anyway, my-mac organized planted-tank deco competition in the Pet World thing. you were there, weren't you?
here's what I caught in action at their tank display area.....

Planted Aquarium, Back to the Natural
Jun 20 2008, 06:07 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hehe. i use my existing tanks.
anyway, my-mac organized planted-tank deco competition in the Pet World thing. you were there, weren't you? here's what I caught in action at their tank display area..... ![]() |
Jun 20 2008, 07:46 PM
605 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Shah Alam |
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jun 20 2008, 05:44 PM) WC = Water change My lighting is 2 X 8W 6500K Daylight 7" flourescent lamp.its hair algea, just manualy remove them. do more often Water change to get away extra No2, 3. what is the spec of ur co2 and light? C02 I am using tablet - one each day. Once a week I put in 3ml Stress Zyme (for bacteria growth). |
Jun 20 2008, 08:25 PM
2,647 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jun 20 2008, 05:44 PM) WC = Water change its hair algea, just manualy remove them. do more often Water change to get away extra No2, 3. what is the spec of ur co2 and light? ADA soil will never run away from algea they wouldn't bully ur shrimp for sure.. they will just KOOMM eaten hahhaa |
Jun 20 2008, 09:04 PM
649 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Friends of the Earth |
Wah lao Goldfries promoting other forums when you STAFF here lolx.... CBT!!! CBT!!! eheheh just joking
The Genoah tank, IMHO wouldn't have enough space for 2 substrates, big enough for 2 cups of ADA and you are looking at maybe 1.5 litres of water. In this sized tank, better stick to 1 fauna species no headache. Shrimps would be the way to go, since you won't really have to buy additional food for them unless you really wanna spend RM50 on a Crystal Red shrimp (CRS) then go with Algae flakes, otherwise stick with Red Cherry Shrimps (RCS) - only RM1.20 each (on average). Plant-wise for this tank, is any plant that has petit or dwarf in parts of its name. |
Jun 20 2008, 10:29 PM
4,711 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(zio @ Jun 20 2008, 05:47 PM) Yikes! How come everything I am interested in ends up being expensive when u start ur tank, which is empty. u can even do a 100% WC, if u r using amazon I, then u will need to do alot WC to clear the water. water u hv plants, do a 30% WC, 2 times a week. this is what i do Ahh thanks.. water change.. 10-20% everyday? or few times a week? QUOTE(xyber9 @ Jun 20 2008, 07:46 PM) My lighting is 2 X 8W 6500K Daylight 7" flourescent lamp. what is the size of ur tank? try get hold on 2X 9WPLL if u r a 1ft cude. if bigger than 1 X 1 x 1, the light is not enough. hmm table co2 ah..C02 I am using tablet - one each day. Once a week I put in 3ml Stress Zyme (for bacteria growth). QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 20 2008, 08:25 PM) surface skimmer, use moli is the best This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Jun 20 2008, 10:31 PM |
Jun 20 2008, 11:29 PM
4,889 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kelana Jaya |
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 20 2008, 06:07 PM) hehe. i use my existing tanks. lol i was there but that time, wasnt interested in planted tanks anyway, my-mac organized planted-tank deco competition in the Pet World thing. you were there, weren't you? here's what I caught in action at their tank display area..... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(geediver @ Jun 20 2008, 09:04 PM) Wah lao Goldfries promoting other forums when you STAFF here lolx.... CBT!!! CBT!!! eheheh just joking Ahh ok. So ADA amazonian or malaya, let me see colour The Genoah tank, IMHO wouldn't have enough space for 2 substrates, big enough for 2 cups of ADA and you are looking at maybe 1.5 litres of water. In this sized tank, better stick to 1 fauna species no headache. Shrimps would be the way to go, since you won't really have to buy additional food for them unless you really wanna spend RM50 on a Crystal Red shrimp (CRS) then go with Algae flakes, otherwise stick with Red Cherry Shrimps (RCS) - only RM1.20 each (on average). Plant-wise for this tank, is any plant that has petit or dwarf in parts of its name. QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jun 20 2008, 10:29 PM) when u start ur tank, which is empty. u can even do a 100% WC, if u r using amazon I, then u will need to do alot WC to clear the water. water u hv plants, do a 30% WC, 2 times a week. this is what i do Ahh ok. Thanks |
Jun 21 2008, 09:05 AM
663 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(zio @ Jun 20 2008, 05:05 PM) ahh ok.. thanks.. well i shall venture into bigger stuff if i can keep a small one alive Bigger tank= more water= Fluctuation lesser=less danger for fishes. WC is washing cycle? Ahh i memang dont plan to have coral. Just soil, rock, wood, plants, a couple of fishes and shrimps smaller tank=less water= fluctuation higher=more danger for fishes WC=Water Change Added on June 21, 2008, 9:12 am QUOTE(zio @ Jun 20 2008, 05:33 PM) Ahh but its the size that fits my room best Why not get a glass tank? very much nicer. Maybe I'll get the bigger size wan but the promotion is RM138 for the smaller series. Tempting Added on June 21, 2008, 9:29 am QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 20 2008, 06:07 PM) hehe. i use my existing tanks. goldfries,Long time no see This post has been edited by presario316: Jun 21 2008, 09:29 AM |
Jun 21 2008, 04:39 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i already have a 3ft tank and 4ft tank that's badly taken care off! and i'm fixing it!
Jun 21 2008, 09:42 PM
GF: what do you have in those 2 tanks? gold fishes??
Jun 22 2008, 12:40 AM
4,889 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kelana Jaya |
@presario ermm dont know why dint go with glass tanks.. just like the look of the GENOAH tanks
And I just realised I posted the wrong pic of the tank.. its even smaller! haha but I have another tank at home which will be cleaned for a spider crab tank.. and then the GENOAH tank will be used for planted tank experiment This post has been edited by zio: Jun 22 2008, 01:30 AM |
Jun 24 2008, 01:21 PM
77 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(Amedion @ Jun 3 2008, 07:34 PM) Actually I also not very good at plant's name .. Yes, it is Java Fern.IS this java fern ? [attachmentid=488337] What is that thing on the leave that looks like caterpillar? [attachmentid=488336] The thing that looks like caterpillar is actually the root or called rhizome. |
Jun 26 2008, 09:51 PM
How to reduce temperature of water in tank?
Mine is 32 Centigrade. What type fish can survive in this kind of temperature? |
Jun 26 2008, 10:25 PM
32 most plants will melt. n fish can tahan abit but they wouldn't be happy. get a fan lah
Jun 27 2008, 12:16 PM
"Get a fan" here meaning install a "PC FAN" on top of your tank, to blow on to the water surface. Water evaporation takes off heat from the water. Check out Aqua hobbist website, most likely under the DIY section for such a setup.
32celsius...pretty high. Is it outdoor? Fishes you can keep in such temperature, maybe some koi, goldfish and cichlids. Or other local fishes like pacu etc... with such high temperature( if it's constant)....sure wont get hit by Ick/whitespot. |
Jun 27 2008, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(presario316 @ Jun 27 2008, 12:16 PM) "Get a fan" here meaning install a "PC FAN" on top of your tank, to blow on to the water surface. Water evaporation takes off heat from the water. Check out Aqua hobbist website, most likely under the DIY section for such a setup. The tank is in my living room. My room temperature is 28C to 30C.32celsius...pretty high. Is it outdoor? Fishes you can keep in such temperature, maybe some koi, goldfish and cichlids. Or other local fishes like pacu etc... with such high temperature( if it's constant)....sure wont get hit by Ick/whitespot. |
Jun 28 2008, 12:27 AM
649 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Friends of the Earth |
Xyber: where you live? No trees outside your house? My room gets that high temperature, but my living room is constant 28C, get some house plants la put on balcony/patio/garden! Think GREEN it'll help you cool down
Jun 30 2008, 03:58 PM
109 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang Island |
hi guys, i'm planning on starting a small tank soon prolly 1 - 1.5 feet. those DIY co2 online are using 2litre bottles and i dont think i need it that big since my tank is small. i'm thinking of using a 500ml water bottle. will it be sufficient?
Jun 30 2008, 04:03 PM
77 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(Sanzo @ Jun 30 2008, 03:58 PM) hi guys, i'm planning on starting a small tank soon prolly 1 - 1.5 feet. those DIY co2 online are using 2litre bottles and i dont think i need it that big since my tank is small. i'm thinking of using a 500ml water bottle. will it be sufficient? Sanzo, it's better to get the biggest bottle you can (if space is not your concern) because you wouldn't want to make CO2 so often. Big bottle of CO2 can last from 1-3 weeks depending on your ingredients, save your time and worries having to check if CO2 still available for your tank.Happy DIY-ing Added on June 30, 2008, 4:06 pmSanzo, Another thing to add... if possible get at least 2ft tank to start with. Bigger tank is easier to maintain than smaller tank in the long run and less casualties for your fish in case drastic changes of water parameter in your tank. This post has been edited by setheo: Jun 30 2008, 04:06 PM |
Jun 30 2008, 04:11 PM
500ml.. u wouldn't be happy with it.. get at least the big coke bottle
Jun 30 2008, 04:56 PM
109 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang Island |
thanks guys..i will try it out when i get my tank. i got the ingredients here already..can't wait to try it out.
| Change to: | 0.0302sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:38 AM |