Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

mwkh_hope
post Oct 13 2007, 12:52 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(bbjslee @ Oct 11 2007, 02:08 PM)
There are all kind of electronic products, you need to be specific. Even for computer stuffs, some still have 10% sales tax, while some don't
Is there any website link or website that i can refer to? well, i plan to do bulk for oem graphic cards & computer products or electronic products.

What about bags? If order, kena tax?

hazahazdy
post Oct 16 2007, 02:18 AM

105 posts

what bout handphones?have to pay taxes too?
Only_Human
post Oct 17 2007, 08:52 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(hazahazdy @ Oct 16 2007, 02:18 AM)
what bout handphones?have to pay taxes too?
Hp need permit form sirim and pay 10% tax ~

if i am not wrong need pay around RM202 for the permit to import ~ (but the will give u the permit in 3 working day)
u can go sirim there to get permit ~ shah alam ~
if u need fast like me ~ pay more RM30 ~ the permit will do in today ~ wait 1hour + then can get permit ~

if u dont have transport ~ u can go with KTM ~ Shah Alam Station ~
and go with taxi tell them go sirim ~ u need pay around RM5 only ~

then go LCCT Terminal to take ur hp ~ tax will charge 10% ~

if u dont have transport ~ u can go KL Central and take bus go there ~
u need see the bus which go LCCT Terminal ~ dont take bus go with KLIA ~
the sirim guy say to me if go KLIA ~ but that place in LCCT Terminal ~

take bus form KL Central go to LCCT Terminal the price is around RM8 ~

This post has been edited by Only_Human: Oct 17 2007, 09:02 AM
lala01
post Oct 17 2007, 01:00 PM

176 posts

wat if only buy 1 or 2 units of hp or electronic stuff online from UK n ship here..? need to pay tax?
elfreakz
post Oct 22 2007, 07:17 PM

3,905 posts

i received my package of 3 DVDs from ebay (US) - mail it to Sarawak. gosh i almost charge for Kastam, but luckily the person work at the counter that evening, skip me and ask me to go free with my 3 dvds, because the kastam people is not in yet. and my stuff is collected at Pos Laju office.

i was wondering, its only 3 documentary dvd also will be charge? or is it Sarawak government rules to check and charge?

because last 2 months, im buying one book.. but mail to KL address.. it arrived without poslaju, but other courier, no charge and delivered to my door.

This post has been edited by elfreakz: Oct 22 2007, 07:19 PM
Only_Human
post Oct 22 2007, 07:24 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Oct 22 2007, 07:17 PM)
i received my package of 3 DVDs from ebay (US) - mail it to Sarawak. gosh i almost charge for Kastam, but luckily the person work at the counter that evening, skip me and ask me to go free with my 3 dvds, because the kastam people is not in yet. and my stuff is collected at Pos Laju office.

i was wondering, its only 3 documentary dvd also will be charge? or is it Sarawak government rules to check and charge?

because last 2 months, im buying one book.. but mail to KL address.. it arrived without poslaju, but other courier, no charge and delivered to my door.
this is depend on ur luck ~
because sometime is charge and sometime no charge sweat.gif

elfreakz
post Oct 22 2007, 09:39 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(Only_Human @ Oct 22 2007, 07:24 PM)
this is depend on ur luck ~
because sometime is charge and sometime no charge  sweat.gif
susah also right, if depends on luck. i thought if small amount of things no need charge. i thought all this while the bulk stuff only charge for tax... things like 1 books, dvds less than 4 is NO TAX.
Only_Human
post Oct 22 2007, 10:07 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Oct 22 2007, 09:39 PM)
susah also right, if depends on luck. i thought if small amount of things no need charge. i thought all this while the bulk stuff only charge for tax... things like 1 books, dvds less than 4 is NO TAX.
no lah ~ that time i go LCCT there take my thing i saw one ppl kena tax .... the car light the small one ~ few only also kena tongue.gif
and the postage also .... use the private one less change to get tax hmm.gif
elfreakz
post Oct 22 2007, 11:17 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(Only_Human @ Oct 22 2007, 10:07 PM)
no lah ~ that time i go LCCT there take my thing i saw one ppl kena tax .... the car light the small one ~ few only also kena  tongue.gif
and the postage also .... use the private one less change to get tax  hmm.gif
yea i think my first order the 1 book... using other courier because it doesnt link to poslaju = so i assume no tax

the 3 dvd, i dont know why it link to poslaju = i think if link got charge.
kc26
post Oct 29 2007, 11:06 AM

277 posts

guys
I have bought a video camera online from HK.
Now the camera is at Sepang waiting for custom clearance.
I know from malaysian custom (custom duties order 1996) video camera is non-dutiable.
But u know, anything can happen...
Just in case they ceased it and hold on to it and ask for duty or tax, What shld i do,
I am not in KL, i am in sarawak, cannot go there to argue.....????
The shipping is using FedEx courier.
Any advise....Pls help

This post has been edited by kc26: Oct 29 2007, 11:56 AM
mwkh_hope
post Oct 30 2007, 05:02 PM

406 posts

well, i think if the ur mailing address is in sarawak. then i think kastam sarawak will do the work...
Only_Human
post Nov 1 2007, 03:32 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(kc26 @ Oct 29 2007, 11:06 AM)
guys
I have bought a video camera online from HK.
Now the camera is at Sepang waiting for custom clearance.
I know from malaysian custom (custom duties order 1996) video camera is non-dutiable.
But u know, anything can happen...
Just in case they ceased it and hold on to it and ask for duty or tax, What shld i do,
I am not in KL, i am in sarawak, cannot go there to argue.....????
The shipping is using FedEx courier.
Any advise....Pls help
QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ Oct 30 2007, 05:02 PM)
well, i think if the ur mailing address is in sarawak. then i think kastam sarawak will do the work...
Ya ~
i think should be send to sarawak kastam there ~
if not how they call u to take in KL ~

If video camera is non-dutiable then no need worry ~
But I think will kena Sirim de ~ need take the Permit to import doh.gif
Because the video camera is consider as electrical thing ~ any electrical thing also need to take permit to import ~

I duno sarawak got Sirim or not ~
If not then only can go Shah Alam KL to settle this case ~

If u cannot do ~ u the post official people can help u ~
But of cause need pay money lah .....

============================================================================================

Dont worry ~
If u kena tax or sirim they will send u letter inform u de ~

This post has been edited by Only_Human: Nov 1 2007, 03:35 PM
hibiki0104
post Nov 1 2007, 04:57 PM

482 posts

sorry to ask the same question. but i still dont understand about handphone tax. eq. if i buy hp at uk for 80 pound @ rm 500++. someone said that the tax is 10% rite? 10% from what price? do we have to stat the price when mailing? then they take 10% from the written price? what if i write the handphone price rm 100 when posting? and also, what if i declare my parcel as gift? also kn tax?
Only_Human
post Nov 1 2007, 06:49 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(hibiki0104 @ Nov 1 2007, 04:57 PM)
sorry to ask the same question. but i still dont understand about handphone tax. eq. if i buy  hp at uk for 80 pound @ rm 500++.  someone said that the tax is 10% rite? 10% from  what price? do we have to stat the price when mailing? then  they take 10% from the written price? what if i write  the handphone price  rm 100 when posting?  and also, what if i declare my parcel as gift? also kn tax?
yes the tax is 10% tongue.gif
About this i also no idea grumble.gif

better declare ur parcel as gift ~
u write the price they also didnt believe de wink.gif if u put less they will say u cheat them rolleyes.gif
they will put whatever price that they like or they feel suitable for the tax lor doh.gif

the important is the staff ~ they can help u low the price ~
can talk to them ~ they are very friendly ~
(i mean the staff in room 2)

the kastam ppl with uniform very doh.gif sweat.gif wink.gif

better do tax in room 2 and then let the kastam check then take the payment which shop by kastam and pay ~

================================================================================

Hp tax not very expensive ~
the most thing i dis like is need go shah alam (SIRIM) to get permit to import doh.gif

the permit almost RM210 ++ need 3 working day to do for u doh.gif
but in malaysia , u can take the permit in less than 2 hour shocking.gif buy need pay RM30 for process fee sweat.gif whistling.gif

================================================================================

One thing i can tell u ~
If ur uk have friends better tell them to change the Hp cover to u ~
Change the cover with abit rosak one ~ then they will tax u less laugh.gif
The hp look more old the price will more less ~

But that time i go there the kastam ppl tell me ~
Hp tax very less de ~ they wouldnt charge much whistling.gif

My Toshiba W41T charge RM10 only for the tax tongue.gif
But Sirim (Permit to import) need pay RM250 ++ doh.gif

And final ~
About the Hp things the staff in room 2 told me better take myself ~
because if u call postman come to take ~
the kastam will charge more and maybe your hp will kena tahan and cannot get ~

That mean ~ when u kena tax better go settle urself ~
U can get more cheap with call the staff to help u ~

This post has been edited by Only_Human: Nov 1 2007, 06:54 PM
hibiki0104
post Nov 1 2007, 08:31 PM

482 posts

thanx a lot only_human smile.gif
moderno
post Nov 1 2007, 09:10 PM

*Thanks for all the memories & supports! @ LYN**
1,924 posts

i think the staff in room 2 is Pos Malaysia Forwarder Agent.....they'll assist u in declaring the goods and tax stuffs smile.gif

they're not wearing uniform rite?
Only_Human
post Nov 1 2007, 09:16 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(moderno @ Nov 1 2007, 09:10 PM)
i think the staff in room 2 is Pos Malaysia Forwarder Agent.....they'll assist u in declaring the goods and tax stuffs smile.gif

they're not wearing uniform rite?
No didnt wear uniform ~
The ppl who wear uniform is outside there ~ kastam ppl ~ like police uniform ~
moderno
post Nov 2 2007, 01:09 AM

*Thanks for all the memories & supports! @ LYN**
1,924 posts

QUOTE(Only_Human @ Nov 1 2007, 09:16 PM)
No didnt wear uniform ~
The ppl who wear uniform is outside there ~ kastam ppl ~ like police uniform ~
owh...they're Pos Malaysia forwarder / custom agent... biggrin.gif it's nice for u to see them biggrin.gif
ahbenggay
post Nov 5 2007, 01:38 PM

Tra la la
1,136 posts

geee...what is the tax for CD right now -.-"
last month i tio charge 32% =.= wtf
wingcross
post Nov 5 2007, 03:08 PM

603 posts

hi guys what about jigsaw puzzle ? will kena custom ?

i can see some website speficallly mentioned that they will not ship to malaysia.

ps found 5% tax

This post has been edited by wingcross: Nov 5 2007, 03:33 PM

134 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:21 AM