Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

Only_Human
post Oct 17 2007, 08:52 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(hazahazdy @ Oct 16 2007, 02:18 AM)
what bout handphones?have to pay taxes too?
Hp need permit form sirim and pay 10% tax ~

if i am not wrong need pay around RM202 for the permit to import ~ (but the will give u the permit in 3 working day)
u can go sirim there to get permit ~ shah alam ~
if u need fast like me ~ pay more RM30 ~ the permit will do in today ~ wait 1hour + then can get permit ~

if u dont have transport ~ u can go with KTM ~ Shah Alam Station ~
and go with taxi tell them go sirim ~ u need pay around RM5 only ~

then go LCCT Terminal to take ur hp ~ tax will charge 10% ~

if u dont have transport ~ u can go KL Central and take bus go there ~
u need see the bus which go LCCT Terminal ~ dont take bus go with KLIA ~
the sirim guy say to me if go KLIA ~ but that place in LCCT Terminal ~

take bus form KL Central go to LCCT Terminal the price is around RM8 ~

This post has been edited by Only_Human: Oct 17 2007, 09:02 AM
Only_Human
post Oct 22 2007, 07:24 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Oct 22 2007, 07:17 PM)
i received my package of 3 DVDs from ebay (US) - mail it to Sarawak. gosh i almost charge for Kastam, but luckily the person work at the counter that evening, skip me and ask me to go free with my 3 dvds, because the kastam people is not in yet. and my stuff is collected at Pos Laju office.

i was wondering, its only 3 documentary dvd also will be charge? or is it Sarawak government rules to check and charge?

because last 2 months, im buying one book.. but mail to KL address.. it arrived without poslaju, but other courier, no charge and delivered to my door.
this is depend on ur luck ~
because sometime is charge and sometime no charge sweat.gif

Only_Human
post Oct 22 2007, 10:07 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Oct 22 2007, 09:39 PM)
susah also right, if depends on luck. i thought if small amount of things no need charge. i thought all this while the bulk stuff only charge for tax... things like 1 books, dvds less than 4 is NO TAX.
no lah ~ that time i go LCCT there take my thing i saw one ppl kena tax .... the car light the small one ~ few only also kena tongue.gif
and the postage also .... use the private one less change to get tax hmm.gif
Only_Human
post Nov 1 2007, 03:32 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(kc26 @ Oct 29 2007, 11:06 AM)
guys
I have bought a video camera online from HK.
Now the camera is at Sepang waiting for custom clearance.
I know from malaysian custom (custom duties order 1996) video camera is non-dutiable.
But u know, anything can happen...
Just in case they ceased it and hold on to it and ask for duty or tax, What shld i do,
I am not in KL, i am in sarawak, cannot go there to argue.....????
The shipping is using FedEx courier.
Any advise....Pls help
QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ Oct 30 2007, 05:02 PM)
well, i think if the ur mailing address is in sarawak. then i think kastam sarawak will do the work...
Ya ~
i think should be send to sarawak kastam there ~
if not how they call u to take in KL ~

If video camera is non-dutiable then no need worry ~
But I think will kena Sirim de ~ need take the Permit to import doh.gif
Because the video camera is consider as electrical thing ~ any electrical thing also need to take permit to import ~

I duno sarawak got Sirim or not ~
If not then only can go Shah Alam KL to settle this case ~

If u cannot do ~ u the post official people can help u ~
But of cause need pay money lah .....

============================================================================================

Dont worry ~
If u kena tax or sirim they will send u letter inform u de ~

This post has been edited by Only_Human: Nov 1 2007, 03:35 PM
Only_Human
post Nov 1 2007, 06:49 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(hibiki0104 @ Nov 1 2007, 04:57 PM)
sorry to ask the same question. but i still dont understand about handphone tax. eq. if i buy  hp at uk for 80 pound @ rm 500++.  someone said that the tax is 10% rite? 10% from  what price? do we have to stat the price when mailing? then  they take 10% from the written price? what if i write  the handphone price  rm 100 when posting?  and also, what if i declare my parcel as gift? also kn tax?
yes the tax is 10% tongue.gif
About this i also no idea grumble.gif

better declare ur parcel as gift ~
u write the price they also didnt believe de wink.gif if u put less they will say u cheat them rolleyes.gif
they will put whatever price that they like or they feel suitable for the tax lor doh.gif

the important is the staff ~ they can help u low the price ~
can talk to them ~ they are very friendly ~
(i mean the staff in room 2)

the kastam ppl with uniform very doh.gif sweat.gif wink.gif

better do tax in room 2 and then let the kastam check then take the payment which shop by kastam and pay ~

================================================================================

Hp tax not very expensive ~
the most thing i dis like is need go shah alam (SIRIM) to get permit to import doh.gif

the permit almost RM210 ++ need 3 working day to do for u doh.gif
but in malaysia , u can take the permit in less than 2 hour shocking.gif buy need pay RM30 for process fee sweat.gif whistling.gif

================================================================================

One thing i can tell u ~
If ur uk have friends better tell them to change the Hp cover to u ~
Change the cover with abit rosak one ~ then they will tax u less laugh.gif
The hp look more old the price will more less ~

But that time i go there the kastam ppl tell me ~
Hp tax very less de ~ they wouldnt charge much whistling.gif

My Toshiba W41T charge RM10 only for the tax tongue.gif
But Sirim (Permit to import) need pay RM250 ++ doh.gif

And final ~
About the Hp things the staff in room 2 told me better take myself ~
because if u call postman come to take ~
the kastam will charge more and maybe your hp will kena tahan and cannot get ~

That mean ~ when u kena tax better go settle urself ~
U can get more cheap with call the staff to help u ~

This post has been edited by Only_Human: Nov 1 2007, 06:54 PM
Only_Human
post Nov 1 2007, 09:16 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(moderno @ Nov 1 2007, 09:10 PM)
i think the staff in room 2 is Pos Malaysia Forwarder Agent.....they'll assist u in declaring the goods and tax stuffs smile.gif

they're not wearing uniform rite?
No didnt wear uniform ~
The ppl who wear uniform is outside there ~ kastam ppl ~ like police uniform ~
Only_Human
post Nov 6 2007, 01:42 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(ahbenggay @ Nov 5 2007, 01:38 PM)
geee...what is the tax for CD right now -.-"
last month i tio charge 32% =.= wtf
Walao ~
Last month got 32% meh shocking.gif
Where u import form ? how many cd u import ?

QUOTE(wingcross @ Nov 5 2007, 03:08 PM)
hi guys what about jigsaw puzzle ? will kena custom ?

i can see some website speficallly mentioned that they will not ship to malaysia.

ps found 5% tax
Puzzle also kena tax ar doh.gif
Duno wor .... hmmmm ..... no idea shakehead.gif
If u buy one i think they no tax u one ....... wink.gif sweat.gif
Only_Human
post Nov 7 2007, 07:11 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Nov 6 2007, 06:57 AM)
IPOD,Zune,MP4 Player, issit taxable?biggrin.gif
QUOTE(jerdude @ Nov 7 2007, 06:54 PM)
Hi, just wanna ask how much nintendo wii tax. Sorry, not very familiar with the web, a bit confused..smile.gif
Not sure ~ maybe 10% hmm.gif

QUOTE(ahbenggay @ Nov 6 2007, 12:19 PM)
from hong kong lur -.-
1 cd..but comes with a lot features , + dvd + book.
so what is the real tax for cd music ? -.-
They don rite in properly in custom website.
they really sial lar..bodoh punya goverment
They tell me DVD charge 30% ~
I duno why charge 32% ?????
Many u got a lot of features + book.
We cannot say much ~ because they charge how much is depend on their mood .....
So u much soft soft talk with them .....
Only_Human
post Nov 7 2007, 09:11 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(ahbenggay @ Nov 7 2007, 08:02 PM)
lol...if dvd , they charge 40 - 42 % lur....this guy was good
another 1 was a big cork sucka. I bought 1 cd + 1 dvd ..but altogather he charge me 40-42% tax. What a dog.

but what to do ....bm seberang prai all legal robbers ^^
They charge everything they could. Even if u buy 1 cd oso tio .
Si kuan le....malaysia boleh -.-
DVD only 30% ~
The biggest pangkat kastam tell me ~

Only_Human
post Nov 8 2007, 04:09 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(ahbenggay @ Nov 8 2007, 12:10 PM)
no use ler...30% oso killing ppl already.
we buy original dvd sum mur have to pay tax for the goverment =.=" . this is just laughable.
Yes ~ i agree with u ~
The government only make ppl dont want support Ori ~
Always say support Ori ~ then buy this kena tax buy that kena tax ~
That why now ppl rather buy Cetak rompak in Pasar malam or dl ehem ~

But i still support Ori lah sweat.gif
I support my Idol ~ but when kena tax is very mafan ~
need go LCCT there pay tax ~ time and money also gone liao ~

When u blame they ~ they will tell u ~
Why u wanna buy CD from other country ~
But they dont even understand in this bolehland less sell japanese or other CD ablum ~
That why we terpaksa buy from other country ~

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Nov 8 2007, 02:12 PM)
IPOD,ZUNE and its family... izzit taxed? biggrin.gif coz I've been bring those stuff b4... sometime kene tax,sometime not laugh.gif
Yes tax ~
Kena tax or not is depend on luck whistling.gif

===========================

When u birng IPOD or MP4 kena SIRIM or not ?
I am not sure it will kena or not ~

This post has been edited by Only_Human: Nov 8 2007, 04:21 PM
Only_Human
post Nov 12 2007, 07:29 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(ahbenggay @ Nov 9 2007, 04:46 PM)
i tell u lur , in my place at penang , seberang prai custom are strict ? ermm no i mean greedy sleep.gif. Even if u buy 1 cd USD15 oso they charge ler.

Only Human : yeah ....jap album here are very rare...oni that ayumi veli popular nia ...i like Aya Ueto voice very much so decided to buy her whole single and album but month by month ler =.=". Last month i oni tio tax...see b4 end of month of October i order Aya Ueto single album again...now i tio surat from custom liao...tomolow have to go collect. Really OMG liao lar ...USD50 for 4 album....and they charge 32%....this is really omfgroflmao sleep.gif. The amount of tax i can buy another single album le laugh.gif.
And my Aya Ueto 2008 calender on the way ...i hope they dont charge for a calender ....ZzzZzZz......may god bless me tomolow.
Yes ~ Aya Ueto i never saw they sell in malaysia ~
Even got also late ~ Like Ai Otsuka ~ got sell but i saw is Taiwan/Shanghai Ver doh.gif
U know Shanghai Ver is very cheap one doh.gif they sell here more expensive 2 or 3 kali ganda .......

If u buy form Japan or online store is cheap than malaysia ...... true one ~
Ai Otsuka - 3rd album Love Cook (Japan Ver) Tower Record sell RM200 .......
WTF shocking.gif the ablum real price not more than RM100 mah ..... i no idea why they sell so "cheap"

And u know ~ The ppl who sell CD is very scare to import Japan CD / staff ~
Normally u buy CD in malaysia is Taiwan/Shanghai or Asian Ver ~

Maybe Japan staff kastam charge alot ........

U buy from online store ? got state the price in the box they send you ?
for my knowledge ~ buy form Japan ==> Malaysia sure kena tax ~

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Nov 9 2007, 07:26 PM)
I buy a toy worth USD5(real value) they charge me RM88.37!!! wtf!  vmad.gif
sweat.gif doh.gif shocking.gif rolleyes.gif
U know lah ~ malaysia mah .........
They saw ur thing look like "expensive" one ~ then they will charge u more no wonder ur thing is cheap ~
When u explain to them ~ they will say "dont cheap me lah ~ i know is very expensive one" whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Only_Human: Nov 12 2007, 07:31 PM
Only_Human
post Nov 14 2007, 07:38 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(ahbenggay @ Nov 14 2007, 07:09 PM)
yeah....the price in malaysia are crazy , they'll kill u. I tot tower record got connection with the store in Japan ?
Ai Otsuka  wub.gif  sweat.gif  .

well , other CD i dont know cus i only looking for Aya Ueto =.=" so in love with her beautiful voice. Japan custom charge alot . . hhmmm i'm not very sure. Yeah , i buy from online store , cus that is the only way to purchase Aya Ueto's CD. NO for ebay sweat.gif .

Japan to Malaysia....ermm...i once buy b4 from Japan online store to Malaysia. Din kena tax. very fast and realiable. I think i buy more than 6 or 7 times from yesasia and play-asia online store. 4 times kena le =.=" suay. I think the custom smart lar...parcel from hong kong , they'll stop LoL.

Haiz...its okay lar ...i'm going to complete her whole album anyway. Then i'm free from tax =.=" unless got her new album out again  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif
off topic : wah...kurosagi sweat.gif izzit the latest Kurosagi Movie 2008 ? any preview =.="
Tower Record Malaysia didnt got connection with the store in Japan even (Tower Record Japan also dont have hmm.gif )
I duno why Tower Record doing things is super slow ......... I remember ask them got LOVE IS BORN 3th anniversary or not ~
Of cause i want JP ver de .......

i tell u is order form 01/2007 ....... u know when they call me doh.gif
after haft year 07/2007 they baru call me that have LOVE IS BORN 3th anniversary (Hong Kong Ver only shocking.gif )
WTF they doing ar ? order also need haft year meh ? and get Hong kong ver shakehead.gif
of cause i say i buy liao lah wink.gif

Even i go Sungai Wang Hong Kong Video order within few week i can get lah lah whistling.gif

then that time i know already ....... i wouldnt buy CD in malaysia doh.gif

Haha ~ even i dont like tower record style ......
When u buy CD they will use small knife cut the price / sticker and made my CD broken liao ~
got 1 line = = !!!

Duno later tax will naik or not doh.gif

=================================================================================

Dont have ...... now i waiting Conan SP2 rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Only_Human: Nov 14 2007, 07:39 PM
Only_Human
post Jan 24 2008, 01:12 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Jan 23 2008, 11:33 PM)
How about phones ? I heard they only have 10% duty, how about sales tax?
I buy before from Japan ~
Didnt kena sales tax hmm.gif but kena SIRIM (need permit to import)
I think is around RM20X ~ They say kena 3 working day to process ~
Then i ask them can do in one day or not (because i want settle one short) then i pay more RM30 for process fee doh.gif
The RM30 is give for the head sign a name only shakehead.gif

Only_Human
post Jan 28 2008, 11:44 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Jan 24 2008, 03:08 PM)
OMG that scary lah... i just about to order a handphone oversea....
So the sirim thing sure kena one ah ??
Sure kena lah = = !!!
If u no SIRIM letter to give the kastam then u cannot take ur hp

QUOTE(SeeD @ Jan 24 2008, 06:53 PM)
Somebody did that and it costs them a bomb. Don't do that.
SIRIM ... So you get your permit for 20X + 30 Ringgit ?! Or is it a one time payment and you have to pay again the next payment.

Besides, how many phones are you importing ? XD
One time payment for SIRIM ~ Need to pay 10% import tax for kastam
I import one only lah ....... import more i think will more expensive

QUOTE(raptor_cZn @ Jan 27 2008, 12:47 PM)
Hmm.. I wanna ask a question here..
How would you know whether the customs are holding up your item?
Will they contact you or send you a letter or something like that?
They will send u a letter ~
Only_Human
post Apr 23 2008, 08:29 PM

439 posts

Hmmm ??
Who have using SHIP for shipping ???
for Air parcel is in LCCT then SHIP is which place ????
SHIP and Air parcel tax is same of different ??
Only_Human
post Aug 5 2009, 09:51 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Aug 5 2009, 09:30 PM)
guys,wanna ask if i ordered around 15 CD+DVDs second hand,and the amount of the cd+dvds are less than RM350,will it kena tax?
form auction japan ????
CD+DVD will kena 10-15% if i not mistake , no matter old or new.

last time i buy otsuka ai cd+dvd around 7,8 (also is second hand)
one cd+dvd forget is kena 10 or 15% .

sure kena tax ><
Only_Human
post Aug 5 2009, 09:56 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Aug 5 2009, 09:52 PM)
not auction japan...from some bidding site frm taiwan...
har..will kena ar...then how to solve it without going there?

Added on August 5, 2009, 9:53 pmbought once frm singapore...3 DVDs...tak kena
because quantity too much jor.
need go LCCT , then take ur things , (remember go the small room [i think is pos malaysia ppl] say with them call them tolak tolak sedikit XD])
however they will call u go the small room also , forget room 2 or 3.
if u open direct with kastam , they will charge u kaw kaw.

can give pos office settle also need pay RM50 for the fee , not include tax.
if u give them settle , will very expensive = = !

This post has been edited by Only_Human: Aug 5 2009, 09:58 PM
Only_Human
post Aug 5 2009, 10:02 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Aug 5 2009, 09:58 PM)
hmm,then i better fast fast ask tat seller separate it to different parcel to send to me
need see the luck also , sometime wouldnt kena one.
i only kena is japan .

in china ship around 10CD+DVD never kena.
Only_Human
post Aug 5 2009, 10:14 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Aug 5 2009, 10:09 PM)
har....i better dun wan to take risk...coz i'm not so convient to go there leh...
tried buy anything frm tw?got kena before?
they tahan based on the price tat seller declare or how?if pack it till small small and declare it less than RM350 oso cannot?
go KL Sentral , take bus to LCCT normally RM8 ..........

no never buy in taiwan

they tahan based on the item that need to be tax , if u back luck , 1CD+DVD u also will kena ><

if u got resit , u better show them.
if no they will declare the price that they like = = !

This post has been edited by Only_Human: Aug 5 2009, 10:14 PM
Only_Human
post Aug 5 2009, 10:27 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Aug 5 2009, 10:16 PM)
yer..they all so bad....but 2nd hand bought frm those seller who dun own shop,where to get receipt?
if like that then they will declare the price that they think is OK .
last time i buy in auction yahoo japan also dont have resit.

they just write the price what they are thinks is suitable = = !

just act u very kesian = = ! can help some de brows.gif

last time they charge me until i no money to go back my house = = !!!!
i take all of the money in my pocket and show him , then he dont take all the money ..... i still enough money to go back home = = !!!!
lolx !!!!!!

0.0480sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:26 PM