Kia Optima GT 2017 at rm179k

dstl1128
post Jun 7 2017, 12:33 PM

4,464 posts

Can't download Optima GT brochure from Kia website. Failed.

Anyone has them?
dstl1128
post Jun 8 2017, 08:47 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Jun 8 2017, 02:00 AM)
Even if this was priced at RM150k, I doubt sales will be great. People normally relate Kia & Hyundai with low resale value and expensive & unavailable spare parts in comparison to their Japanese counterparts.
Well, Camry 2.0 vs Optima GT 2.0 @ RM150k .... I think Optima GT is a good buy. With this price RM150k I will just ignore.com on Camry 2.0G/X and Altis 2.0V.

dstl1128
post Jun 18 2017, 09:39 PM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Jun 18 2017, 09:30 PM)
The Passat turbo is RM199K OTR without insurance. With the RM15K discount for Raya promotion it comes to RM184K which is still RM9K more than Optima GT at RM175K OTR without insurance.

But let's say if both cars are sold at the same price why would people buy an Optima instead of a Passat? There are many possible reasons I can think of:

1. A Korean car is generally more reliable than a Continental car.
2. Passat will be more expensive to maintain after warranty with higher cost of spare parts, harder to repair and more expensive labour.
3. 6 speed auto transmission is more reliable than DSG and smoother in low speed traffic.
4. Passat's adaptive dampers are wear and tear items and are damn expensive to replace.
5. Optima GT is CBU from Korea. Passat is CKD in Pekan with our unimpressive assembly quality.
6. Optima has higher resale value. In 3 years expect the Optima to maintain 60% of its value while the Passat will only be worth 40%.

So you want to top up a bit more for a Volvo? That's a very expensive car to maintain.
Again Bobby says continental cheap to maintain tongue.gif.

Really that heated seats in Optima GT hnnnnnng. It is just lacking those safety in Ioniq HEV+ - for god sake it is ~RM180k and none of those HEV+ safety. WTF. When Honda release Accord Hybrid with Honda Sensing at that price, good luck Optima GT - back to drawing board.

Just like Ioniq HEV now got kicked by Jazz Sport Hybrid. When they add Honda Sensing to Civic or even City or Jazz Hybrid, HEV+ pricing can just vanish in the background.

dstl1128
post Jun 18 2017, 10:06 PM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Jun 18 2017, 09:43 PM)
Why everybody must compare with Ioniq HEV+ features? How many cars in our market have those features?
Why can't we? They are released later than HEV+, should have those as standard. Otherwise it will just be beaten down by any upcoming releases that have all those tech included, and end up doing a facelift 'retro-fitting' those techs just to trying hard to catch up, make it more attractive and lure back customers - by then too late. Vios can be a case study here - I've no idea how much retro-fitting extra stuff they can do in order to even get close to City sales.

If Hyundai/Kia isn't aiming for market leader and not aiming to strike a price/performance leader position (before competitors react), nobody would want to treat them as one as well. In the end it will be another product that only get the lime light during launch.

I almost go for Ioniq HEV+ seeing they have given it some nice thought - giving a full size spare tire... only to know that its HU is replaced with another severely castrated unit vs the global version HU; and giving a lame reason saying the 'good HU' interfere with the electronics. doh.gif

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Jun 18 2017, 10:11 PM
dstl1128
post Jun 19 2017, 03:04 PM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Jun 19 2017, 02:16 PM)
Let's say right now, everything on the Optima GT remains the same, CBU with RM 180k pricing. However, the car is now known as Toyota Camry GT.

Would you buy?  hmm.gif
Sure yes, will choose Camry GT over Optima GT at that price point anytime.

dstl1128
post Jun 20 2017, 10:10 PM

4,464 posts

New Accord have 2.0 Turbo (Civic Type R engine tuned differently), 10 speed auto and Honda Sensing, not sure will it be here or not but, the spec eats Optima GT. Just waiting for availability & price.

dstl1128
post Jun 28 2017, 09:15 PM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jun 28 2017, 01:01 PM)
Yes, I agree it could be lower. Main items were batteries, timing belts, A/C condenser (2x), engine mountings (2 sets) , lower arms, upper arms, ball joints, brake pads, absorbers, water hoses and radiator repair. I probably got cheated for the first set of engine mountings which lasted less than a year. The lower and upper arm and ball joints seem to give recurring problems so maybe I was given sub-standard parts as well. (There are also China made parts for Korean cars). This is the problem of using too many different mechanics just for convenience sake. In retrospect I should have found a good mechanic and stuck to him.
Quite typical actually. Very syukur compared to, say, Peugeot 3008.
dstl1128
post Jul 1 2017, 02:04 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jun 30 2017, 12:05 PM)
those who can afford this car will probably got no time to post nonsense in lowyat forums. all here tok kok and wayang only.

quite a few have been registered on the road and i've been told the first owner in malaysia is a lady in her mid 40s.
Even if could afford, better to wait those LKAS LDW SACC BSD blah blah features being enabled in 180k price range.

dstl1128
post Jul 7 2017, 08:30 PM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(legend2014 @ Jul 7 2017, 07:22 PM)
... but this is not enough to change the old school perception from the public.
Confirm not enough if they sell it cheaper than Jap but replace/take-away some nice-to-have equipments down to Perodua/Proton & Almera level.

I don't know about UMW but if next wave of Honda facelifts all comes with Honda Sensing, those local Korean distro can just follow VW Drop Everything sales promotion just to break-even or offer 0.88% interest rate promo. Even a 10 year warranty won't help anymore.

Well just hope those Jap stays where they are for quite sometime, then this round of Kia Optima GT might have some chance to sell a few.

dstl1128
post Jul 9 2017, 08:40 PM

4,464 posts

V40 is tiny. I would prefer Optima GT... but then RM180k for Kia/Hyundai brand... hmm.gif

... might just end up with Camry Hybrid. lol
dstl1128
post Jul 24 2017, 06:29 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Jul 23 2017, 03:19 PM)
Prof Jay is getting harder to babysit lately, agree with him also Salah .disagree give him explaination he will deem u as salesman for the other party (which ever he says no good). Then he will use all his "fact" to win u based on his experience
Cannot just simply agree without any challenge.
dstl1128
post Jul 25 2017, 07:53 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 25 2017, 12:01 AM)
Wah....playing the trump card that he kept to "laugh us off"...VIS...fuhyo :
[attachmentid=8988072]
http://www.gtfours.co.uk/what/tvis/tvis.htm
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/T-VIS
This obsolete liao lar.....where got any modern diagram will show this? None of the modern Toyota engines apply this anymore...
Maybe he thought ACIS where it was used in 10.5 gen Altis with 2ZR/3ZR engines. Not sure whether it was still there in our current gen Altis.

dstl1128
post Jul 25 2017, 10:05 PM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jul 25 2017, 09:15 PM)
My car DCT won't allow me to up shift at 1400rpm in 4th gear even in manual mode. There is mechanism to prevent engine stall. 1 -> 2, maybe. I doubt 2 -> 3 is allowed, can try it out when free. However must press the gas paddle so lightly else gear 2 reach red line too fast.

Probably whichever car that have higher gear 2 or maybe gear 3 top speed will win. Both drivers struggle to up shift at 1400rpm, lol. This plug from sky hypothetical experiment not practical at all.
I think the ECU/programming prevents the driver lugging the engine, not engine stall.

For preventing engine stall under low speed, it can just disengage the gear/clutch.

Oh well, I'm not the programmer so it can be either one, or both.

dstl1128
post Jul 28 2017, 10:57 AM

4,464 posts

Btw so far any owners of Optima GT?
dstl1128
post Aug 9 2017, 06:58 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Aug 8 2017, 09:44 PM)
Those Korean companies are dumbest to brain drain the best people to Japanese rivals.
True. I genuinely believe this. No wonder UMW Toyota and Nissan are acting like Hyundai/Kia - new car launches with stripped features. Cut cost even on cup holders. When sales bad then retro fit the features one-by-one. Honda also starting to follow the korean by -2 airbags on latest hybrid launches as well as lousy SC response.

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Aug 9 2017, 06:59 AM
dstl1128
post Aug 16 2017, 11:07 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Aug 16 2017, 11:05 AM)
i trying my best to understand ....

[attachmentid=9047978]
i think it is left OPEN most likely... so that cylinder 2 and 4 can have lower pressure... OH wait ... where is cylinder 4 ...  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Maybe connect a wastegate there, or a plenum/butterfly valve, or act as an EGR?
dstl1128
post Aug 17 2017, 09:53 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Aug 17 2017, 08:20 AM)
Unker, when did Ford ever tried using a 1.0L engine on the Mondeo? I don't have in-depth knowledge of cars or Ford but even I know that it is ridiculous for Ford to put a 1.0L engine on the Mondeo, turbo or not.
Ford did have Mondeo 1.0 ecoboost. Perhaps it just short lived or not getting popular.

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Aug 17 2017, 09:53 AM

1.4642sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:57 PM