65 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Technical HD-DVD® Official Thread, Everyone feeling blu...

pAnGuInDa
post Aug 22 2007, 01:47 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Aug 22 2007, 01:13 PM)
I think the war will end in Malaysia (onli in malaysia) if either format gets to produce Pirated Disc!
I hate to admit it but this is really the truth doh.gif
michael9413
post Aug 22 2007, 01:51 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Aug 22 2007, 01:23 PM)
yo michael..silap thread lah..... doh.gif
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Aug 22 2007, 01:25 PM)
ROFL apa la michael... silap thread lupenye...  laugh.gif
well not silap la...
I'm talking about 300078's blog...
haha... maaf ya... lupa quote it... notworthy.gif
devilfedora81
post Aug 22 2007, 02:33 PM

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Aug 22 2007, 12:36 PM)
So whatever Sony does is taktik kotor and whatever MS does is good for the consumers?  rclxub.gif I seriously feel appaled by certain fanboys who felt proud when they get exclusives, where else certain group of ppl have been denied of choices just bcoz some studios decide to support one format instead of two. Not everyone can afford both HD formats. It's not just about which format is more superior or cheaper, it's about choices, and damn it every consumers have their rights to choose whichever format they believe in. That's why i don't see anything lame about if a consumer still decide to stick to plain old DVD instead of any of the HD formats, coz the format wars at the moment confuses most consumers even more than before. doh.gif  yawn.gif
Ya bittorent rules tongue.gif
terranova
post Aug 22 2007, 03:00 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Aug 22 2007, 11:04 AM)
Guys, any recommendation for HD-DVD/BD for demo purpose?
So far, my fav is Matrix Trilogy & Planet Earth. And King Kong for the dinosaur chase scene.

stringfellow
post Aug 22 2007, 04:27 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 22 2007, 11:02 AM)
@ zio..... thanks for the tips, double standards.....

@string, tomolo collection will be 19, including bikini destinations, JAV bluray(amateur sex photography), and debbie does dallass... again tongue.gif
how much would the E1 cost? sigh.. in a tight budget now, i need a golf set..... so for games/software how to tumpang? order from amazon and send to your california?
If you want games, easy. Write me a list through PM, then i'll see if those titles are there. Before i make the purchase, i'll PM you back, or SMS you while im at the store (SMS still OK, calling.....a bit expensive tongue.gif) the items available, and at what prices. If you agree on the price then ill make the over the counter purchase. If you are talking about Amazon purchase, then send over to my Newport home, that would the most ideal, since shipping through Amazon is free over continental US. First things first, write me a list, then we figure out the best way to do it, agree?

As for the E1, it was on promo sale in Switzerland he last time i got it there, for 300 Euros. I suspect they are clearing it for the nw upcoming Toshiba models, and the rumored 3rd gen. players. Update you next month once im there?

QUOTE(MK84 @ Aug 22 2007, 11:04 AM)
Guys, any recommendation for HD-DVD/BD for demo purpose?
My personal recommendation. The list at AVSForum is pretty much the reference list IMO. Animated features usually takes the cake when it comes to PQ, so on both Blu-ray and HD-DVDs, you can try Ice Age 2:Meltdown, Open Season, Corpse Bride, Ant Bully, or Happy Feet . Personally, between those 5, i only like Corpse Bride. Then there is live-action features. For HD-DVD, Hot Fuzz takes the crown for , not just for PQ, but for its humongous 18 hours + extras! For Blu-ray, there are 2 options. Pirates of Caribbean Dead Man's Chest or Crank. The former , besides having the cleanest transfer on any Blu-ray disc, also has the BD-Java game of Liar's Dice, while the latter, Crank, is shot using modified HD camera to achieve that "video-like" look. Notice it's "video-like" not "film-like", once you compare between Crank and other live action movies you will see this difference. Unfortunately, Crank is not so suitable for public viewing, with a few scenes depicting nudity and inappropiate "conducts" in public, as well as gratuitous violence.

All these recommendations, will be superseeded this September, once Nature's Journey arrives on HD-DVD and Blu-ray. On both format , it will sport the highest recorded video bitrate ever for any titles for each of their format, with Blu-ray, having the current advantage of extra capacity, sporting the highest video bitrate of 37Mbps throughout the "journey".

Here is the product description of the title:-

Escape to a mysterious inner universe where nature and imagination meet to form a realm of extraordinary beauty. Let Nature's Journey unleash a brand new sensory experience in a genre-bending mix of location filming, subtle computer-generated imagery, exotic musical soundscapes and artistic graphic enhancements that draws you deep into the magical heart of our planet Earth. Produced in High Definition by Video Artist John Banks and featuring a 96/24 Soundtrack by Michael Stearns, Nature's Journey is a sensation of natural sights and sounds transformed by the unique artistry of these visionary filmmakers.

DIGITAL REFERENCE SERIES Digital Reference Standard Ultra High Fidelity Picture & Sound

The Digital Reference Standard is your guarantee of R&B Films' commitment to the highest attainable quality in home entertainment. Each disc is mastered for the best possible reproduction of video and audio, routinely surpassing today's standards in our ongoing pursuit of the ultimate entertainment experience.

The process begins with the source material. Digital content arrives pristine, while analog material is processed through a series of procedures designed to maintain the integrity and purity of the signal. In addition, wherever possible, an extremely high sampling rate of 24bits/96kHz is utilized to preserve audio resolution for multi-channel sound.

DRS also takes the aesthetics into consideration: original film and recording elements are used whenever available -- with mastering often supervised by the original filmmakers -- to ensure the original artistic vision is honored and, if possible, enhanced throughout the entire process.

R&B Films works closely with industry-leading engineers and facilities to create a digital master with video and audio fidelity rendered at its absolute zenith. This devotion to detail continues through the authoring and replication processes to arrive at a finished disc capable of presenting the full aural and visual impact intended by its creators.

Look for the DRS logo to certify that you are experiencing reference quality and enjoy the home entertainment benchmark for the new millennium.

Richard J. Casey Executive Producer R&B Films, Ltd.
Here are the specs for both Blu-ray and HD-DVD versions:-

Blu-ray specs

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
No Region Coding / Play All
VC-1 Encode at 37 Mbps / 1080i @ 29.97
DTS-HD Master Audio (Lossless) 5.0 ~ 96/24 @ 5.3 Mbps Average and 6.8 Mbps Max
Dolby Digital 5.0 ~ 48/24 @ 448 kbps
Dolby Surround 2.0 (Pro Logic II) ~ 48/16 @ 192 kbps
16:9
1080i / 29.97 - (TBD)
VC-1 / 37Mbps
DTS HD Master Audio
DRS

HD-DVD specs

No Region Coding / Play All
Total Runtime: 67 Minutes
VC-1 Encode at 26 Mbps / 1080i @ 29.97
DTS-HD High Resolution 5.0 ~ 96/24 @ 3 Mbps
Dolby Digital 5.0 ~ 48/24 @ 448 kbps
Dolby Surround 2.0 (Pro Logic II) ~ 48/16 @ 192 kbps
16:9
1080i / 29.97 - (TBD)
VC-1 / 26Mbps
DTS-HD High Resolution
DRS

Planet Earth was good while it was released, but overall, it is a bit disappointing, there are scenes where the PQ arent that sharp as expected. The images are extremely interesting and a crowd-puller, like the scenes about the flights of migratin bird, and the scenes about the baby bird being pushed out of the nest to encourage them to fly,....that got the crowd mulling about the front of Mediaplex when that scene came! laugh.gif But next month, the new king will arrive.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Aug 22 2007, 04:34 PM
silencer
post Aug 23 2007, 02:51 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Only for the red pill..mazed yourselves.....The new promo movie on the front of http://www.thelookandsoundofperfect.com/ now features Blades of Glory, 300, Evan Almighty, The Matrix, Balls of Fury, Knocked Up, etc.

g5sim
post Aug 23 2007, 06:28 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Aug 23 2007, 02:51 AM)
Only for the red pill..mazed yourselves.....The new promo movie on the front of http://www.thelookandsoundofperfect.com/ now features Blades of Glory, 300, Evan Almighty, The Matrix, Balls of Fury, Knocked Up, etc.
veli fani. Neo picking the red pill instead of the blue pill cool.gif cool.gif

http://www.amazon.com/gp/bestsellers/elect...7964148-4432024

wink.gif

toshiba A2 ranks number since yesterday in ALL DVD PLAYERS section. the player ranks 51 of ALL ELECTRONIC items at amazon. The price is $249.

ah the importance of player price wink.gif and ofcourse media hype biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Aug 23 2007, 07:16 AM
zio
post Aug 23 2007, 10:08 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Woohoo..DHL is the best courier man tongue.gif

My shipment has arrived!
michael9413
post Aug 23 2007, 10:13 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well anything arrive in time you will be the company is good...
but once it fail... you will scold them...
mua hahaa...
zio
post Aug 23 2007, 10:23 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Haha isnt that normal? tongue.gif But UPS and Fedex has already delayed my shipment twice because it cleared Customs late.

Whereas DHL has so far delivered one day ahead of schedule. Hrmm..
MK84
post Aug 23 2007, 10:33 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

I'm with zio on DHL. I've had good results with them so far. Its the only courier service that I've had no problems with customs, which is a big plus since I ship in stuff every month.

The only downside with DHL is their rates are much more expensive especially if you ship items from US.

This post has been edited by MK84: Aug 23 2007, 10:34 AM
rx330
post Aug 23 2007, 10:43 AM

11,809 posts

im a fedex kaki, although my goods was never customs cleared... sad.gif

@string, thanks
so u will be EU, or US next moon? let me go thru amazon 1st, see ada apa... for next moon....
silencer
post Aug 23 2007, 04:02 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Wow...my goodness...another rumour i spreading fast..A "NEUTRAL" studio is having a discussion with Microsoft on shifting its position to HD-DVD only...and it is even posted in the Blu-Ray forum...but since its a rumours...I feel its 51% might be untrue...but if it does come true....I guess U all wont be surprised anymore..since I already posted about it here...lol...Will keep U guys updated....
And..if u r wondering which studio.....just read between the line on my posting...the key word..NEUTRAL...but dont put high hope on it...but if it is real...I guess the format war will be pretty over.....

This post has been edited by silencer: Aug 23 2007, 04:03 PM
stringfellow
post Aug 23 2007, 04:07 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I've used DHL, Fedex, UPS, US Postal Service, hand carried by colleague (read member pergi NY buy some Apple & Grado stuff) tongue.gif

Hand carried is best, if you can trust the fella, and he can get your stuff past customs. But for other choices of couriers, DHL is the best, and i have nothing but problems with Fedex. The DHL folks are more likely to want to release your package faster and without any drama, while the Fedex guys are too "lurus" to even consider bending the rules.

It is the other way round in the States though. Maybe it's cnfined to where my place is , but in Newport, the Fedex guys are the most reliable ones around, while the UPS are the crappiest. DHL is somewhere in between. Got a few of my ordered stuff online from Crutchfield, Vans and even Amazon shipped overnight by the Fedex folks, so i have no complaints there.

Rx330, im going to Paris tonight, MH20 this midnight, maybe i can squeeze in a little extra time trawling Champ Elysees and other shopping district here to see if the Toshiba deal is still on. Historically, online deals are the cheapest since they dont have to deal with operating cost from a storefront, bu occasionally there are stores who got wind of new stocks coming out and got into gear with clearance sale of their own. It can look like a firesale sometimes, espcially during Black Friday in the States, but it's nothing to worry about, it is legit, it is warranty covered, and it is normal to see prices drop to such levels. However, i cant promse i can look around Paris for the deal, got a pretty busy day in Disneyland Paris. Annual Passholder privileges, they're rolling the red carpet for Ratatouille screening inside Walt Disney Studios .I'll try and see if i can get away after the screening to go downtown Paris, yah?

Next month schedule like this. MH131 Auckland 09/18-09/20, MH20 Paris 09/23-09/26. Got another Tokyo coming after that, but Akihabara shopping is pretty pricey, from what i've looked around.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Aug 23 2007, 04:11 PM
rx330
post Aug 23 2007, 04:24 PM

11,809 posts

ic, dun bother abt the E1 then , enjoy ur disney trip, im still very lo on $$ sad.gif , later u found a good deal, but i no marnee to buy how biggrin.gif wasted trip then

go tokyo eh? shud help us get some JAV bluray!!!!!!!!!!!!!

stringfellow
post Aug 23 2007, 04:50 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

What JAV Blu-ray titles? Can PM me aaa? I'll go look see look see when im there.

No worries lah, RX330, i can go look tomorrow once im there, and then see if the price is right for you. Im coming back Paris next month, so you can have plenty of time to decide by then.

Silencer,

There are rumors rumbling on a huge announcement to benefit the BDA, from one of the post in the BD section at AVSForum. Speculations from Warner going BD exclusive, New Line going BD exclusive, to Walmart going to sell BD players ONLY exclusively too. Now, the Walmart thing is not to be taken lightly, since they cover the retail superstore sections pretty extensively in the States.
silencer
post Aug 23 2007, 05:06 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 23 2007, 04:50 PM)
What JAV Blu-ray titles? Can PM me aaa? I'll go look see look see when im there.

No worries lah, RX330, i can go look tomorrow once im there, and then see if the price is right for you. Im coming back Paris next month, so you can have plenty of time to decide by then.

Silencer,

There are rumors rumbling on a huge announcement to benefit the BDA, from one of the post in the BD section at AVSForum. Speculations from Warner going BD exclusive, New Line going BD exclusive, to Walmart going to sell BD players ONLY exclusively too. Now, the Walmart thing is not to be taken lightly, since they cover the retail superstore sections pretty extensively in the States.
yup..im aware about it...but most were atlking about universal going BD only..but that rumours was whisked away so fast...still not much hype of warner goes BD only in the BD thread compared with the HD-DVD...even the source said that it will be known whether its true or not on this coming Friday..but like I said..it is just a rumours....but anyhting can happens..either to HD-DVD or BD... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on August 23, 2007, 5:38 pmUniversal Comments on Paramount's Decision

Quote:
"To me it is a validation of a strategic stance we have taken, and I am so pleased that Paramount and DreamWorks have done as thorough an evaluation as they have done and come to the same exactly conclusion that we did long ago, which is that with HD DVD we have a format that offers the best and most affordable consumer experience," said Craig Kornblau, president of Universal Studios Home Entertainment.

>>> http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/hr/...7e24e642?imw=Y

The statement that kill the rumour by BD camp..that Universal will be the BD exclusive only on response with the Paramount decisions...

Added on August 23, 2007, 5:51 pmSomething for us to chew.....the main reason behind the defection of paramount>>>> http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20070...d-dvd-coup.html

Brief excerpt: -

"The end result of their testing, Bell told me, was the assessment that HD DVD is simply a "very consistent, stable specification." He said that all HD DVD players have had to meet the same specifications and that, in his estimation, HD DVD's specifications are more suited for the current market. Blu-ray, on the other hand, has been a moving target, and this could end up hurting early adopters who might be chagrined to find significance differences between players.

For instance, Bell expressed appreciation for the fact that all HD DVD players support a minimum standard of connectivity and interactive features, something which is not true for Blu-ray. He also noted that the moving feature set on Blu-ray players meant that programming for interactive content could not be done in a way that was guaranteed to work with all Blu-ray players. A feature present on one might be absent in another. Praising Microsoft's HDi interactivity platform, Bell said it was "very full, with a very wide scope," yet it was easy to work with and would provide a consistent experience regardless of HD DVD player used.

Bell also considers HD DVD's heritage to be an asset; coming out of the DVD Forum, HD DVD was designed to be the true successor to DVD, and Bell noted that HD DVD was indeed less expensive to manufacture using already existing manufacturing techniques." Read the rest in the link........given..

-----------
And..on the economic tsandpoitn of HD-DVD manufacturing costs:
http://arstechnica.com/articles/paedia/har...ext-gen-dvd.ars

Exerpt:
"The Blu-ray Disc Association (BDA) has long asserted that its Blu-ray (BD) format is superior to the rival HD DVD format, and BD's "revolutionary" buzz has understandably caught the fancy of certain technologists. But CEOs should be wary, because what the BDA does not sufficiently address is what lies behind those assertions. The numbers are stark: manufacturing BD discs will require an estimated US$1.7 million cost per manufacturing line. Per line!

Then, each major manufacturing facility would require the implementation of a minimum of two mastering systems, at a minimum cost of US$2 million per system. DVD, at the height of its success, resulted in an estimated 600 manufacturing lines globally. Even allowing for a decline in systems costs over time as the manufacturing base expanded, the tab for radically overhauling the media manufacturing industry would approach a billion dollars worldwide or more. Already-beleaguered CFOs will be challenged to raise-and risk-this significant amount of capital.

Compare this to the estimated cost of retooling for the HD DVD format compared to BD. HD DVD is able to utilize virtually the entire existing manufacturing infrastructure. The cost of upgrading an existing DVD line is about US$150,000-less than a tenth the cost of a BD line. A DVD mastering system can be upgraded for US$145,000. Basically, HD DVD is a DVD-9-a version of DVD we have enormous manufacturing experience with already-with a denser pit structure."

This post has been edited by silencer: Aug 23 2007, 05:51 PM
rx330
post Aug 23 2007, 06:47 PM

11,809 posts

string, later i pm u a site which shows u all the available JAV on blurays biggrin.gif
g5sim
post Aug 24 2007, 05:21 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Aug 23 2007, 04:02 PM)
Wow...my goodness...another rumour i spreading fast..A "NEUTRAL" studio is having a discussion with Microsoft on shifting its position to HD-DVD only...and it is even posted in the Blu-Ray forum...but since its a rumours...I feel its 51% might be untrue...but if it does come true....I guess U all wont be surprised anymore..since I already posted about it here...lol...Will keep U guys updated....
And..if u r wondering which studio.....just read between the line on my posting...the key word..NEUTRAL...but dont put high hope on it...but if it is real...I guess the format war will be pretty over.....
The rumour was started by Beatboy. He claimed quoting sources from unknown insider that Warner ane New Line will announce exclusive HD DVD support (note that they are already semi exclusive to HD DVD currently) the latest this friday. A figure of $225mil had been thrown around to be the payout figure for Warner's decision. Beatboy was a fantatic BD fanboy and for him to say that caused a unease at blu-ray.com. He is now the MOST hated figure at Blu-ray.com. laugh.gif laugh.gif

I personally do not think that will happen. maybe 0.0001% it will happen.

and oh, have you all heard of the news that Michael Bay's representative had been banned from posting at BD.com because of his back-tracting from his Paramount outburst ? laugh.gif

Expect MORE EXPLOSIVE news from Cedia starting September 5 wink.gif

zio
post Aug 24 2007, 10:04 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

I was just reading the Michael Bay thread on the BD forum. They worshipped him like a god and then later said he was bought out or threatened with legal suit by Paramount.

Funny people. Why are people so passionate about the two formats? Its only a damn disc.

65 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:21 PM