? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Neo_Y: Aug 25 2017, 04:15 PM
Honto
post Aug 25 2017, 03:17 PM

26 posts

Honda malaysia should provide the subwoofer for us like the current 2.4 accord have.
belfong
post Aug 25 2017, 03:37 PM

click clacking
864 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Aug 25 2017, 02:30 PM)
Barely any different like before actually, ANC need a dedicated sub-woofer and our car do not have one.
(others country do come with high end sound system, there are sub-woofer originally equipped at the boot space area)
That's a great place for a subwoofer actually! It's out of reach and it didn't take up any space. Wow, now I want one like that.
Yellow lemon
post Aug 25 2017, 04:11 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Aug 25 2017, 02:30 PM)
issh, for this price..... ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by Yellow lemon: Aug 25 2017, 04:16 PM
littlefire
post Aug 25 2017, 04:41 PM

2,716 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Aug 25 2017, 04:07 PM)
Yes, it does help in wet condition, only when you're doing 150-200 km/h on freeway without turn on your tracking control.
Would you ask yourself: should I hit the highway when it is pouring outside and my car only move with its front wheel?
When the car slipped and about to loss tracking, there are tracking control (Honda called Vehicle Stability Assist) come into play to bring the car back on track by applying the brakes to any individual wheel or adjusting the engine output.
This gen CRV also come with Agile Handling Assist (AHA), which basically identical to Mazda G-vectoring Control, it reduce engine torque and apply brake pressure on individual wheel during cornering.
So in wet condition, tracking or stability control is more important than all wheel drive.

Also, the video you shown demonstrate the AWD tracking with hot-hatch is actually inappropriate here.
Please refer to this link, this is how people test the ALL WHEEL DRIVE on SUV.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7B0VpJGdz40

The purpose of AWD in a hot hatch is differ from SUV because you don't speed and corner with your SUV.
Let's make thing simple, the purpose of AWD in SUV pull or push you out when you're stuck in snow or mud. It give you extra traction during off road condition, when one wheel is stuck, it uses another wheel for traction.

So now ask yourself, do you need AWD?  rolleyes.gif
The link i shared is to show that they are difference in wet condition (they are not racing & absolutely nothing in common in terms of power, torque or gearbox ) for different type of drivetrain and Subaru Impreza hatchback is not a hot hatch but rather a basic AWD system (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBQlK89PyxQ) to show that it does have its benefits compare to other superior FWD & RWD car. AWD is to transfer traction to each wheel efficiently and in wet condition it does help driver to control their vehicle more better compare to counterparts. The video it self does have lots of the driver comments of it and they also survived in their own vehicle with the electronic stability control on. Yes, 2WD with all the electronics can still save your life, but AWD will always have an upper hand during emergency as per mention above. Anyway Honda CRV 1.5T AWD should also have all the safety features add on except for the Honda Sense.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Aug 25 2017, 04:51 PM
wyshin88
post Aug 25 2017, 05:24 PM

105 posts

Today I finally found the time and test driven the new CRV 1.5 TC.

Overall Feel:
The new CRV is powerful (only tried the 1.5TC), and comfortable (the shock absorbed bums and pothole pretty well.) But the engine could be a little loud for my liking. No chance to try the 2.0 version so I couldn't compare. Other than than, cruised on highway for a short distance at 90pkh, the car is stable, can hear some road noise, but the engine is loud. Really love the power of this 1.5 turbo engine, comparable to my 5.2L V8 Jeep Grand Cherokee that I owned in USA 15 years ago.

The buttons of the steering wheel for phone and cruise are below my expectation, very plsatic, in fact they are plastic!!! But not a deal breaker. Steering is light, but does not feel like leather, very foamy. Reverse camera not as clear as I wished it could be.

Interior space is spacious, love the leather seat, nice design and comfy.

tankiasu
post Aug 25 2017, 08:10 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(wyshin88 @ Aug 25 2017, 05:24 PM)
Today I finally found the time and test driven the new CRV 1.5 TC.

Overall Feel:
The new CRV is powerful (only tried the 1.5TC), and comfortable (the shock  absorbed bums and pothole pretty well.) But the engine could be a little loud for my liking. No chance to try the 2.0 version so I couldn't compare. Other than than, cruised on highway for a short distance at 90pkh, the car is stable, can hear some road noise, but the engine is loud. Really love the power of this 1.5 turbo engine, comparable to my 5.2L V8 Jeep Grand Cherokee that I owned in USA 15 years ago.

The buttons of the steering wheel for phone and cruise are below my expectation, very plsatic, in fact they are plastic!!! But not a deal breaker. Steering is light, but does not feel like leather, very foamy. Reverse camera not as clear as I wished it could be.

Interior space is spacious, love the leather seat, nice design and comfy.
So are u gonna go for it? brows.gif
Neo_Y
post Aug 25 2017, 08:22 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 25 2017, 04:41 PM)
The link i shared is to show that they are difference in wet condition (they are not racing & absolutely nothing in common in terms of power, torque or gearbox ) for different type of drivetrain and Subaru Impreza hatchback is not a hot hatch but rather a basic AWD system (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBQlK89PyxQ) to show that it does have its benefits compare to other superior FWD & RWD car. AWD is to transfer traction to each wheel efficiently and in wet condition it does help driver to control their vehicle more better compare to counterparts. The video it self does have lots of the driver comments of it and they also survived in their own vehicle with the electronic stability control on. Yes, 2WD with all the electronics can still save your life, but AWD will always have an upper hand during emergency as per mention above. Anyway Honda CRV 1.5T AWD should also have all the safety features add on except for the Honda Sense.
I can't brain the bold statement. So you prefer Honda Crv AWD without Honda Sensing?
I think the AWD already have all the essential safety features (passive safety features), only without Honda Sensing (active safety features).
isMEheNG
post Aug 25 2017, 09:31 PM

98 posts

Dear all new CR-V owners,

I seriously consider to get the new CR-V, for the owners, do you mind to share the pros and cons for this latest gen CR-V smile.gif
belfong
post Aug 25 2017, 09:53 PM

click clacking
864 posts

QUOTE(isMEheNG @ Aug 25 2017, 09:31 PM)
Dear all new CR-V owners,

I seriously consider to get the new CR-V, for the owners, do you mind to share the pros and cons for this latest gen CR-V smile.gif
A little bit promo but I wrote about the pro in my blog
http://www.ringgit.me/2017/07/2017-honda-c...ers-review.html
isMEheNG
post Aug 25 2017, 10:18 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Aug 25 2017, 09:53 PM)
Great review biggrin.gif Thanks a lot
isMEheNG
post Aug 25 2017, 10:40 PM

98 posts

Anyone know where can get good rebate in klang valley area?
belfong
post Aug 25 2017, 11:23 PM

click clacking
864 posts

Got my wheel lock installed when sending it for 1,000km service rclxm9.gif
Sitting Duck
post Aug 26 2017, 12:30 AM

473 posts

Anyone installed the door protection film ? Is it useful ? Usually the inner part of the door handle get scratch easily. So wonder this door protection film offer as accessory going be any use or will it be plain ugly ? It only cost RM273 in Honda website.

tankiasu
post Aug 26 2017, 01:46 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Aug 26 2017, 12:30 AM)
Anyone installed the door protection film ? Is it useful ? Usually the inner part of the door handle get scratch easily. So wonder this door protection film offer as accessory going be any use or will it be plain ugly ? It only cost RM273 in Honda website.
I think u might be able to get four of those for less than RM50 outside. If u buy reasonably good quality ones they should be quite invisible.
Sitting Duck
post Aug 26 2017, 02:16 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(tankiasu @ Aug 26 2017, 01:46 AM)
I think u might be able to get four of those for less than RM50 outside. If u buy reasonably good quality ones they should be quite invisible.
Thanks. Didn't know it's selling outside. Any idea where I can them ?
Honto
post Aug 26 2017, 08:23 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Aug 25 2017, 09:53 PM)
Awesome review. What color did u get ? Did u upgrade the audio system?

belfong
post Aug 26 2017, 09:24 AM

click clacking
864 posts

QUOTE(Honto @ Aug 26 2017, 08:23 AM)
Awesome review. What color did u get ? Did u upgrade the audio system?
I went with Modern Steel and no, I have not upgraded the audio system yet.. I do have an older Alpine amp from the old car. I want to reuse that.

209 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:05 AM