31 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Against pirated games CD/DVD?, Government says No to Pirated CD/DVD!!

goldfries
post Apr 13 2007, 01:05 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 12 2007, 12:10 PM)
Being mostly a console gamer, i find it very sad that most of the hot titles are ridiculously expensive like RM250 to RM350 or more. Back then there wasn't any software boutique. Even now, prices of some of the console games are slightly cheaper , but hot titles still expensive!!

yeah consoles games are costly.

however consoles on the other hand
1. cheaper than PC
2. you can play everything released without having to worry whether your console is able to play it, unlike PCs - can my graphic card support this game? will it be slow?

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Apr 13 2007, 12:59 PM)
It's funny how people supporting original games don't mention original music, tv programs and movies as well when talking about respecting IP.

if you're referring to this thread in particular, do know what we are in Gamers Hideout section.

Piracy has been discussed in RWI section before. smile.gif
Cheesenium
post Apr 13 2007, 01:30 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Apr 13 2007, 04:04 AM)
RM10 = 1 game?
more than that.
this nfsmw pir4te dvd i own got all d series of NFS since nfs 1..
i act played, finished, n play nfs u2 over n over again just from the dvd of nfsmw
take the average pir4te dvd that have like 3 games per cd.. rm3.33 per game.. instead of rm130 per game..
plus ori games u haf to put cd everytime u wanna play..
i played football manager 2005 so much until i bought a FM2006 ori..but i didnt play it much...regret already..turn out i purchase another pirate dvd that have fm2006 as a bonus..sigh why shud i pay rm130 a game when i can pay rm10 for multiple games..
the richer ones can always buy the ori..just let it be
paying for ur food, bills, school fee or w/e crap is more important than spending rm100+ for a game
You are going to regret when you see your favorite game's professional mods poping up and you cant play because you are playing a pirated.

Thats one of the reason im getting originals.
Eisenmeteor
post Apr 13 2007, 11:37 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Being mostly a console gamer, i find it very sad that most of the hot titles are ridiculously expensive like RM250 to RM350 or more. Back then there wasn't any software boutique. Even now, prices of some of the console games are slightly cheaper , but hot titles still expensive!!
Dude,console game price tak ada 300 ++ la..Maybe the price in ur area is expensive,but the price u stated is too ridiculous..Can u state which console game that is available at that price?

I agree with the rest that as long as the currency rate still damn high government din do anything to solve these thing then Malaysia will end up as a Pirated Game heaven..
goldfries
post Apr 14 2007, 12:01 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Apr 13 2007, 11:37 PM)
Dude,console game price tak ada 300 ++ la..Maybe the price in ur area is expensive,but the price u stated is too ridiculous..Can u state which console game that is available at that price?

i remember seeing original Gran Turismo 2 at Sony Wings and it was rather pricey, definitely above RM 250. that was many years back (as said, GT2 la).

console game pricing can also be found at
http://www.tsb.com.my/index.cfm
H@H@
post Apr 14 2007, 12:41 AM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 14 2007, 12:01 AM)
i remember seeing original Gran Turismo 2 at Sony Wings and it was rather pricey, definitely above RM 250. that was many years back (as said, GT2 la).

IINM, awhile back (2003-2004), I saw GCN and Xbox games being sold at around RM 350 per game. PS2 games were in the RM 250 region.

Either way, its still way more expensive than PC games.
Eisenmeteor
post Apr 14 2007, 12:48 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

IINM, awhile back (2003-2004), I saw GCN and Xbox games being sold at around RM 350 per game. PS2 games were in the RM 250 region.

Either way, its still way more expensive than PC games.

Based on the comments,the pricing was like 2 years ago..Xbox 360 games now ranged between Rm150-Rm200 depending on which version of the console(US or Asian)..Of coz special edition of games will be much more expensive...

radkliler
post Apr 14 2007, 07:14 PM

WUBWUBWUB
985 posts

Come on ppl...ori is getting more affordable...

Didn't u hear that SupCom and Stalker has a Malaysian edition which is just malay manuals with english game...

Best of all, it onli cost RM 80 so whats the fuss
ryudox
post Apr 14 2007, 07:43 PM

~~ ConVict ~~
732 posts

mm...i am a student which is hardcore gamer..how can i afford ori game instead of buying pirated? dont u think..
goldfries
post Apr 14 2007, 08:32 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ryudox @ Apr 14 2007, 07:43 PM)
mm...i am a student which is hardcore gamer..how can i afford ori game instead of buying pirated? dont u think..
strangely a lot of people have this type of mentality, later after working already also come back with the same reason. (car, loan, house, gf, wife, baby, other things........)

even during my student days (pre-SPM and college / uni days) i could buy original games.

even now as a working adult, i only buy 2 - 5 titles a year.

just because you're a hardcore gamer that doesn't mean you need to play everything. and just because you're a student that doesn't mean you should support piracy.

just be selective in your game purchases.

i don't even know if you define "hardcore gamer" correctly. fact is hardcore gamer doesn't have to be someone that plays every game available. you could be focused on a single title alone and still be hardcore gamer.

EDITED : oh hey, i just noticed your siggy. decent rig, decent laptop. can do case modding some more. if you can afford other things in life, don't tell me you cannot afford original games.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 14 2007, 08:33 PM
Dark Steno
post Apr 14 2007, 10:16 PM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 14 2007, 08:32 PM)
strangely a lot of people have this type of mentality, later after working already also come back with the same reason. (car, loan, house, gf, wife, baby, other things........)

even during my student days (pre-SPM and college / uni days) i could buy original games.

even now as a working adult, i only buy 2 - 5 titles a year.

just because you're a hardcore gamer that doesn't mean you need to play everything. and just because you're a student that doesn't mean you should support piracy.

just be selective in your game purchases.

i don't even know if you define "hardcore gamer" correctly. fact is hardcore gamer doesn't have to be someone that plays every game available. you could be focused on a single title alone and still be hardcore gamer.

EDITED : oh hey, i just noticed your siggy. decent rig, decent laptop. can do case modding some more. if you can afford other things in life, don't tell me you cannot afford original games.
Hahahaha nice ownage.
evoHahn
post Apr 14 2007, 11:45 PM

Mika !
1,711 posts

well, if you are paying RM 200+ for a console game is just too much. I usually pay :

>> DS game max RM 160, min RM 90
>> PSP game max RM 180
>> PS2 game max RM 180

mostly i bought from our local shop here and sometime from online shop.
deric88
post Apr 14 2007, 11:49 PM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

i am trying to support ori, finacial problems.....
my first ori and currently only ori game is CSS......
stop buying pirated adi..... less gaming for me....... if want to play also i dl.....
price is 1 thing , parents the other..... they can compare they will say go for the cheaper one....
goldfries
post Apr 15 2007, 01:08 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Apr 14 2007, 11:49 PM)
i am trying to support ori, finacial problems.....

i think i mentioned it earlier,

there are some who TRY to acquire originals, in the even they cannot they'll opt for pirated.

then there are those who insist never to buy original. smile.gif

price is 1 thing , parents the other..... they can compare they will say go for the cheaper one....
ahhh. there are such factors, i believe there are times when this will happen "son, why buy so expensive thing? go for pirated la."

oh well.
H@H@
post Apr 15 2007, 04:53 AM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

Quite a valid point, but unfortunately, does not apply to most of the ppl here... The pirated users here ARE the ones who actually go out and buy the pirated games THEMSELVES.

As for the parents, I go back to my original point on IP education. That seems to be the root of it all.

Kai Sheng
post Apr 15 2007, 11:00 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Apr 15 2007, 04:53 AM)
Quite a valid point, but unfortunately, does not apply to most of the ppl here... The pirated users here ARE the ones who actually go out and buy the pirated games THEMSELVES.

As for the parents, I go back to my original point on IP education. That seems to be the root of it all.
Unfortunately for me... I face a problem in this when I bought my Tiberium Wars. Got scolded by my father for "wasting hundreds of money for something I can get with only RM20".

For him I would be better off buying a book for my study and only go for pirated stuff. Had a hard time explaining to him about the multiplayer feature.

But my father also think it is better to buy pirated movies rather than watch it on cinemas... the fuel to go there plus the ticket is more expensive than pirated sad.gif

Lucky me I bought it all using my own money... so my father can only '"advises" me...

This post has been edited by Kai Sheng: Apr 15 2007, 11:01 AM
linkin182
post Apr 15 2007, 03:25 PM

283 posts

@kai sheng: Ugh...pirated movies gives you a totally different experience than experiencing it in the cinemas. You dont get 16 - 26 points THX Certified Surround Sound! lolz...beat that at home! but it all depends on consumers choice la bro~

For my vote..im a little bit of both!~ hehehe...i buy pirated and original games myself...here's my perspective of things about original and pirated games.

The reason i buy original games are because i really love that game and i dont mind spending that sum of money for it. Games like Diablo II and Lord Of Destruction these both are original, Counter-Strike, Half-life 2, Command and Conquer 3! Kane Ed. , Warcraft III hehe..and these are the games worth spending your money on. For me, I definitely find every penny well spent on these games.

Here's my point of view for PIRATED cd/dvd's..there will be a time where you'll be sourcing for games to play and are not sure which to buy, I would buy a pirated cd to test them out. The only problem with pirated cd/dvd's nowadays are they're badly cracked and you need either some 3rd party or unlisenced+virus infested software to get them working. However none is lost =) the internet is a very valuable ASSET in life..=) hehe... RM10-RM15 for a game title you're not sure of would be a wise choice rather than spending that big buck on a game you're not sure with.

Depending on what you plan to buy..I would say you'll have to set your priorities as original games are not cheap, But they sure are taking a step forward for RM79.90 for ORIGINAL MALAYSIA ONLY copies..lolz...RM79.90 for Supreme Commander is bang for buck!
Cheesenium
post Apr 15 2007, 05:09 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Kai Sheng @ Apr 15 2007, 11:00 AM)
Unfortunately for me... I face a problem in this when I bought my Tiberium Wars. Got scolded by my father for "wasting hundreds of money for something I can get with only RM20".

For him I would be better off buying a book for my study and only go for pirated stuff. Had a hard time explaining to him about the multiplayer feature.
But my father also think it is better to buy pirated movies rather than watch it on cinemas... the fuel to go there plus the ticket is more expensive than pirated sad.gif

Lucky me I bought it all using my own money... so my father can only '"advises" me...
My parents used to be like that.Now,they are ok with it after a while.

SUSMatrix
post Apr 16 2007, 12:41 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Apr 13 2007, 11:37 PM)

I agree with the rest that as long as the currency rate still damn high government din do anything to solve these thing then Malaysia will end up as a Pirated Game heaven..
Go to TSB. Lost Planet=RM299. RM1 i give u spend teh tarik. Most console games are RM2xx. Last time like RM300++ in Sg Wang many years ago, all the parallel imports.

Added on April 16, 2007, 12:45 pm
QUOTE(Kai Sheng @ Apr 15 2007, 11:00 AM)

Don't complain about ur parents. And where's "your money" coming from? From ur parents handout to u no doubt. Ur parents work sweat and tears to educate you and feed you. Games (ori or otherwise) is the least of theri concern with all those monthly bills. If your parents can't afford ori games, neither can u. So don't complain the hands that feed you.

Of course, if ur parents driving merz and BMWs and still insisting on pirated goods, then another story ler... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Apr 16 2007, 12:45 PM
Kai Sheng
post Apr 16 2007, 01:47 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 16 2007, 12:41 PM)
Don't complain about ur parents. And where's "your money" coming from? From ur parents handout to u no doubt. Ur parents work sweat and tears to educate you and feed you. Games (ori or otherwise) is the least of theri concern with all those monthly bills. If your parents can't afford ori games, neither can u. So don't complain the hands that feed you.

Of course, if ur parents driving merz and BMWs and still insisting on pirated goods, then another story ler... biggrin.gif
If it's their money I will definitely abide by them and stop buying originals. It's not their money... it's your money... icon_rolleyes.gif the people of Malaysia's money. As a student I received a monthly allowance of around RM260 when at college and RM345 if I'm in holiday. I rarely received any money from my parents except for some special occasion in my college (maybe.. like camp or Cancer Relay for Life event)... and most of the stuff I'm using inside my computer (GC, RAM and so on) comes from my allowance as well. To be frank it is really not enough for our studies... but not when we are in holiday. Currently I'm in holiday until this July so I will have plenty of money to use on anything I wanted to... well unless if the government or the 'rakyat' (maybe you tongue.gif ) suddenly suspended the allowance I'm receiving because 'I'm not using it in the right way'.

But then... almost everyone here spend their money on more "meaningful" stuff like handphone or just having fun. I wouldn't complain if it's just one handphone at one time... but most of them here spend their allowance buying two and three handphone at the same time... heck... I don't even have my own handphone.. only the one that my father gave me which is as big as your palm. You can even kill a dog by throwing it towards it's head... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Kai Sheng: Apr 16 2007, 01:48 PM
SUSMatrix
post Apr 16 2007, 02:15 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Kai Sheng @ Apr 16 2007, 01:47 PM)
If it's their money I will definitely abide by them and stop buying originals. It's not their money... it's your money... icon_rolleyes.gif the people of Malaysia's money. As a student I received a monthly allowance of around RM260 when at college and RM345 if I'm in holiday. I rarely received any money from my parents except for some special occasion in my college (maybe.. like camp or Cancer Relay for Life event)... and most of the stuff I'm using inside my computer (GC, RAM and so on) comes from my allowance as well. To be frank it is really not enough for our studies... but not when we are in holiday. Currently I'm in holiday until this July so I will have plenty of money to use on anything I wanted to... well unless if the government or the 'rakyat' (maybe you tongue.gif ) suddenly suspended the allowance I'm receiving because 'I'm not using it in the right way'.

But then... almost everyone here spend their money on more "meaningful" stuff like handphone  or just having fun. I wouldn't complain if it's just one handphone at one time... but most of them here spend their allowance buying two and three handphone at the same time... heck... I don't even have my own handphone.. only the one that my father gave me which is as big as your palm. You can even kill a dog by throwing it towards it's head... sweat.gif
Talk big only. Who's the one supporting you before you go to college etc? Who's the one paying for ur milk powder and diapers while ur a kid? You're not even working. In short you have ZERO cents to ur name. And RM345 is nothing. "plenty of money"?? I don't think u got even enuff to eat ler. doh.gif See, you can't even afford a "brick phone" and have to depend on daddy for handout! And who's paying ur handphone bill? Not you i suppose.

If you're a dependent with no money, don't talk big... laugh.gif

31 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0585sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:10 PM