128 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Bottom

Working with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?

mangoman
post Apr 18 2013, 12:09 AM

Retired Member
560 posts

QUOTE(fe2q @ Apr 17 2013, 12:19 AM)
hye guys..

just want to share..

i got my 1st interview in middle of december with one of the OPU..then, after a while..did my SI on 7th FEB..its quite a long time since need to ding dong with KLCC..

then.. i know my results within one week..but still didnt receive any GL from KLCC to do for medical checkup since the OPU said that need to wait for KL to give GL.. until..the HOD himself call me to ask on progress in middle march and quite shocked since I didnt proceed for medical yet.. then, maybe he pushed for the HR, KL issued the GL on 20th Mar.. i asked them to change the hospital from PCMC to hospital near to my house in southern region..

After 3 days, i knew the results since I make friend with the nurse there.haha.. and parcel arrived at KLCC by next week.. then, I said to KL to issued my offer letter asap because if not, I will need months of tender letter..

and my offer letter was issued in first week of april..KL shipped out the offer letter package to my house. filled up and sent back. I did email the KL HR regarding something that I was not clear regarding the numerous forms and HR did reply asap. i mean less than one hour because I said that i will sent out by the same day to catch the deadline.  nod.gif

Conclusion: for my case, they will move faster when there is urgency. or got push for expedite from OPU or perhaps your future boss.

bro azreil or anyone; i have one questions, if i were transferred to East malaysia, what is the possibilities to be transferred to KLCC? I mean, is it possible?hmm.. because i myself dont want to stuck too long at EM..huu.. (future boss already warned me, in future after working 3 years dont ask me to transfer you to KL..at least you need 5 years here..then he gelak).. my future post is instrument.

thanks a lot:)
Working in East Malaysia is like a black hole, once you get in, it is quite hard to come out. You need at least 5 or 7 years. smile.gif
Good luck! laugh.gif
icerainyy
post Apr 18 2013, 12:13 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(mangoman @ Apr 18 2013, 12:08 AM)
I think this thread is slowly turning into another HR bashing thread. tongue.gif
LOL
I agree. perhaps company should start interviewing new recruits about the HR efficiency as the HR's KPI!
fe2q
post Apr 19 2013, 09:42 AM

QUOTE(mangoman @ Apr 18 2013, 12:09 AM)
Working in East Malaysia is like a black hole, once you get in, it is quite hard to come out. You need at least 5 or 7 years. smile.gif
Good luck!  laugh.gif
oh noooooooooooo...hahaha..its not impossible right?hahaha..oh no..

work first and see how.. cry.gif
TankerGadget Store
post Apr 19 2013, 11:08 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(wateve @ Mar 14 2007, 12:10 PM)
Gotten an offer to work at PEtronas. Wanna know the working environment there.. ok? Staff benefits.. heard that it's among the best in M'sia... and how's the people culture there?

Pls advise.... all the sifus out there....
what position ? my cousin working with them too
orangeong6
post Apr 19 2013, 03:42 PM

24 posts

Petronas is a great company to work in IF you dont plan to work overseas. As petronas is a Malaysia company so their working area only covers Malaysia and mostly in rural areas like Terengganu and Labuan, Sabah. Totally no entertainment at all. If you wish to have an increase in salary, i suggest schlumberger, an international company. You'll be earning dollars instead of Ringgit!

Think twice before u make your choice! =)
klein
post Apr 19 2013, 05:58 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(orangeong6 @ Apr 19 2013, 03:42 PM)
Petronas is a great company to work in IF you dont plan to work overseas. As petronas is a Malaysia company so their working area only covers Malaysia and mostly in rural areas like Terengganu and Labuan, Sabah. Totally no entertainment at all. If you wish to have an increase in salary, i suggest schlumberger, an international company. You'll be earning dollars instead of Ringgit!

What are u talking about? Petronas is a multinational corporation. Its business (upstream and downstream) has covered so many countries, i.e. Australia, Vietnam, China, Brazil, and not to forget those European and African nations. So there are plenty chances for one to be transferred or based overseas if he/ she is good.

Other than that, many ex-Petronas are working overseas now, especially those becoming expats in Middle East. Working with Petronas does help one build an impressive resume since Petronas is recognized globally.

This post has been edited by klein: Apr 19 2013, 05:59 PM
mannquin
post Apr 21 2013, 01:36 PM

351 posts

I beg to differ. Petronas is a MNC. And not everyone in Slb get paid in foreign currency

Anyhow it's been almost 2 weeks. Passed my SI and job placement is still pending

This post has been edited by mannquin: Apr 21 2013, 01:39 PM
baizuddin
post Apr 22 2013, 10:30 AM

QUOTE(mannquin @ Apr 21 2013, 01:36 PM)
I beg to differ. Petronas is a MNC. And not everyone in Slb get paid in foreign currency

Anyhow it's been almost 2 weeks. Passed my SI and job placement is still pending
sometimes it will take up to 3 months to decide your placement. But some only 2 weeks.
8Tidus8
post Apr 22 2013, 04:39 PM

For fresh graduates, do you need to apply for a specific job in the Petronas website?
AMINT
post Apr 22 2013, 04:49 PM

7,446 posts

Try asking those who works in Iraq project. Ask them how much they make. You will be shocked.
^ejey^
post Apr 24 2013, 09:09 AM

QUOTE(baizuddin @ Apr 22 2013, 10:30 AM)
sometimes it will take up to 3 months to decide your placement. But some only 2 weeks.
For my case:

23 March 2013 (Friday 3:00pm)
====================
SI @ KLCC for Project Planner/Scheduler .
Result : KIV for different post.

5 April 2013 (Friday)
==============
Contacted(phone) by the Petronas, being offered different post (contract basis, not direct hire). They asked me if its able for me to join them on 16 May 2013. Since I hv to gv 1month-resignation-tender, so I politely discuss with them about any possibilities to register on 1st of June (it will be 2nd June @ Kerteh, working Sunday).

16 April 2013 (Tuesday)
================
Contacted(phone) by Petronas HR asking my current employment`s payslip. I emailed them immediately, and HR replied my email at 4:50pm written "Tq".

22 April 2013 (Monday)
===============
I called them asking the status, since Im waiting for their Offer Letter to be attached with the resignation letter and I need 1month-resignation-tender to be submitted on 30th April, next Tuesday. 1st May (Wed) will be the starting date of my resignation period. Petronas`s HR ("Ms.A") told me that the HR management will manage the offering prosess (salary/date of registration etc) as soon as possible probably this week and will contact me by phone.

Still patiently waiting for the official offer letter. Oh and before that, HR do mentioned about maybe somebody from her office will call me to discuss about salary.

Patiently waiting. It just 1 month since the SI session but it feels like AGES unsure.gif

This post has been edited by ^ejey^: Apr 24 2013, 09:14 AM
yogurt7
post Apr 24 2013, 11:09 AM

Why So Serious
1,042 posts

QUOTE(^ejey^ @ Apr 24 2013, 09:09 AM)
For my case:

23 March 2013 (Friday 3:00pm)
====================
SI @ KLCC for Project Planner/Scheduler . 
Result : KIV for different post.

5 April 2013 (Friday)
==============
Contacted(phone) by the Petronas, being offered different post (contract basis, not direct hire). They asked me if its able for me to join them on 16 May 2013. Since I hv to gv 1month-resignation-tender, so I politely discuss with them about any possibilities to register on 1st of June (it will be 2nd June @ Kerteh, working Sunday).

16 April 2013 (Tuesday)
================
Contacted(phone) by Petronas HR asking my current employment`s payslip. I emailed them immediately, and HR replied my email at 4:50pm written "Tq".

22 April 2013 (Monday)
===============
I called them asking the status, since Im waiting for their Offer Letter to be attached with the resignation letter and I need 1month-resignation-tender to be submitted on 30th April, next Tuesday. 1st May (Wed) will be the starting date of my resignation period. Petronas`s HR ("Ms.A") told me that the HR management will manage the offering prosess (salary/date of registration etc) as soon as possible probably this week and will contact me by phone.

Still patiently waiting for the official offer letter. Oh and before that, HR do mentioned about maybe somebody from her office will call me to discuss about salary.

Patiently waiting. It just 1 month since the SI session but it feels like AGES unsure.gif
err, you don't have to do any medical check up before they give you the offer letter?
icerainyy
post Apr 24 2013, 11:45 AM

22 posts

Called HR, said that they will have discussion this afternoon to review my application. *nervous*
abgkik
post Apr 24 2013, 11:51 AM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Apr 22 2013, 04:49 PM)
Try asking those who works in Iraq project. Ask them how much they make. You will be shocked.
iraq.. notworthy.gif

I'm thinking to work at Kuwait... wink.gif

This post has been edited by abgkik: Apr 24 2013, 11:52 AM
^ejey^
post Apr 25 2013, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(yogurt7 @ Apr 24 2013, 11:09 AM)
err, you don't have to do any medical check up before they give you the offer letter?
They didnt mention abt that at all, and my position is Contract Basis (Yearly basis), not permanent.

QUOTE(icerainyy @ Apr 24 2013, 11:45 AM)
Called HR, said that they will have discussion this afternoon to review my application. *nervous*
Good luck to u too. Did they contacted u after that? Salary negotiation done already?

This post has been edited by ^ejey^: Apr 25 2013, 11:58 AM
icerainyy
post Apr 25 2013, 01:21 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(^ejey^ @ Apr 25 2013, 11:56 AM)
Good luck to u too. Did they contacted u after that? Salary negotiation done already?
Thank you smile.gif
HR called me prior to this on how much I am willing to reduce from my stated salary, is that considered as salary negotiation?
No call from HR for today. Have told them I need the offer letter latest by end of the week to submit my resignation. Hopefully I will receive them asap blush.gif

This post has been edited by icerainyy: Apr 25 2013, 01:22 PM
mannquin
post Apr 26 2013, 11:33 AM

351 posts

Got a call from the HR last night. I am so happy I feel like jumping like a kid in a candy store
icerainyy
post Apr 26 2013, 01:57 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(mannquin @ Apr 26 2013, 11:33 AM)
Got a call from the HR last night. I am so happy I feel like jumping like a kid in a candy store
Congrats! When will you receive the offer letter?
pejoibezita29
post Apr 27 2013, 09:10 AM

hello all, im newbie here... hihihi, anyone know what scope of work for maintenance department? i will seconded to petronas ABF (asean bintulu fertilizer) as executive staff, and will join them on 1/7/13... i'm from terengganu..
Kitteh
post Apr 27 2013, 01:40 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(pejoibezita29 @ Apr 27 2013, 09:10 AM)
hello all, im newbie here... hihihi, anyone know what scope of work for maintenance department? i will seconded to petronas ABF (asean bintulu fertilizer) as executive staff, and will join them on 1/7/13... i'm from terengganu..
mechanical? electrical or instrument?

are u recruited for rapid project?

128 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0377sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:32 AM