heard from 1 of my fren working with ibm. He told me that a computer system is tax free for many years. i cant confirm that wait until my stuff reach i'll report to here
Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties
| Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll |
Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties
Oct 26 2008, 03:25 PM
841 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Melaka>KL |
heard from 1 of my fren working with ibm. He told me that a computer system is tax free for many years. i cant confirm that wait until my stuff reach i'll report to here
Oct 30 2008, 05:29 PM
4 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Hello sifu ...
Need a bit of advice from you guys. My package got stranded in KLIA due to custom duty. Its a roofmount flipdown DVD monitor for car/van. I won it from ebay for USD97.00 (inclusive of shipping). Seller is from Hong Kong. Actually the item was sent by the seller to me earlier without any custom problem. However, it was faulty. So, I had to return the item to the seller for repair. After the repair, now the seller sent back to me. Now only kena tahan. thank u. This post has been edited by ben911: Oct 30 2008, 05:31 PM |
Oct 31 2008, 09:25 PM
2 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
I thought if the item is declared repaired item is not a problem?hope somebody can help here..
Nov 1 2008, 12:06 AM
3,008 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: T.T.D.I, Bukit Damansara |
guys, any idea on whether a Sony PSP or Nintendo DS is taxable in the UK? I'm planning to send one of these to my gf soon.
Nov 1 2008, 01:34 PM
3,351 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(banger @ Oct 31 2008, 09:25 PM) Repaired item is not dutiable but there must be proof that it was sent out from Malaysia in the first place. He should have fill up Export (C2) form & Declaration & with all details shown especially the serial no. |
Nov 3 2008, 09:25 PM
4 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(adamw @ Nov 1 2008, 01:34 PM) Repaired item is not dutiable but there must be proof that it was sent out from Malaysia in the first place. He should have fill up Export (C2) form & Declaration & with all details shown especially the serial no. Hi banger, adamw and all,I went to KLIA last saturday. The place was actually at Pejabat Pos, Mel & Kurier (an entirely different building from the LCCT). What I found out was that my shipper declared the item as "Car Parts for Repair". That caused the custom to retained it. The item was declared as "DVD monitor" in the 1st shipment, thats why it was cleared. Anyway, the custom officer explained that Car parts is dutiable but not DVD monitor. When I opened the package, and show him that it was indeed DVD monitor, he cleared it right away. And yes, its true that repaired item is not taxable but as mentioned by adamw, it should have been declared when I shipped it out for repair. Lots of lesson learned on this! |
Nov 6 2008, 07:32 PM
137 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(XEN -v- gK @ Oct 23 2008, 09:36 PM) I have an uncle in Japan and he is going to send me a bunch of stuff via EMS. Great..... package got stuck at kastam.There is no particular theme/type/category to the items: anime figurines mangas DVDs food/snacks random souvenir Ipod computer mouse (dont ask) some cosmetic (for sis) The package comes up to about 3+ kg. What would be the best category to fill in on the EMS form. that would encounter minimal hassle? Cosmetic is out due to need pharmacy AP. Electronic is out due to Sirim AP. That leaves only: Household Goods Sundries Computer Parts Personal Computer Machineries Based on http://tariff.customs.gov.my/ Computer Part and PersoCom looks like a safe bet, but does anyone more experience can chip in their 2cents? Also would it possible/safe to lie about the value on the package on the EMS form? thanks in advance. Package was marked as sundries and gifts, wonders what should of excuse they will think of to squeeze money outta me. |
Nov 6 2008, 08:23 PM
2,348 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Thanks God, that I was just bought an used Intel Processor from eBay yesterday. The parcel is stated as "Used Computer Part". Hope no custom delay because I need to get it before I leave for holidays.
Nov 6 2008, 09:29 PM
841 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Melaka>KL |
anyone tried FedEx international priority or economy shipping from US? how long does it takes to reach malaysia?
Nov 8 2008, 03:15 PM
6 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
I wish to buy a DSLR camera from ebay oversea, it cast me around RM2000+, any tax i need to pay later? how should i properly clarify the item?
Hope some one will help me..thank... |
Nov 8 2008, 04:03 PM
7,937 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Simple really.
FOB would be the value of your item (purchase price) INS is the insurance cost (1% value of the FOB) FRT is the freight/shipping cost CIF/CIFC is the total value of the FOB+INS+FRT If you're using the main couriers - DHL, UPS, FedEx, TNT, etc and the CIFC is RM500 or above you'll be taxed accordingly. The same is suppose to go for normal shipping via the post office but the officers sometimes hold packages for no reason and charge tax below RM500. Most couriers will charge a disbursement fee of RM25 or so to handle the customs, tax, etc. International priority takes 3 days from the US, 4-5 days if it gets stuck in customs. Items from around Asia, probably 2 days or so. Maybe an extra day or 2 if it's stuck in customs. Purchases from Amazon/Ebay if it's via normal shipping it will take 10-11 days maximum including weekends. If it's longer, it's stuck in customs or some other unforseen circumstances. DVDs go for 30% import duty and 10% sales tax CDs go for 25% import duty and 10% sales tax Jerseys/clothes go for 25% import duty and 10% sales tax Camera accessories go for 25/30% import duty and 10% sales tax Playing cards, and related gambling items are 30% import duty and 10% sales tax Watches normally go through without a problem since it's duty free but if the watch is over RM500 and has leather straps, you might find it held while the vetenarian department checks it out, etc. A full camera set with body/lens is considered duty free and not taxable but the accessories purchased alone are taxable. Of course, this is normally if you use main couriers. If you use normal shipping methods and it comes via Post Malaysia then you might escape with small/big shipments from time to time. Also, customs for parcels via normal shipping methods are sometimes just held randomly and charged even if it's not reaching the RM500 limit. So that's another thing. Regarding DVDs via courier, if it's under RM500 it doesn't go through customs and it's directly sent for delivery. RM500 and above and it goes the other way to the customs directly and further checks. For DVDs, they'll open the parcel if they think it's got x rated material and they'll play it on their dvd players (this is only if the item is RM500 and above). Via courier, anything below RM500 is not taken to customs, but loaded up for immediate delivery after the CIF/CIFC values are confirmed. Same goes for most items above RM500, it will be opened and checked. And according to certain items, you'll be taxed anywhere from 25-30% import duty and 10% sales tax. It's mostly unavoidable unless the officer in charge doesn't check the papers properly and you get away with just the 10% sales tax, etc. It happens. So to be safe, keep it under RM500 for your items. Or prepare to pay close to 30-40% in tax for your shipment. Officers will never really accept most excuses because DVDs/CDs are entertainment items. This is a problem purchasing complete series from Amazon because most are above $140 (which is your safe price and not taxable via courier) And that has to include shipping prices, etc. If it's above $140, split your purchases and don't buy complete series box sets. Also be wary about the exchange rates from whichever country you're purchasing items from. Since it changes daily, you'll have to be careful with calculations. If it's a gift and it's above RM500, you'll still get taxed if the value is listed on the package. Best thing is, get someone to send you your package and have the items de-valued if it's above RM500. Amazon, and other online stores will not de-value and will put the actual price on the package. If you send via courier, have the item de-valued below RM500 without detailed descriptions and you'll be fine. @tangbskt9 If you're purchasing a complete set with body/lens or whatever. Then it's considered duty free. This post has been edited by refnulf: Nov 8 2008, 04:32 PM |
Nov 8 2008, 04:07 PM
3,726 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(vailance @ Nov 6 2008, 09:29 PM) anyone tried FedEx international priority or economy shipping from US? how long does it takes to reach malaysia? priority = very fast, the fastest i get is 2 days from SG, ETA 3 days to a weekeconomy = 1-2 weeks. still very fast i love FeDex coz they didnt charge duty handling fees when u got taxed Chow |
Nov 8 2008, 05:53 PM
137 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Got the package back from kastum yesterday, have drive all the way there to pick it up.
Once I got to my turn, the officer ask to open the package and I comply, after seeing all the random stuff inside, the officer ask am I selling them, I said no, as they are gift from uncle. The guy go through the stuff again and said it will very hard to tax because there is so many different type. He ask would I want to wait and let them make of list of taxable item or am I in a hurry *hint* *hint*. I said, I am in hurry and he say to go into the room with him with the package, there he ask for rm300 to clear the stuff. We manage to nego down to rm200 after showing him my wallet, after hand him the money, we take to package to another counter and chop on it for release, and I took the package home with me. |
Nov 8 2008, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(refnulf @ Nov 8 2008, 04:03 PM) Simple really. May I know shipping computer part which value of RM600 will be taxed by custom? However, I ask the seller write down US$70 only on the custom declaration. It is an used Intel processor. Will custom not impose tax on my parcel? Now I am worry about the item, because I bought from eBay with US$170+ shipping via USPS Priority Mail International US$36.FOB would be the value of your item (purchase price) INS is the insurance cost (1% value of the FOB) FRT is the freight/shipping cost CIF/CIFC is the total value of the FOB+INS+FRT If you're using the main couriers - DHL, UPS, FedEx, TNT, etc and the CIFC is RM500 or above you'll be taxed accordingly. The same is suppose to go for normal shipping via the post office but the officers sometimes hold packages for no reason and charge tax below RM500. Most couriers will charge a disbursement fee of RM25 or so to handle the customs, tax, etc. International priority takes 3 days from the US, 4-5 days if it gets stuck in customs. Items from around Asia, probably 2 days or so. Maybe an extra day or 2 if it's stuck in customs. ..... |
Nov 8 2008, 11:39 PM
6 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
How about the camara stuff with tripod, case but together with camera body? will it be taxed?
Nov 9 2008, 04:01 PM
7,937 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(tangbskt9 @ Nov 8 2008, 11:39 PM) From what I know, you shouldn't be taxed. Unless it comes in different packages. The body in one package, then the accessories in other packages. Then you'll probably get taxed if it's above RM500.QUOTE(junclj @ Nov 8 2008, 08:38 PM) May I know shipping computer part which value of RM600 will be taxed by custom? However, I ask the seller write down US$70 only on the custom declaration. It is an used Intel processor. Will custom not impose tax on my parcel? Now I am worry about the item, because I bought from eBay with US$170+ shipping via USPS Priority Mail International US$36. Those don't go through couriers, through the post office mostly so there's a chance it'll come through without a problem. But there's also a chance that it'll be held. When it comes to normal mail via the Post Office the customs are very inconsistent. Sometimes they'll hold a package worth USD$90, sometimes they'll hold a package worth USD$30. Sometimes, you'll find things worth USD$470 coming through without a problem. But by right, anything at RM500 and above needs to be held so they can tax you. I've gotten packages with a variety of value held and would have to call the post office to handle it. One of my packages, worth USD$500 wasn't held and arrived pretty fast. No idea why it wasn't held, definitely higher than RM500. With the normal post office shipments, it's down to luck I suppose.But with couriers, it's a strict RM500 and above. It'll be directed to customs so it can be checked and taxed. This post has been edited by refnulf: Nov 9 2008, 04:03 PM |
Nov 11 2008, 07:39 PM
3 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
me too... now i ald lost a samsung mp3 purchase from singapore via my fren and my friend lsot the trackin number so cant track at all. its ald 1 month, no letter, no call,either from pos office or custom....my friend using reg mail from singpost.......... but last wed, my friend send me an ext HDD and same samsung mp3 player from singapore via reg mail again now ald 4 working days, not news at all... any help and opinion? i know its better use EMS but reg mail cheap for postal. that i regret now. anyone know how to retrieve the items? (ext hdd 2.5' and mp3 player) ....... lst time i bought a pouch and plastic casing for my hp , in 3 days time via reg mail it reach my home address... FAST.. but know this 2 items i dont know how? Any genders and ladies help wud be appeciated.
Added on November 11, 2008, 7:46 pmme too... now i ald lost a samsung mp3 purchase from singapore via my fren and my friend lsot the trackin number so cant track at all. its ald 1 month, no letter, no call,either from pos office or custom....my friend using reg mail from singpost.......... but last wed, my friend send me an ext HDD and same samsung mp3 player from singapore via reg mail again now ald 4 working days, not news at all... any help and opinion? i know its better use EMS but reg mail cheap for postal. that i regret now. anyone know how to retrieve the items? (ext hdd 2.5' and mp3 player) ....... lst time i bought a pouch and plastic casing for my hp , in 3 days time via reg mail it reach my home address... FAST.. but now this 2 items i dont know how? Any gentlemens and ladies help wud be appeciated. This post has been edited by applelee: Nov 11 2008, 07:46 PM |
Nov 11 2008, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(applelee @ Nov 11 2008, 07:39 PM) me too... now i ald lost a samsung mp3 purchase from singapore via my fren and my friend lsot the trackin number so cant track at all. its ald 1 month, no letter, no call,either from pos office or custom....my friend using reg mail from singpost.......... but last wed, my friend send me an ext HDD and same samsung mp3 player from singapore via reg mail again now ald 4 working days, not news at all... any help and opinion? i know its better use EMS but reg mail cheap for postal. that i regret now. anyone know how to retrieve the items? (ext hdd 2.5' and mp3 player) ....... lst time i bought a pouch and plastic casing for my hp , in 3 days time via reg mail it reach my home address... FAST.. but know this 2 items i dont know how? Any genders and ladies help wud be appeciated. Just wait for it, usually registered mail will arrive within 2 weeks. But the CN22 custom declaration there, you better ask the sender don't write the actual value. Just write down around US$10 - $20 and write down content in the parcel then tick as "gift". Don't write the value too high, just for easy to pass the custom release.Added on November 11, 2008, 7:46 pmme too... now i ald lost a samsung mp3 purchase from singapore via my fren and my friend lsot the trackin number so cant track at all. its ald 1 month, no letter, no call,either from pos office or custom....my friend using reg mail from singpost.......... but last wed, my friend send me an ext HDD and same samsung mp3 player from singapore via reg mail again now ald 4 working days, not news at all... any help and opinion? i know its better use EMS but reg mail cheap for postal. that i regret now. anyone know how to retrieve the items? (ext hdd 2.5' and mp3 player) ....... lst time i bought a pouch and plastic casing for my hp , in 3 days time via reg mail it reach my home address... FAST.. but now this 2 items i dont know how? Any gentlemens and ladies help wud be appeciated. |
Nov 12 2008, 10:39 AM
1 posts Joined: May 2008 |
hye,i am new with this import export thingy hopefully someone can help me.i want to import 30pc of t-shirts from thailand cost around rm800 and ships with dhl. do i have to pay tax or anything to get my t-shirt to malaysia/doorstep?please someone help me
Nov 12 2008, 08:55 PM
3 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Just wait for it, usually registered mail will arrive within 2 weeks. But the CN22 custom declaration there, you better ask the sender don't write the actual value. Just write down around US$10 - $20 and write down content in the parcel then tick as "gift". Don't write the value too high, just for easy to pass the custom release.
But this morning i got internal fren work inside and check for it. it arrive at KL pos office and my friend said ther wont sent out as they said they cant read the address clearly. i ask my fren(sender) said his handwriting very neat...impossible.....i think my friend jsut wrote mp3 player instead inside got ext HDD and a logitech webcam.now i blur..r tehy bluff me so tat i go ther can will be tax on me? previously samsung mp3 player same via reg mail, its ald 1 month no news at all.....i think the custom grabbed it ald. |
| Change to: | 0.0417sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:37 AM |