LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

ozak
post Aug 7 2017, 02:53 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Aug 7 2017, 02:16 PM)
I see most battery got balancing circuit wired in, Bosch its too well covered in wrapping can't see it to confirm.

China made Makita clone battery with less complicated control circuit costs 1/3 of original makita battery.
According to the guy, the bosch circuit board is not on the battery. But at the charger side.

So if the battery pack failed, it mean the battery failed.

But others battery with a circuit board in it, if some component spoil, (IC, resistor etc) the whole battery pack failed. Even the battery cell is still good.

The chance of the battery cell spoil is very less than the circuit board. And with the circuit board built into the battery pack, it more expensive.

TSyushin
post Aug 7 2017, 04:14 PM

3,327 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 7 2017, 02:53 PM)
According to the guy, the bosch circuit board is not on the battery. But at the charger side.

So if the battery pack failed, it mean the battery failed.

But others battery with a circuit board in it, if some component spoil, (IC, resistor etc) the whole battery pack failed. Even the battery cell is still good.

The chance of the battery cell spoil is very less than the circuit board. And with the circuit board built into the battery pack, it more expensive.
I open my AL1860CV to take a look at inside circuit, not so complicated actually.
Don't understand what those chips in the does tho. haha. tongue.gif

In this case, clone Bosch battery should be relative safe coz Bosch;s battery does not require complicated control circuits like other brands. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by yushin: Aug 7 2017, 04:15 PM
ozak
post Aug 7 2017, 04:32 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Aug 7 2017, 04:14 PM)
I open my AL1860CV to take a look at inside circuit, not so complicated actually.
Don't understand what those chips in the does tho. haha.  tongue.gif

In this case, clone Bosch battery should be relative safe coz Bosch;s battery does not require complicated control circuits like other brands.  hmm.gif
The important is the balance charge and overload.

But what extra function of such circuit do, we don't no. Will it effect the drill?

lucifah
post Aug 7 2017, 04:35 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Aug 7 2017, 04:14 PM)
Don't understand what those chips in the does tho. haha.  tongue.gif

In this case, clone Bosch battery should be relative safe coz Bosch;s battery does not require complicated control circuits like other brands.  hmm.gif
actually, it's more to the batt cells itself. they are expensive i read somewhere, and cloned batteries doesn;t produce constant high power output

the electronics are mostly for safety. to cut off power when it overheats. i do notice the batt packs get hot easily when i use it with angle grinder

ozak
post Aug 7 2017, 04:56 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 7 2017, 04:35 PM)
actually, it's more to the batt cells itself. they are expensive i read somewhere, and cloned batteries doesn;t produce constant high power output

the electronics are mostly for safety. to cut off power when it overheats. i do notice the batt packs get hot easily when i use it with angle grinder
The original cell must able to draw high amp. Which is more expensive.

Cloned wan normally lower amp and use normal cell. Sure cheaper.

I have such an experience with power bank and laptop battery. Where the board spoil. But the battery cell is fine.

And all the clone battery are not up to the capacity spec on the label. I rip off such battery and test their capacity.

So the cheap clone battery don't expecting same Ah.

paskal
post Aug 7 2017, 05:41 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 7 2017, 02:44 PM)
how much is this? 18" kinda nais, not too heavy not too short

i agree, stihl and husqvarna are kinda pricey
rm500+
i think rm580-something.

ogawa pro also quite nice. i think better power and built quality.
amco
post Aug 7 2017, 05:43 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 7 2017, 04:56 PM)

I have such an experience with power bank and laptop battery. Where the board spoil. But the battery cell is fine.

And all the clone battery are not up to the capacity spec on the label. I rip off such battery and test their capacity.

This battery, many vapers have good knowledge about battery.

Recommend 18650 battery :
Sony VTC 4/5/6
Samsung 25R/30Q
LG HG2

lucifah
post Aug 7 2017, 05:46 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Aug 7 2017, 05:41 PM)
rm500+
i think rm580-something.

ogawa pro also quite nice. i think better power and built quality.
not bad. stihl rm599 u get the 14" version got offer now
weikee
post Aug 7 2017, 05:59 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 7 2017, 04:56 PM)

i been playing with 18650 batteries, these battery are common. On 18650 also have two type, one with inbuild circuit one without, and both are use for different purpose. The cheap ones that come with circuit protection are as good as useless, it can try your sensitive device.

The cheap ones cannot product sustained high current drawn. Sometime you risk burning the battery if drain are too high to be handle.
ozak
post Aug 7 2017, 06:09 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(amco @ Aug 7 2017, 05:43 PM)
This battery, many vapers have good knowledge about battery.

Recommend 18650 battery :
Sony VTC 4/5/6
Samsung 25R/30Q
LG HG2
ya, they use the high drain type of cell.

Cause the vapers only able to use 1 cell.
ozak
post Aug 7 2017, 06:14 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 7 2017, 05:59 PM)
i been playing with 18650 batteries, these battery are common. On 18650 also have two type, one with inbuild circuit one without, and both are use for different purpose. The cheap ones that come with circuit protection are as good as useless, it can try your sensitive device.

The cheap ones cannot product sustained high current drawn. Sometime you risk burning the battery if drain are too high to be handle.
Beside the protected, it also branch to another 2 type. The normal and high drain Ah.

Either you parallel the battery to share the Ah or use the high drain.

That's why the clone wan have to be carefull. Powertools start up require high Ah.
amco
post Aug 7 2017, 06:21 PM

785 posts

DIYers must check continuous AMP draw for 18650 battery.
TSyushin
post Aug 7 2017, 06:29 PM

3,327 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 7 2017, 05:59 PM)

Sometime I'm thinking, is the clone battery actually 2nd grade battery or just the big brands has damn high markup? (to cover for insurance and their team of lawyers in case the battery blow up).

Coz some of the OEM battery seller claims their 18650 are actually from samsung/sony too. 6 years shop in taobao, with some feedback of battery DOA but non complain the battery is under capacity/under power.

Plus some youtube channel that open up OEM batteries to show the cells are actually the same as original.
Thats the thing that got me thinking... hmm.gif
weikee
post Aug 7 2017, 06:38 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Aug 7 2017, 06:29 PM)
Sometime I'm thinking, is the clone battery actually 2nd grade battery or just the big brands has damn high markup? (to cover for insurance and their team of lawyers in case the battery blow up).

Coz some of the OEM battery seller claims their 18650 are actually from samsung/sony too. 6 years shop in taobao, with some feedback of battery DOA but non complain the battery is under capacity/under power.

Plus some youtube channel that open up OEM batteries to show the cells are actually the same as original.
Thats the thing that got me thinking...  hmm.gif
Hard to tell, is like car battery they have grade. Quality product always have longer lifespan. Only time will tell.
ozak
post Aug 7 2017, 07:06 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Aug 7 2017, 06:29 PM)

Thats the thing that got me thinking...  hmm.gif
There is no grade actually.

They only choose which capacity mAh to use. Of course higher more expensive.

So far I rip out the 18650 from many battery, there are usually 2 type to scam.

1) Those max scam you will use no brand cell and low capacity mAH. This cell won't have many cycle life charge and drain out fast. Usually dirt cheap price.

2) Those close to original price is using brand cell. But to lower down the cost, they use the lower capacity mAH. Charge cycle is same as original long. But won't give you long working hr.

OEM sure is original cause it make for the brand.

But claim to be OEM is another story.

lucifah
post Aug 7 2017, 07:24 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

there was an intense debate in another power tools forum on original & 3rd party batteries

the bottom line they give - you wouldn't want to damage your expensive 18v tools, or you dont want to risk fire or explosion, so go get the original ones

in the US, 3rd party bosch batteries cost 1/3 of bosch's original ones.
paskal
post Aug 7 2017, 07:26 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 7 2017, 05:46 PM)
not bad. stihl rm599 u get the 14" version got offer now
OMG that's cheap!
where to get this offer? always wanted a stihl
lucifah
post Aug 7 2017, 07:29 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Aug 7 2017, 07:26 PM)
OMG that's cheap!
where to get this offer? always wanted a stihl
a few weeks back during some expo, was tempted to buy, but i can't find any reason to buy one except to look macho. LoL

paskal
post Aug 7 2017, 07:50 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 7 2017, 07:29 PM)
a few weeks back during some expo, was tempted to buy, but i can't find any reason to buy one except to look macho. LoL
oi syok sendiri haha

you should've bought one. i never take out the axe after i got the chainsaw.
lucifah
post Aug 7 2017, 07:55 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Aug 7 2017, 07:50 PM)
oi syok sendiri haha

you should've bought one. i never take out the axe after i got the chainsaw.
i would really like to buy one if i really use it, even if once a year. LoL

but the fact is, i still dunno what to use it for tongue.gif

i try to find some sort of reason to justify my power tools purchase. some good, some are just borderline (the 18v vacuum for example)

hahaha laugh.gif laugh.gif

234 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0166sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:35 PM