31 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Against pirated games CD/DVD?, Government says No to Pirated CD/DVD!!

TSalzert
post Apr 4 2007, 10:23 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(asmly14 @ Apr 3 2007, 03:25 PM)
I still support original game, but it's hard to get the latest game on the shelf when released.
Ya i'm agree with him coz not all title really out in Malaysia like Cultures/Cultures2/Northland and 8th Wonder of the World from THQ. Onli hot title will pre-order at Malaysia others title not famous hard to find in any pc games shop....sometimes pirated gt what title games u wan but not original......not mean i support pirated cd/dvd coz it spread virus/gt hacking tool inside
dattebayo
post Apr 4 2007, 11:27 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(nukienemec @ Apr 4 2007, 09:47 AM)
as a 2nd notion, i would like to stress out that all pc games developer in US, UK and europe should set up shop here in malaysia. localise pc games. employ local talent like me and others from public or private university. and pay us good salary. like rm2000 for fresh grads. and for 1 year working experience rm2500 and above would be nice.  biggrin.gif

i demand that the government controlled by pak lah should look into this at once and abide by my bidding. may god bless us all. last but not least, long live pirated cd, always, forever and ever...until the time where originals pc games are priced at rm20 - rm30. ok la rm40 can made do too, but i still prefer rm10.  thumbup.gif
because all the games we are so insane about, are being developed in North America and Europe, and being published by US based companies. Eventhough EA has its base on singapore and hk, its games pricing there are still the same as US after conversion, with ebay as reference whistling.gif ... same to microsoft here, they have a base in MY, but never see them offering vista ultimate for 199.00

once again, its either you can blame RM or income rate in malaysia is just too low, that used to be 1 USD = RM3.00 something, before 1997...

of course, theres much more things that is overpriced, like cars, liquors, cigarettes
Cheesenium
post Apr 4 2007, 01:58 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Hornet @ Apr 2 2007, 11:47 PM)
Lets be realistic here. How many of us actually, honestly buy original game just for the sake of supporting developers? Next to none I'd say..
I did that for Dawn of War.Bought pirated for the first and fell in love with this game.After that,original all the way.Im doing the same for DoW2 and UT2007 too.

For me,i only buy pirated if i have no confident to the developer in delivering a good product.If not,i'll save till i have enough for an original copy,exactly like what am i doing for C&C3.I have confident in EALA to bring me a good game.

QUOTE(zonlee @ Apr 3 2007, 08:23 PM)
RM 100 buy 1 game or 10 games
which 1 you choise ?
I rather spend 100 on a good,functional game that 10 broken and limited feature games.

QUOTE(nukienemec @ Apr 4 2007, 09:47 AM)
as a 2nd notion, i would like to stress out that all pc games developer in US, UK and europe should set up shop here in malaysia. localise pc games. employ local talent like me and others from public or private university. and pay us good salary. like rm2000 for fresh grads. and for 1 year working experience rm2500 and above would be nice.  biggrin.gif

i demand that the government controlled by pak lah should look into this at once and abide by my bidding. may god bless us all. last but not least, long live pirated cd, always, forever and ever...until the time where originals pc games are priced at rm20 - rm30. ok la rm40 can made do too, but i still prefer rm10.  thumbup.gif
Actually,Codemaster have a studio over here.I got no idea what are they working on now in our local studio.

RM40 is ridiculously too cheap.I dont think that amount of money will be enough to pay back the developer for their investment.

Think of the game developer,they have put so much effort to making a game and you still want to get pirated.These poor guys work about 12 hours a day,7 days a week and 365 days per year.Get original to support and appreciate their effort.RM100+ is little compare to the hard work that they have put in.Pity them for gawd sakes.
johnnycp
post Apr 4 2007, 02:22 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Apr 3 2007, 08:39 PM)
RM 100,000. Buy 1 sedan car or 10 stolen cars.

Which one you choose?
that's very good point. the price of ori game in malaysia is cheaper than what is selling in Australia. The price of ori game which is below RM120 is fair price for me. All my games now is Ori, but i cant afford the Ori OS and software. They cost hundreds, thousands, esspecially the Microsoft Office and Photoshop.
Cheesenium
post Apr 4 2007, 02:35 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Apr 4 2007, 02:22 PM)
that's very good point. the price of ori game in malaysia is cheaper than what is selling in Australia. The price of ori game which is below RM120 is fair price for me. All my games now is Ori, but i cant afford the Ori OS and software. They cost hundreds, thousands, esspecially the Microsoft Office and Photoshop.
Same for me,no ori software for me but im finding freewares to replace the pirated bits.
soggie
post Apr 4 2007, 02:44 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Apr 4 2007, 02:22 PM)
How much are they selling in australia? Have you factored in their average monthly income? Factored in relative prices? Factored in living cost and affordability?
seyuripa
post Apr 5 2007, 09:27 AM

246 posts

I actually prefer buying original games...more quality,means won't spoil easily but for pirated although it is cheap ,it onli can play for not more than 3-5 times...then totally cd can't run anymore.....
N original games u can easily get warranty n some technical support to solve the problem.............u can also go online for most of the games nowadays to play multiplayer (not for pirated because pirated can't play no cd key can't register)
As i know,most of the original games the box inside sure got 1 simple guide book for the user n sometimes even hav soundtracks cd for tat game onli....all these u can't find in buyin a pirated cd......

but 1 thing tat pissed off mi is everytime when i bought an original for a certain game,n few days ltr when u saw there r ppl who selling pirated cd for tat game....(realli heart-broken)....feel like buyin 1 piece of tat cd jus for breakin it mad.gif

psyhun
post Apr 5 2007, 09:53 AM

62 posts

Well, I can answer one of the above........

New PC games generally sells for AU$99.90 (RM279.72)....... same goes for PS2, Wii, Gamecube, Xbox........

Xbox360 games goes around AU$109 and PS3 goes around AU$118.......

However, sometimes new games starts off cheaper than usual, around the range of $10-$30...... these are sometimes when they're on a limited discount sale or the game didn't do very well overseas before coming in here.........

On a side note..... the C&C3 Kane Steelbook Edition is not available for purchase here, which is why I got my friend to get it for me in M'sia......
king_kong
post Apr 5 2007, 09:57 AM

371 posts

QUOTE(seyuripa @ Apr 5 2007, 09:27 AM)
I actually prefer buying original games...more quality,means won't spoil easily but for pirated although it is cheap ,it onli can play for not more than 3-5 times...then totally cd can't run anymore.....
N original games u can easily get warranty n some technical support to solve the problem.............u can also go online for most of the games nowadays to play multiplayer (not for pirated because pirated can't play no cd key can't register)
As i know,most of the original games the box inside sure got 1 simple guide book for the user n sometimes even hav soundtracks cd for tat game onli....all these u can't find in buyin a pirated cd......

but 1 thing tat pissed off mi is everytime when i bought an original for a certain game,n few days ltr when u saw there r ppl who selling pirated cd for tat game....(realli heart-broken)....feel like buyin 1 piece of tat cd jus for breakin it mad.gif
i feel u dude, i feel u.
ionStorm
post Apr 5 2007, 09:58 AM

*nyan*
3,350 posts

Seems like there are alot of people here who would support Ori games if it were cheaper. The price point (excluding special editions) is currently RM100 - RM140.

What if they were to lower it to RM50 - RM70? I am quite sure they would be able to sell double the quantity, so even if they do make less profit per copy, they are actually making roughly the same total profit, all in an effort to benefit the consumers.

The only reason I believe, why the need to maintain the pricing, is so that people won't start ordering games from here and getting it shipped to other parts of the world. There would definitely be an uproar.
ZomgWtfHax
post Apr 5 2007, 10:04 AM

38 posts

When I was studying in the US, I used to buy original games which cost around USD50 (without tax) which is equivilent to RM175 ringgit. WIth that amount of money, i could buy 35 dvds worth of games. Starting pay for a graduate in Malaysia is around RM2k. For a gamer who likes to play a large variety of games, simply only buying original games is SIMPLY not very affordable for me, unless you want me to sacrifice meals and other priorities just to meet my gaming needs. So what is the solution for this? Buy pirated games or don't buy pirated games and suffer not satisfying my gaming appetite!

What drives me to choose the dark side:
Malaysian's tidak apa attitude: Why should I care about the developers, I don't even know who they are, I just want to satisfy my gaming needs. And the risk of you getting caught for buying piracy is somewhat low, only the risk for the person selling it is high. If somehow the goverment staring fining people for buying pirated games, or give some caning punishment or whatever, maybe people will start considering it, otherwise piracy won't die.
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Apr 5 2007, 11:07 AM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

i would like ori games if they can lower 2 rm60-70...more than 100 *ahem* FTW whistling.gif
shydoc
post Apr 5 2007, 04:35 PM

First, I bought pirated games cos can't afford it -- playing in office computer.

Then, I can afford to buy computer but not softwares

Now, I just bought Vista Ultimate and Office 2007, some original finance software but not original games yet.

Future, it will be totally ori.

Progress of time makes everything affordable.
goldfries
post Apr 5 2007, 04:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

there are a few types of computer users in Malaysia

1) one is the type that would only buy original and could afford it.
2)one is the type that would prefer to use original and would try to get as many of their stuff original as possible
3) one is the type that would never get originals.

smile.gif perhaps there's 101 more others anyone else can come up with.

i personally find that it's good to always head for the direction of originals. i'm in class #2 btw. biggrin.gif
Dark Steno
post Apr 5 2007, 05:45 PM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

I am no. 2 as well. biggrin.gif
maru
post Apr 5 2007, 06:25 PM

1,191 posts

i think i the most cheap person....i dont buy...but dl tongue.gif
Cheesenium
post Apr 5 2007, 07:18 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Im type 2 too.
Vorador
post Apr 6 2007, 02:28 PM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

Hee hee I always been a jack sparrow version gamer, untill last month I bought the first ori in my life, C&C3. And the reason I bought it is quite disagree by most of you here : To support the developer for this game.

First at all, I am the big fan of it, shame on me never buy ori when I love it so much... (**note 1). But this time, deep in my heart I really really hope the C&C series will back on life, and continue it with more great game, like renegade 2 (I hope they really consider it if C&C 3 make a good sell), C&C 4, RA3... blah blah blah. Due to this, I really feel taht I should support them for making such great game and therefore I buy original.

**note 1: My favorite game all the time, Legacy Of Kain series, I always blame that company, Crystal Dynamic only concentrate on making tomb raider after they bought the copyright, (darn TR Aniversary!) and stop making Legacy Of Kain. But I myself is to be blamed because I never own a single original game of the series...so now the best game series Legacy Of Kain has NO WAY TO TRACK....

So guys, if you really love that game and wish it will come out with sequence, buy original of it, otherwise you will taste the sadness as me when that company don't work on your fav game anymore!

Raziel... Kain... where are you ... ... cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by Vorador: Apr 6 2007, 02:29 PM
madguy88
post Apr 6 2007, 03:10 PM

822 posts

QUOTE(AnimeDaisuki @ Apr 2 2007, 03:50 AM)
Firstly, it's because not everyone can afford to fork out RM100+ for an original game.

Also, it's hard to find a shop that sells originals...

I can attest to that since I had a problem finding out where to buy original games when I wanted to buy Battlefield 2 ! >_<
original games ar, u can buy it at subang parade there coz i bought my ori C&C3 steel kane edtion there.......

Cereal
post Apr 6 2007, 05:13 PM

200 posts

they should have a game rental service in Malaysia
we rent original games at a price to try it out .
if its nice we buy the original.
if not simply return the game and forget about it.

31 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0596sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:13 PM