goldfries
post Jul 4 2017, 03:57 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jul 4 2017, 03:49 PM)
Eh? I remember you don't advocate cloud mining due to your bad experiences with Mt Gox and CEX.IO?
Actually la, if you remember my post in the "missing thread" was just sharing my bad experience.

However I also posted the following ............

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 21 2017, 07:52 AM)
Actually la, cloud mining can be profitable.

You put USD 2799 in to ge 100Mh/s - at today's rate you should get a little over 1 ETH per month but after 24 months you should get at least 10 ETH.

The idea behind cloud mining isn't so much of instant profit or getting side income but rather to accumulate ETH.

This means you are certain that you want to bank that amount of money on an uncertain future.

After the contract ends - even if you got just 10 ETH, as long as they're priced above USD 280 each you already break-even.
goldfries
post Jul 4 2017, 03:58 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jul 4 2017, 03:51 PM)
If you can buy hashing power from cloud mining sites, I'd suggest you buy coins direct as well
That's why I put buy coins direct as the first one. smile.gif I think it's a better option.

Cloud Mining is more like for convenience vs setting up mining rigs.

TSzamans98
post Jul 4 2017, 04:11 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(x3Kai @ Jul 4 2017, 07:42 AM)
it's not the most efficient mining gpu atm
from what i gather is that the architecture of the memory isn't as suitable as previous models
so yea, it's not optimized for mining, not best bang for buck, hence not the most recommended card

imho rx 400 and 500s will continue triumphing the mining category for gpu mining
Incorrect, u can't simply assume.

1080ti is a beast, and it does mine many altcoins, than the ones u are familiar with.

RX series are just good for ETH and ETC, whilist sucks at other Alt coins.

Try AMD and mine Zcash? Nowhere near 1060GTX.

TSzamans98
post Jul 4 2017, 04:13 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 3 2017, 09:55 PM)
There are those that's RM 2.2k or less BUT the greater problem for would-be miners now is that most shops reserve them for rig builds first.

Example - latest Zotac price list. https://www.facebook.com/lucro.pc/posts/1968239750116170

(price as of TODAY)

ZOTAC GTX 1080 Ti ARTICSTORM 11GB GDD5RX - RM4339
ZOTAC GTX 1080 Ti AMP EXTREME 11GB GDD5RX - RM4039
ZOTAC GTX 1080 Ti AMP EXTREME CORE 11GB GDD5RX - RM3939
ZOTAC GTX 1080 Ti AMP EDITION 11GB GDD5RX - RM3819
ZOTAC GTX 1080 Ti MINI 11GB GDD5RX - RM3549
ZOTAC GTX 1080 ArcticStorm Thermaltake 10Year Anniversary Edition - RM2849
ZOTAC GTX ARTICSTORM 8GB GDDR5X - RM2749
ZOTAC GTX 1080 AMP Extreme 8GB GDDR5X - RM2939
ZOTAC GTX 1080 AMP Edition 8GB GDDR5X - RM2839
ZOTAC GTX 1080 MINI Edition 8GB GDDR5X - RM2659
ZOTAC GTX 1070 AMP Extreme 8GB GDDR5 - RM2399
ZOTAC GTX 1070 AMP Edition 8GB GDDR5 - RM2279
ZOTAC GTX 1070 Mini 8GB GDDR5 - RM2019
ZOTAC GTX 1060 AMP Edition SE 6GB GDDR5 - RM1399
ZOTAC GTX 1060 Mini 6GB GDDR5 - RM1309
ZOTAC GTX 1060 AMP Edition 3GB GDDR5 - RM1149
ZOTAC GTX 1060 Mini 3GB GDDR5 - RM1079
ZOTAC GTX 1050 Ti Low Profile 4GB GDDR5 - RM759
ZOTAC GTX 1050 Ti OC Edition 4GB GDDR5 - RM789
ZOTAC GTX 1050 Ti Mini 4GB GDDR5 - RM729
ZOTAC GTX 1050 Low Profile 2GB GDDR5 - RM619
ZOTAC GTX 1050 OC 2GB GDDR5 - RM639
ZOTAC GTX 1050 Mini 2GB GDDR5 - RM589
Price for show only, no ready stock.
All pre-order

bewd85
post Jul 4 2017, 04:14 PM

391 posts

sorry guys, noob here.
saw alot topic about GPU mining and co-incidentally saw this post, want to ask that my gaming rig at home, powered by I7 7700, 16GB ram, Nvidia 1080. able to do this?
if i do this can i play my games while the mining in progress?
SUSGreenSamurai
post Jul 4 2017, 04:20 PM

The Green One
2,150 posts

QUOTE(bewd85 @ Jul 4 2017, 04:14 PM)
sorry guys, noob here.
saw alot topic about GPU mining and co-incidentally saw this post, want to ask that my gaming rig at home, powered by I7 7700, 16GB ram, Nvidia 1080. able to do this?
I can barely watch YouTube when I am mining lol
sirxl
post Jul 4 2017, 04:22 PM

583 posts

QUOTE(bloodchow2 @ Jun 19 2017, 09:34 PM)
shhhhhhhhh nanti gomen tax u
so better not to tax you?
bewd85
post Jul 4 2017, 04:23 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Jul 4 2017, 04:20 PM)
with your spec at siggy?
goldfries
post Jul 4 2017, 04:54 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(bewd85 @ Jul 4 2017, 04:14 PM)
sorry guys, noob here.
1. Your rig can do mining
2. Stop mining when you play game

SUSGreenSamurai
post Jul 4 2017, 05:03 PM

The Green One
2,150 posts

QUOTE(bewd85 @ Jul 4 2017, 04:23 PM)
with your spec at siggy?
Yup. I can listen to the sound without stops if I don't focus on the window in chrome though lol.
goldfries
post Jul 4 2017, 06:04 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Jul 4 2017, 04:11 PM)

1080ti is a beast, and it does mine many altcoins, than the ones u are familiar with.

^ the above.

If you look at ETH alone then RX models.

However while GTX 1080 sucks at ETH (yup, my GTX 1060 does almost as good), the landscape changes when you go other coins like say ZCash.

Someonesim
post Jul 4 2017, 06:09 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(bewd85 @ Jul 4 2017, 04:23 PM)
with your spec at siggy?
I guess didnt matter spec, as your graphic card will near 100% load during mining. I can watch youtube or movie, but laggy every few seconds.
TaintedSoul
post Jul 4 2017, 06:28 PM

174 posts

just got this..gonna try tonight!

x3Kai
post Jul 4 2017, 07:46 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Jul 4 2017, 04:11 PM)

I admit that my opinion was formed based on the most profitable PoW crypto to mine atm. So this should be true for most, if not all of the newer people who's venturing into mining as they usually mine the currently most profitable coin and sell it on the spot.

This is however untrue for those who have a better understanding and confidence in the system, a.k.a. those who mine and hold long term, yes 1080TI can mine other strong potential PoW coins, which in the long term would be more profitable than mining and selling ETH at this point in time.

My opinion does stays. If you've only just started, 1080 TI isn't the card you should be looking into unless you're filthy rich.
The high initial cost doesn't justify as it doesn't mine the most profitable alt coin at the moment efficiently enough for you to get return for your investment.
Unless you have other uses for the 1080TI like gaming, etc., not for sole mining, don't buy it.
Despite that, if you still insist to get a 1080TI to mine, hopefully that you can at least break even if you don't completely wreck your card and sell it as a 2nd hand card at a decent price - loss when selling as 2nd hand + profit from mining.

TL;DR
1080TI is bad at the most profitable coin to mine right now (ETH / ETC).
But does pretty decent at some other alt coins that mine using different algorithm.

This post has been edited by x3Kai: Jul 4 2017, 07:46 PM
raptor_cZn
post Jul 4 2017, 09:41 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Jul 4 2017, 05:03 PM)
Yup. I can listen to the sound without stops if I don't focus on the window in chrome though lol.
You probably want to turn off GPU acceleration for Chrome smile.gif
Without the GPU process running, it doesn't have to compete with the mining software. At one point the hash rate of my miner dropped because of it.

TruboXL
post Jul 5 2017, 01:16 AM

Keep on keeping on! 👍
1,050 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Jul 4 2017, 04:20 PM)
tbh it shouldn't interfere since Chrome HW acceleration will be using intel gpu unless you forcibly let it run off the nvidia gpu

owaii you are using xeon no wonder no spare intel gpu
TSzamans98
post Jul 5 2017, 02:42 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 4 2017, 06:04 PM)
^ the above.

If you look at ETH alone then RX models.

However while GTX 1080 sucks at ETH (yup, my GTX 1060 does almost as good), the landscape changes when you go other coins like say ZCash.
agreed , 1080 beast only performed well on other alt coins.. inclusive LBRY, currently my favorite.
TSzamans98
post Jul 5 2017, 02:44 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(x3Kai @ Jul 4 2017, 07:46 PM)

TL;DR
1080TI is bad at the most profitable coin to mine right now (ETH / ETC).
But does pretty decent at some other alt coins that mine using different algorithm.
understood your point and i also made it clear. 1080 is not for ETH/ETC but its very profitable for other alt coins such as LBRY or HUSH.
mining is for long term. you under-clock and save your GPU and TNB bills.

SUSraynman
post Jul 5 2017, 07:02 AM

4,333 posts

Introducing GigaWatt, the world’s first full-service mining solution provider.

I have purchased Gigawatt tokens and two Antminer L3+ for deployment in mid-October.

The two L3+ miners have a combined hashrate of 1,008 MH/s to mine Litecoins.

Hurry, token sales ends on 1 August 2017.

Get more details here.

https://cryptonomos.com/wtt/

https://giga-watt.com/
SUSraynman
post Jul 5 2017, 07:15 AM

4,333 posts

It is an ICO for GigaWatt tokens called WTT to acquire the rights to host your mining machines there.

You can either buy your own miners, or buy them from Gigawatt and they will host it for you.

You need to buy the number of tokens that correspond to the total wattage of your miners.

It is definitely not cloud mining.

You own the miners, not GigaWatt.

231 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:34 AM