LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

Confused Ant
post May 31 2020, 04:22 AM

14 posts

Hi Guys, sorry for asking here (as I see no recent carpentry thread active). Any recommended lumber yard/mill near Shah Alam? The one that can cater for small purchases (< 10 or 15 pieces).
stormer.lyn
post May 31 2020, 10:17 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Confused Ant @ May 31 2020, 04:22 AM)
Hi Guys, sorry for asking here (as I see no recent carpentry thread active). Any recommended lumber yard/mill near Shah Alam? The one that can cater for small purchases (< 10 or 15 pieces).
Have you tried https://www.facebook.com/ChinChunHardware/ ?
Confused Ant
post May 31 2020, 08:15 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ May 31 2020, 10:17 AM)
Thank you kind sir.
ben3003
post Jun 14 2020, 03:40 AM

10,859 posts

Hi guys, i am looking for a compact impact drill to drill small thing like speaker hanger etc for my home. I have a big old school corded for heavy drilling but just need 1 for hassle free small hole drilling for brick/concrete wall. I saw there are brush va brushless motor. Brushless motor kinda much more exp than brush, but i not sure if occasional use only do i need brushless motor?

And i wanna ask a noob question, if i wan to fix a plate with 8mm hole to the wall, what drill hole size should i be looking for?

This post has been edited by ben3003: Jun 14 2020, 05:55 AM
chamelion
post Jun 14 2020, 10:46 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

What size of screw you want to use? 8mm or 6mm or less? That will decide the drill hole size.
cyclone9
post Jun 17 2020, 06:49 AM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

Any shop provide cutting wood in these sizes? Plywood
Zot
post Jun 17 2020, 07:53 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jun 17 2020, 06:49 AM)
Maybe /k wood expert near you can provide the service if you provide location. wink.gif
ozak
post Jun 17 2020, 08:19 AM

17,013 posts

Look like an arcade?

You can try take the plan to any kitchen cabinet shop to help.
cyclone9
post Jun 17 2020, 10:10 AM

2,949 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 17 2020, 07:53 AM)
Maybe /k wood expert near you can provide the service if you provide location.  wink.gif
Sorry, Location Seri Kembangan

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 17 2020, 08:19 AM)
Look like an arcade?

You can try take the plan to any kitchen cabinet shop to help.
Yes sir. I will try and ask them.
Zot
post Jun 17 2020, 10:24 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jun 17 2020, 10:10 AM)
Most kitchen cabinet shop are just installer and woodwork done by 3rd party factory. This one do their own

https://www.cabinex.my/index.php
https://www.facebook.com/cabinex.my/
ozak
post Jun 17 2020, 10:49 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jun 17 2020, 10:10 AM)
No need make lar. Go to Puchong police station jln BP7.

Ask the police can sell 1 to you or not. Beside the station, they confiscate alot and dump at there. (Not sure still have or not la)
Zot
post Jun 17 2020, 10:52 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 17 2020, 10:49 AM)

Ask the police can sell 1 to you or not. Beside the station, they confiscate alot and dump at there. (Not sure still have or not la)
Looks like mini pinball machine. biggrin.gif
cyclone9
post Jun 17 2020, 10:55 AM

2,949 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 17 2020, 10:49 AM)

I scare later I buy then come to my house tangkap
cyclone9
post Jun 17 2020, 01:31 PM

2,949 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 17 2020, 10:52 AM)
Looks like mini pinball machine.  biggrin.gif
yes correct

Need sifu here how to support hedge for my monitor to lay on this space below. My cabinet will be 50cm width and my monitor will be 36~38cm.

Red - wood with 10cm
Green- Support L bracket for the wood above.

cyclone9
post Jun 17 2020, 01:55 PM

2,949 posts

between these 3 power tool, which is best?
Budget: RM300 and below
Drill & screw woods, basic DIY stuff

1) Black & Decker
https://shopee.com.my/Black-Decker-HD650BXH...71149.973281368

2) Bosch GSR 120-LI Cordless
https://www.bosch-pt.com.my/my/en/products/...0-li-06019G80L0

3) Bosch GSB 500 RE
https://www.bosch-pt.com.my/my/en/products/...0-re-06011A01L0
thermox686
post Jun 17 2020, 02:04 PM

58 posts

Hi all,
If precast slab wall, is it require rotary drill to drill the wall? Or impact, hammer drill is enough?
Can recommend suitable drill for personal use?
ianlti
post Jun 17 2020, 02:17 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jun 17 2020, 01:55 PM)

1) Black & Decker

3) Bosch GSB 500 RE
I am bias to cordless so I will choose this, but i don't like bosch 12v after I use 18v brows.gif it feels so meh.. but I will still get this for my 1st drill.
Zot
post Jun 17 2020, 03:29 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(ianlti @ Jun 17 2020, 02:17 PM)
I am bias to cordless so I will choose this, but i don't like bosch 12v after I use 18v brows.gif  it feels so meh.. but I will still get this for my 1st drill.
cyclone9

For light DIY duty and portability, cordless is nice. Furthermore, this one is keyless chuck. Much easier to change bit.

Need to take care of battery though. The best if it is not use for long time, keep battery half charged to prolonged its life.
SUSceo684
post Jun 17 2020, 08:26 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

The straight cuts and 32/35 mm is like kitchen tap/door knob size +/-
The 120mm hole is gonna be a challenge to cut laugh.gif

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jun 17 2020, 01:55 PM)

1) Black & Decker

3) Bosch GSB 500 RE
#2 Cordless drill driver (GSR120LI) can be useful for screwing and unscrewing whereas normal high speed drill don't have torque control (it will still work, but abit harder to control and you risk stripping screw head if its a long and tight fitting screw). Do note this tool is not extremely powerful for drilling (max about 8mm or so wood plug in brick work).

#1 and #3 here are basic power drills first and foremost, not really suited for screwdriving.

All these (#1-3) will NOT be useful for concrete drilling for more than 1-2 holes of wood plug size - you will spend ten minutes per hole.

QUOTE(thermox686 @ Jun 17 2020, 02:04 PM)
Hi all,
If precast slab wall, is it require rotary drill to drill the wall? Or impact, hammer drill is enough?
Can recommend suitable drill for personal use?
Concrete slab aka RC wall aka reinforced concrete, you will be best suited with a SDS+ rotary hammer. Drills in seconds.
You can still survive with a normal "impact drill" for 1-2 holes max (wood plug size) and luck on your side (don't hit a stone or hard patch). This normal "impact drill" will take minutes to drill one hole in RC wall.

Corded one.. can get either makita HR2470 (around 4xx) / bosch 2-24 (around 4xx) / stanley rotary hammer (around 260). Want cheaper can consider DCA/bossman tools, it should work for home use lah laugh.gif

Cordless one.. you will need to invest in big battery (~260 for 4AH) and fast charger (~105), but the tool itself is not expensive (around 350-ish) based on my purchase of GBH180Li solo unit.

The price premium of cordless one is the convenience = no need to worry about finding power socket/extension; corded ones listed above are usually more powerful than cordless equivalent of the same price range.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 17 2020, 08:31 PM
SUSceo684
post Jun 17 2020, 08:41 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 14 2020, 03:40 AM)
Hi guys, i am looking for a compact impact drill to drill small thing like speaker hanger etc for my home. I have a big old school corded for heavy drilling but just need 1 for hassle free small hole drilling for brick/concrete wall. I saw there are brush va brushless motor. Brushless motor kinda much more exp than brush, but i not sure if occasional use only do i need brushless motor?

And i wanna ask a noob question, if i wan to fix a plate with 8mm hole to the wall, what drill hole size should i be looking for?
If the plate is 8mm hole, I assume you will be using some sort of sleeve anchor, max u can go will be 5/16″ bolt, used in combination with a 5/16″ thread sleeve anchor.
Bring the plate to the hardware shop to confirm the bolt thread fits the plate you are mounting.

Hole in wall is based on the external size of the sleeve anchor so you will probably end up with a M10/10mm hole IIRC.

Brick wall can use normal impact drill. Concrete wall is >9000 times harder than bricks so a rotary hammer is recommended - especially if you're talking about using a M10/10mm sized sleeve anchor

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 17 2020, 08:43 PM

0.0407sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:24 PM