209 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

johnnycp
post Nov 4 2017, 10:39 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjack228 @ Nov 1 2017, 01:50 PM)

Any one knows whats the bar in the middle for (below the average fuel) ? its moving up and down when driving, it doesn't feel like turbo boost meter  hmm.gif
Realtime fuel consumption meter. In kilometres per litre of fuel ( km/l)

If the bar go up means higher fuel economy
tankiasu
post Nov 4 2017, 05:12 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(kuanpoh @ Nov 3 2017, 01:23 PM)
wait for RX  brows.gif
Should wait for RV instead. Then u can sendiri draw a 'C' in front, then it looks like CRV d lor rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
wilsonjack228
post Nov 4 2017, 07:58 PM

Android .... best!!
1,112 posts

Driving the crv just makes me wanna drive at legal speed just to enjoy the quietness of the cabin.. Haha
Henry T
post Nov 4 2017, 08:35 PM

QUOTE(wilsonjack228 @ Nov 4 2017, 07:58 PM)
Driving the crv just makes me wanna drive at legal speed just to enjoy the quietness of the cabin.. Haha
As a bonus you will also avoid RM 300 summons. smile.gif

Btw, I signed up for the 2.0L NA this morning.

This post has been edited by Henry T: Nov 4 2017, 08:38 PM
belfong
post Nov 4 2017, 08:42 PM

click clacking
864 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjack228 @ Nov 4 2017, 07:58 PM)
I agree wholeheartedly, although there are people who claimed the engine noise can still be heard.
voncrane
post Nov 4 2017, 08:49 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Nov 4 2017, 08:42 PM)
I agree wholeheartedly, although there are people who claimed the engine noise can still be heard.
It's a fact not simply claims.. Even if you don't believe it.. Go watch Malaysian Bobby Ang's review video and listen.. Can be clearly heard. I experienced it too. Instead you should say the noise does not bother you.
wilsonjack228
post Nov 4 2017, 09:25 PM

Android .... best!!
1,112 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Nov 4 2017, 08:42 PM)
Well the engine noise is minimal unless u fussy about it.

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 4 2017, 08:49 PM)
It's a fact not simply claims.. Even if you don't believe it.. Go watch Malaysian Bobby Ang's review video and listen.. Can be clearly heard. I experienced it too. Instead you should say the noise does not bother you.
Yes the engine sound do intrude the cabin when u step on it but nothing much we could do, it's a cvt, it's like training us to step on the pedal lesser.. Haha
johnnycp
post Nov 5 2017, 10:42 AM

600 posts

What the heck u guys talking about lol. Tell me which car has zero engine noise intrude the cabin lol
voncrane
post Nov 5 2017, 03:03 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjack228 @ Nov 4 2017, 09:25 PM)
Well the engine noise is minimal unless u fussy about it.
Yes the engine sound do intrude the cabin when u step on it but nothing much we could do,  it's a cvt, it's like training us to step on the pedal lesser.. Haha
I rented a Vios for a couple days and it’s engine noise within the cabin is much quieter than the CRV. That was minimal. Sat in other cars that are even quieter. I do agree with your last statement. It’s an unexciting CVT that’s further hampered by the car’s weight & dimensions. Perhaps a diesel or better hybrid is required.

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Nov 5 2017, 10:42 AM)
What the heck u guys talking about lol. Tell me which car has zero engine noise intrude the cabin lol
Ye completely missed the point.
ancnw
post Nov 6 2017, 11:23 AM

78 posts

No car in this price bracket ticks all the boxes in my opinion. The tiguan... good chassis, but they didn't spec their better engines in Malaysia. The CX5, hmm for me no adaptive cruise and no android auto/carplay otherwise its really tempting. The CRV.. well yeah its a bit noisy when you wind it up according to reviewers. I guess i'll just have to imagine the honda engineers allowed the drive train to resonate to make you think its speedier. But CVT's have their advantages too. So I guess weigh it all up and see which takes your fancy.

My question to those with the sensing package, how is your experience? Does it work well in the malaysian urban setting with cars cutting into your lane? How well is the adaptive cruise on the highway with the lane assist and steer back.

Is the cvt covered for the 5 year warranty? Don't hear much about CVT failure on the crv. But I think it'd be pretty expensive to replace if you if it breaks down or needs repair. What do you all think?
wilsonjack228
post Nov 6 2017, 11:33 AM

Android .... best!!
1,112 posts

QUOTE(ancnw @ Nov 6 2017, 11:23 AM)
No car in this price bracket ticks all the boxes in my opinion.  The tiguan... good chassis, but they didn't spec their better engines in Malaysia.  The CX5,  hmm for me no adaptive cruise and no android auto/carplay otherwise its really tempting. The CRV.. well yeah its a bit noisy when you wind it up according to reviewers.  I guess i'll just have to imagine the honda engineers allowed the drive train to resonate to make you think its speedier. But CVT's have their advantages too.  So I guess weigh it all up and see which takes your fancy.

My question to those with the sensing package,  how is your experience?  Does it work well in the malaysian urban setting with cars cutting into your lane?   How well is the adaptive cruise on the highway with the lane assist and steer back.

Is the cvt covered for the 5 year warranty?  Don't hear much about CVT failure on the crv.  But I think it'd be pretty expensive to replace if you if it breaks down or needs repair.  What do you all think?
I love the sensing icon_idea.gif when in those long jam I would on the low speed follow but distance you need to put longer innocent.gif just for some space for car cutting and for me to break just in case tongue.gif but you need to either press resume or pedal if u stop for more than 5sec safety feature i guess . Overall is lesser hectic during jam with the sensing. rolleyes.gif

And I just got my first paint chip on the hood cry.gif its tiny though but still blush.gif

This post has been edited by wilsonjack228: Nov 6 2017, 11:35 AM
andres_hcs
post Nov 6 2017, 11:39 AM

The RED Devil Is Back In Town !!!
1,749 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjack228 @ Nov 6 2017, 11:33 AM)
I love the sensing  icon_idea.gif  when in those long jam I would on the low speed follow but distance you need to put longer  innocent.gif just for some space for car cutting and for me to break just in case  tongue.gif  but you need to either press resume or pedal if u stop for more than 5sec safety feature i guess . Overall is lesser hectic during jam with the sensing.  rolleyes.gif

And I just got my first paint chip on the hood  cry.gif  its tiny though but still  blush.gif
ouch! should have gone for coating. my other car had the same experienced hence the CRV has to go for coating else will be cry.gif though may not entirely immune but it will help. take care bro console.gif
wilsonjack228
post Nov 6 2017, 12:37 PM

Android .... best!!
1,112 posts

QUOTE(andres_hcs @ Nov 6 2017, 11:39 AM)
ouch! should have gone for coating. my other car had the same experienced hence the CRV has to go for coating else will be  cry.gif  though may not entirely immune but it will help. take care bro console.gif
Was thinking of doing coating but why waste money when I like to diy polish and wax my car laugh.gif all my car previously none being wash outside, I treat them like precious diamonds rolleyes.gif biggrin.gif . Anyone bought window shades for our rides ? saw the ninja shades/smart shades but their design I don't really like, the magnets part stick to the door frame and wedge together with the rubber seal, might leave a mark hmm.gif . Groovy kinda expensive sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wilsonjack228: Nov 6 2017, 12:37 PM
andres_hcs
post Nov 6 2017, 02:57 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjack228 @ Nov 6 2017, 12:37 PM)
Was thinking of doing coating but why waste money when I like to diy polish and wax my car  laugh.gif all my car previously none being wash outside, I treat them like precious diamonds  rolleyes.gif  biggrin.gif . Anyone bought window shades for our rides ? saw the ninja shades/smart shades but their design I don't really like, the magnets part stick to the door frame and wedge together with the rubber seal, might leave a mark  hmm.gif . Groovy kinda expensive  sweat.gif
cool if i have your patience i will too but haha devil.gif

i wanted to try those shades but saw some comments the rear one does not fit properly hence gave up and since the tinting is alright so far so just leave it
Neo_Y
post Nov 6 2017, 04:07 PM

219 posts

Indeed there are engine or transmission noise when accelerate or you stomp the gas pedal.
But when you didn't press the throttle or the rpm stay below 2.5k, the noise is almost none.
Before that, should you learn more about the characteristic of the CVT, it will stay at lowest rpm as possible for normal cruising, hence, minimal noise.
CVT plus Turbo, simply mean maximum torque at early rpm, 3k rpm already can handle most of the road easily.
That being said, one who drove slowly and carefully can really enjoy dead silent cabin, why not?

Test drive? kick down lah.
andres_hcs
post Nov 6 2017, 04:33 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Nov 6 2017, 04:07 PM)
Indeed there are engine or transmission noise when accelerate or you stomp the gas pedal.
But when you didn't press the throttle or the rpm stay below 2.5k, the noise is almost none.
Before that, should you learn more about the characteristic of the CVT, it will stay at lowest rpm as possible for normal cruising, hence, minimal noise.
CVT plus Turbo, simply mean maximum torque at early rpm, 3k rpm already can handle most of the road easily.
That being said, one who drove slowly and carefully can really enjoy dead silent cabin, why not?

i believe it all depends on own personal driving habit. i totally agreed with your comments as I casually drove average below 2.5k (just like Uncle la you know) and stays to the slow lane and i can barely hear any noise

but if long distance travel (for example my trip to Johor) the tires can be noisy (and engine slightly roaring during overtaking but very minimal) still bearable i guess
voncrane
post Nov 6 2017, 07:15 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Nov 6 2017, 04:07 PM)

I’m well aware of the characteristics of a CVT with and without turbo. Test drove the top spec CRV and 2.0 CX-5 back to back in the same city with similar roads and the same highway. Not to sound like a broken record, while the CX-5’s 2.0 engine was somewhat underpowered, the CRV was much noticeably noiser and severely underpowered. Wouldn’t even bother comparing it with the 2.5 or 2.2d. I put up a mini-report on my findings earlier. In summary, none of these vehicles are perfect, but the CRV desperately needs better soundproofing and engine power. As for dead silent cabin? That’s near impossible with either. I use “near” cuz the istop does provide a silent cabin... That’s hybrid, PHEV & EV territory only. A CVT wouldn’t dare.. biggrin.gif
johnnycp
post Nov 6 2017, 07:30 PM

600 posts

What is the FC u guys getting ? I drive 90% city 10% highway only managed to get 12.5km/l for 3600km distance. Weekend I only managed to get between 16.1km/l and to max of 18km/l.
wshoh
post Nov 6 2017, 08:13 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjack228 @ Nov 6 2017, 12:37 PM)
Was thinking of doing coating but why waste money when I like to diy polish and wax my car  laugh.gif all my car previously none being wash outside, I treat them like precious diamonds  rolleyes.gif  biggrin.gif . Anyone bought window shades for our rides ? saw the ninja shades/smart shades but their design I don't really like, the magnets part stick to the door frame and wedge together with the rubber seal, might leave a mark  hmm.gif . Groovy kinda expensive  sweat.gif
Same view here on the coating being a waste of money when maintenance (ie weekly wash) is still required and there being no protection against chips. I am happy with DIY hand wash and using spray wax when drying car. Don't like sending car out for washing because you still need to spend time waiting around in the time you can finish it yourself plus it is good exercise.

I have the Groovy shades and as I was an early bird, received the non-fitting 'C' shades which have subsequently been replaced early this month (November 2017). The Groovy management apologised profusely for the error and I didn't make a fuss. Don't know about the quality of the Laser shades (if at all available from local Malaysian resellers) and the imitation ones (Amerguard and Ninja). The quality of the Groovy shades seems fine - sturdily build and of thick fabric though my front driver's window shade is a little 'spoiled' (ie bottom part sort of creased unreversibly resulting in a non-obvious tiny 1x10 mm? gap at the bottom) from having been squeezed by the power windows when wound up, probably due to having brushed the shade slightly outwards when reaching for parking ticket. The Groovy shades are pricy but already spent RM2.2k for 3M Crystalline window tint and decided that spending another RM440 (being 20% of that cost) is worth it for maximum heat rejection - 70% VLT tint has its limitations.

Reckon you can sell the groovy shades for half price when the time comes to sell the car...
wshoh
post Nov 6 2017, 08:31 PM

176 posts

Will agree that the noise is there on hard acceleration. However, for the CR-V main target market (family SUV), the noise is seldom heard as the typical family-minded driver will not accelerate hard often.

So unless you accelerate hard (c/f light foot/gradual acceleration) all the time or regularly drive above 120 kph, it ought be a niggling issue affecting only a small portion of drivers -> car enthusiasts.

As for Bobby Ang's reviews, after many views of his various youtube videos, kind of grown tired and unsubscribed because...ahem...his comments are too subjective, IMHO. He obviously gravitates towards the CX-5 for its driving experience. But I reckon a vast majority of CR-V owners buy it for the size/roominess (TWO (2) full size child car seats fit easily and you can still pull down the rear passenger arm rest) and engine performance (which I think is respectable enough for its category) is just a bonus.

209 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0259sec    1.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:54 PM