Which Brand Laptop is good?

sonic_cd
post Jul 26 2004, 01:59 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE (mon20gol @ Jul 26 2004, 01:54 AM)
I got a problem, how do ya guys know if the box is an opened one or not? Since it'll get opened and the salesman will test it or u are going to test it? Must I "look" at him during the "stock taking" process???

there are a couple of security seals/stickers on the box that you might want to look ot for to check whether the box is open or closed. tongue.gif
beloved
post Jul 26 2004, 10:30 AM

68 posts

QUOTE (sonic_cd @ Jul 26 2004, 01:59 AM)
there are a couple of security seals/stickers on the box that you might  want to look ot for to check whether the box is open or closed. tongue.gif

Can u show or tell us how security seals/stickers look alike?
SUSgogo2
post Jul 26 2004, 01:52 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Different brand different security sticker.

By the way, I think Twinhead don't have security sticker. So, they can actually take out the faulty notebook, fix it, put it back and sell it as new. This also happens to all the cheapo brand notebook like Sotec etc. So cheap price you get cheap product.
beloved
post Jul 26 2004, 06:22 PM

68 posts

Any comment for Asus laptop M2000N model? Do anyone of u own this model? thumbup.gif
mon20gol
post Jul 26 2004, 09:42 PM

60 posts

QUOTE (gogo2 @ Jul 26 2004, 01:52 PM)
Different brand different security sticker.

By the way, I think Twinhead don't have security sticker. So, they can actually take out the faulty notebook, fix it, put it back and sell it as new. This also happens to all the cheapo brand notebook like Sotec etc. So cheap price you get cheap product.

How about brands like Acer? To another question, i find that the prices of Acers in KLCC and the prices dealers in LY offer differ by alot, and they even offer freebies! This is quite amazing to me...Somebody told me that this is becauuse most of the dealers in LY are 'authorized dealers', and for those who sell the notebooks at full price are subsidary ones(to Acer). In such a case, which place must I consider purchasing? What is the difference? The price offered in LY is attractive, but the Acer sub in KLCC told me they offer better service... I have no idea bout this...
sonic_cd
post Jul 26 2004, 10:30 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE (beloved @ Jul 26 2004, 10:30 AM)
Can u show or tell us how security seals/stickers look alike?

well the security seal /stickers would look something like this..i used my iBook box for de pic.. user posted image
enqvist
post Jul 26 2004, 11:57 PM

21 posts

any noteboook that aroung 3000 can get ???
just simply word processing and online then ok...thanks

pls let me know
kaichai
post Jul 27 2004, 07:55 AM

1,918 posts

QUOTE (enqvist @ Jul 26 2004, 11:57 PM)

pls let me know

rm3k for a new notebook? wink.gif i think its difficult to get ler....
or pc fair is coming soon...try looking for any good deal or 2nd lappy smile.gif
beloved
post Jul 27 2004, 09:54 AM

68 posts

QUOTE (sonic_cd @ Jul 26 2004, 10:30 PM)
well the security seal /stickers would look something like this..i used my iBook box for de pic.. user posted image

Thanks, man. Tentatively, i will buy a laptop during this coming september. I hope Asus notebook didn't disappoint me. Yet, i still have a second thought of FTEC. Coz, they are quite slim and full features compare to others. Somehow, i just doubt with their services and durability since they are so value value value for money. Cheap no good, good things no cheap, rite? wink.gif
beloved
post Jul 27 2004, 09:58 AM

68 posts

QUOTE (enqvist @ Jul 26 2004, 11:57 PM)

pls let me know

It's hard to get a laptop around RM 3K. You should budget until RM 4K if u just wan 2 perform enjoyable word processing works. At least, u don't face with hanging phobia before ur document get saved. smile.gif
SUSgogo2
post Jul 27 2004, 01:56 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE (mon20gol @ Jul 26 2004, 09:42 PM)
How about brands like Acer? To another question, i find that the prices of Acers in KLCC and the prices dealers in LY offer differ by alot, and they even offer freebies! This is quite amazing to me...Somebody told me that this is becauuse most of the dealers in LY are 'authorized dealers', and for those who sell the notebooks at full price are subsidary ones(to Acer). In such a case, which place must I consider purchasing? What is the difference? The price offered in LY is attractive, but the Acer sub in KLCC told me they offer better service... I have no idea bout this...

Acer will have blue color sticker.

Also, for Acer, their service center is called HighPoint. You just need to go back to their service center. So all the Acer product service is the same because you need to send it yourself to their service center.

So they lying to you if they said they provide better service for you coz no such thing. Probably they can send it for you if you leave far away from HighPoint.

IdEaLeSs
post Jul 27 2004, 06:35 PM

25 posts

I'm looking for a laptop that minimum have the following spec. Please recommend some to me. Budget is about 7k-8k.

Precessor
PENTIUM M Dothan ( but some brand still havent have it.)
PENTIUM M (Centrino)
Will you guys recommend Pentium M or Pentium M Dothan?
Really big different?

Graphic card
64MB or higher (128)
ATI better or GeForce?

Screen
15.4 (is better)
15 also can

RAM
512 MB DDR
256 MB ( also can, cos ill upgrade it)

-) Is it good to purchase laptop in the PC Fair? or it is the same?
-) Which day of PC Fair is the best to buy?
-) Will the price drop after PC Fair? August?
-) Which brand is better?
-) I'm thinking of Toshiba but they dont have PENTIUM M Dothan, do they? If they really dont have, i dontknow to choose normal Toshiba notebook (Pentium M) or buy other brand with Dothan. Any idea? i really need help. And are they going to come out a Dothan laptop?
-) Am i crazy to choose this kind of spec with me?

Hope for you guys reply asap. cos this Friday will be PCFair... sweat.gif
thanks.

This post has been edited by IdEaLeSs: Jul 27 2004, 06:44 PM
SUSgogo2
post Jul 27 2004, 08:46 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Good to buy it in PC Fair coz can see all the notebook and compare all at the same place.

ATI better.

Dothan better.

Notebook you want is:

a)Acer 2012WLCi
b)Dell 8600
c)Acer 8003LCi

No other brand offer the thing you want at reasonable price.

BlueDot have Ati 9700 64MB but I dun believe them. Hehehe
philippecr
post Jul 27 2004, 09:52 PM

617 posts

can anybody giv me the actual specs of Toshiba Satellite M30-7301? I'm quite confuse of the specs.

I'm looking for a gaming laptop. Wat I wan is can play game like NFSU or Command&Conquer: General, just wan the graphic can still be acceptable when playing then can. Which laptop u recomand? pls show all the specs and the price.

I saw a laptop tat quite attract my eyes. Toshiba M30-731, and another model M30-7301(quite confuse on its specs), the exterior is kinda attracting and solid, veri nice speakers and a nice widescreen. izzit a good one for gaming? wat the best price i can get for M30-7301 and M30-731?
yhk
post Jul 27 2004, 10:43 PM

55 posts

hi all

may i know how much hp compaq nx7010 currently cost?

it should has below spec

Intel® Centrino* mobile technology
- Intel® Pentium® M processor 1.5GHz
- Intel® 855PM Chipset
- Intel® Pro Wireless 2100 WLAN Mini PCI 802.11b
Microsoft® Windows® XP pro
256MB DDR SDRAM (266MHz) standard, upgradeable to 2GB
40GB Hard Disk
DVD/CD-RW Combo
15.4'' WXGA TFT Display
ATI MobilityTM RadeonTM 9200 with 64MB DDR SDRAM
Mini PCI 56K (V.92) Modem
Integrated 10/100 LAN Ethernet, Intel® Pro/Wireless 2100 802.11b integrated wireless LAN
3 USB 2.0 Connectors
1 Infrared Port
1 IEEE 1394
1-year International Limited Warranty

if want to increase 256MB DDR SDRAM TO 512...
how much is cost?

thank for reply

regards
yeonghk

yhk
post Jul 28 2004, 03:17 PM

55 posts

hi all

may i know how much hp compaq nx7010 currently cost?

it should has below spec

Intel® Centrino* mobile technology
- Intel® Pentium® M processor 1.5GHz
- Intel® 855PM Chipset
- Intel® Pro Wireless 2100 WLAN Mini PCI 802.11b
Microsoft® Windows® XP pro
256MB DDR SDRAM (333MHz) standard, upgradeable to 2GB
40GB Hard Disk
DVD/CD-RW Combo
15.4'' WXGA TFT Display
ATI MobilityTM RadeonTM 9200 with 64MB DDR SDRAM
Mini PCI 56K (V.92) Modem
Integrated 10/100 LAN Ethernet, Intel® Pro/Wireless 2100 802.11b integrated wireless LAN
3 USB 2.0 Connectors
1 Infrared Port
1 IEEE 1394
1-year International Limited Warranty

if want to increase 256MB DDR SDRAM TO 512...
how much is cost?

thank for reply

post Jul 28 2004, 06:08 PM

Henshin
2,157 posts

no need double post la taiko laugh.gif tongue.gif
prcie shud be roughly rm5.7K, add in another 256MB shud cost u roughly rm180. so total up is about rm5.9k la

This post has been edited by 8431: Jul 28 2004, 06:08 PM
IdEaLeSs
post Jul 28 2004, 07:41 PM

25 posts

QUOTE (gogo2 @ Jul 27 2004, 08:46 PM)
Good to buy it in PC Fair coz can see all the notebook and compare all at the same place.

ATI better.

Dothan better.

Notebook you want is:

a)Acer 2012WLCi
b)Dell 8600
c)Acer 8003LCi

No other brand offer the thing you want at reasonable price.

BlueDot have Ati 9700 64MB but I dun believe them. Hehehe

Thanks for your advice

Will Dothan be very different in terms of performance and other things from the normal one?

But they said that the Dell's speaker is nor very good. Unlike Toshiba and HP rite?

Another things is tat will tat be a big different between graphic card with 64MB and 128MB?
How about in terms of gaming? Will it be ok with 64MB? adequate enuf? Really bad tat Toshiba doesnt have 128 ATi. Dell good enuf?

how about these?
128MB ATI Mobility Radeon 9600 Pro (DELL 8600)
64MB ATI Mobility Radeon 9700
64MB Nvidia GeForce FX Go5200 (TOSHIBA M30)
greddy
post Jul 29 2004, 10:01 AM

164 posts

yeap, dothan thumbup.gif is better in terms of performance since it has double the cache amount tht banias has.(correct me if i'm wrong)

but gaming performance--- nothing much to expect. u need a good graphics card for tht.

and plz remember that centrino is not a processor, its a technology combination(two of the pros-means more usage hours n intergrated wifi).

u hav to chosse beetween dothan N banias, although some brands still don't hav the former. i think dell has it in their 600m series. good luck.

This post has been edited by greddy: Jul 29 2004, 10:13 AM
LemonTea
post Jul 29 2004, 10:45 AM

20 posts

hihi!!.......i'm going to buy a laptop for my study....main purpose is for programming project....eg: .Net

i was thinking to buy

IBM ThinkPad R40e #2684JA1
Mobile Intel Pentium 4 Processor 2.2Ghz, 256Mb DDR-RAM, 30Gb Hard Drive, 14.1" XGA TFT display, 16Mb DDR video memory, 1.44Mb 3.5" Floopy Drive, 8xDVD-ROM Drive, 56K Modem, 10/100 Ethernet, 2.6Kg (approx.), 1 year warranty, Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
(will be upgrading to 512 DDR-RAM)

Do you guys think this model is good enough for me?
Thanks rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by LemonTea: Jul 29 2004, 10:45 AM

106 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0146sec    0.99    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:36 PM