Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

melt
post Jul 12 2013, 11:52 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(cyberfly @ Jul 11 2013, 03:53 PM)
Hi I trace my item which is 6 unit of imitation pvc handbag worth of RM784 and it said Pending Custom Clearance. Will SKYNET contact me or Custom will contact me to settle the tax? Or I need to contact the custom manually?

It's been 5 days since my item stuck at custom clearance and still no news.

you can contact skynet if you sure that they are the one shipping for you. Normally is Poslaju

QUOTE(afheyz @ Jul 11 2013, 10:47 PM)
Hello guys.
Need some help here.
I currently planning on buying tumbler from China.
Its 3000pcs and I really have no idea how exactly Malaysia Custom work.

Does anybody know how to calculate the duty/tax that I might have to pay?

Thank you in advance guys.
20% import tax 10% sales tax (plastic material)

calculation will based on insurance, cost transportation and your cost of your items

QUOTE(r4g3 @ Jul 12 2013, 11:15 AM)
I have bought few apparels (jeans) from the states. Thinking of bringing back all of them via different parcel with each parcel value is less than USD150 but overall cost including shipping will be more than USD150. High chance of being taxed?

Also what is the HS code for jeans? 6812 80 100 or 6812 91 100 or might be other?
HS code should start with 6203
all should be 10% sales tax only.

I wouldnt bother to split it if I were you just calculate your shipping cost if you split it and compare it with your tax. You can ask seller to declare a bit lower value if you are worried.
ectt
post Jul 12 2013, 03:10 PM

1,049 posts

does anyone imported solar panels and its controller/inverter from china?
how much is the tax/duty?
and what HS code?
thank you for any replies.
uverworld002
post Jul 14 2013, 02:49 PM

hiii..
can i ask few questions..
i wanna start small business, that is clothing bsness..my budget is around RM10k to buy shirt from indonesia..method of buying those shirt..
go indonesia>buy shirt from boutique>post to malaysia using courier/etc while at indonesia..
the question is..how much tax will be charged for all those shirt that cost around RM10k..
and should i get "Permit" for importing those things for business??can someone help me with the FLOW of CUSTOM.. sad.gif
tq..
victor880220
post Jul 14 2013, 09:12 PM

370 posts

Hi, I bought some yugioh trading card thru ebay, will I get tax?
Amount is around 150usd and 43usd.
SUSPatagoniaranger
post Jul 16 2013, 11:03 PM

117 posts

http://www.amazon.com/Gyokucho-770-3600-Ra...pd_sim_sbs_hi_8

Can i import this japanese hand saw in? Will the custom detain the item? What the proper procedure to import it legally for my wood working project? Is this item taxable?
Dark Devon
post Jul 19 2013, 05:30 PM

560 posts

Hi, need some SIFUs to guide me for the custom tax. Previously I did import for more than 10-20 shipments since last year and all that never have problem with the calculation.

For this time, I received the custom invoice from DHL through online (haven't finish clearance yet coz I haven't agree on the duty amount).

This time calculation really seems headache for me as they include with Freight and Insurance charges which I really wonder why with their double standard. I just received a huge shipment 10 days ago and it just count (invoice amount USD x currency x 10% tax =total amount)

While this time they calculate (invoice amount USD x currency x 10% tax =total amount + Freight + Insurance = Final Amount )

Please help :'( Really sad as DHL / custom broker always have different 'guideline' based on their own judgment.

Sad sad sad sad sad.gif

This post has been edited by Dark Devon: Jul 19 2013, 05:33 PM
Augus7
post Jul 20 2013, 12:45 PM

Council
698 posts

Anyone experienced importing one modem before? How is the procedure?
cinderlala
post Jul 20 2013, 07:55 PM

47 posts

This is scary. M'sia's illegitimate gov just want to suck us dry. Tax, duties, levies, then tax, tax some more vmad.gif

Esp. for those import for sale.
Just buy in small to moderate amount, but buy frequent rotate a few different address n receivers' names (just saying...may be worth a try) ...so they can't trace you ....or have your manufacturer dropship directly from their place to your customer. Coz at times even wth the bulk discount, those taxes ALREADY cancel out the savings.

Dark Devon
post Jul 20 2013, 08:41 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(cinderlala @ Jul 20 2013, 07:55 PM)
This is scary. M'sia's illegitimate gov just want to suck us dry. Tax, duties, levies, then tax, tax some more  vmad.gif

Esp. for those import for sale.
Just buy in small to moderate amount, but buy frequent rotate a few different address n receivers' names (just saying...may be  worth a try) ...so they can't trace you ....or have your manufacturer dropship directly from their place to your customer. Coz at times even wth the bulk discount, those taxes ALREADY cancel out the savings.
Hahaha lol. Frequently have tax and after argue they lower down the price. Once RM 800 drop to RM 200. Imagine how smart are they. Anyway, i had emailed to authority regarding complain their misbehaviour for charging the tax. Asked them proof it if they are eligible to collect it. Dont widh to 'pamper' them anymore by paying something which I dont hav to. Hehe.....
Waregem
post Jul 20 2013, 09:29 PM

QUOTE(Dark Devon @ Jul 19 2013, 05:30 PM)
Hi, need some SIFUs to guide me for the custom tax. Previously I did import for more than 10-20 shipments since last year and all that never have problem with the calculation.

For this time, I received the custom invoice from DHL through online (haven't finish clearance yet coz I haven't agree on the duty amount).

This time calculation really seems headache for me as they include with Freight and Insurance charges which I really wonder why with their double standard. I just received a huge shipment 10 days ago and it just count (invoice amount USD x currency x 10% tax =total amount)

While this time they calculate (invoice amount USD x currency x 10% tax =total amount + Freight + Insurance = Final Amount )

Please help :'( Really sad as DHL / custom broker always have different 'guideline' based on their own judgment.

Sad sad sad sad sad.gif
It should be only the amount of item invoice x currency exchange rate x 10% sales tax.

Maybe the one in-charged is a newbie. You may show previous shipping info with him/her.

Shipment fee + insurance are not "sales item" ...

Kindly update us. tongue.gif
Dark Devon
post Jul 20 2013, 11:56 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(Waregem @ Jul 20 2013, 09:29 PM)
It should be only the amount of item invoice x currency exchange rate x 10% sales tax.

Maybe the one in-charged is a newbie. You may show previous shipping info with him/her.

Shipment fee + insurance are not "sales item" ...

Kindly update us.  tongue.gif
Yup I saw the custom broker IC stated there. Newbie born at 1990 lol. Will chase them tomorrow again for the update as I requested them to open dispute file haha. I dont mind paying as difference is just rm 20 but the prinsip it they shud do it in right way. brows.gif thanks everyone for your kindness guide. It is really helpful as I dont seem able to get info through google it. rclxm9.gif
Waregem
post Jul 21 2013, 09:51 AM

QUOTE(Dark Devon @ Jul 20 2013, 11:56 PM)
Yup I saw the custom broker IC stated there. Newbie born at 1990 lol. Will chase them tomorrow again for the update as I requested them to open dispute file haha. I dont mind paying as difference is just rm 20 but the prinsip it they shud do it in right way.  brows.gif thanks everyone for your kindness guide. It is really helpful as I dont seem able to get info through google it.  rclxm9.gif
Seems newbie in logistic needed more basic training but DHL should has a standard guideline otherwise we will be paying "innocent money" to the government and don't mention wasting our time too.

Yes, I agree that RM20 is not much but if this were to occur to everyone else, that's quite a huge amount.

Meaning your items still at clearance stage? Keep us posted as we can learn more about our rights. smile.gif

Dark Devon
post Jul 21 2013, 02:31 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(Waregem @ Jul 21 2013, 09:51 AM)
Seems newbie in logistic needed more basic training but DHL should has a standard guideline otherwise we will be paying "innocent money" to the government and don't mention wasting our time too.

Yes, I agree that RM20 is not much but if this were to occur to everyone else, that's quite a huge amount.

Meaning your items still at clearance stage? Keep us posted as we can learn more about our rights.  smile.gif
Hehe will do. icon_rolleyes.gif notworthy.gif
X-kiddo
post Jul 21 2013, 05:09 PM

buy electronic part from japan use EMS.
now detain by custom.
already 4 day.
what to do?
got no call or anything.
=(

what to do?
=(
ectt
post Jul 21 2013, 05:40 PM

1,049 posts

QUOTE(X-kiddo @ Jul 21 2013, 05:09 PM)
now detain by custom.
already 4 day.
what to do?
got no call or anything.
=(

what to do?
=(
what electronic part?
X-kiddo
post Jul 21 2013, 05:43 PM

QUOTE(ectt @ Jul 21 2013, 05:40 PM)
what electronic part?
hp part..
ectt
post Jul 21 2013, 05:46 PM

1,049 posts

QUOTE(X-kiddo @ Jul 21 2013, 05:43 PM)
hp part..
how much does it worth?
previous saying here is about 15-20%.
X-kiddo
post Jul 21 2013, 09:13 PM

QUOTE(ectt @ Jul 21 2013, 05:46 PM)
how much does it worth?
previous saying here is about 15-20%.
2+++..
huaaaaaaa...
what shud i do..

melt
post Jul 22 2013, 10:03 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(X-kiddo @ Jul 21 2013, 09:13 PM)
2+++..
huaaaaaaa...
what shud i do..
try to call poslaju has all EMS is handled by them. They should be able to advise you.

This post has been edited by melt: Jul 22 2013, 10:03 AM
Sham903n
post Jul 22 2013, 11:27 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(X-kiddo @ Jul 21 2013, 05:09 PM)
now detain by custom.
already 4 day.
what to do?
got no call or anything.
=(

what to do?
=(
you can go there and bring your shipping slip also $$$
go to the POS "office" first, give your shipping number, let them know your item type.
they will look for your shipping slip frm their end and issue a letter for you for customs (this service is charge by POS to you)
after waiting for a long time, they will call you to the counter and give you the letter and ask for service payment. Bring this letter to the custom inspection area, later he will ask to to proceed to collection area, you will receive your item and ask to bring to inspection again, here they will give you a knife and ask you to open the package, once inspected and verify correct as stated in shipping bill, you will need to proceed to their officer in cubicle with your item left at inspection, this is the person who will tell you how much you need to pay after she/he went thru the tax code, once done, you will be issue an amount and ask to make payment at the cashier counter, once payment made proceed to inspection and show resit that you made payment and collect your item and say "Thank you, that was a wonderful "ping-pong" experience"

be smart.. next time dont put HP electronic... just "electronic parts" is way safer

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Jul 23 2013, 06:43 PM

134 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:38 AM