LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

SUSceo684
post Oct 11 2021, 08:55 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Oct 11 2021, 02:09 PM)
Usually brick wall
The very cheap china ones alao come in variety of prices.
Super elcheapo one wont be much use beyond screws..
About 90 100 bucks is generic 12V tool despite whatever fake V they say. About 25Nm is similar to bosch gsb120.

54Nm one for more torque is GSB180.

But if buying cordless leh . Many choice available. Mostly 12V or 18V good enough already.
12V more compact but not super powerful. Light and small.
18V bigger toys and more robust. Better runtime.
36V if you are in heavy construction.
China tool V, cannot trust. Fake V.

QUOTE(dickybird @ Oct 11 2021, 02:29 PM)
any recommendations for powered screwdriver?
thanks in advance
Ahh since both of these are similar questions can refer above.
If you're expanding the tool range then brand consideration matters..

QUOTE(PalakOtakHang @ Oct 11 2021, 07:11 PM)
off topic but somehow relevant, i dont want to open new thread to ask question. Hence, postingĀ  here.

Bought these expansion screws from MrD to mount pull up bar onto the wall (Couldnt find other type of expansion bolt). What is the thing circled in red?
Specifically that is a spring washer to be placed in btwn the flat washer and the nut.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 11 2021, 08:56 PM
chamelion
post Oct 11 2021, 09:42 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(PalakOtakHang @ Oct 11 2021, 08:37 PM)
ty. today i learn washer doesnt come only in conical shape  laugh.gif blush.gif
This is to prevent the anchor from getting loose.
Zot
post Oct 12 2021, 08:20 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(PalakOtakHang @ Oct 11 2021, 08:37 PM)
ty. today i learn washer doesnt come only in conical shape  laugh.gif blush.gif
There are many type of washers. The picture below is not even half of them laugh.gif

The one you ask some call them spring washer, split washer and locking washer. It is to lock the nut from getting loose. As you can see the split is in such a way that the sharp edge is wedging the nut if you unlock it. The normal washer distribute the load over wider surface area and not only protect the material surface you are locking.

The question is why it is called washer since it does not wash anything laugh.gif
dickybird
post Oct 12 2021, 08:03 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 11 2021, 08:55 PM)
The very cheap china ones alao come in variety of prices.
Super elcheapo one wont be much use beyond screws..
About 90 100 bucks is generic 12V tool despite whatever fake V they say. About 25Nm is similar to bosch gsb120.

54Nm one for more torque is GSB180.

But if buying cordless leh . Many choice available. Mostly 12V or 18V good enough already.
12V more compact but not super powerful. Light and small.
18V bigger toys and more robust. Better runtime.
36V if you are in heavy construction.
China tool V, cannot trust. Fake V.
Ahh since both of these are similar questions can refer above.
If you're expanding the tool range then brand consideration matters..
Specifically that is a spring washer to be placed in btwn the flat washer and the nut.
Tqvm
ozak
post Oct 13 2021, 09:21 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(PalakOtakHang @ Oct 11 2021, 07:11 PM)
off topic but somehow relevant, i dont want to open new thread to ask question. Hence, posting  here.

Bought these expansion screws from MrD to mount pull up bar onto the wall (Couldnt find other type of expansion bolt). What is the thing circled in red?
Spring washer .

Not necessary to need it if no vibration on the usage.
lyt25_1234
post Oct 20 2021, 04:59 PM

1,152 posts

I just received my Bosch GWX 18V angle grinder and firsts time using it and found out that angle grinder is actually the most dangerous power tools. The kickback can really hurt a person badly. So now I am a bit worry of using it...

So I am thinking to scrap this DIY and just take this as my expensive lesson of buying such power tool and not dare to use it.

I am going to plan to sell it off but not right now. I will keep it for some time first. (Maybe after some time, my guts are back and I dare to use it...LoL)

For now, I just get myself plenty of PPE to standby first.

Zot
post Oct 20 2021, 05:05 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Oct 20 2021, 04:59 PM)
I just received my Bosch GWX 18V angle grinder and firsts time using it and found out that angle grinder is actually the most dangerous power tools. The kickback can really hurt a person badly. So now I am a bit worry of using it...

So I am thinking to scrap this DIY and just take this as my expensive lesson of buying such power tool and not dare to use it.

I am going to plan to sell it off but not right now. I will keep it for some time first. (Maybe after some time, my guts are back and I dare to use it...LoL)

Yes, do not hold it in one hand. People tend to get carried away after a while.

Get steady position. Wear PPE. Cut or grind lightly. Do not push harder to get faster result.

People invent chainsaw blade, saw blade for use with grinder. This is even more dangerous shortcut unless you know what you are doing but even pro also do get injuries.

This post has been edited by Zot: Oct 20 2021, 05:09 PM
SUSceo684
post Oct 20 2021, 06:21 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Grinder must be operated at full speed (spin up) before cutting.
Make sure to give it 3000% respect. No distraction. Must wear PPE and hold it securely with two hands, blade guard always on. Clamp down workpiece securely. Use good disc. Throw worn ones. Be very careful w cutting disc (the thin ones), make sure u cut straight and not warping the disc; the grinding disc (thick ones) slightly safer. Cut slowly when ur new and ensure the disc still spin fast, when its fast it wont jam. If it bogs down (too slow) it becomes dangerous. My stance is NEVER cut wood w grinder, only metal or stones. Circular saws are not expensive tongue.gif and much safer as they rotate to grip the workpiece. I forgot ur is cordless or corded..if corded make sure to place the cord in a way u dont trip over and it wont cut the cord.

It will have kickback the moment you turn it on. I think its an inherent thing with grinder. Use with handle, if no handle buy one..i added handle for my GWS060 basic grinder.

I've heard bangla dancing around avoiding runaway grinder in metal foundry before.. laugh.gif had to overcome my fear of it coz needed it for job. After use few times u will get used to kickback. Maybe u practice with thick grinding disc just polish a few bricks or AAC block first..before upgrade to cutting disc.

Alternatively a safer tool is the multi tool (osci cutter) or the sawzall. Blade memang expensive but much safer if you don't need a grinder per se.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 20 2021, 06:30 PM
lucifah
post Oct 22 2021, 10:08 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

always wear proper PPE. the power is there, kickback is real. so u have to have steady hands. and grip the handle.

but trust me... those 18V ones... are nowhere as powerful as corded ones.
stormer.lyn
post Oct 24 2021, 08:09 PM

1,132 posts

Yisheng Hardware and Timber in Subang New Village/Shah Alam is clearing stock of Dongcheng 2-mode rotary hammer for RM 119. I believe it is because they are changing to stocking the "Total" brand from now on.

This below image is from the Dongcheng official store on Sh*pee

This post is just in case you are interested, but if you are not, just ignore thanks.

Disclaimer : I have no affiliation to this store, nor am I receiving anything in return. I make no claim or recommendation to the suitability of the item I am posting about. You are entirely responsible for the actions you take after reading this post. This is simply information on price that I saw as I was walking around the store recently.

This post has been edited by stormer.lyn: Oct 25 2021, 08:41 AM
Zot
post Oct 25 2021, 08:13 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Oct 24 2021, 08:09 PM)
Yisheng Hardware and Timber in Subang New Village/Shah Alam is clearing stock of Dongcheng 2-mode rotary hammer for RM 119. I believe it is because they are changing to the "Total" brand from now on.

This below image is from the Dongcheng official store on Sh*pee

This post is just in case you are interested, but if you are not, just ignore thanks.

Disclaimer : I have no affiliation to this store, nor am I receiving anything in return. I make no claim or recommendation to the suitability of the item I am posting about. You are entirely responsible for the actions you take after reading this post. This is simply information on price that I saw as I was walking around the store recently.
How you know Dongcheng is re-branding to Total? I don;t see any similarity between the two brands hmm.gif
stormer.lyn
post Oct 25 2021, 08:36 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 25 2021, 08:13 AM)
How you know Dongcheng is re-branding to Total? I don;t see any similarity between the two brandsĀ  hmm.gif
Is that what you understand from reading the first and second sentence together? Guess I should edit my original post then.

This post has been edited by stormer.lyn: Oct 25 2021, 08:41 AM
Zot
post Oct 25 2021, 09:20 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Oct 25 2021, 08:36 AM)
Is that what you understand from reading the first and second sentence together? Guess I should edit my original post then.
Now I think I understand what you meant laugh.gif

This is because they is ambiguous and the word changing made me think that they refers to Dingcheng since shops are not selling just one brand biggrin.gif
SUSceo684
post Oct 25 2021, 06:42 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Oct 25 2021, 08:36 AM)
Ahh now we get your true meaning. I thought Total bought over DCA earlier.
Now its a matter of shop just changing to focus on selling Total stuff hence clearing inventory of DCA stuff. biggrin.gif

It is a very good price for the DCA rotohammer. Too bad I already have two rotohammers lol biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 25 2021, 06:45 PM
lyt25_1234
post Oct 26 2021, 02:54 PM

1,152 posts

I just found a buyer to buy my Bosch GWX 18v angle grinder.
Phew....what a relief.

Now I bought another angle grinder which has the variable speed, Bosch GWS 900-100s for much cheaper price.

Can I ask if anyone here bought this unit? Is it good?

SUSceo684
post Oct 26 2021, 11:37 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Oct 26 2021, 02:54 PM)
Phew....what a relief.

Now I bought another angle grinder which has the variable speed, Bosch GWS 900-100s for much cheaper price.

Should be good brows.gif We don't really use grinders 8hrs nonstop, so even the GWS060 works very well for our purposes.
What would be the cutting scope you're intending to do?
Zot
post Oct 27 2021, 07:53 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Oct 26 2021, 02:54 PM)
Phew....what a relief.

It is rated Heavy Duty by Bosch, right? And you are not a pro. More than good... should be biggrin.gif
lyt25_1234
post Oct 27 2021, 08:15 AM

1,152 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 26 2021, 11:37 PM)
Should be good brows.gif We don't really use grinders 8hrs nonstop, so even the GWS060 works very well for our purposes.
What would be the cutting scope you're intending to do?
I am going to use it to do alot of woodworking (DIY furnitures).
And also I need to cut some tiles.

Yes, you are right about the use of grinder is far lesser than those ppl who use it as their daily work. But I choose GWS900-100S for it's durability and it's form factor. The thickness of it is much thinner than GWS060, right? So it will have better grip and less fatigue for long usage. And the main thing is that it has the option to control the speed, which GWS060 doesn't have. I can use it to do sanding of rust on my gates and awning next time. I can also use it to do some basic wax and polishing of my cars. The next good thing about GWS900-100S is that it is also have a slow start, so it won't jolt when switching on and also the safe restart feature.

I think most of the ppl also agree that Bosch spare parts are cheap and easily available to buy online such as carbon brush, amature, flanges, guards, anti-vibration handle, bearings, gears etc. So this is also another reason I choose Bosch brand.

This post has been edited by lyt25_1234: Oct 27 2021, 08:31 AM
Zot
post Oct 27 2021, 08:25 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Oct 27 2021, 08:15 AM)

Yes, you are right about the use of grinder is far lesser than those ppl who use it as their daily work. But I choose GWS900-100S for it's durability and it's form factor. The thickness of it is much thinner than GWS060, right? So it will have better grip and less fatigue for long usage. And the main thing is that it has the option to control the speed, which GWS060 doesn't have. I can use it to do sanding of rust on my gates and awning next time. I can also use it to do some basic wax and polishing of my cars. The next good thing about GWS900-100S is that it is also have a slow start, so it won't jolt when switching on and also the safe restart feature.

I think most of the ppl also agree that Bosch spare parts are cheap and easily available to buy online such as carbon brush, amature, flanges, guards, anti-vibration handle, bearings, gears etc. So this is also another reason I choose Bosch brand.
Can use for most job but NOT for car polish. Even at slowest speed it is still to fast. Generate heat that will damage the car paint. To polish car, go for proper polishing tool. Grinder can use to buff metal surface especially the stainless steel only smile.gif
chamelion
post Oct 27 2021, 10:43 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Oct 27 2021, 08:15 AM)

will scratch car...

234 Pages « < 211 212 213 214 215 > » Top

0.1701sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:25 PM