234 Pages « < 185 186 187 188 189 > » Bottom

LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

adamgombak
post Aug 12 2020, 01:24 PM

I've got a Bosch GBM 320 with chuck capacity 0.5-6.5mm dia. I want to cut a 30mm hole through a porcelain tile. I bought the cutter saw and measured the shank of the cutter saw - it is 11mm dia. & cannot fit into the Bosch.
Any sifu can advise what I should do?
Zot
post Aug 12 2020, 01:49 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(adamgombak @ Aug 12 2020, 01:24 PM)
I've got a Bosch GBM 320 with chuck capacity 0.5-6.5mm dia. I want to cut a 30mm hole through a porcelain tile. I bought the cutter saw and measured the shank of the cutter saw - it is 11mm dia. & cannot fit into the Bosch.
Any sifu can advise what I should do?
There are chuck adapter like this but the best probably would be buying a new drill with more capability at least like having hammer function instead. Probably the adapter is not that expensive but I'd say the price probably worth investing on another tool in my opinion smile.gif

I'm not sure if there is one with size 6.5mm. More common 10mm maybe hmm.gif

easywin3
post Aug 12 2020, 08:00 PM

668 posts

Anyone bought this interesting tool ? if yes any comment please.

https://shopee.com.my/For-Makita-DJR186Z-18...0623.6844289889

SUSceo684
post Aug 13 2020, 10:02 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(playerzaki2000 @ Aug 8 2020, 07:37 PM)
hi all, beginner diy here...

I am plan to diy the car porch using metal c frames/purlins and batten with a metal deck... my more than 10 year old drill went kaput...

so, i do plan to buy a new one... i already have a corded hammer drill, but i dont think i should use the hammer function for my purpose.. and it's also more than 10 years old... so, maybe its time for something new...

so, would like to ask sifus, asiring sifus and others on suggestion for something with a budget below rm500...

all help is utmost appreciated... thank you guys and girls..
Metal no issue. But where does the metal frame mount to - concrete wall?
Concrete/AAC is best using rotary hammer (using SDS chuck).
Basic impact drill w hammer (using round drill bit) will work fine for sand/clay bricks only.

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Aug 8 2020, 07:37 PM)
Guys, I have a Bosch cordless GSB18 V-EC impact drill for general usage for my house but it's not able to drill through concrete. Can suggest me Bosch corded hammer drill that at least drill thru concrete? Just few cm to mount wall plug for picture frame, picture ledge, nothing heavy.

Is GBH 2-28D ok? Or overkill?
2-24 corded or GBH 180-LI Cordless Rotary Hammer else with non-rotary impact drill you will spend 5-10 min per wall plug hole

QUOTE(chamelion @ Aug 8 2020, 07:47 PM)
Any cord drill with hammer function will do.
Concrete bro whistling.gif SDS rotary hammer =/= hammer drill
Zot
post Aug 13 2020, 10:52 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Aug 8 2020, 07:37 PM)
Guys, I have a Bosch cordless GSB18 V-EC impact drill for general usage for my house but it's not able to drill through concrete. Can suggest me Bosch corded hammer drill that at least drill thru concrete? Just few cm to mount wall plug for picture frame, picture ledge, nothing heavy.

Is GBH 2-28D ok? Or overkill?
Want to try something new?

Get this

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/worx-wu3...u11efirad52dcng

It is cordless. Brushless Motor. Has mode for tile drilling. Normal Drill Hammer and Chisel.

More comfortable to handle than Bosch and light weight. Easily operate single hand.

I did not own one but I tried. Drop from 2m also will not break as demonstrated by the distributor where I repair my pressure pump laugh.gif

Just to to shop selling this and try. Price about the same as the Bosch model you interested in. smile.gif
SUSceo684
post Aug 13 2020, 11:05 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 13 2020, 10:52 AM)

Get this

It is cordless. Brushless Motor. Has mode for tile drilling. Normal Drill Hammer and Chisel.

More comfortable to handle than Bosch and light weight. Easily operate single hand.

I did not own one but I tried. Drop from 2m also will not break as demonstrated by the distributor where I repair my pressure pump  laugh.gif

Just to to shop selling this and try. Price about the same as the Bosch model you interested in.  smile.gif
Technically about the same cost after add 2nd battery 4AH to match the worx set, but if he has existing 18V batt n charger then no need invest new system again laugh.gif as bare tool should be 350-400 (nowadays also brushless for GBH180-LI) - see the BL sticker at bottom of tool

This post has been edited by ceo684: Aug 13 2020, 11:08 AM
Zot
post Aug 13 2020, 11:27 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Aug 13 2020, 11:05 AM)
Technically about the same cost after add 2nd battery 4AH to match the worx set, but if he has existing 18V batt n charger then no need invest new system again  laugh.gif as bare tool should be 350-400 (nowadays also brushless for GBH180-LI) - see the BL sticker at bottom of tool
If already have existing battery probably not, but compare to the Bosch, this one much comfortable to handle. Much less effort holding it straight to avoid front end from tilting down. Pressing it to the wall while drilling did not hurt your hand like Bosch.

Unfortunately I have already had my Makita laugh.gif
adamgombak
post Aug 13 2020, 04:15 PM

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 12 2020, 01:49 PM)
There are chuck adapter like this but the best probably would be buying a new drill with more capability at least like having hammer function instead. Probably the adapter is not that expensive but I'd say the price probably worth investing on another tool in my opinion smile.gif

I'm not sure if there is one with size 6.5mm. More common 10mm maybe  hmm.gif

Thanks Zot.
Ya my problem is this Bosch model receives max 6.5mm. bangwall.gif
Wonder whether there's such a adaptor this size
chamelion
post Aug 13 2020, 04:29 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Aug 13 2020, 10:02 AM)
Basic impact drill w hammer (using round drill bit) will work fine for sand/clay bricks only.
2-24 corded or GBH 180-LI Cordless Rotary Hammer else with non-rotary impact drill you will spend 5-10 min per wall plug hole
Concrete bro  whistling.gif SDS rotary hammer =/= hammer drill
Of course is different but for diy drilling hole, hammer drill will will works, only slower.

adamgombak
post Aug 13 2020, 05:18 PM

Thinking of buying a rotary hammer with 3 modes.
Can use the drill mode to cut hole in porcelain tile with diamond hole saw?
Have to use a 3 jaw chuck adaptor for cutting?
SUSceo684
post Aug 13 2020, 05:40 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(adamgombak @ Aug 13 2020, 05:18 PM)
Thinking of buying a rotary hammer with 3 modes.
Can use the drill mode to cut hole in porcelain tile with diamond hole saw?
Have to use a 3 jaw chuck adaptor for cutting?
U will need sth like this (https://www.lazada.com.my/products/hitachi-chuck-adaptor-13mm-12inch-401506-chuck-adaptor-sds-plus-402561-i437422873-s642724368.html?spm=a2o4k.seller.list.1.46371000VXcz0V&mp=1) to mount the core bit if its round shank.

If core bit shank is using SDS+ no need adaptor
adamgombak
post Aug 13 2020, 11:16 PM

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Aug 13 2020, 05:40 PM)
U will need sth like this (https://www.lazada.com.my/products/hitachi-chuck-adaptor-13mm-12inch-401506-chuck-adaptor-sds-plus-402561-i437422873-s642724368.html?spm=a2o4k.seller.list.1.46371000VXcz0V&mp=1) to mount the core bit if its round shank.

If core bit shank is using SDS+ no need adaptor

Thanks bro
Zot
post Aug 14 2020, 08:04 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(adamgombak @ Aug 13 2020, 11:16 PM)
Thanks bro
As you know the SDS is something that have some play when you fit into the the drill. So, using the chuck adapter you can expect a bit of wobbling in your drill bit. It is not as precise as having drill with normal chuck biggrin.gif
jimbet1337
post Aug 14 2020, 08:13 AM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 13 2020, 10:52 AM)

Get this

I did not own one but I tried. Drop from 2m also will not break as demonstrated by the distributor where I repair my pressure pump  laugh.gif

Just to to shop selling this and try. Price about the same as the Bosch model you interested in.  smile.gif
Thanks for the suggestion guys. Already went with GBH18V-26, because I already have 18v batteries for my GSB18 V-EC

This post has been edited by jimbet1337: Aug 14 2020, 08:14 AM
lyt25_1234
post Aug 14 2020, 08:22 AM

1,152 posts

Anyone here can record a video and show how to remove the Bosch GSB 10 RE drill chuck?

I have seen on YouTube, they use an allen key to insert into the chuck and then lock it tight and use a spanar to hammer it.

Not sure this application works for our model or not.
adamgombak
post Aug 14 2020, 04:38 PM

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 14 2020, 08:04 AM)
As you know the SDS is something that have some play when you fit into the the drill. So, using the chuck adapter you can expect a bit of wobbling in your drill bit. It is not as precise as having drill with normal chuck  biggrin.gif
That's an interesting observation Zot. thanks for the advice.

lyt25_1234
post Aug 15 2020, 09:59 AM

1,152 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Aug 14 2020, 08:22 AM)
Anyone here can record a video and show how to remove the Bosch GSB 10 RE drill chuck?

I have seen on YouTube, they use an allen key to insert into the chuck and then lock it tight and use a spanar to hammer it.

Not sure this application works for our model or not.
I didn't know it was so easy to remove the chuck!
Now I have a brand new installed.

tvcat
post Aug 15 2020, 01:39 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,884 posts

Hey, where do you guys source the varies size and type of screw, bolt, and nut?
Zot
post Aug 15 2020, 09:02 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(adamgombak @ Aug 14 2020, 04:38 PM)
That's an interesting observation Zot. thanks for the advice.
My rotary hammer comes with an SDS fit normal chuck adapter. Luckily I also have happer drill with normal chuck also if need to use small drill bit. laugh.gif
playerzaki2000
post Aug 16 2020, 10:04 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 12 2020, 01:04 PM)
GDX 180-LI?
Thank you Zot and ceo684

Was thinking of either GSR 180-LI or GSR 18V-50 for general screwdriving work and minor drilling.

For concrete drilling, was thinking of GBH 2-26 DRE or GBH 2-26 DFR.

The metal frame will be mounted to concrete walls and some other drilling stuff to concrete... would need around 38 holes for concrete. so, was planning to get the GSR 180-LI or GSR 18V-50 for minor drilling and screwdriving and either the GBH 2-26 DRE or GBH 2-26 DFR for concrete drilling. Will generally be drilling to a max of 12mm holes in the concrete for the anchor bolts.

These models would be sufficient right? or would there be another better brand out there? basically i choose bosch coz there are the most sold and my current tools are bosch. they did last more than 5 years. or more than 10. was also looking at quaza (or quasa or qaza) for the cheaper price. not sure if its okay though.

234 Pages « < 185 186 187 188 189 > » Top

0.0309sec    1.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:00 AM