LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

idoblu
post Jan 20 2020, 10:47 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 20 2020, 10:17 AM)
You use hammer or rotary hammer drill? You are drilling on ceramic tile is it?  biggrin.gif
rotary hammer set to drill. hardly made a hole

Zot
post Jan 20 2020, 10:48 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 20 2020, 10:41 AM)
No idea this is ceramic ka porcelain ka
Ok I go buy one tile bit
The one in the bathroom is soft (ceramic). The harder one is usually used on car porch floor. Inside house floor is white ceramic also. Easy to drill with tile drill bit like the spade shape. For porcelain, it is still hard.
Zot
post Jan 20 2020, 10:49 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 20 2020, 10:47 AM)
rotary hammer set to drill. hardly made a hole
Looks like porcelain . hmm.gif
idoblu
post Jan 20 2020, 10:57 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 20 2020, 10:49 AM)
Looks like porcelain . hmm.gif
i just checked the website, macam yes
walau 9.3mm thick....now i reach 1mm only shocking.gif
Max
post Jan 20 2020, 11:11 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 20 2020, 10:40 AM)
laugh.gif  I have always switched between ceramic and porcelain  blush.gif
blink.gif
have u ever use those diamond core drill bits? hmm.gif
i wonder if its better in drilling porcelain .

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 20 2020, 10:48 AM)
The one in the bathroom is soft (ceramic). The harder one is usually used on car porch floor. Inside house floor is white ceramic also. Easy to drill with tile drill bit like the spade shape. For porcelain, it is still hard.
mine the porcelain is kitchen table top. them those porcelain.. so hard to drill.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 20 2020, 10:57 AM)
i just checked the website, macam yes
walau 9.3mm thick....now i reach 1mm only  shocking.gif
haha.. good luck.. get better branded quality drill bits. its better and last longer.
idoblu
post Jan 20 2020, 11:14 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Jan 20 2020, 11:11 AM)
blink.gif
haha.. good luck.. get better branded quality drill bits. its better and last longer.
ok thanks, i just checked they have Makita ones at CT Hardware
think i will buy 6, one for each hole.... laugh.gif
Zot
post Jan 20 2020, 11:40 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Jan 20 2020, 11:11 AM)
blink.gif
have u ever use those diamond core drill bits?  hmm.gif
i wonder if its better in drilling porcelain .
mine the porcelain is kitchen table top. them those porcelain.. so hard to drill..  sweat.gif
I have never use any diamond core drill bit because never drill on porcelain before. The guy who install my front door use a drill bit said to be fabricated by himself. Look like diamond core bit but with no diamond. Very old guy but very strong that he would not allow me even to help him hold my solid wood door shocking.gif

Yes he drill it slowly. Put water from time to time. Probably 5 minutes. Can't remember... long time ago wink.gif . Anyway, since this hole is exposed, he do not want to have any rugged edge on the hole.
chamelion
post Jan 20 2020, 12:57 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Just use tile bit and water with no hammer. The work to fix crack tile is not worth the risk.
lucifah
post Jan 20 2020, 01:01 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

to drill a tile without damaging it, easiest way is just to use an impact drill

start with a 2 or 3mm drill bit. whatever u want to choose. what u want is to create a very small pit

its the top part of the tile that is the hardest. once u get past that, u can do wahtever u want

i use an impact drill as i can have more control and the impact energy isnt as devastative as a hammer drill

u can also use liquid paper to mark the point. it helps to create some friction so the drill bit wont slip
Zot
post Jan 20 2020, 01:03 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Jan 20 2020, 12:57 PM)
Just use tile bit and water with no hammer. The work to fix crack tile is not worth the risk.
Replacing tile is not a problem other than waste of time and additional non-value added work. Finding the same tile is big problem especially if the tile is several years production laugh.gif
Zot
post Jan 20 2020, 01:07 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 20 2020, 01:01 PM)
to drill a tile without damaging it, easiest way is just to use an impact drill

start with a 2 or 3mm drill bit. whatever u want to choose. what u want is to create a very small pit

its the top part of the tile that is the hardest. once u get past that, u can do wahtever u want

i use an impact drill as i can have more control and the impact energy isnt as devastative as a hammer drill

u can also use liquid paper to mark the point. it helps to create some friction so the drill bit wont slip
Just use a nail (concrete nail is the best) and manually hammer it on tile to chip the surface a bit. This way the drill bit will stay on the spot. You can also put an electrical tape and mark the spot. This way also will make the drill bit tip stay at drilling point.

If use diamond core bit, drill at an angle so that the drill bit scratched the surface. Once the drilling point get deeper and deeper, just straightened up your drill and continue to drill the hole.

This post has been edited by Zot: Jan 20 2020, 01:09 PM
ozak
post Jan 20 2020, 01:11 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 20 2020, 10:41 AM)
No idea this is ceramic ka porcelain ka
Ok I go buy one tile bit
Wall tile where got so hard wor?

idoblu
post Jan 20 2020, 01:22 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 20 2020, 01:11 PM)
Maybe they used floor for walls? Mana tau?
tsg_7
post Jan 20 2020, 02:47 PM

2,223 posts

Guys, wanna ask. How to identify genuine Stanley hand tools? Too many retail selling fake one. Sked sked pay same money but get fake item.
Zot
post Jan 20 2020, 03:42 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Jan 20 2020, 02:47 PM)
Guys, wanna ask. How to identify genuine Stanley hand tools? Too many retail selling fake one. Sked sked pay same money but get fake item.
Just buy from authorized store then
Zot
post Jan 20 2020, 03:44 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 20 2020, 01:11 PM)
I think nowadays quite common. If you go to showroom you can see the bath room is the safest place when lorry hit the house laugh.gif
idoblu
post Jan 20 2020, 08:37 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 20 2020, 01:07 PM)
Just use a nail (concrete nail is the best) and manually hammer it on tile to chip the surface a bit. This way the drill bit will stay on the spot. You can also put an electrical tape and mark the spot. This way also will make the drill bit tip stay at drilling point.

If use diamond core bit, drill at an angle so that the drill bit scratched the surface. Once the drilling point get deeper and deeper, just straightened up your drill and continue to drill the hole.
i tried hammer a nail to just chip a starter hole - the thing just bounce off. Cannot nail....i think mine is supertile or something....
tomorrow try again with my tile bit just bought.

ozak
post Jan 20 2020, 09:30 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 20 2020, 03:44 PM)
I think nowadays quite common. If you go to showroom you can see the bath room is the safest place when lorry hit the house  laugh.gif
QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 20 2020, 08:37 PM)
i tried hammer a nail to just chip a starter hole - the thing just bounce off. Cannot nail....i think mine is supertile or something....
tomorrow try again with my tile bit just bought.
I go back and will try on floor tile to show you. Floor tile is the most harden tile.

My wall tile really not that hard.
Zot
post Jan 21 2020, 08:09 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 20 2020, 09:30 PM)
I go back and will try on floor tile to show you. Floor tile is the most harden tile.

My wall tile really not that hard.
Good. Can share the result.

Maybe I should try also since I have plenty of ceramic tiles around. Just replace porch and pavement around the house. Just that right now quite busy with other things that need fixing. smile.gif
idoblu
post Jan 21 2020, 03:03 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

OMG! finally can sau kung kor leen user posted image
this is what i did with the suggestions and help from you guys - thank you to all!

1. use a tile bit (see attached photo)
2. use my cordless drill with the tile bit
3. no need to use a nail to start a hole. just use the tile bit and drill slow onto the spot. the bit wont skid, infact it was very steady and accurate, and takes very little time to start a hole.
4. dip the tip in water every 5-10 seconds, you can hear it sizzle....
5. each blardy hole took me like more than 10mins, like never ending. user posted image
6. drill with the tile bit until at least 1cm which is the thickness of my tile. Many times I wanted to rotary hammer it halfway. I did with one hole and the sides chipped a little so dont take shortcuts. Make sure its passed the tile only use the big gun.
7. last but not least, dont drill tiles ever again.... icon_question.gif

see the tile bit compared with a new one after only 6 holes.
my body aches all over now.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jan 21 2020, 03:03 PM

234 Pages « < 171 172 173 174 175 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:42 PM