Technical HD-DVD® Official Thread, Everyone feeling blu...
Feb 13 2008, 10:28 AM
2,013 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: USJ |
Wow, all nice titles to me. Wish I had a HD-DVD player.
Feb 13 2008, 12:43 PM
4,017 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Georgetown, Penang |
QUOTE(arj @ Feb 13 2008, 09:03 AM) What lousy piece of crap... Matrix trilogy, Batman Begins, Blade Runner, The Last Samurai, Training Day, 300, Troy are AAA+++ titles la wei. And that's just from 1 page only. In total there's like 6-7 pages Agree with Bro Arj, those are 'AAA' titles and it's a bargain to those who has just joined the hd-dvd bandwagon. Come to think of it, it's a lot cheaper buying an original region 1 dvd last time. |
Feb 16 2008, 02:23 AM
595 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Some lady's bush |
well...this should be good news for those blu-rayers who want to put it in hd-dvd's faces:
QUOTE Ever since Blu-ray sent Warner Bros. a big fat check and convinced the studio to start sipping their Kool-Aid, the home entertainment looky lous have been clucking about how HD-DVD was done for. Well it looks like HD-DVD is done for. According to The Hollywood Reporter, Toshiba, the developer of HD-DVD, is expected to formally pull the plug on HD-DVD before the end of March. Toshiba would neither confirm nor deny the report but said they would "continue to study" the viability of HD-DVD. Data collected after the WB shift to Blu-ray says that HD-DVD has made up less than 10% of the hardware sales in the high-def DVD market (actual disc sales for early February are at about 80% Blu-ray). Toshiba was hoping that slashing prices on its players would still be able to entice consumers to opt with their format. But Netflix then dropped HD-DVD and Best Buy made the choice to recommend Blu-ray to all its shoppers. The low cost of players never caught on and Toshiba is losing money hand over fist on the players it drastically reduced. All this, of course, is good news for consumers who finally can dedicate themselves to one format instead of sitting back and waiting for a winner. Let's get this winner on-board and start moving on with our lives... Source: JoBlo.com, which in turn extracted from The Hollywood Reporter. So that's that guys. Since NetFlix and now Wal-Mart shifting exclusive to Blu-Ray, and Toshiba ending it all..looks like next thing on my list will be a bloody expensive PS3. Just to watch movies in High-Def. |
Feb 16 2008, 03:12 AM
1,469 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: YOU.ESS.JAY |
PS3 bloody expensive? Hmmm...... weird...
Feb 16 2008, 03:58 AM
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Feb 16 2008, 03:12 AM) how to put this in a friendly way...uhhh...to a person who doesn't have the adequate amount of money in the bank, even maggi is expensive woooo.. so whether the PS3 is bloody expensive or bloody cheap depends on the dough they have at the moment/all year. but to be fair bro...maybe NOW bloody expensive la. who knows, suddenly bank can allow me to say PS3 so blardi blardi cheap like buying ais kosong. whatev it is: x360 gaming first, then only think of ps3 as a movie center. the game playing ability is an additional thing to me. This post has been edited by Sd-RawK-Cab25: Feb 16 2008, 04:00 AM |
Feb 16 2008, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Feb 16 2008, 03:58 AM) how to put this in a friendly way...uhhh... Well, you don't really need to buy a PS3 to watch high def, standard dvds are good enough unless you have all the equipment to enjoy the high def experience. I've seen people buying a PS3 and watch blu-rays on a standard definition CRT tv. That's pure waste of money.to a person who doesn't have the adequate amount of money in the bank, even maggi is expensive woooo.. so whether the PS3 is bloody expensive or bloody cheap depends on the dough they have at the moment/all year. but to be fair bro...maybe NOW bloody expensive la. who knows, suddenly bank can allow me to say PS3 so blardi blardi cheap like buying ais kosong. whatev it is: x360 gaming first, then only think of ps3 as a movie center. the game playing ability is an additional thing to me. HD-DVD might be on life support but it's just rumours, it might not be true that Toshiba is giving up for good. |
Feb 16 2008, 10:01 PM
589 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: KrustyLia...Long Live Krusty... |
with all due respect..
You guys think HD-DVd is gone now or does it still have some fight left in it? |
Feb 16 2008, 10:16 PM
241 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Feb 16 2008, 02:23 AM) well...this should be good news for those blu-rayers who want to put it in hd-dvd's faces: Dude, how much you bought HD DVD player for? And what HD-DVD player you are watching with?Source: JoBlo.com, which in turn extracted from The Hollywood Reporter. So that's that guys. Since NetFlix and now Wal-Mart shifting exclusive to Blu-Ray, and Toshiba ending it all..looks like next thing on my list will be a bloody expensive PS3. Just to watch movies in High-Def. |
Feb 16 2008, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 16 2008, 08:09 PM) Well, you don't really need to buy a PS3 to watch high def, standard dvds are good enough unless you have all the equipment to enjoy the high def experience. I've seen people buying a PS3 and watch blu-rays on a standard definition CRT tv. That's pure waste of money. well in my case, i will need to get a high def player for blu-ray (if hd-dvd is totally gone for good), as i'm a movie lover on a budget. the display is there, all HD'd up with a living room home theater up as well. only awaiting for a "mini-setup" for my room.HD-DVD might be on life support but it's just rumours, it might not be true that Toshiba is giving up for good. so like i said, just need to wait for the right time and right amount of ka-ching for me to carry on to the blu-path. QUOTE(craven dusk @ Feb 16 2008, 10:16 PM) i'm just using the 360 add-on, which clearly explains that "movie lover on a budget" thingy. which is why i think that currently, given the current monetary status of mine, the ps3 is bloody expensive; what with the lineup of 360 games i'm saving on.then again, this is me and my situation. t'was just a statement. |
Feb 17 2008, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Feb 16 2008, 10:59 PM) well in my case, i will need to get a high def player for blu-ray (if hd-dvd is totally gone for good), as i'm a movie lover on a budget. the display is there, all HD'd up with a living room home theater up as well. only awaiting for a "mini-setup" for my room. Mr. Rawk, it is expensive for many people, not just you. so like i said, just need to wait for the right time and right amount of ka-ching for me to carry on to the blu-path. i'm just using the 360 add-on, which clearly explains that "movie lover on a budget" thingy. which is why i think that currently, given the current monetary status of mine, the ps3 is bloody expensive; what with the lineup of 360 games i'm saving on. then again, this is me and my situation. t'was just a statement. I'm just curious how much you bought your Xobx360 and HD DVD add on? |
Feb 17 2008, 02:04 AM
QUOTE(craven dusk @ Feb 17 2008, 12:08 AM) Mr. Rawk, it is expensive for many people, not just you. yes i know that. hence it's a statement.I'm just curious how much you bought your Xobx360 and HD DVD add on? price? if u were to buy it from GH, it's about the same price then. sorry if i am jumping to conclusions or a bit harsh here, but i've been noticing your posts and 'discussions' here in this thread as well as a few sms'es i've received from you for sales. somehow i just know where your seemingly friendly questions may lead to; sarcasm and wise-arsery (if that's even a word). my friendly advice?: before u start, i advice you to just drop it. it's not cute, it's annoying. let's just keep it as it is, i think the PS3 is expensive because i think so. i don't need a financial consultant to keep a check and balance of previous purchases, i know where i am financially, thank you very much. sorry for the 'PMS' moment and if i truly was jumping the guns, then i apologize. back to the heat of the 'discussion' and what this thread originally was for: to answer Commando's previous question: slim chance of HD-DVD staying alive, my personal opinion. Since the big movie distributors (NetFlix, Wal-Mart) followed WB's move to be Blu-blooded, it's hard to get a solid foundation in the US. The only major bummer though: The Dark Knight. Any news on releases for Rambo, Cloverfield? |
Feb 17 2008, 03:46 AM
QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Feb 17 2008, 02:04 AM) yes i know that. hence it's a statement. So how much you bought it for? price? if u were to buy it from GH, it's about the same price then. sorry if i am jumping to conclusions or a bit harsh here, but i've been noticing your posts and 'discussions' here in this thread as well as a few sms'es i've received from you for sales. somehow i just know where your seemingly friendly questions may lead to; sarcasm and wise-arsery (if that's even a word). my friendly advice?: before u start, i advice you to just drop it. it's not cute, it's annoying. let's just keep it as it is, i think the PS3 is expensive because i think so. i don't need a financial consultant to keep a check and balance of previous purchases, i know where i am financially, thank you very much. sorry for the 'PMS' moment and if i truly was jumping the guns, then i apologize. back to the heat of the 'discussion' and what this thread originally was for: to answer Commando's previous question: slim chance of HD-DVD staying alive, my personal opinion. Since the big movie distributors (NetFlix, Wal-Mart) followed WB's move to be Blu-blooded, it's hard to get a solid foundation in the US. The only major bummer though: The Dark Knight. Any news on releases for Rambo, Cloverfield? Erm.. I don't know why you became defensive suddenly. Not even suggesting anythin on looking for a financial consultant. Anyway, what sms-es have I sent you about HD DVD? I don't remember SMS anyone to buy HD DVD There were not any heat coming per say. I was wondering how were train of thoughts and perspective when you uttered PS3 is so bloody expensive. If you want to a Ferrari, we gotta pay for it. That's pretty much a given. If we want to be in it, that is to be expected. |
Feb 17 2008, 03:51 AM
Guys, please don't go
Feb 17 2008, 04:01 AM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 17 2008, 03:51 AM) Guys, please don't go Sunauto, I'm wondering the same. I still have 'Bourne Trilogy' unopened and Transforners. I considering letting go everything HD DVD. |
Feb 17 2008, 04:08 AM
QUOTE(craven dusk @ Feb 17 2008, 03:46 AM) So how much you bought it for? with that mr. craven, i apologize for the hostility. you have witnessed the horn effect at work.Erm.. I don't know why you became defensive suddenly. Not even suggesting anythin on looking for a financial consultant. Anyway, what sms-es have I sent you about HD DVD? I don't remember SMS anyone to buy HD DVD There were not any heat coming per say. I was wondering how were train of thoughts and perspective when you uttered PS3 is so bloody expensive. If you want to a Ferrari, we gotta pay for it. That's pretty much a given. If we want to be in it, that is to be expected. p.s: just to keep it straight, i didn't specifically say it was hd-dvd sales. so to be specific, it was for pasar malam thread sales, BUT let's just keep it at that. QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 17 2008, 03:51 AM) Guys, please don't go sorry for going off topic. needed to blurt out some toxic nonsense from the noggin.anyway, just to break it down: what niche does HD DVD have to be able to sustain its existence in hi-def markets? storage obviously goes to blu-ray (which theoretically means higher data in video transfers -> kick ass visuals), and adaptability now sides on blu-ray (if we're looking at game consoles being players). take out support from main movie distributors, there won't be reasons for movie studios to actually side HD DVD cos..who else is gonna distribute it. sure, we still have amazon, and some other retailers, but will that be enough? so again, what do you seriously think that HD-DVD has advantage of now? |
Feb 17 2008, 04:24 AM
QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Feb 17 2008, 04:08 AM) with that mr. craven, i apologize for the hostility. you have witnessed the horn effect at work. Oh it was for the Xbox360 games not about HD DVD. That explains everything. You don't need to be specific because we are in HD DVD forum. I agree we will just keep it at that and keep it HD DVD relevant. p.s: just to keep it straight, i didn't specifically say it was hd-dvd sales. so to be specific, it was for pasar malam thread sales, BUT let's just keep it at that. sorry for going off topic. needed to blurt out some toxic nonsense from the noggin. anyway, just to break it down: what niche does HD DVD have to be able to sustain its existence in hi-def markets? storage obviously goes to blu-ray (which theoretically means higher data in video transfers -> kick ass visuals), and adaptability now sides on blu-ray (if we're looking at game consoles being players). take out support from main movie distributors, there won't be reasons for movie studios to actually side HD DVD cos..who else is gonna distribute it. sure, we still have amazon, and some other retailers, but will that be enough? so again, what do you seriously think that HD-DVD has advantage of now? As of now, all they have is just price advantage and a complete hardware spec from Day 1 - HDi and features. |
Feb 17 2008, 04:39 AM
1,161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
It's ending sooner than I thought ..... from reliable Reuters no less.
Toshiba to give up on HD DVD, end format war Let's wait for the final official word from Tosh. |
Feb 17 2008, 10:22 AM
2,013 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: USJ |
Oh wow, was just thinking of getting a HD-DVD player.
Feb 18 2008, 12:59 AM
I just ordered a couple of HD-DVD movies recently but what the heck, I'll keep them, not planning to sell them away including the XBOX 360 HD-DVD add on drive. Can show them one day to my grandchildren how HD-DVD looks like. It will be a collector's item like laserdiscs. My friend has kept his RM4,000 plus Pioneer Elite Laserdisc player until now and his personal collection, about 200 titles. He bought them at RM15 each from a former laserdisc rental shop. How nice if HD-DVD titles are around that price, I wouldn't mind buying them since HD-DVD PQ and SQ are both comparable to Blu-Ray, it ain't the inferior format here despite the limited disc space.
This post has been edited by sunauto: Feb 18 2008, 01:01 AM |
Feb 18 2008, 03:21 PM
1,161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
This thread is as dead as the format.
If anyone knows any good deals on hd-dvd player, pls post them here. I'm on the lookout for one. Thinking of getting the A30/E30. Best i've seen is the ones at b&h photo at US$165 pre-shipping cost. This post has been edited by terranova: Feb 18 2008, 03:22 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0274sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:37 PM |