Sony-Ericsson Sony Ericsson P1i
sunauto
May 11 2007, 10:52 AM
If the price is cheap, then it's okay lah, but if the price is as expensive as those high end Dopod models, we have to think twice. Frankly, all smartphones and phones with the latest Symbian OS is sluggish, whether it is P990i, N80 IE, N73, etc ..... it has a very laggy feel but with more ram, it should ease a little. It's still too early to judge the performance of P1i yet but with more ram, it should perform better than P990i since P990i is quite an obsolete smartphone by today's standard. Even the QVGA screen isn't as good as W950i or the smaller K800i. It's about time SE make a serious overhaul for their Symbian models.
hypermax
May 11 2007, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ May 11 2007, 10:52 AM) If the price is cheap, then it's okay lah, but if the price is as expensive as those high end Dopod models, we have to think twice. Frankly, all smartphones and phones with the latest Symbian OS is sluggish, whether it is P990i, N80 IE, N73, etc ..... it has a very laggy feel but with more ram, it should ease a little. It's still too early to judge the performance of P1i yet but with more ram, it should perform better than P990i since P990i is quite an obsolete smartphone by today's standard. Even the QVGA screen isn't as good as W950i or the smaller K800i. It's about time SE make a serious overhaul for their Symbian models. Bro, just wanna ask how did you compared the screens of both P990i and W950i? I have played with both and i dun see any difference in the display, just that W950i has more interesting interface. And i wouldn't say P990i is obsolete by today's standard, as it has much better graphic processing capability than most of the windows mobile based smart phones. In addition, with the latest firmware of World Generic, instability is no longer an issue. Anyway, just my 2 cents. This post has been edited by hypermax: May 11 2007, 05:04 PM
sunauto
May 11 2007, 05:46 PM
The P990i screen is a little washed out, I've posted pictures of it with comparison to K610i and K800i's screen. Try running the same video clip on it and on other models, you'll get what I mean. Worst of all, the camera is inferior on the P990i, even the entry level K610i can take better pictures than it despite lacking the AF function. Of course, these features are not a must for me but it's slow and buggy really bugs me a lot. Well, I thought it was b'coz of my AP set since it's not a generic version but had a chance to test out my friend's P990i, even with the latest firmware, editing word documents / spreadsheets or performing other multimedia functions were pretty slow and unstable. If you have a chance to try out P900i and P910i, you'll get what I mean. I don't believe it's because that the latest Symbian OS or softwares written for it have not been optimized, the P990i has been out for a while now, it's not just launched this year so they should have got it right by now.
The funny thing, M600i and W950i users reported less problems than P990i despite having the same physical hardware, maybe the internal ram size is different. I guess the problem lies with P990i's limited ram which should be addressed by SE's P1i, I'm sure the increase in the ram will do wonders but if not, I'll just give it a skip this time until SE comes out with something better. At least, I'm happy with my old P900i and my K800i, my two trusted buddies. The W950i is fine but that's not mine, just loan it from my brother since I've sold my P990i. Still hunting for another phone for myself but I guess P1i is only due out in Q3 of this year so it will be a while before it hits the street. Hopefully, they can keep the price reasonable.
hypermax
May 11 2007, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ May 11 2007, 05:46 PM) The P990i screen is a little washed out, I've posted pictures of it with comparison to K610i and K800i's screen. Try running the same video clip on it and on other models, you'll get what I mean. Worst of all, the camera is inferior on the P990i, even the entry level K610i can take better pictures than it despite lacking the AF function. Of course, these features are not a must for me but it's slow and buggy really bugs me a lot. Well, I thought it was b'coz of my AP set since it's not a generic version but had a chance to test out my friend's P990i, even with the latest firmware, editing word documents / spreadsheets or performing other multimedia functions were pretty slow and unstable. If you have a chance to try out P900i and P910i, you'll get what I mean. I don't believe it's because that the latest Symbian OS or softwares written for it have not been optimized, the P990i has been out for a while now, it's not just launched this year so they should have got it right by now. The funny thing, M600i and W950i users reported less problems than P990i despite having the same physical hardware, maybe the internal ram size is different. I guess the problem lies with P990i's limited ram which should be addressed by SE's P1i, I'm sure the increase in the ram will do wonders but if not, I'll just give it a skip this time until SE comes out with something better. At least, I'm happy with my old P900i and my K800i, my two trusted buddies. The W950i is fine but that's not mine, just loan it from my brother since I've sold my P990i. Still hunting for another phone for myself but I guess P1i is only due out in Q3 of this year so it will be a while before it hits the street. Hopefully, they can keep the price reasonable. Bro, M660i, W950i and P990i have the same specifications and are built on the same platform. P990i is actually identical to the other 2 models except that it has a camera and wifi. So i was actually surprised when you said the display for p990i is inferior to W950. Also, let you remind you, your friend's Thorus is a Singapore set, not a World Generic. So his is basically the same as yours except of the warranty.
kapitan
May 11 2007, 11:50 PM
I have to say Symbian phone are always slower than Pocket PC counterpart but having say that Pocket PC is way more expensive. I used a Mini b4 and I like the speed. Even though many said it was slow and hangs alot, but I never had any problem with it. At least it had more free ram compared to M600i after startup, even with enhancement programs. I really hate M600i auto-close program when loading 3 or more simple programs, like Messaging, Phone Book and Excel for said. Thats is so f***ing awful!! My Mini used to open up at least 5-6 of these simple programs like Excel, Phone Book, Calculator, Messaging but still able to cope with it. Even Skyforce feel a bit more responsive on my mini than on M600i.
Why I choose M600i, well, my mini speaker failed on me 3 times. I hate the soft ringtone, speakerphone, and caller voice. Function wise, definately better than Symbian phone.
Eddx
May 12 2007, 06:49 PM
so it's P1 not m610
TSpanasonic88
May 12 2007, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(Eddx @ May 12 2007, 06:49 PM) yup, officially, named Sony Ericsson P1i.
Eddx
May 12 2007, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 12 2007, 06:59 PM) yup, officially, named Sony Ericsson P1i. it's on my shopping list  but wait till 2008 first
sunauto
May 14 2007, 09:15 PM
SE P1i doesn't seem to be a M600i successor b'coz it's scheduled to be released in Europe for 650 Euros and that's almost RM3K  and it seems more like P990i successor to me as the M600i wasn't that expensive when it was first launched last time. Hopefully, it is not launched at RM3K here, if yes, hope the price will go down below RM2K. Well, the older Symbian phones like my P900i and P910i were a lot more stable but it seems with the new Symbian OS now, phones with more ram work slightly better but still not as responsive as the older models running the previous generation of Symbian OS. I guess SE should either update the OS with a new version or some optimization on their phones, either with more ram or with a faster processor. I also heard the P1i comes with an Open GL 3D accelerator, not sure whether this is true or just a rumour.
blackmachine
May 14 2007, 10:57 PM
rm3k , wow, there goes my dreams, anyway, its sure gonna be a great symbian phone.
T630
May 14 2007, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(blackmachine @ May 14 2007, 10:57 PM) rm3k , wow, there goes my dreams, anyway, its sure gonna be a great symbian phone. rm3k...
mikelee
May 15 2007, 12:42 PM
I am not sure if this has been posted before. Here is a video preview of the P1i model: http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/clips/sony-eric...view-260321.php
sunauto
May 16 2007, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(blackmachine @ May 14 2007, 10:57 PM) rm3k , wow, there goes my dreams, anyway, its sure gonna be a great symbian phone. I just found out the Euro price, not sure whether it is cheaper in other countries. Maybe, HK prices much cheaper gua. For a phone with such specs, normally it won't be cheap, I guess the cheapest is slightly over RM2K unless maybe it's an AP set or maybe after a year it has been launched.
michael9413
May 16 2007, 11:26 AM
Well i bet that you can't get a P1i for RM2000 even after 6 months that it have launched... P990i now also we can't get it at that price... It have better specs than P990i in every aspect... It meant to tackle P990i problem... They have more RAM n ROM... This mobile is in my shopping list... I'll see how it goes B4 CNY next yr... I skipped P990i or M600i which in my CNY shopping list b'coz i shopped for other gadgets... So i'll aim for that... hope that my new phone can lst me 3 yrs... like my K750i...
limyusiong
May 16 2007, 12:19 PM
thorus set p990 nw is rm2150...consider drop quit a lot after a few months old launch...
michael9413
May 16 2007, 01:11 PM
around 9 months.. because ppl conplain a lot of the P990i... maybe the demand already lowered so they jus launch a new one...
limyusiong
May 16 2007, 01:46 PM
i think de price drop so much due to de phone performance lo...
sonyclie77
May 16 2007, 11:26 PM
Stressed Personnel
QUOTE(michael9413 @ May 16 2007, 01:11 PM) around 9 months.. because ppl conplain a lot of the P990i... maybe the demand already lowered so they jus launch a new one... Has it been 9 months since the P990i was launched? I thought it was launched in Malaysia around Nov/Dec last year?
StratOS
May 17 2007, 07:24 AM
This is wut i got from the K810 thread.. people selling P1i at rm 3999 in Garage Sales oredy.. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/458123
iRonTech
May 17 2007, 08:26 AM
QUOTE(StratOS @ May 17 2007, 07:24 AM) This is wut i got from the K810 thread.. people selling P1i at rm 3999 in Garage Sales oredy.. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/458123Rm3,999?? ish......can get O2 biggest pda phone jorr.....