Against pirated games CD/DVD?, Government says No to Pirated CD/DVD!!
TSalzert
Apr 6 2007, 05:41 PM
No need rent now gt original games which the price is RM20 per month and you can played has many games u liked but problem is games title are limited/old version title from online company, i forgot the company name.
H@H@
Apr 6 2007, 09:44 PM
I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
QUOTE(Cereal @ Apr 6 2007, 05:13 PM) they should have a game rental service in Malaysia we rent original games at a price to try it out . if its nice we buy the original. if not simply return the game and forget about it. Game rentals for PC games are simply not feasible due to the nature of CD-keys. The "uniqueness" of a game disc is tied with the CD-key and not the disc itself (Which is the case with console games) and that's why rental services for PC games do not exist. For this reason as well, warranties are not applicable to PC games as well  alzert: You talking about Jumboplay? They're not as crap as you as their list of titles is pretty recent. Heck, sometimes they get them sooner than retail.
dattebayo
Apr 6 2007, 09:50 PM
so many ppl bought an ori CNC3 as their first ori game
TSalzert
Apr 7 2007, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(H@H@ @ Apr 6 2007, 09:44 PM) alzert: You talking about Jumboplay? They're not as crap as you as their list of titles is pretty recent. Heck, sometimes they get them sooner than retail. Really?!! all new version thats mean i can play games like Supreme Commander or CN'C 3...
Kidicarus
Apr 7 2007, 10:48 AM
Reasons I don't buy original games all the time.
1. I was working in the UK for many years where new pc games cost about gbp 30-35 (RM 210 - 250) and I had no problem paying that much for a new game. At the same time i was also earning 3-4 times as much over there. Relative to income games were a lot cheaper.
2. I hate the packaging we get in Malaysia. Games tend to come in oversized boxes which just looks ugly to me. Games in the UK tended to come in normal sized dvd boxes.
3. I really don't feel a moral obligation to support a foreign owned company, especially one like Electronic Arts. I would be more inclined to pay for games by indie producers (eg introversion: Uplink, Darwinia, DEFCON).
4. Some games are so buggy on release that I refuse to pay to beta test a piece of software for a publisher/developer. And honestly, some games are so bad you'd be doing the developer a favour by pirating them.
5. I don't automatically equate software piracy with theft, which is the message some people are trying to get across.
I've probably spent more than most Malaysians on original software over the years, and I will pay for an original game if the product justifies the expense and i can afford it. But really, I can't justify paying full price for all the games. These are just my personal reasons for using warez.
Irishcoffee
Apr 9 2007, 09:15 PM
TS y open this thread?? not only malaysian even if u go petaling street n ask for the visitors frm others country y u will buy prirated goods frm petaling street they will answer "CHEAP"
k!nex
Apr 11 2007, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(H@H@ @ Apr 3 2007, 08:39 PM) RM 100,000. Buy 1 sedan car or 10 stolen cars. Which one you choose? Cars doesn't relate to pirated games CD/DVD.my point: 1.Cars are made of solid materials which are known to be expensive such as metal,paint,rubber etc.u can use ur hand to feel those materials. i feel tht price or ori is too expensive for avg m'sians.sg ppl avg earn 3-4k.m'sia ppl also avg ppl earn 3-4k.but y sg ppl only need fork out 50+ bucks to buy ori while m'sians need to pay double the figure to buy ori.look at the income figure,almost same.y dun game developers decrease prices?if linux can be foc, y not microsoft lower its prices?linux is not cheapskate quality(its much more stable than windows). conclusion: 1.rich ppl go ahead buy ori nobody will stop u 2.those who cant afford pls dun beg ur parents for hardearned money just to buy lines of coding(games are only made of computer codings)
H@H@
Apr 11 2007, 12:15 PM
I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 11 2007, 11:58 AM) Cars doesn't relate to pirated games CD/DVD.my point: 1.Cars are made of solid materials which are known to be expensive such as metal,paint,rubber etc.u can use ur hand to feel those materials. Please don't read my post out of context... My post was a counterpoint to some bugger's "RM100, buy 1 original game or 10 pirated games". I was merely addressing the point that is it right to get something that's stolen just because its cheaper. QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 11 2007, 11:58 AM) 2.those who cant afford pls dun beg ur parents for hardearned money just to buy lines of coding(games are only made of computer codings) Thank you for proving my point that the average Malaysian doesn't give a rat's ass about Intellectual Property. Why buy original books? They're just letters strung together! Why buy music albums? They're just notes put together! Why buy movie DVDs? They're just pictures in motion!
k!nex
Apr 11 2007, 12:56 PM
normally i only buy ori if the games can last me long.such as final fantasy and kingdom hearts series in ps2.wat for buy ori if the games finish so fast.example:  dis is C&C3 kane edition.priced at 100++ bucks.within 24 hrs all the campaign is finished(without using any cheats and trainers) wherelse i need 3 months to finish my kingdom hearts.priced almost the same.dis is lack of replayability though some might argue tht games such as C&C got online multiplayer mode.streamyx has laggy speeds for most of m'sians.so its no fun playing it online also(thts y point of view).i rather go for mmorpg.i'm still waiting for ragnarok 2. This post has been edited by k!nex: Apr 11 2007, 01:01 PM
goldfries
Apr 11 2007, 04:13 PM
40K Club
QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 11 2007, 12:56 PM) dis is C&C3 kane edition.priced at 100++ bucks.within 24 hrs all the campaign is finished(without using any cheats and trainers) wherelse i need 3 months to finish my kingdom hearts.priced almost the same. dis is lack of replayability though some might argue tht games such as C&C got online multiplayer mode.streamyx has laggy speeds for most of m'sians.so its no fun playing it online also(thts y point of view).i rather go for mmorpg.i'm still waiting for ragnarok 2.ok. so we could always use the streamyx argument on your MMOs as well isn't it? other that more interested aspect of MMO like RO's PVP / MVP stuff, lvling is damn boring and damn routine. and you're paying for that. haha. how fast you finish a game is a damn lame excuse for bashing. i finish my games within a week or 2 usually, friends even say i'm crazy to finish it so fast (3 days for some games) but i've no complaints. more importantly is the fact that it shows how people respect intellectual property.
Cheesenium
Apr 11 2007, 04:20 PM
Cant you play the game slowly and enjoy what is there that the developers have prepared for you?Torture the ai and take your time to finish your game.
I really dont understand why some people likes to rush to finish a game.Whats the point?
redcable
Apr 11 2007, 04:25 PM

Why dont we support ori games to make the price drop in the future. maybe they can start do local packaging which absolutely drop the price to below 100.
Thunderbolt
Apr 11 2007, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(redcable @ Apr 11 2007, 04:25 PM) Why dont we support ori games to make the price drop in the future. maybe they can start do local packaging which absolutely drop the price to below 100. Trust me, the Original games price tag will not drop in future even everyone are supporting it Best to wait after 1 years for a good price but by the time you wont have the mood to play the game anymore
Cheesenium
Apr 11 2007, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(redcable @ Apr 11 2007, 04:25 PM) Why dont we support ori games to make the price drop in the future. maybe they can start do local packaging which absolutely drop the price to below 100. Im already supporting it.Hope the price drops.
goldfries
Apr 11 2007, 04:55 PM
40K Club
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Apr 11 2007, 04:20 PM) Cant you play the game slowly and enjoy what is there that the developers have prepared for you?Torture the ai and take your time to finish your game. I really dont understand why some people likes to rush to finish a game.Whats the point? hehe. depends on the individual, some people finish the game fast and complain. to me, i like to finish the games fast because i enjoy the story. games like NFS:Carbon is too short la but games like Prince of Persia : The Sands of Time and Warrior Within, i finished within the week. same goes to C&C Red Alert 2, Emperor, Homeworld 1 and 2. you must understand that different people have different ways to enjoy the game. i don't rush, but i like to finish my games quickly especially when i enjoy the story (and yeah, with my gaming skills i can finish them pretty fast) and it'll also allow me to write reviews in more complete detail.
Cheesenium
Apr 11 2007, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 11 2007, 04:55 PM) hehe. depends on the individual, some people finish the game fast and complain. to me, i like to finish the games fast because i enjoy the story. games like NFS:Carbon is too short la but games like Prince of Persia : The Sands of Time and Warrior Within, i finished within the week. same goes to C&C Red Alert 2, Emperor, Homeworld 1 and 2. you must understand that different people have different ways to enjoy the game. i don't rush, but i like to finish my games quickly especially when i enjoy the story (and yeah, with my gaming skills i can finish them pretty fast) and it'll also allow me to write reviews in more complete detail. What you say it's true.For me,im the slow type.People can finish NFSC in <24 hours but i took about 1 month  but i still enjoy it a bit and end the game with full garage.Fable,my friends took 1 week+ but me,1 month and got way better items and stats than them.I prefer to take the game slowly to enjoy whats there for me to do.My gaming skills are pretty decent but i just like it slow. If a gamer finish a game fast,i dont mind but i dont really like those who whine and complain why the game is so short.
goldfries
Apr 11 2007, 05:23 PM
40K Club
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Apr 11 2007, 05:04 PM) If a gamer finish a game fast,i dont mind but i dont really like those who whine and complain why the game is so short. again that depends. if the game wasn't short but the gamer finished it fast, then the fella deserves a bash on the head for complaining.  if the game was short, then i think the complaint is justified. for me, NFS:C was short. compare that to the previous NFS, it's really really really short.
Cheesenium
Apr 11 2007, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 11 2007, 05:23 PM) again that depends. if the game wasn't short but the gamer finished it fast, then the fella deserves a bash on the head for complaining.  if the game was short, then i think the complaint is justified. for me, NFS:C was short. compare that to the previous NFS, it's really really really short. Thats what was i trying to say but i didnt include it in my last post.  NFSC was way too short and boring.Seems like EA have screw it up as usual.
Parrot
Apr 11 2007, 08:33 PM
I just registered to jump into this discussion.
I have been a user of pirated software for 11 years now, and I'm not about to ditch pirated software soon.
It's not about the suckiness of the software, or the support for the little people. It's all about accessibility. I was not raised in any well-to-do environment. Even before the 1997 financial crisis, games still cost 2.8 times the amount than with US dollars. That meant that any new games at the time that normally retailed for US$30 to US$50 were still costing around RM100 here, it was and still is too pricey.
Because of pirated software, I was acquainted to the Need for Speed series since its early years when The Need for Speed: Special Edition was released in 1996. Because of pirated software, I was introduced to C&C: Red Alert in 1996, and inadvertently explored the rest of the entire C&C series the following years. Because of pirated software, I was able to identify virtually most classic Sim games between the DOS version of the first SimCity to SimEarth to SimGolf when I obtained an illegal Sim game compilation in 1998, and the first generation vanilla The Sims and expansions from 2000 to 2003, all without feeling like I wasted my money in the long run.
I had tried to support original software at one point. When I wanted a Best Seller CD of the Windows SimCity in 1998 from PC@Home(?) at the former Hankyu Jaya in Bangsar, I had to fork out about RM25 to get it. Suffice to say, that was still rather pricey for a 7-year old game, and didn't encourage me to pursue original games. Furthermore, I was intimidated by the prices of newer games, which still hover around the RM120 range. Another discouraging fact is that the same games depreciate and lose 50% of their value in just five years, so you stand to lose a lot of money in the long run if you own any such games.
Again, I decided to give original software a shot. I dropped by Mid Valley last month and came across the EA Classic repackaging of SimIsle, a 1995 game that should had been in a bargain bin price (RM10), but is still sold at a whopping RM38. The game was sold at roughly the same price in another mall that I didn't bother to remember. It's ridiculous! Compared to the SimCity game I got in 1998, games became more expensive because of the weakened ringgit!
I'm not prepared to take the first step until the software prices go down to around the RM50 range. Do what you guys must, but still I owe a lot to pirate software to turn to the other side in the near future.
Regards.
This post has been edited by Parrot: Apr 11 2007, 08:45 PM