32 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Kia Optima GT 2017 at rm179k

TSjayraptor
post Jun 12 2017, 10:49 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jun 11 2017, 08:01 PM)
Then people should buy bmw n merc coz plenty of spare part
Why waste money buy new accord or camry or teana or mazda 6 when u can get rekon unreg merc n bmw with same price
Plenty of spare part not meaning cheap for everyone to afford

Spare part n wshop also know if u can afford to buy merc n bmw u also can afford to buy exp parts n exp servis

Dun compare 20 yrs old merc n bmw la of coz cheap parts
In fact, BMW and Mercedes have plenty of parts except for the failed models like 8 series. That is why many bought. In referring present day series F10 5 series and F30 3 series, if you cannot afford SC price, outside there are good specialist that offers lower labour cost. Spare parts you can choose original parts or replica parts that are made under licence that are cheaper.

Under present day condition, many would go for good FC and stable resale value. D segment 2.0L millennium sprint slower but beats FC of 2.4/2.5L. If I get Mazda 6 2.0L, it has good sprint 10.5s, build quality high, RV stable, spare parts plenty as sales volume good. I go for Accord or Camry, they are safe to own long term, no worry on spare parts, RV, when bored, just trade in and get new replacement. For same feeling secured over long term ownership and wanted more power, they can go for 2.4L or 2.5L.

Optima GT, with what the distributor doing now, its after sales won't be good if sales volume poor, followed by RV and ended up being another Mondeo. Many that owned 2.4, 2.5L and turbocharged 1.6, 2.0T, but most obey law, even if they sprint for fun or overtaking, they don't bother counting the sprint when they already have less than 9s acceleration. They are happy as long as the car could overtake well. FC is more concern than acceleration at this stage. Do you know that BMW and Mercedes engines today are FC saving that beats Japanese rivals?

As tested by Japanese King Strategist and US consumer group, the Sonata 2.0T that shares same engine, gearbox, chassis as Optima GT gets poorer FC than Sonata 2.4L. If a person bought Optima, he pays more petrol and rarely gets to enjoy the sprint, drive normal on highway only. Then have to risk end up with less or no spare part having to import. Another person who bought 2.4, 2.5L Japanese brand, he enjoys better FC with little power still with good after sales

Conclusion
TSjayraptor
post Jun 12 2017, 11:03 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jun 11 2017, 08:10 PM)
No interest in it
Kesian Elantra, no wonder no people visit showroom. Because you also said like this. What is your comment on Elantra future here? They didn't bring in 1.6L entry level this time. Looks like they are planning to bring in new Accent 1.4 and 1.6L. if they do, under current rules on pricing, 1.4L at rm75k while 1.6L at close to rm90k.

Behold their last hope, new Accent, Elantra as smaller brother. Difference on the grille that adopted new Sonata style, rear lights are Genesis style. Expect public to say 1.4L underpowered while 1.6L fuel thirsty when compared to Japanese rival 1.5L.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
rcracer
post Jun 12 2017, 11:20 AM

?????
3,743 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jun 12 2017, 11:03 AM)
Kesian Elantra, no wonder no people visit showroom. Because you also said like this. What is your comment on Elantra future here? They didn't bring in 1.6L entry level this time. Looks like they are planning to bring in new Accent 1.4 and 1.6L. if they do, under current rules on pricing, 1.4L at rm75k while 1.6L at close to rm90k.

Behold their last hope, new Accent, Elantra as smaller brother. Difference on the grille that adopted new Sonata style, rear lights are Genesis style. Expect public to say 1.4L underpowered while 1.6L fuel thirsty when compared to Japanese rival 1.5L.
Good car generally , just pricing is not what the market wants to pay and there's nothing much can be done about it

Secondly , there really hasn't been much interest in higher powered sedans , yes a few say it is nice but general market is still looking for good fuel consumption and reliability

And lastly is the brand image itself

Other countries where Hyundai has good sales generally they have a local RnD where they do country specific tuning of the car for that country only, like Australia , Europe , Russia . The rest get the standard car good or bad

Ginny88
post Jun 12 2017, 12:19 PM

1,032 posts

It's too early to say if the Elantra sport will succeed or not at that price tag. Due to long weekend many people balik kampung so not many people visit showrooms to test drive.

I think the Elantra sport isn't badly priced, certainly not as bad as Ford Focus sedan for RM144K. It is what you would expect to pay for a high spec C-segment from Jap or Conti make but being Korean our market expects to pay less.

At rate the Honda Civic turbo is selling I would say there is a lot of interest in higher powered sedans provided the FC remains reasonable.

Well, time will tell.

This post has been edited by Ginny88: Jun 12 2017, 12:19 PM
19 Degree South
post Jun 12 2017, 01:20 PM

1,480 posts

Recond mercs and BMW ......I feel for you!

This post has been edited by 19 Degree South: Jun 12 2017, 01:21 PM
wkc5657
post Jun 12 2017, 03:05 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jun 12 2017, 10:49 AM)
As tested by Japanese King Strategist and US consumer group, the Sonata 2.0T that shares same engine, gearbox, chassis as Optima GT gets poorer FC than Sonata 2.4L. If a person bought Optima, he pays more petrol and rarely gets to enjoy the sprint, drive normal on highway only. Then have to risk end up with less or no spare part having to import. Another person who bought 2.4, 2.5L Japanese brand, he enjoys better FC with little power still with good after sales

Wow....what a "joy" seeing you back out here. Eh...got some flames on dear honda, how come you didn't go douse the flame there??

For you statement above, makes me wonder you trust your strategist friend too much or you just plain being biased. If you read automotive articles and reviews long enough, the official consumption number of a turbo car is really just a number.

People in the know are well aware that the fuel consumption of a turbo will normally be higher than non turbo, regardless of brand. Anytime you reach the spool range, more fuel will be consumed as added pressure = more heat, and will require more fuel injection to regulate combustion pressure and prevent knocking. If want faster acceleration, all these numbers will be way off. If you don't understand what i mean, please watch this particular episode of driven series from paultan and see what happens to the fiesta ecoboost (forget about the hybrid contender).

Only those that really sissy foot their turbo cars will see nice fuel consumption numbers. Drive normally in our traffic condition, any modern non turbo engine (even though larger displacement) will have similar or better fuel consumption numbers. When WLTP standards come live, will see that turbo consumption numbers will be adversely affected while non turbo will not fluctuate too much. Other than emission concerns, car manufacturers are talking more about engine rightsizing instead of downsizing.

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Jun 12 2017, 03:08 PM
sitescope
post Jun 12 2017, 04:05 PM

4,225 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jun 12 2017, 10:49 AM)
In fact, BMW and Mercedes have plenty of parts except for the failed models like 8 series. That is why many bought. In referring present day series F10 5 series and F30 3 series, if you cannot afford SC price, outside there are good specialist that offers lower labour cost. Spare parts you can choose original parts or replica parts that are made under licence that are cheaper.

Under present day condition, many would go for good FC and stable resale value. D segment 2.0L millennium sprint slower but beats FC of 2.4/2.5L. If I get Mazda 6 2.0L, it has good sprint 10.5s, build quality high, RV stable, spare parts plenty as sales volume good. I go for Accord or Camry, they are safe to own long term, no worry on spare parts, RV,  when bored, just trade in and get new replacement. For same feeling secured over long term ownership and wanted more power, they can go for 2.4L or 2.5L.

Optima GT, with what the distributor doing now, its after sales won't be good if sales volume poor, followed by RV and ended up being another Mondeo. Many that owned 2.4, 2.5L and turbocharged 1.6, 2.0T, but most obey law, even if they sprint for fun or overtaking, they don't bother counting the sprint when they already have less than 9s acceleration. They are happy as long as the car could overtake well. FC is more concern than acceleration at this stage. Do you know that BMW and Mercedes engines today are FC saving that beats Japanese rivals?

Conclusion
Then ur story not convince enough coz people still afraid to buy merc n bmw
Outside wshop also cut throat, always heard they say "ini part mer/bmw maaa, mana sama rege proton"
I dun buy turbo if not interested in sprint, speeding, overtake, zigzag, etc
My 2.0 also now feel so slow aldy
I'm not type a person folo back people at right lane or folo back lorry when double line
Me only slow when got AES
KL - JB in 2.5hrs is std for my 2.0

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jun 12 2017, 11:03 AM)

That's a good sign, bring more pressure to SD to reduce price
Huge disc like what peug did

Optima gt for 150k, elantra for 110k

This post has been edited by sitescope: Jun 12 2017, 04:09 PM
wkc5657
post Jun 12 2017, 05:10 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jun 12 2017, 04:05 PM)
My prediction, optima will match camry hybrid price and elantra similar maximum discount like civic turbo. Bear in mind, excluding the continentals, these 2 products are segment leaders now in terms of performance. After all it is CBU, so price not so elastic. Further, MYR is still in shitty position despite some small recovery in the month. Most likely that the product was order when MYR at weakest.

Squeezing price further down will hurt future product launches. If MYR improves and CKD operations, got hope of better pricing. If they are pricing it like this at launch, i believe they are fine without great sales number. Just play the niche market as pushing market share need a lot of money and may not succeed knowing how ingrained Malaysian's perception of Toyota/Honda.

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Jun 12 2017, 05:21 PM
SKYjack
post Jun 13 2017, 12:15 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jun 12 2017, 05:10 PM)
My prediction, optima will match camry hybrid price and elantra similar maximum discount like civic turbo. Bear in mind, excluding the continentals, these 2 products are segment leaders now in terms of performance. After all it is CBU, so price not so elastic. Further, MYR is still in shitty position despite some small recovery in the month. Most likely that the product was order when MYR at weakest.

Squeezing price further down will hurt future product launches. If MYR improves and CKD operations, got hope of better pricing. If they are pricing it like this at launch, i believe they are fine without great sales number. Just play the niche market as pushing market share need a lot of money and may not succeed knowing how ingrained Malaysian's perception of Toyota/Honda.
Placed your booking ordi?
wkc5657
post Jun 13 2017, 12:55 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jun 13 2017, 12:15 PM)
Placed your booking ordi?
No, my current car still not yet 2 year old, i wished i was that rich tongue.gif
adri4n
post Jun 13 2017, 01:30 PM

Running in Circles... Going No Where
1,846 posts

srsly the pricepoint is gonna kill this faster despite the praise and blings on the improvements.. smile.gif
TSjayraptor
post Jun 13 2017, 10:39 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jun 12 2017, 11:20 AM)
Good car generally , just pricing is not what the market wants to pay and there's nothing much can be done about it

Secondly , there really hasn't been much interest in higher powered sedans , yes a few say it is nice but general market is still looking for good fuel consumption and reliability

And lastly is the brand image itself

Other countries where Hyundai has good sales generally they have a local RnD where they do country specific tuning of the car for that country only, like Australia , Europe , Russia . The rest get the standard car good or bad
Not just pricing, it's the failed and wrong strategies that killed the Korean brand here. 2015 onwards they just kept slumping despite throwing very high discount in overall.

In America, ever since they went off course, they actually lost. Refer 2015~present sales statistics, in these countries they claimed best seller, their sales are actually behind the few Japanese brand models C and D segments. Before this they park themselves side by side or chasing up near Camry, Accord and Civic, Altis,. Today they are trailing behind challenged by Ford. In China, they are losing to China quality brands. In Australia, Toyota and Mazda haven taken over most of the shares that was once held by Koreans.

TSjayraptor
post Jun 13 2017, 11:05 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jun 12 2017, 04:05 PM)
Then ur story not convince enough coz people still afraid to buy merc n bmw
Outside wshop also cut throat, always heard they say "ini part mer/bmw maaa, mana sama rege proton"
I dun buy turbo if not interested in sprint, speeding, overtake, zigzag, etc
My 2.0 also now feel so slow aldy
I'm not type a person folo back people at right lane or folo back lorry when double line
Me only slow when got AES
KL - JB in 2.5hrs is std for my 2.0
That's a good sign, bring more pressure to SD to reduce price
Huge disc like what peug did

Even I not convinced to buy BMW or Mercedes because I'm not rich. I bought Japanese for stable future. However, numbers of those owned BMW, Mercedes, Audi would drive slow to get attention. Ferrari, Lamborghini drive even slower so that they can show off.

Korean cars reduce price, they'll go dark age very soon. Have you seen the actual undeclared official price of new Cerato now? Why nobody buys despite price throwing until a person that wanted to buy Japanese B segment can afford new Cerato 2017? Veloster threw high discount too but only lying there to collect dust.
TSjayraptor
post Jun 13 2017, 11:25 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jun 12 2017, 03:05 PM)
Wow....what a "joy" seeing you back out here. Eh...got some flames on dear honda, how come you didn't go douse the flame there??

For you statement above, makes me wonder you trust your strategist friend too much or you just plain being biased. If you read automotive articles and reviews long enough, the official consumption number of a turbo car is really just a number.

People in the know are well aware that the fuel consumption of a turbo will normally be higher than non turbo, regardless of brand. Anytime you reach the spool range, more fuel will be consumed as added pressure = more heat, and will require more fuel injection to regulate combustion pressure and prevent knocking. If want faster acceleration, all these numbers will be way off. If you don't understand what i mean, please watch this particular episode of driven series from paultan and see what happens to the fiesta ecoboost (forget about the hybrid contender).

Only those that really sissy foot their turbo cars will see nice fuel consumption numbers. Drive normally in our traffic condition, any modern non turbo engine (even though larger displacement) will have similar or better fuel consumption numbers. When WLTP standards come live, will see that turbo consumption numbers will be adversely affected while non turbo will not fluctuate too much. Other than emission concerns, car manufacturers are talking more about engine rightsizing instead of downsizing.
That Japanese King Strategist, as long as he could provide facts and evidence, I believe. Paul Tan is just an infected journalist that can't talk facts about cars properly. In fact I do know how it works but chose not to share any pros of any car to let the Japanese and Korean brands compete fair and square. In just news commentator, not with Japanese company. Whatever mainstream Japanese cars got flamed, if my members are involved in that brand, you'll notice those remeh-temeh bombardment in forum failed to bring down their sales in real world. Like poking fun at Civic rear crab lights, in real world, these crabs are everywhere while no Ioniq, Cerato, tucson, shortage or any 2015 onwards launched Korean cars seen on the road nowadays.

I want to see how the Korean principals hired so call experts fare against my members that have joined Japanese rivals. Looks like the Koreans failed big time, blaming economy, school holidays when raya is only by end of the month. They can come up with excuses as if everyone has evacuated KL because of school holidays until nobody visit showroom when next door rival showrooms look busy at the few main showrooms where Japanese King Strategist fielded his surveyors.
faridr
post Jun 14 2017, 12:02 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jun 13 2017, 11:05 PM)
Even I not convinced to buy BMW or Mercedes because I'm not rich. I bought Japanese for stable future. However, numbers of those owned BMW, Mercedes, Audi would drive slow to get attention. Ferrari, Lamborghini drive even slower so that they can show off.

Korean cars reduce price, they'll go dark age very soon. Have you seen the actual undeclared official price of new Cerato now? Why nobody buys despite price throwing until a person that wanted to buy Japanese B segment can afford new Cerato 2017? Veloster threw high discount too but only lying there to collect dust.
Thanks to all those wise buyer including you for choosing Japenese B segment or Japanese car. And also to your strategist friend. Must not support kimchi car and their shitty pricing.

Because of you guys, I manage to make booking for full spec Cerato 1.6 with full leather for almost the price of mid spec Honda City after rebate + haggling laugh.gif

This post has been edited by faridr: Jun 14 2017, 12:04 AM
sitescope
post Jun 14 2017, 12:32 AM

4,225 posts

QUOTE(faridr @ Jun 14 2017, 12:02 AM)
Thanks to all those wise buyer including you for choosing Japenese B segment or Japanese car. And also to your strategist friend. Must not support kimchi car and their shitty pricing.

Because of you guys, I manage to make booking for full spec Cerato 1.6 with full leather for almost the price of mid spec Honda City after rebate + haggling  laugh.gif
Korek... We need people like him to push optimaGT to lower their price to 150k so i dun need to scratch my head to buy boring ekod, camry, teana, mazda6, etc etc
rcracer
post Jun 14 2017, 08:10 AM

?????
3,743 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jun 13 2017, 10:39 PM)
Not just pricing, it's the failed and wrong strategies that killed the Korean brand here. 2015 onwards they just kept slumping despite throwing very high discount in overall.

In America, ever since they went off course, they actually lost. Refer 2015~present sales statistics, in these countries they claimed best seller,  their sales are actually behind the few Japanese brand models C and D segments. Before this they park themselves side by side or chasing up near Camry, Accord and Civic, Altis,. Today they are trailing behind challenged by Ford. In China, they are losing to China quality brands. In Australia, Toyota and Mazda haven taken over most of the shares that was once held by Koreans.
Crowded market , no differentiation factor ,

But is not lost yet , they did hire many ex German marque top people to join them , so future will see more improvements

This post has been edited by rcracer: Jun 14 2017, 08:11 AM
Safety 1st
post Jun 14 2017, 03:43 PM

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jun 6 2017, 10:24 PM)
New Optima GT launched and priced at rm179k powered by Nu 2.0L turbocharged boosted to 3.5L strength. Reminds me of when Mondeo 2.0T launched at Rm180k and eventually failed. What were they thinking? Most D segments sold are 2.0L at rm140-150k. Probably don't know how to compete head on with Japanese D segment so brought in turbocharged 2.0L hoping to gain some sales competing with Japanese 2.4L and 2.5L D segments. FC result in America, the FC of 2.0T Optima/Sonata are higher than 2.4L NA Optima & Sonata. What do the people here think? Looks like they think themselves as conti car selling at cbu conti price now. Chain reaction, the sales volume also become like conti in the past. Conti today instead playing by the rule going CKD competing with Japanese at Japanese price range.
Objectively,

Accord 2.4liter - 175ps@6200rpm & 225nm@4000rpm with 5 speed automatic

Optima GT 2.0T - 242ps@6000rpm & 350nm@1400rpm with 6 speed automatic

With GT, the peak torque available at low rpm, you will feel the power of 350nm right at the tap of the gas pedal while in accord, you have to press the pedal to 4k rpm to get a tiny 225nm of power (the max power you can get).

Both come with 6 airbags although u can find the optima is listed in the ncap website with 5 star score while accord is not listed.

Features wise, GT equipped with sport leather ventilated seat (very comfortable with Malaysia humid climate), Harman/Kardon premium audio system. wireless charging. and many more.

The interior design layout is of european flair with dashboard and switchgear arrangement looks like bmw and audi.

Price wise, the accord is rm172k vs the optima rm179k

not much of diff in pricing but a huge diff in performance and luxury feel.

Brand wise - lets face it, either accord or optima, they both run of a mill machine not a luxury brand...to the eye of those who drive luxury cars both are cheap sub 200k car...

hence better get the one that is more value for money...for what is worth...the kia optima performance is almost the same as the 5 series 530i.

Ginny88
post Jun 14 2017, 07:39 PM

1,032 posts

Agree with Safety 1st. The Optima GT is a more value for money buy than the Accord. But in Malaysia the common perception is that Korean cars have no right to cost as much as an equivalent Jap car even if we are comparing CBU and CKD cars. Sales of the Optima GT will probably be 10% of the Accord. But those who can look beyond brand snobbery can get to enjoy a better, more powerful car for the same amount of money.

sitescope
post Jun 14 2017, 08:02 PM

4,225 posts

QUOTE(Safety 1st @ Jun 14 2017, 03:43 PM)
Objectively,

Accord 2.4liter - 175ps@6200rpm & 225nm@4000rpm with 5 speed automatic

Optima GT 2.0T - 242ps@6000rpm & 350nm@1400rpm with 6 speed automatic

With GT, the peak torque available at low rpm, you will feel the power of 350nm right at the tap of the gas pedal while in accord, you have to press the pedal to 4k rpm to get a tiny 225nm of power (the max power you can get).
Both come with 6 airbags although u can find the optima is listed in the ncap website with 5 star score while accord is not listed.
Features wise, GT equipped with sport leather ventilated seat (very comfortable with Malaysia humid climate), Harman/Kardon premium audio system. wireless charging. and many more.

The interior design layout is of european flair with dashboard and switchgear arrangement looks like bmw and audi.

Price wise, the accord is rm172k vs the optima rm179k

not much of diff in pricing but a huge diff in performance and luxury feel.

Brand wise - lets face it, either accord or optima, they both run of a mill machine not a luxury brand...to the eye of those who drive luxury cars both are cheap sub 200k car...

hence better get the one that is more value for money...for what is worth...the kia optima performance is almost the same as the 5 series 530i.
But in msia only uncle buy D segmen n this uncle drive 110kmh only so performance isn't in their list
When on hway, majority cucuk me is B n C segmen only
D segmen all go left give way
D segmen is more on relaxing drive

32 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:47 AM