102 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Bottom

LYN Christian Fellowship V13 (Group), ALL about Jesus Christ.

pehkay
post Jan 19 2018, 10:25 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Jan 19 2018, 10:17 AM)
I think we all can accept, the message in the book of Hebrews were written specifically to the Jews, that was the point of arresting the meaning of sinning willfully.

As to how it can apply to all believers, for me it applies when one tries to mix up both law and grace as one.
<wink>

We are the true Jews (Rom. 2:29). tongue.gif

spiritually.
desmond2020
post Jan 19 2018, 10:41 AM

906 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Jan 19 2018, 10:17 AM)
I think we all can accept, the message in the book of Hebrews were written specifically to the Jews, that was the point of arresting the meaning of sinning willfully.

As to how it can apply to all believers, for me it applies when one tries to mix up both law and grace as one.
by you logic

because Jesus preach gospel to Jews only so we can conclude gospel is only for Jews?

that is your logic
thomasthai
post Jan 19 2018, 10:42 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Jan 19 2018, 09:54 AM)

The blasphemy part is a bit overused. The blasphemy of the Spirit differs from insulting the Spirit (Heb. 10:29). To insult the Spirit is to disobey Him willfully. Many believers do this. If they confess this sin, they will be forgiven and cleansed by the Lord’s blood (1 John 1:7, 9). But to blaspheme the Spirit is to slander Him, as the Pharisees did in verse 24. It was by the Spirit that the Lord cast out a demon. But the Pharisees, seeing it, said that the Lord cast out demons by Beelzebub, ruler of the demons. This was blasphemy against the Spirit. By such blasphemy, the Pharisees’ rejection of the heavenly King reached its climax. You have to be physically there in front of the Lord Himself to commit it.

For argument sake, let's make it, a principle. Then, I can also say it applies to all believers in NT epistles and revelation; not just Hebrews only.  sweat.gif

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh, sure, you can go with Calvin and westminster Faith. I have no problem with it.
Cant go too deep with you, Im no bible scholar sweat.gif

Just want to add here, the jews are the only people who have seen Jesus' and his miracles, yet rejected him. This is also isaiah's prophecy. If anyone can blaspheme the Spirit, the jews can.

Anyway are you Armenian? I can't say Ive met any armenians before sweat.gif
desmond2020
post Jan 19 2018, 10:46 AM

906 posts

QUOTE(thomasthai @ Jan 19 2018, 10:42 AM)

Just want to add here, the jews are the only people who have seen Jesus' and his miracles, yet rejected him. This is also isaiah's prophecy. If anyone can blaspheme the Spirit, the jews can.

I guess Methodist and salvation army are both Armenian

plenty of them in Malaysia
yeeck
post Jan 19 2018, 10:50 AM

3,576 posts

QUOTE(tinarhian @ Jan 19 2018, 12:04 AM)
Ya think?  shakehead.gif

I believed it is Paul that confirmed our salvation in 2 Corinthians, 1:21-22 (NIV). Didn't the Bible said that we are saved by faith alone, not by works?
Nope. There was no "alone" there.
TSunknown warrior
post Jan 19 2018, 10:51 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Jan 19 2018, 10:25 AM)
<wink>

We are the true Jews (Rom. 2:29). tongue.gif
spiritually.
Yea but God has been graceful to open our eyes that we are able to see Christ as messiah so this context of sinning willfully..for me doesn't really apply.

I've always viewed that the jews are the main cast in this entire history of the ages. We are merely ingrafted branch simply because they rejected God.

True, we are spiritual jews but as you already know, God's using us is to spike them to jealousy. I don't think, we are any better in truth as being a true jew while they are not.

As you also know, the number of Jewish Christians are also on the rise. I've come across some Christian jews in my lifetime, I can see they are really passionate in their commission to spread the Gospel as well as their love for God.

https://jewsforjesus.org/

thomasthai
post Jan 19 2018, 10:51 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Jan 19 2018, 10:46 AM)
I guess Methodist and salvation army are both Armenian
plenty of them in Malaysia
Oh I see.

Im a presbyterian surrounded by charismatics lol
TSunknown warrior
post Jan 19 2018, 10:55 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Jan 19 2018, 10:41 AM)
by you logic

because Jesus preach gospel to Jews only so we can conclude gospel is only for Jews?
that is your logic
huh? Don't get you.
TSunknown warrior
post Jan 19 2018, 10:59 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Jan 19 2018, 10:50 AM)
Nope. There was no "alone" there.
i think she quoted the wrong verse

Ephesians 2:8-9 (NIV)
8 For it is by grace you have been saved through faith, and this not from yourselves; it is the gift of God, 9 not by works, so that no one can boast.…

true the word alone is not there but the word 'This is not from yourselves" is there, implying our performance have no part in this.
yeeck
post Jan 19 2018, 11:11 AM

3,576 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Jan 19 2018, 10:59 AM)
i think she quoted the wrong verse

Ephesians 2:8-9 (NIV)
8 For it is by grace you have been saved through faith, and this not from yourselves; it is the gift of God, 9 not by works, so that no one can boast.…

true the word alone is not there but the word 'This is not from yourselves" is there, implying our performance have no part in this.
Faith=gift of God. And then there are works of faith, and man-made works. Different thing there.
pehkay
post Jan 19 2018, 11:15 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(thomasthai @ Jan 19 2018, 10:42 AM)

<wink>

No I am not Armenian. biggrin.gif Though I knew an Armenian fellow in the past.

I think you meant if I am subscribed to arminianism? No either. I believe that salvation is eternally secure and by faith as revealed in the Bible according to His eternal nature. Too many verses on that.

But to be fair, one must consider the verses raised up by them.

I hope the next question is not how I can reconcile Hebrews with perseverance of the saints tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jan 19 2018, 11:45 AM
thomasthai
post Jan 19 2018, 11:55 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Jan 19 2018, 11:15 AM)
<wink>

No I am not Armenian. biggrin.gif Though I knew an Armenian fellow in the past.

I think you meant if I am subscribed to arminianism? No either. I believe that salvation is eternally secure and by faith as revealed in the Bible according to His eternal nature. Too many verses on that.

But to be fair, one must consider the verses raised up by them.

I hope the next question is not how I can reconcile Hebrews with perseverance of the saints tongue.gif
Just about to ask you that laugh.gif

Macarthur once said, all good arminians are calvinists laugh.gif

Maybe hebrews was written by an arminian laugh.gif

This post has been edited by thomasthai: Jan 19 2018, 12:08 PM
pehkay
post Jan 19 2018, 12:14 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(thomasthai @ Jan 19 2018, 11:55 AM)
Just about to ask you that laugh.gif

Macarthur once said, all good arminians are calvinists laugh.gif
Lol. If you permit me to be frank, brother, this is not the first time that I have share it. Try to in my limited way.

When you mention that you rather adhere to the confession, I feel very heavy and reluctant to smile.gif . (Or I am just a lazy bum)

Unless you really open to engage the texts regardless where it will bring you. To reconcile eternal salvation and the warnings in Hebrews; and other parts of the NT.

If you are not; then no use going on. Just treat me as a voice poking people to always consider the text and not always bound by a theological framework. It helps us and also veil us. It always includes and excludes. The exclusion could be very critical.

Sometimes I wonder if better if I create a Skype account to share if it might be easier.

Take care lah.
desmond2020
post Jan 19 2018, 12:30 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Jan 19 2018, 12:14 PM)
Lol. If you permit me to be frank, brother, this is not the first time that I have share it. Try to in my limited way.

When you mention that you rather adhere to the confession, I feel very heavy and reluctant to smile.gif . (Or I am just a lazy bum)

Unless you really open to engage the texts regardless where it will bring you. To reconcile eternal salvation and the warnings in Hebrews; and other parts of the NT.

If you are not; then no use going on. Just treat me as a voice poking people to always consider the text and not always bound by a theological framework. It helps us and also veil us.  It always includes and excludes. The exclusion could be very critical.

Sometimes I wonder if better if I create a Skype account to share if it might be easier.

Take care lah.
that is true

one can't simply think part of bible is not applicable for them

some even think ten commandments is no longer a benchmark of how Christian should behave. well you know those grace only folks
pehkay
post Jan 19 2018, 03:55 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Jan 19 2018, 12:30 PM)
that is true

one can't simply think part of bible is not applicable for them
some even think ten commandments is no longer a benchmark of how Christian should behave. well you know those grace only folks
Wah ... the laws is a prickly subject tongue.gif not one that I want to get into.

You have lovely verses like these:

Romans 10:4 says, "Christ is the end of the law unto righteousness to every one who believes."

On the other hand, in Matthew 5:17 the Lord Jesus said, "Do not think that I came to abolish the law or the prophets; I did not come to abolish, but to fulfill."

TSunknown warrior
post Jan 19 2018, 04:49 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Jan 19 2018, 03:55 PM)
Wah ... the laws is a prickly subject tongue.gif not one that I want to get into.

You have lovely verses like these:

Romans 10:4 says, "Christ is the end of the law unto righteousness to every one who believes."

On the other hand, in Matthew 5:17 the Lord Jesus said, "Do not think that I came to abolish the law or the prophets; I did not come to abolish, but to fulfill."
laugh.gif...<wink><wink>

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Jan 19 2018, 04:51 PM
tinarhian
post Jan 20 2018, 12:59 AM

726 posts

Oh RC believers, don't get triggered easily. Paul explained that glory belong to God alone, there is no one that can earn salvation based on merit. Who is good enough to earn it? Not you or me. Do we claim the glory for ourselves? No. Only God alone.

If we say that good works are the cause of salvation, then its appealing to men because he wants the glory for himself and its not genuine. How the heck are we truly save if our salvation depend on works? We can't even follow The Ten Commandments one hundred percent yet we strive to achieve salvation on our own merit?

rclxub.gif How does that even works?

Ephesians did not mention that we are saved by good works. Good works is not the cause of salvation either.

Of course don't forget genuine salvation is focus more on God!
tinarhian
post Jan 20 2018, 01:06 AM

726 posts

Yeah met a few Armenians expat in Penang while I was in Malaysia. Eastern & Oriental Hotel in Penang was founded by Armenians.
TSunknown warrior
post Jan 20 2018, 09:51 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Every Nation Church Malaysia.
Sophiera
post Jan 20 2018, 11:47 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

Guys, how do you explain the concept of predestination?

Are some people created just to be condemned to hell? I had heard the answer "God is God, who are we to argue?" But we don't know who's predestined for what.

Also, how do we know we are predestined for where, if the doctrine of total depravity means we can't conceive the truth at all. What if we live thinking we're right, but in reality wrong?

I'll be honest. It troubles me deeply ever since i heard these from Calvinists. Could i be the one predestined for hell? Or heaven? According to their explanation i would never know because of a human's total depravity.

102 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0335sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:38 PM