126 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Travel Taiwan, Refer pg 1 for compiled attractions

McCabePlace
post Apr 25 2010, 10:41 PM

Those going to Taiwan right, go print your itinerary or bring your air tickets (if not Airasia) to the Taiwan Tourist Association (TTA) at Wisma Goldhill JRC to get the free Tourist Easycard ie. the TNG card mentioned in the few posts before in this forum for us at Taipei Metro (subway) system.

During Matta fair can also go get if you happen to be there but make sure you bring your AA itinerary, your invoice for purchase of travel package or air ticket for unexpired travel (ie. date must be in future).

Different country call their subway travel card differently, Oyster in UK, Octopus in HK and Easycard in Twn.

The Tourist Easycard obtained from the TTA is preloaded with NT50. Once you are in Taiwan, can reload any amount you wish (minimum IIRC is NT100) and use until the max amount in card. No deposit whatsoever.

When you don't want to use it anymore, just go to the manual reload counters and get a refund. If you want to keep the card, just fill up a simple form, no charges.

Got discount for using it just like the Octopus card. For example, from TMS to Danshui is NT10 cheaper if you use Easycard. Can check it out here (http://english.trtc.com.tw/ct.asp?xItem=1056377&CtNode=27498&mp=122032)

But tell you, you won't bother coz no charges for refund. Load NT500 more than enough ler.

Owh, the Metro souvenir shop at the Taipei Main Station got sell limited edition Easycard...very nice ler...

Stimix, gua pun mau apply itu Youth Travel Card (YTC) but overqualify dy tongue.gif like you. The YTC site seems to be KO lately. The Travel Buddy my sis got apply but not much use. I only used it to call the cab drivers and later my sis forgot to pass me the charger, I use my Maxis line saje. Bill haven't come, should not be that expensive gua.

This post has been edited by McCabePlace: Apr 25 2010, 10:45 PM
LazyTongue
post Apr 26 2010, 11:12 AM

150 posts

im sorry...anyone got cheap accomodation in taipei to recommend?? for a group of 5 ppl.. travelling period in the middle of May..
dun wan to stay in hostel. around Rm30 to Rm50 per nite.

tqtq
lilplue
post Apr 26 2010, 02:12 PM

hello there smile.gif i'll be travelling to taipei from 5/5-9/5. any suggestions on the must go see places??
so far i have on my list are:

Around taipei city:

1.CKS Memorial Hall
2.Lung Shan Temple
3. Taipei 101
4. Shilin night market
5.Wufenpu
6.XimenDing

places not located in taipei city (or so i think it's not ^^;;)
1.Yeliu Geopark
2.Fisherman's wraf, lover's bridge
3. either Wulai/ Ulay or Beitou for the hot spring
4.Jinguashi, Jiufen for scenery.
* is yao ming shan really far from taipei?*

the more i research on my trip i end up with more places wanted to go but i'm not sure if it's really time worthy as i only got 4 days (arriving taipei on 9.30am and leaving at 9am on departure date)
really appreciate any comments on must see places.

best regards to everyone smile.gif
stimix
post Apr 26 2010, 02:32 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah short of time..Otherwise can suggest Taroko dy..I think the list you posted should be OK.
dylan88
post Apr 27 2010, 08:01 AM

27 posts

hello all..i am going to Taiwan from 2nd of June to 9th June ..with my family ..we have 5 ppl here..

the plane will reach TPE at 1440..

i would like some advices here..is the hotel at 1st page there all twins sharing? we have 5 ppl here o..so can like book 2 twin sharing room then 2+3 geh or not?

the min shu is count by per night or per head?

we probably will just stay around taipei ximending and sumwhere near only..so any recommendation?would like some city tour and some scenery tour to relax relax..

the train ticket have to book earlier?before we go there?

i need some advices on planning which place to visit 1st..how should i spent my days?

other than visit taipei ximending shilin..i thinking of visit -> Taroko, Chin Sui Cliff 六福村主题乐园, 小人国, 野柳,九份。。and some relax place like 香格里拉休闲农场。。清境农场。。got lavendar farm around taipei there?

i would really appreciate helps for planning my trips and places to visit accrodingly
stimix
post Apr 27 2010, 09:34 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Responded to your PM earlier b4 reading that u hv read pg1..The suggested itineraries already compiled there too...you can copy few to your liking...For 8D7N, in addition to Taroko, you can also goto Kaoshiong & Alisan. (3D2N in Taipei is enough already..nothing much to see in Taipei except 101, ximending, Shihlin, Lonshan temple area, wufengpu & museums & etc..)
Other days just venture out of Taipei - 1 day to Yehliu-Keelung- Jiufen,
1 day fro Taroko/chin sui/hua lien, 1 day, 2D1n at Kaohiong & alishan & probably got time to Sun Moon Lake..
dylan88
post Apr 27 2010, 09:55 AM

27 posts

okok..thank u very much..if have anythings i not understand i get back to u =D hope can have a really enjoy trip with my mum n dad n sisters there wink.gif
plkvoon
post Apr 27 2010, 02:27 PM

358 posts

yesterday morning, witness a major shock in my office.... it happen so quick and lasted only a few seconds.... the tables were shaking.... but taiwanese acted normal like nothing happens.....
the weather these few days had been crazy, hot to cold... today is kinda chilly at 20c in the morning..... yesterday was like 26-27c....
traveling in Taipei is a piece of cake... very easy to go around... with the mrt line here u can plenty of places to visit... the bus transport here is also very easy to use.... there are a few tourist centre at destinated MRT station for your reference.... very very tourist friendly indeed....

will be back again next week, huhuhuhu.... and taiwan is a good place to do some shopping as well..... tongue.gif
LazyTongue
post Apr 27 2010, 09:47 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(plkvoon @ Apr 27 2010, 02:27 PM)
yesterday morning, witness a major shock in my office.... it happen so quick and lasted only a few seconds.... the tables were shaking.... but taiwanese acted normal like nothing happens.....
the weather these few days had been crazy, hot to cold... today is kinda chilly at 20c in the morning..... yesterday was like 26-27c....
traveling in Taipei is a piece of cake... very easy to go around... with the mrt line here u can plenty of places to visit... the bus transport here is also very easy to use.... there are a few tourist centre at destinated MRT station for your reference.... very very tourist friendly indeed....

will be back again next week, huhuhuhu.... and taiwan is a good place to do some shopping as well..... tongue.gif
u mean there is a small earthquake in taiwan? u r in taipei?
plkvoon
post Apr 28 2010, 01:50 AM

358 posts

i was in taipei this morning, but now back in bangkok.... it's not small but it happen in the sea bout 6.9... but once reach taipei just bout 2+....
transit
post Apr 28 2010, 02:41 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(plkvoon @ Apr 28 2010, 01:50 AM)
i was in taipei this morning, but now back in bangkok.... it's not small but it happen in the sea bout 6.9... but once reach taipei just bout 2+....
Thanks for sharing this information. If 6.9 happened in ground, then many victims...Luckily. I knew few days ago got one landslide near highway to Kee Lung. (just within this week)
plkvoon
post Apr 28 2010, 05:18 PM

358 posts

the kee lung landslide happened on Sunday.... before i left yesterday, rescue team still trying their best to find the victims and vehicles covered by the landslide..... that happen in the highway....

oneeleven
post Apr 28 2010, 07:06 PM

1,515 posts

What are the current free goodies available at the KL tourism office? Need to give photocopy of ticket or something right?
McCabePlace
post Apr 29 2010, 12:13 AM

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Apr 28 2010, 07:06 PM)
What are the current free goodies available at the KL tourism office? Need to give photocopy of ticket or something right?
Erm...not KL tourism office la. It is the Taiwan Visitors Association's office in JRC. KL Tourism Office ppl usually mean the MATIC at Jalan Ampang.

From what I und, autumn/winter they give hotspring vouchers and spring/summer they give the tourist Easycard. during Autumn/Winter, you can ask them if don't want the hotspring voucher can take the Easycard or not. If they got stock, they will give. However, my fren said the hotspring voucher is worth like NT200 compared to NT50 on the Easycard but he took the Easycard coz he ady booked/paid for his hotspring from KL before he found out abt this freebie.

Call them up la (+60-3-2070-6789)...very friendly ppl ler....

Have fun in TWN.
sunnyboy
post Apr 29 2010, 12:31 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(McCabePlace @ Apr 29 2010, 12:13 AM)
Erm...not KL tourism office la. It is the Taiwan Visitors Association's office in JRC.  KL Tourism Office ppl usually mean the MATIC at Jalan Ampang.

From what I und, autumn/winter they give hotspring vouchers and spring/summer they give the tourist Easycard.  during Autumn/Winter, you can ask them if don't want the hotspring voucher can take the Easycard or not.  If they got stock, they will give.  However, my fren said the hotspring voucher is worth like NT200 compared to NT50 on the Easycard but he took the Easycard coz he ady booked/paid for his hotspring from KL before he found out abt this freebie.

Have fun in TWN.
Taiwan Visitors Association's office in JRC......where is the place?

easy to find?

maybe pay them a visit b4 i go this coming 7/6
bryancheam
post Apr 29 2010, 11:14 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(McCabePlace @ Apr 25 2010, 10:41 PM)
Those going to Taiwan right, go print your itinerary or bring your air tickets (if not Airasia) to the Taiwan Tourist Association (TTA) at Wisma Goldhill JRC to get the free Tourist Easycard ie. the TNG card mentioned in the few posts before in this forum for us at Taipei Metro (subway) system.

During Matta fair can also go get if you happen to be there but make sure you bring your AA itinerary, your invoice for purchase of travel package or air ticket for unexpired travel (ie. date must be in future).

Different country call their subway travel card differently, Oyster in UK, Octopus in HK and Easycard in Twn.

The Tourist Easycard obtained from the TTA is preloaded with NT50.  Once you are in Taiwan, can reload any amount you wish (minimum IIRC is NT100) and use until the max amount in card.  No deposit whatsoever.

When you don't want to use it anymore, just go to the manual reload counters and get a refund.  If you want to keep the card, just fill up a simple form, no charges.

Got discount for using it just like the Octopus card.  For example, from TMS to Danshui is NT10 cheaper if you use Easycard. Can check it out here (http://english.trtc.com.tw/ct.asp?xItem=1056377&CtNode=27498&mp=122032)

But tell you, you won't bother coz no charges for refund. Load NT500 more than enough ler.

Owh, the Metro souvenir shop at the Taipei Main Station got sell limited edition Easycard...very nice ler...

Stimix, gua pun mau apply itu Youth Travel Card (YTC) but overqualify dy  tongue.gif  like you. The YTC site seems to be KO lately. The Travel Buddy my sis got apply but not much use. I only used it to call the cab drivers and later my sis forgot to pass me the charger, I use my Maxis line saje. Bill haven't come, should not be that expensive gua.
is TTA open on saturday?
b00n
post Apr 30 2010, 12:18 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(plkvoon @ Apr 27 2010, 02:27 PM)

haha, to them it's normal.
My ex boss who currently is stationed in Taiwan told me this. If it's just a shake, nothing to panic. But when thing gets rough, i.e. some movement in the cups, lamps, etc.... that's the sign to get out.
McCabePlace
post Apr 30 2010, 01:53 PM

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Apr 29 2010, 12:31 AM)
Taiwan Visitors Association's office in JRC......where is the place?

easy to find?

maybe pay them a visit b4 i go this coming 7/6
JRC = Jalan Raja Chulan. Wisma Goldhill. Very easy to find and nope, the last I called, they are not opened on Saturdays.
oneeleven
post Apr 30 2010, 06:50 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(McCabePlace @ Apr 29 2010, 12:13 AM)
However, my fren said the hotspring voucher is worth like NT200 compared to NT50 on the Easycard but he took the Easycard coz he ady booked/paid for his hotspring from KL before he found out abt this freebie.

TQ. I got the hotspring pass for trip last December but my friend wanted to go to ones not on the list. Other friends got and then passed me their souvenir metro cards with a pic of the 101 that can only be used up and not topped up. It says so on the back; I still have them.

Interesting fact: sometimes the normal cards reach a negative balance, the next time you top up, it's deducted!

LazyTongue
post May 2 2010, 12:54 AM

150 posts

hi guys....i book a place that need to use paypal to pay....can anyone guide me to use paypal?usually how long do i need for the whole transfer process thingy? cos im in a hurried to book rooms as there are many rooms which are nt avaible anymore..the palce said thati needed a local bank acc to transfer or paypal..pls guide me...never had an acc with paypal n know ntg about this

126 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:24 AM