Technical HD-DVD® Official Thread, Everyone feeling blu...
Aug 9 2007, 10:35 AM
87 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Sarawak |
All the pro bro, I would like to know where we could get a HD-DVD player? Better get a player than counting on my xbox add-on one.. cause last night after i update the dashboard, the infamous 3ROD just appear..
Aug 9 2007, 01:09 PM
Thanks for the info~!!
Too bad Malaysia had none official product. Toshiba should consider the "invasion" on Malaysia soon before Sony Blu-ray will win the heart of Malaysian. Import again Tax..... Something I really would like to avoid. |
Aug 10 2007, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(silencer @ Aug 9 2007, 09:30 PM) Since u have the xbox 360.....search the ebay for the add on...thats how i get it at the first place which is much cheaper with free king kong hd-dvd and no tax at all...as it is declared as an external dvd-rom for notebook.... I got xbox 360 and HD-DVD add on, I was a happy owner until last night xbox 360 died liau.. The infamous 3ROD attack me without a sight.. I advise u to do the same too if u r really interested to get the tosh hd-dvd player...and I believe the price of current player will be very affordable once the new generation3 of toshiba is coming out before christmas....as I might getting 1 too..but that means another purchase of onkyo 805 needs to be followed up too .. and another visit to ikea for the new racking og those equipment . Now I really want to get a player.. cannot count on the xbox 360 .. just watch my matrix revolution in movie experience half way through only... almost finish and it died on me Oh well, I already prepare the worst so it didn't hurt me or surprise me too much, now I really need to find a "not too over-budget" HD-DVD player to ensure it won't died off like xbox360. I really like HD-DVD and the features that included.. but counting on xbox360 add on just don't really promise a bright future One of the reason I slow down my purchase on HD-DVD is because I can't really depend xbox 360 for HD Movie, and yet I just order Hot Fuzz and Shaun Of Dead now how can I watch it if my xbox 360 3ROD |
Aug 10 2007, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(tripleB @ Aug 10 2007, 02:03 PM) To any interested parties, I believe Toshiba will be bringing in their entry level HD DVD players. Over the past two weekends, there was an AV Fair held at the JW Marriott hotel in KL. At the Toshiba booth, I saw a Toshiba HD DVD player and asked the sales rep. He said that Toshiba will be bringing in the product (plus support) for RM2500. Heck, it was even for purchase at the event itself. The model in particular is this: Thank you for the info, Bro tripleB..http://www.toshibahddvd-asia.com/products/hd-e1.html silencer, one of my first ever HD DVD titles was in fact King Kong. It truly was a landmark title for HD DVD, a visual spectacle for high definition formats. Too bad Universal skimped out on the special features... Just check out the details from the URL you gave... is very nice.. One problem, the HD output is only at 1080i :sigh: I thought RM2500 for an HD-DVD player with 1080p output is really a good bargaining in the moment... |
Aug 10 2007, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(g5sim @ Aug 10 2007, 03:17 PM) aiyo where got so expensive HD A30 output 1080p/24 summore Thanks bro g5sim, I'm checking right now. only $319 + International Priority Mail 10-14 Days Delivery $116.00 = $435 : RM1,570. If sui sui kena tax 25% = RM392 .. net price online order from BH Photo = RM1,962 NETT (inclusive of courier charge and 25% tax get your credit card and order now at http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/shop/12836/P...VD_Players.html Now that's "sui sui" less than 2k |
Aug 10 2007, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(tripleB @ Aug 10 2007, 03:46 PM) Unfortunately that's how it works here when products are officially brought over. Back then the PlayStation was announced at a price of USD199. When it came here, it's not exactly near RM800 or something. It was more like RM1200 or something similar. PS2 was USD299, when it came here it became RM1599. The Sony BDP-S1 Blu-ray player retails for USD799. So why is the local version priced at RM4,999 instead? :sigh: Malaysian always get bullied when it come to technology. It always have to be overpriced. |
Aug 11 2007, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(tripleB @ Aug 11 2007, 10:11 AM) Sigh. I need to ask the opinion of anyone who already has a copy of the 300 HD DVD (and using the 360 as a player). It was only a couple of days ago that I bought and tested the 300 disc. I only tested scene 1 and scene 14-15 in fact. Then I went on my short leave, came back, and wanted to show 300 to a friend. While at scene 14, everything was fine at first. While transitioning to scene 15, the movie started jerking very badly. Then it hanged on me. There was nothing I could do but shut down my 360. When I restarted my 360 and skipped straight to scene 15, it hanged immediately. I also passed the disc to another friend for testing. The scene I mentioned played fine, but in his case, the 360 hanged at scene 17. Now, I have close to a dozen HD DVD movies at this point, and none of them acted like this before. Is my disc faulty, or is there a known problem running 300 on the 360 HD DVD player? Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks. I owned both 300 in HD-DVD and Blu-ray, I manage to finish the HD-DVD version movie once and also in-movie experience once before my xbox 360 3ROD and I did not find and jerky part or the movie hang in the film.. I didn't have anytime to finish the special features thought. What really happen I wonder |
Aug 13 2007, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(tripleB @ Aug 12 2007, 01:34 AM) Ok guys, update: I had tried to call the shop I bought it from (CWF in Cineleisure) to explain the problem. The shopkeeper mentioned that he has not heard of any problems with HD DVD or Blu-ray discs up until that point. He also queried whether I was running it on a player or the 360. I described the full problem to him, and asked whether the store has any return / exchange policies. Understandably, he told me that because such an issue never surfaced before, he'll need to check with his supplier whether anything can be done. I told him that I would lend the disc to a friend for further testing (this was before I posted my problem). Really glad to that you get back nice copy from the shopkeeper, I know this shop too, and I get a alot of tittle from them, but recently I found cheaper buying at Amazon too.. but sometime I still get some tittle from them since of the great service they include. Like bro silencer said, I hope they give special price for regular customers, would be even better The test results were no better on my friend's 360, so I called the shop again on Saturday morning (after making my first post). The other shopkeeper picked up; I explained my problem to him once again. He suggested that I bring over the disc to the store for checking. I also left him my name, which he recognized. He also made sure to relay my message to his colleague. Fast forward to the evening, I walk in the store; the shopkeeper sees me; immediately brings me to the back and hands me a new copy of 300. For some reason, this surprised me very much, since I have relatively low expectations on how they can help me. Maybe I'm too used to being screwed over product returns? On to the new disc: I found no such problems as my first disc. I jumped between scenes like monkey on crack, sometimes skipping tracks, sometimes fast forwarding, and sometimes by using the scene selection menu. I'm happy to report that no halting or jerking occurred |
Aug 22 2007, 01:47 PM
Oct 14 2007, 10:03 AM
Review is out~!! Here's the link
http://www.dvdtown.com/reviews/transformers/5245 There only gave the video 8 out 10.. a bit disappointing.. I mean come on guys, this video should rate 10 out of 10 |
Oct 16 2007, 10:25 AM
European HD DVD got larger case, I prefer American smaller case
But one thing nice about European release is some of the tittle is not combo release, cause I hate combo release from HD DVD, |
Oct 16 2007, 02:26 PM
| Change to: | 0.6618sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:45 PM |