4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN Christian Fellowship V13 (Group), ALL about Jesus Christ.

pehkay
post Oct 26 2017, 07:09 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(zanness @ Oct 26 2017, 10:53 AM)
I understand what you're trying to say.
but to those young christians, first time hearing people, or unsaved people, its important they do rather than me.
its confusing putting in statements such as salvation = works + faith and salvation = faith is false teachers..

and btw.. u can have sanctification without justification.. if you follow the Bible close enough.. it is possible..
Simple question.. Was Lot saved or unsaved? Lot did numerous sins.. he was even one of the influential figures in the wicked city of Sodom.. The whole purpose (I believe) why there were also two sinners with Jesus on the day of his crucifixion was to also teach us one thing, salvation is PURELY on faith.. and CAN go without JUSTIFICATION.. just by word and by faith, you can get to heaven..

In fact, you can go to heaven without works..You can be saved and still sin.. BUT... Like i said.. IF YOU WERE SAVED.. would you continue sinning? ...
its the simple question of me asking Are you able to stay conscious while you are sleeping?
Yea, you ARE able to stay conscious while you are sleeping.. then if is so, were you even sleeping to begin with?
lols.. something like that
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

If I may, brother, I think the terms are thrown around too easily without knowing them a little bit more biggrin.gif

We are justified before God during our salvation (Rom. 3:24, 28). But at the same time, we sanctified in Christ (Heb. 10:14, 13:12). In other words, when we saved by faith, we are justified and sanctified in Christ.

The sanctification that we obtain in God's salvation may be divided into two aspects - positional and dis positional or progressive. Positional sanctification is the fact of sanctification that we obtained in Christ when we believed. Although we may not have the experience of sanctification, we obtained the fact of sanctification in Christ when we believed; that is, we gained the position of sanctification. Although we obtained the fact and position of sanctification upon believing, the experience of sanctification occurs only after our salvation (Heb. 12:14, 1 Pet. 1:15).

But, bro thomas thomasthai did not made clear which sanctification is he referring to. Neither did he mentioned on Sproul's view on salvation is (http://www.ligonier.org/blog/what-role-do-good-works-play-salvation/ ---- especially on the 3rd paragraph), which is, salvation covers the entire process and not only the initial stage.

If he is, then this point ... is something which was not addressed biggrin.gif .... the "...but there’s still more of your salvation yet to come". Otherwise, we are talking past each other.

This post has been edited by pehkay: Oct 26 2017, 07:11 PM
pehkay
post Dec 31 2017, 11:15 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Dec 25 2017, 09:29 PM)
Hey, while I was discussing Jesus with BF, we found these two geneologies

https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?searc...w+1&version=NIV
https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Luke+3:23-38

I only know that Matthew is a Jew and Luke is not, so their way of writing genealogies may differ.

So why is Luke's list different from Matthew?
Luke reveals Christ as a perfect man, a man-Savior. So the genealogy is traced to show the generations of this man, to attest that He is qualified to be the Savior of mankind.

Matthew shows Christ is the true King by showing us the antecedents and status of this King, to prove that He is the proper successor to the throne of David.

Mark shows Christ as a slave Savior serving God and us; A slave require no genealogies, nothing worth mentioning.

John shows Christ is the pre-existing Word of God. He is God. No human genealogies.

This post has been edited by pehkay: Dec 31 2017, 11:19 AM
pehkay
post Jan 6 2018, 05:37 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(Mr. WongSF @ Jan 6 2018, 03:49 PM)
What does Leviticus 23:15 - 16 mean?

What does 'new meat' mean?

And ye shall count unto you from the morrow after the sabbath, from the day that ye brought the sheaf of the wave offering; seven sabbaths shall be complete:

16 Even unto the morrow after the seventh sabbath shall ye number fifty days; and ye shall offer a new meat offering unto the Lord.
Urkg ... KJV is confusing. It should be meal offering.

The meal offering consists of four elements but specifically excludes two other elements. Fine flour, oil, frankincense, salt but no leaven and honey.

It is a typology of Christ's fine humanity.

pehkay
post Jan 6 2018, 06:01 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(Mr. WongSF @ Jan 6 2018, 05:51 PM)
other versions even use the term 'grain' instead of meats.

are we not the new meat presented to Him?

and what about the 7 day counts from the Sabbaths + 1 extra day mean?  When do we start counting?
They are close ... meal offering will be the best (IMHO), .. grain offering will be the next.

Truthwise, we have nothing that is qualified to present to God. So, we are not the offerings (PER SE - it is too much to talk about church life as the corporate meal offering) to God.

Read this: http://biblehub.com/sermons/auth/mackintos...at-offering.htm

Christ today is the reality of the offerings. According to Hebrews 10:7-9, Christ came in the flesh to do the will of God, which was to replace the Old Testament offerings with Himself. Verse 9b says, “He takes away the first that He may establish the second.” The “first” denotes the animal sacrifices of the Old Testament, and the “second” denotes Christ as the unique sacrifice, the unique offering. In the Old Testament there were many offerings, but in the New Testament there is one, unique offering - the wonderful person of Christ.

----

This section is on the feast of the Pentecost. It was the feast of the fiftieth day, counting from the day after the Sabbath, the day on which the sheaf of the wave offering was brought to God, until the day after the seventh Sabbath, being a total of fifty days (vv. 15-16a). It signifies the resurrection of Christ in its sevenfold fullness reaching the realm of the complete fullness, bearing the full responsibility

Pentecost actually means fiftieth biggrin.gif. In the New Testament, the day of Pentecost was the fiftieth day from the Lord's resurrection counting from the second day (the first day of week) after the Passover on which the Lord was crucified. innocent.gif amazing huh? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jan 6 2018, 06:49 PM
pehkay
post Jan 7 2018, 03:38 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(Mr. WongSF @ Jan 6 2018, 08:19 PM)
Thanks for the link.

So Pentecost started almost 2000 years ago. Do you agree that we are still in the season & it has not ended yet? A 2000 year long season ending with a harvest?

Would the day counts still be in operation today although its from the OT?

Would there be a specific day to begin the count?
I see a lot of 7s & 50s  smile.gif

Do these mean anything to you :
1)  2nd Kings Chapter 1 (ver 1 - 14)

Does 50 point us to Pentecost? Are there parallels to our present time?

Can we perhaps speculate that the Pentecost Season will end at the end of a specific Biblical count?

If so, which is the beginning/or the 1st day to start counting?
2)   Leviticus Chapter 23 (ver 15 - 16)

So looking at the count, lets take a hypothetical start date on a Sabbath, say 23rd Sept 2017, would the following be correct?

The day of the end of the 50 day count would be - 31st Dec 2017
amazing huh?  tongue.gif

For the first question, I don't not really sure what you are trying to ask. If I may assume: you are asking if we are still experiencing Pentecost and there is a harvest at the end. biggrin.gif

Actually, spiritually speaking, Pentecost is the harvest. Technically, we are still enjoying the harvest in the church (Philippians 1:19). How can I say this .....

Pentecost was the fulfillment of the feast of Weeks, and this feast was also called the feast of Harvest (Exo. 23:16). See Shavuot; If you remember, Pentecost was fifty days after the offering of a sheaf of the firstfruits of the harvest.

Leviticus 23:10 and 11 say, "Speak unto the children of Israel, and say unto them, When ye be come into the land which I give unto you, and shall reap the harvest thereof, then ye shall bring a sheaf of the firstfruits of your harvest unto the priest: and he shall wave the sheaf before the Lord, to be accepted for you: on the morrow after the sabbath the priest shall wave it.” Then the people were to count seven Sabbaths from the day of the offering of the sheaf of the firstfruits of the harvest:

According to Leviticus 23, a sheaf of the firstfruits of the harvest was offered as a wave offering on the next day after the Sabbath. In the Old Testament, when the harvest was ripe, a sheaf of the firstfruits of that harvest was offered to God. This was fulfilled in the Lord's secret ascension to the Father; if you remember the story where Mary wanted to touch Him, but the Lord did not allow her because the Father's satisfaction is first. (John 20:17).

Many Christians do not realize that Christ secretly ascended to the Father early in the morning on the day of His resurrection. But, yes, later He ascended openly forty days later. On the day of His resurrection the Lord went to the heavens to offer Himself as the firstfruit of God’s harvest for the satisfaction of God the Father. That was a secret ascension. The day of Pentecost was fifty days later.

Let us now summarise the significance of these four feasts. The feast of the Passover was fulfilled on the day of Christ's death (Matt. 26:2, 17-19, 26-28). In the Passover we were saved, justified, and regenerated. Following this, the feast of unleavened bread is for us to live a life without sin. This means that the feast of unleavened bread is being fulfilled in the church age. The feast of the first fruits was fulfilled on the day of Christ's resurrection (1 Cor. 15:20). The feast of Pentecost was fulfilled fifty days after Christ's resurrection, on the day of the outpouring of the Holy Spirit (Acts 2:1-4; cf. 1:3). In Christ's resurrection on the day of the first fruits, the members of Christ were produced for the formation of the church. Then on the day of Pentecost the resurrected and ascended Christ poured out Himself upon His members in the form of the consummated, all-inclusive, life-giving Spirit to form the church.

Don't know if I want to mention this tongue.gif .... In Lev. 23:22, something was to be left for the poor and the sojourner after the harvest. The poor and sojourners are we Gentiles XD. It is illustrated by the case of the Canaanite woman in Matthew 15. We are the little dogs eating the what was fallen from the table for the Jews tongue.gif

But good news is we can enjoy the Pentecost Triune God, the Pentecost Christ, and the Pentecost Spirit as our portion today ... right now.

------------------------------------------------------

Regarding the 2nd, can I pour some cold water ah? sweat.gif

I don't really pay attention to dates calculation because it is very unreliable. The building up of the church decides the world situation. Not the dates.

I do understand the spiritual meanings of numbers in the Bible e.g like 7 denotes number of completion, 5 is responsibilty, and 10 is human completion. So, 50 is 10X5 with 7 (from Sabbath), one can say Pentecost shows the resurrection of Christ in its sevenfold fullness reaching the realm of the complete fullness, bearing the full responsibility (signified by the number fifty, which is ten times five, the number of responsibility) for the testimony of resurrection. But these are secondary things.

And I do not apply it to all parts in the Bible, my principle is this: in the Old Testament, many persons, events, and objects are types, but it is not up to us to decide whether or not they are types. We have to find out the clear evidence from the New Testament. If there is no mention in the New Testament of the object, the events, or the person as a type, then we should not rashly surmise that they are a type. At the most, we can only borrow these persons, events, and objects as illustrations and use them to explain the truths in the New Testament.

Now, feast is clearly evidenced in Hebrews, so some of the sharing is what I gained from authors especially on feasts in Leviticus.

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jan 7 2018, 03:44 PM
pehkay
post Jan 11 2018, 02:09 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(TDDUP @ Jan 11 2018, 12:30 PM)
Okay guys and to all Christians here,

How many Christians actually observe the Sabbath day? Most of you here observe them on Sunday instead of SATURDAY. Look at the Bible where it talks about Sabbath day. The Sabbath was instituted in the very beginning (Gen 2:1-3; Ex 20:11), before the nation of Israel existed. At the time, there was no religion, no covenant, no law, no nation, no Jew or Gentile and, of course, no racial distinction. Jesus said the “Sabbath was made for man” (Mk 2:27)—not only for the Jews. Remembering the Sabbath day is the fourth of the Ten Commandments. Even though they were first entrusted to the chosen people of the Old Testament, God’s commands are passed on to the chosen people of the New Testament (see Acts 7:38). The Ten Commandments have never been abolished; they still need to be kept by Christians today (Lk 18:18-20; 1 Cor 7:19; 1 Jn 5:2-3; Rev 14:12).

Baptism as well.

Even Christmas is a pagan worship celebration, Easter, palm sunday, good friday etc.
Revelation 22:18-19New King James Version (NKJV)
18 For[a] I testify to everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: If anyone adds to these things, God will add to him the plagues that are written in this book; 19 and if anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away[c] his part from the Book[d] of Life, from the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.
Im open to meet up to share further if anyone is keen/interested. Subang Jaya.

God bless.
[wink] [wink] [wink] biggrin.gif

1) The Lord broke the Sabbath (Matt 12:1-14; Luke 13:10-17)

2) The apostles tells us that the feasts, new moons, and Sabbaths are shadows, but the reality, the body, of these shadows is Christ (Col. 2:16-17). E.g. “You observe days and months and seasons and years; I [B]fear
for you” (Gal. 4:10-11).

3) In Acts, basically the apostles didn't event rested or in any way avoided work on the Sabbath. Rather they used the day as an evangelistic opportunity because there is where the seeking crowd are (Acts 16:13, 17:2)

??? wonder why it is bolded ... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jan 11 2018, 02:10 PM
pehkay
post Jan 11 2018, 02:23 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Jan 11 2018, 02:16 PM)
Thank you bro.

I think the forum code is messed up. I had the same problem.
Oh well ... wink.gif
pehkay
post Jan 18 2018, 09:10 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(thomasthai @ Jan 18 2018, 08:42 AM)
Hebrews was written mainly as a warning to intelectually convinced jews, people who believe the gospel but are not willing to made a commitment to Christ, fence sitters.

They are unwiling to get thrown out of their synagogues and community, hence their unwillingness.

If Hebrews was written to christians, I will have tons of problems with other doctrines, doctrine of election, predestination, effectual calling, assurance, covenant of redemption.

It puts salvation into my own hands, I can choose not to let God save me, I decide my own fate, etc. It flips the whole gospel on its head.

I will watch that video anyway to see his argument.

Indeed it should present you with tons of problems because of the base theology we are standing on ... and that is a good thing tongue.gif

In my opinion, the first statement is almost hard to stand on.

There is almost overwhelming evidences in the book of Hebrews is that its recipients were believers in the Lord Jesus.

1) The writer of this book frequently identifies with his readers the first person we, us, and our (2:1, 3; 3:14; 4:1, 11, 14-16; 6:1; 10:22-25; 12:1-2, 28; 13:13-15).

2) He refers them as brothers (3:1, 12; 10:19; 13:22).

3) Also, partakers of a heavenly calling (3:1).

4) Also, the house of God (v. 6), partners of Christ (v. 14), believers (4:3)

5) Having been sanctified once for all (10:10),

6) sons of God under the discipline of the Father (12:5-9),

7) partakers of the Father’s holiness (12:10)

8) having come forward to the blessings of the new covenant (12:22-24).

etc. etc.

Scot McKnight in his book, "The Warning Passages of Hebrews: A Formal Analysis and Theological Conclusions", concludes:

The author treats them as believers and identifies himself so closely with them that division into true and false believers is impossible.

-------------------------------------------------

Rather, you have to put before you, what is really salvation ... that salvation is isn't what we think it is .. tongue.gif . And no, we can't lose our salvation. But is it only the initial salvation?

Cheers!

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jan 18 2018, 09:15 AM
pehkay
post Jan 18 2018, 11:26 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(thomasthai @ Jan 18 2018, 09:43 AM)
Let me rephrase that, hebrews was written to jewish christians AND fence sitters.

Does that solve the problem? tongue.gif
www.gotquestions.org/amp/Book-of-Hebrews.html
You think leh? Not really bro tongue.gif

Why not just Jewish believers only which represent us also?

>> Brief Summary: The Book of Hebrews addresses three separate groups: believers in Christ, unbelievers who had knowledge of and an intellectual acceptance of the facts of Christ, and unbelievers who were >> attracted to Christ, but who rejected Him ultimately. It’s important to understand which group is being addressed in which passage. To fail to do so can cause us to draw conclusions inconsistent with the rest >> of Scripture.

This is no different then separating according to books down to sections. XD

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jan 18 2018, 12:34 PM
pehkay
post Jan 18 2018, 12:36 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Jan 18 2018, 12:19 PM)
so book of James is also only for Jews?

seriously?
Technically it is for Jewish believers. But no different from us believers. There is no Jews or Greek tongue.gif

They:

1) have faith of our Lord Jesus Christ of glory (2:1)
2) justified by faith (2:24)
3) regenerated by the word of truth (v. 18)
4) indwelt by the Spirit of God (4:5)
5)members of the church (5:14)

Pretty much us.

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jan 18 2018, 12:43 PM
pehkay
post Jan 19 2018, 09:54 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(thomasthai @ Jan 19 2018, 06:53 AM)
This will probably be my last post on this issue. Im doing my best to juggle between my work and spending time here.
You can take your time. Nobody is rushing here.

I think the key to properly understanding hebrews boils down to 2 points here:

1) context: we know that many jews were persecuted by their own people for being a christian. Many of them are thinking of abandoning the faith and going back to the law system. Thus hebrews is an exhortation letter, to exhort, encourage and stir them up to not leave the faith.

Not being a hyper calvinist here, but believers still need exhortation dont they.
I am with you there on the context though a little bit difference and the exhortation. The recipients believed in the Lord Jesus, but they were still holding on to their Jewish religion. They were struggling under persecutions, threats, and evil speakings from the Judaizers of their day. This weakened their resolve and faith, causing them to stumble and tempting them to shrink back into Judaism. The Jewish religionists had ostracized them, imprisoned some, robbed them of their property, and threatened their lives (10:32-34)

Re: little difference - I also agreed with F.F. Bruce when he says:

By one device or another, the Calvinist view of Hebrews 6, and of the whole book in general, reduces the warning passages to a gospel exhortation and defers the consequences of falling away to unbelievers only.

To avoid this, by saying that it ONLY applies to Jewish believers is IMHO not really engaging the texts.

My point is that the purpose of God's speaking in Hebrews applies to all believers.

For example:

The exhortation that they Judaism would leave the law and cross over to grace (4:16; 7:18-19; 12:28; 13:9), that they would leave the old covenant and cross over to the new covenant (8:6-7, 13)

How is this any different from the Galatians? No one will say that they are in danger of eternal damnation biggrin.gif . Of course, the writer of Hebrews appeals to Hebrews' background, to

a) leave the ritualistic service of the Old Testament and cross over to the spiritual reality of the New Testament (8:5; 9:9-14);
b) leave the earthly things and cross over to the heavenly things (12:18-24)
c) that they would leave the outer court, where the altar is, and cross over to the Holiest of all, where God is (13:9-10; 10:19-20),
d) that they would leave the soul and cross over to the spirit (4:12) --> 1 Cor
e) and that they would leave the beginning of truth and life and cross over to the maturity of life in the truth (Heb 5 - 6).

Isn't this the condition of us right now in the churches today ... ohmy.gif

Charles Spurgeon once say in a striking way: biggrin.gif

First, then, we answer the question, WHO ARE THE PEOPLE HERE SPOKEN OF? If you read Dr. Gill, Dr. Owen, and almost all the eminent Calvinistic writers, they all of them assert that these persons are not Christians. They say, that enough is said here to represent a man who is a Christian externally, but not enough to give the portrait of a true believer. Now, it strikes me they would not have said this if they had not had some doctrine to uphold; for a child, reading this passage, would say, that the persons intended by it must be Christians. If the Holy Spirit intended to describe Christians, I do not see that he could have used more explicit terms than there are here. How can a man be said to be enlightened, and to taste of the heavenly gift, and to be made partaker of the Holy Ghost, without being a child of God? With all deference to these learned doctors, and I admire and love them all, I humbly conceive that they allowed their judgments to be a little warped when they said that; and I think I shall be able to show that none but true believers are here described.
2) many terms here (once enlightened, partakers of the holy spirit) are not salvation terms. They are unique to hebrews, and unique to this particular audience. These terms are not used anywhere else, or to the gentiles in the NT.

Despite having the revelation of the OT, the miracles done, and even the messiah  among them, they still rejected the gospel. This is to sin willfully and destined for eternal condemnation.
Jesus taught the same idea in mark 3:20, despite my miracles you still think im from the devil (blespheming the holy spirit, unforgivable sin). John piper puts it this way, 'beyond repentance'. What else can still be done?

Interpreting hebrews in light of the rest of scriptures makes plenty of sense to me.

Im going with calvin and the westminster divines with this.
Cheers.
How can? shocking.gif

Eph 1:18 I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people,
Eph 5:14 ... Christ will shine on you

The wording is different but the thought is there.

Indeed "partakers of the Spirit" is unique to Hebrews. This has a parallel reference to Exodus.

"enlightened" = pillar of fire;
"tasted of the heavenly gift" = manna;
"partakers of the Holy Spirit" = the Spirit coming upon the seventy elders"

You tell me Exodus is only for the Jews believers today?

In 1 Corinthians 5:7 Paul says that Christ our Passover is sacrificed for us referencing Exo. 12:6
In 1 Cor 5:8, Christ is type of unleavened bread referencing Exo. 12:8, 15
The types in 1 Cor 10 .... we can use the same principle to say 1 Corinthians is only for the Jewish believers. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

The blasphemy part is a bit overused. The blasphemy of the Spirit differs from insulting the Spirit (Heb. 10:29). To insult the Spirit is to disobey Him willfully. Many believers do this. If they confess this sin, they will be forgiven and cleansed by the Lord’s blood (1 John 1:7, 9). But to blaspheme the Spirit is to slander Him, as the Pharisees did in verse 24. It was by the Spirit that the Lord cast out a demon. But the Pharisees, seeing it, said that the Lord cast out demons by Beelzebub, ruler of the demons. This was blasphemy against the Spirit. By such blasphemy, the Pharisees’ rejection of the heavenly King reached its climax. You have to be physically there in front of the Lord Himself to commit it.

For argument sake, let's make it, a principle. Then, I can also say it applies to all believers in NT epistles and revelation; not just Hebrews only. sweat.gif

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh, sure, you can go with Calvin and westminster Faith. I have no problem with it.

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jan 19 2018, 09:58 AM
pehkay
post Jan 19 2018, 10:25 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Jan 19 2018, 10:17 AM)
I think we all can accept, the message in the book of Hebrews were written specifically to the Jews, that was the point of arresting the meaning of sinning willfully.

As to how it can apply to all believers, for me it applies when one tries to mix up both law and grace as one.
<wink>

We are the true Jews (Rom. 2:29). tongue.gif

spiritually.
pehkay
post Jan 19 2018, 11:15 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(thomasthai @ Jan 19 2018, 10:42 AM)
Cant go too deep with you, Im no bible scholar sweat.gif

Just want to add here, the jews are the only people who have seen Jesus' and his miracles, yet rejected him. This is also isaiah's prophecy. If anyone can blaspheme the Spirit, the jews can.

Anyway are you Armenian? I can't say Ive met any armenians before sweat.gif
<wink>

No I am not Armenian. biggrin.gif Though I knew an Armenian fellow in the past.

I think you meant if I am subscribed to arminianism? No either. I believe that salvation is eternally secure and by faith as revealed in the Bible according to His eternal nature. Too many verses on that.

But to be fair, one must consider the verses raised up by them.

I hope the next question is not how I can reconcile Hebrews with perseverance of the saints tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jan 19 2018, 11:45 AM
pehkay
post Jan 19 2018, 12:14 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(thomasthai @ Jan 19 2018, 11:55 AM)
Just about to ask you that laugh.gif

Macarthur once said, all good arminians are calvinists laugh.gif
Lol. If you permit me to be frank, brother, this is not the first time that I have share it. Try to in my limited way.

When you mention that you rather adhere to the confession, I feel very heavy and reluctant to smile.gif . (Or I am just a lazy bum)

Unless you really open to engage the texts regardless where it will bring you. To reconcile eternal salvation and the warnings in Hebrews; and other parts of the NT.

If you are not; then no use going on. Just treat me as a voice poking people to always consider the text and not always bound by a theological framework. It helps us and also veil us. It always includes and excludes. The exclusion could be very critical.

Sometimes I wonder if better if I create a Skype account to share if it might be easier.

Take care lah.
pehkay
post Jan 19 2018, 03:55 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Jan 19 2018, 12:30 PM)
that is true

one can't simply think part of bible is not applicable for them
some even think ten commandments is no longer a benchmark of how Christian should behave. well you know those grace only folks
Wah ... the laws is a prickly subject tongue.gif not one that I want to get into.

You have lovely verses like these:

Romans 10:4 says, "Christ is the end of the law unto righteousness to every one who believes."

On the other hand, in Matthew 5:17 the Lord Jesus said, "Do not think that I came to abolish the law or the prophets; I did not come to abolish, but to fulfill."

pehkay
post Jan 22 2018, 09:58 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jan 20 2018, 11:47 AM)
Guys, how do you explain the concept of predestination?

Are some people created just to be condemned to hell? I had heard the answer "God is God, who are we to argue?" But we don't know who's predestined for what.

Also, how do we know we are predestined for where, if the doctrine of total depravity means we can't conceive the truth at all. What if we live thinking we're right, but in reality wrong?

I'll be honest. It troubles me deeply ever since i heard these from Calvinists. Could i be the one predestined for hell? Or heaven? According to their explanation i would never know because of a human's total depravity.
Eh ... no Calvinist wants to address this? XD

Ah ya, sister, you have to move beyond this. So much is before you to mine, yet you will remain in this? sweat.gif I am not a Calvinist but:

You need to realize that the matter of salvation is entirely a matter of God's will and man's will. Actually, it involves both aspects. No one could be saved without God's will to save. At the same time, if man is not willing to be saved, God has no way even though He has the will.

So, God have to be willing, but man must also be willing.

The Lord Jesus said, "How often I desired to gather your children together, the way a hen gathers her own brood under her wings, and you would not!" (Luke 13:34). These are the two sides of God's truth.

In other words, both sides need to be willing.

Someone [who believe in heaven] has given a very good answer that the word "Whosoever" is written on the outside of the gate of heaven meaning "whosoever will may enter." But once the gate has been entered, we can turn around and see that "You are predestinated" is written on the inside of the gate. This statement expresses the two sides of God's truth. Our experience can confirm this.

No matter who we are, as long as we believe, we will be saved. This is the word for unbelievers. For the believers the word is God's selection and God's predestination. It is a big mistake to speak a word to unbelievers which is meant for believers. The Lord told His disciples, "You did not choose Me, but I chose you" (John 15:16). We cannot say this to the unbelievers.

* There is a logical form of the argument ... but bleh .... too complicated.

---------------------------------------------------------

You know after you are saved, God give you a new spirit and new heart. We have a new heart that is inclined towards Him and regenerated spirit to contact Him.

Regarding depravity .... in its extreme form, this doctrine completely denies fallen man's ability to understand and respond to the gospel, dismissing him as so utterly damaged by the fall as to have lost even the capacity to reason or believe. This is clearly not right.

Yes, faith is not initiated by the will of man. If it were, faith would be a work, annulling salvation by grace and making salvation a matter of works (John 6:44; Phil. 1:29; Gal. 3:25). Yet, faith's coming is neither a matter of coercion or total passivity.

Sin has separated man from God so that man is incapable of saving himself by good works. In this sense fallen man is totally depraved and in desperate need of a Savior. But concluding that man can no longer believe God because of the fall contradicts the testimony of the texts.

Examples:

1) After the fall, even though he was not regenerated, Adam demonstrated his faith in God's promised redemption by calling his wife Eve, meaning "Living," and by teaching his children to follow the God ordained way of salvation.

2) Abraham believed God (Gal. 3:6) and was called "the father of all those...who believe" (Rom. 4:11).

3) Romans 10:10 : "With the heart there is believing unto righteousness, and with the mouth there is confession unto salvation."

4) When the unregenerated Philippian jailer asked Paul and Silas, "What must I do to be saved?" the response was not, "You can do nothing. Wait for God's regenerating grace, and you will believe" Instead, Paul charged, "Believe on the Lord Jesus, and you shall be saved".

---------------

You need to exercise your spirit to declare loudly by faith "Thank you for saving me! Praise You for giving me eternal life". Don't ask or beg. Praise and thank Him biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

pehkay
post Jan 22 2018, 09:31 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(TheRealist @ Jan 22 2018, 08:49 PM)
What you written only shows one thing.  You can interpret the Bible to mean everything you want to say.

On one hand you said its God's will. On the other hand you say that if man is not willing, God cannot do anything. Clearly this contradicts what Jesus say. Jesus said that with man it's impossible but with God everything is possible.  Based on your warped logic. Pharaoh could not have possibly followed god's will because he is not willing.
Well, I have textual evidences for my interpretation biggrin.gif:

a) Before Moses had his first confrontation with Pharaoh, God told him that He would harden Pharaoh’s heart (Exo. 4:21).

b) Pharaoh hardened his heart (Exo. 8:15, 19) but elsewhere, that Pharaoh’s heart was hard (Exo. 7:13, Heb.).

Can you state yours please? Or explain this?

You seem to forget that God's standard is much higher then man's standard. What we think is good is not good by God's standard.
Indeed he is high but He also has revealed Himself through the Word. But what is this about God's standard?

Also,  let me give you an analogy of a dog. You see dogs in general knows the basic laws of the universe. They do good by protecting their own kind. They protect their masters. They protect their own kind. Etc. But then at the same time they just do not have the ability to recognise what is good. In fact at times,  they even bite people who may have actual good intentions of helping them. The thing is.,  just because a person is doing good does not make them good out of a sudden. The same analogy can be given as dogs.
Er ... one will say that they will created according to God's nature including man, so, they are inherently good. Especially that man is created in His image and have the law of good in his mind (7:15-23).

You are clearly a very dishonest person by saying in one hand that it's god's will but at the other hand it's man will.  In fact you are even willing to lie to non believers pertaining to the Bible.  You seem to forget that the Bible was meant to be offensive.

Your so called goodness may be filled with expectation and other motives. In fact.  Man probably recognise what is good. If they cannot recognise what is good then how can God condemn them. But then at the same time they reject what is holy as well. They think just because they did some things good,  they get a free pass. You see,  the act of condemning things even though they know what is good actually condemns them even more.  Your assumption is that man can choose to accept and believe. But then isn"t it clear that the Bible say that this is impossible.

You are obviously looking from man's way of thinking which is probably what your church trains you to think. I mean it is only natural to Not to tell a non believer that he cannot be saved by his own efforts. Is this not a clear case of you adapting to man's way of thinking . Similarly isn't it natural for an unsaved person to trample on thethings that are good? Not that hard right after my explanation but you just need to introduce man's ways in the gospel just like any natural person would do right?
I clearly don't see how how saying that it is both - got to do with offensiveness. Seriously.

Re: Your assumption is that man can choose to accept and believe. But then isn"t it clear that the Bible say that this is impossible.

Is this the real issue?? biggrin.gif You know that same accusation go both ways. Let say it is true, which is more plausible and have more explanatory power? This is why we fellowship on the proper interpretation by the text.

Er ... (really not sure what you assume that I tell non-believers that they can save themselves). But I always tell my gospel friends that they can't be saved by their own effort. So I asked them to believe in the Lord Jesus by their own will just like Peter's:

37 When the people heard this, they were cut to the heart and said to Peter and the other apostles, “Brothers, what shall we do?”

38 Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.

39 The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off—for all whom the Lord our God will call.”

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jan 22 2018, 09:35 PM
pehkay
post Jan 23 2018, 12:26 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(TheRealist @ Jan 23 2018, 10:19 AM)
Sorry no textural needed on my side. It's clear to Christians everywhere that God hardened Pharoh heart. You are obviously twisting scriptures to make it seem not. Not interested in playing word games with you. In fact your intention is to divert the attention away from the main topic at hand anyways . Will continue after lunch or dinner. Need to work.
Lol. Sure. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Here is a list for your reference:

The Wycliffe Bible Commentary
A study of the Exodus narrative shows that Pharoah hardened his own heart before God hardened it. And even after God hardened it, Pharaoah still had power to harden it further.

Mark Scott on Origen from Journey Back to God: Origen on the Problem of Evil
"In De Princiipii, Origen emphasizes the voluntary nature of Pharoah's hardening .... Nevertheless, he says that the Apostle Paul knew the difference between the 2 kinds of hardening. On the one hard, Pharaoh voluntarily hardens his own heart by resisting divine mercy, and Origen adduces Romans 2:4-5 to explain the consequnces of his impenitence. On the other hand, God also "hardens" Pharoah for reason beyond our comprehension"

Norman Geisler - A popular survey of the New Testament:
The text says 7 times that Pharoah hardened his own heart before God hardened it (see Exo. 7:13-14; 22; 8:15, 19, 32; 9:7)

Augustus Hopkins Strong, from Systematic Theology Vol 2:
Pharoah had hardened his own heart before. God hardens no man's heart who has not first hardened it himself.

(good enough for range of Christians theologian + writers nod.gif )

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jan 23 2018, 12:39 PM
pehkay
post Jan 26 2018, 06:03 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(TheRealist @ Jan 26 2018, 02:53 PM)
Funny though.
Seems that you are so quick to jump on the trigger. Even though I have not written anything so far. I mean why are you so quick to reply to my partial reply to you? Is that how you take advantage of the situation? But then my guess is morally, you are not really sound anyways.

Anyways, you are implying then that you are a free will proponent then and not really someone who subscribed to the fact that God's will is the determining factor. The dishonest part is your implication that both are actually possible. Pure logic would say it is not. For example. Your argument using the Pharoah's example clearly shows that you are more of a free will proponent. Are you not implying that if Pharoah did not hardened his heart, God would not have hardened his heart further? Well. My question to you then is, how is God going to display his miracles to the Jews then. You see, one of the purpose of God hardening Pharoah's heart is because He wanted to show Israel His miracles. Are you implying that if Pharoah was "kind", God would not have hardened his heart. Well. Then you are also implying that God needs the consent of Pharoah in order to display His miracles to His people.

Obviously, Pharoah would not have done the action he did if God did not hardened his heart further. It was actually not by his will that Pharoah did those action rather it was by God's will. God decided to make Pharoah do the things that he did. Similarly, God made all the other rulers discipline Israel as well. The point of Pharoah's heart being hardened all along is moot here. The point is that Pharoah was doing things that were against his will. In fact, it was not natural for Pharoah to be doing the things he was doing. Normally when someone suffers like what Pharoah did, he would not continue anymore.
Luke 22:42 : “Father, if You are willing, remove this cup from Me; however, not My will, but Yours be done.”

So by your definition, God decided to make the Lord Jesus to do that things He did. And that it is not His will that He is doing. It is the Father's will for His Will to ask to remove the cup. Then, the Father decided to make Jesus er er .... align his will to His will a while later.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯ oklah .... be whatever you like best.

QUOTE(TheRealist @ Jan 26 2018, 02:53 PM)
On God's standard. Well. There are a few verses that describe this.
For example
For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.

9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

On whether there is a person who is good. Well.
As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one:

And also for people who seemingly looks good on the surface, there is even a particular verse for them.
If you were of the world, the world would love its own: but because you are not of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.

You see. It's only natural that the world would love it's own and thus by definition, do good to it's own. Then does it make them good in Gods' sight? Obviously not.

Similarly, there is another verse that states that our good deads are like filthy rags in Gods' sight.

You see, there is also another term to describe people who are not saved.
But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.

If it was based on their free will, then why use the word natural. I mean does not natural means that it's a second nature that they are doing those things? If it is second nature, then how can we attribute their will towards those things.

It's funny how you can even say man is good when it's basic doctrine that it's because man is not good and that is why man needs a savior. In fact you totally missed the point of my earlier post. I did actually say that man knows what is good. And that is why God can condemn them because man know what is good and yet choose not to do good. You actually twisted what I written to say otherwise showing how dishonest you are.

19 When any one heareth the word of the kingdom, and understandeth it not, then cometh the wicked one, and catcheth away that which was sown in his heart. This is he which received seed by the way side.

20 But he that received the seed into stony places, the same is he that heareth the word, and anon with joy receiveth it;

21 Yet hath he not root in himself, but dureth for a while: for when tribulation or persecution ariseth because of the word, by and by he is offended.

22 He also that received seed among the thorns is he that heareth the word; and the care of this world, and the deceitfulness of riches, choke the word, and he becometh unfruitful.

23 But he that received seed into the good ground is he that heareth the word, and understandeth it; which also beareth fruit, and bringeth forth, some an hundredfold, some sixty, some thirty.

The thing is. It is so clear that one can make a outward profession of their faith and yet still remain condemned as what is demonstrated by the verses above. Now can I assume that when you told your friends to believe, you are telling them to make an outward profession like above right? And their outward profession is equivalent to their belief right?

Yeah, based on the text. Or based on your interpretation of the text.

There is nothing much to discuss actually. You have shown yourself to be very dishonest which is actually a common practice of your "denomination". After all, only someone who has something to hide has to say that they believe that it's God's will at the same time it's man's will. It's better to be honest then to appear to support 2 contradicting view point. Just like the Muslim terrorist who are honest when they commit acts of terrorism.

The irony is that even though you are even wrong on basic Christian doctrine, no one is calling you out on this. I mean your idea that man is actually naturally good when fallen man are not good already says a lot about your real beliefs. I do not even need to discuss with you scripture at this point when your basic beliefs are different from what Christians believe in.

The pitiful thing about this world is that people often look at the surface to determine how "spiritual"  a person is. Just because a person uses complex wording and philosophies, suddenly that person becomes more spiritual. When one looks deeper, it's more then meets the eye actually.

The other thing also is. Seem that people are paying close attention to me. People like Yeeck. It shows that I did make a deep impression towards him. I must be doing something right if say he still remembers me and can even identify me based on how I have written right? I mean if I was a nobody, he probably cannot do that. It also tells me that there will be no excuse of ignorance at the seat of judgement for him.

As for UW, the irony is that he actually sent me a reconciliation pm a month ago. I guess based on his response, he probably did not really mean it.  Guess he has been pretending all these while.

Anyway. No worries, I will not be posting in lowyat too often nowadays. I think people probably know that I am not making as strong an effort as I normally do.
.... Then be the person that people pay close attention to then ... Be the person with having a deep impression on others ... Be the spiritual man that you believe to be ....

Go forth! You have my blessing smile.gif

<lurks back>

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jan 26 2018, 06:11 PM
pehkay
post Feb 1 2018, 06:19 PM

145 posts

Elmer Towns (The Gospel of John: Believe and Live", :

The Greeks had three words for life, each with a different shade of meaning and emphasis. First, the term psuche referred to the self who was alive..John uses psuche as the life laid down by the good shepherd (10:11). Second, the word zoe in classical Greek normally referred to the essence or principle of life itself—the existence of life as opposed to death. The third word, bios, was used by Greek writers to describe one's manner of life and was almost exclusively used with reference to human life (such as biography). In this gospel, John uses the word zoe as spiritual life, and it often is accompanied by the adjective aionios (“eternal”). As aionios is also an attribute of God, it has been suggested that eternal life is nothing short of the life of God. [/b]

The result of faith in Christ is eternal life. John associates the adjective aionios with the noun zoe in 17 verses in this gospel. The phrase means a life that is endless, beginning at the moment of faith (5:24) and never ending. But John makes the phrase refer to more than endless existence. It also involves a sharing of the divine life (5:26; 17:3). (32)

thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by pehkay: Feb 2 2018, 10:45 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1232sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:36 AM