259 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2

TSwengherng
post Apr 19 2017, 08:56 AM

1,865 posts

My goodness, look at the bloodbath at the deepest end of the red.
Bargains everywhere!
And damn it, I have no more money to buy!

archangel22
post Apr 19 2017, 09:14 AM

472 posts

Likey whats causing the sell off

Poloniex Exchange‏
@Poloniex
On May 2, 2017, the following will be delisted: BBR, BITS, C2, CURE, HZ, IOC, MYR, NOBL, NSR, QBK, QORA, QTL, RBY, SDC, UNITY, VOX, XMG

https://twitter.com/Poloniex/status/854486851238932481
max_cavalera
post Apr 19 2017, 09:43 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(archangel22 @ Apr 19 2017, 10:14 AM)
Likey whats causing the sell off

Poloniex Exchange‏
@Poloniex
On May 2, 2017, the following will be delisted: BBR, BITS, C2, CURE, HZ, IOC, MYR, NOBL, NSR, QBK, QORA, QTL, RBY, SDC, UNITY, VOX, XMG

https://twitter.com/Poloniex/status/854486851238932481
Fuuuu massive discount siot
kmarc
post Apr 19 2017, 09:52 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Apr 19 2017, 08:56 AM)
My goodness, look at the bloodbath at the deepest end of the red.
Bargains everywhere!
And damn it, I have no more money to buy!
Be careful. Those coins are delisted on May 2. Luckily I'm only holding Vox. Hope there are other exchanges that trade vox.

Come to think about it, I am damn lucky. I have so many coins but only one affected. However, I'm still mad. What happens next time? So we better not buy low volume coins until it shoots up and become persistently high volume? Makes me want to stop using polo but too bad no other exchanges with such volumes.

Should I sell my darkhorse SC?????!!??? Boy, I dread to think what will happen next time polo mass delist again. And I'm sure there would be insider trading in Polo especially when those coins were shooting up for no reasons these past few days. How much you could gain from shorting those coins !!!

I trembled to think that I almost bought QBK and MYR.

This post has been edited by kmarc: Apr 19 2017, 10:05 AM
max_cavalera
post Apr 19 2017, 10:06 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 19 2017, 10:52 AM)
Be careful. Those coins are delisted on May 2. Luckily I'm only holding Vox. Hope there are other exchanges that trade vox.

Come to think about it, I am damn lucky. I have so many coins but only one affected. However, I'm still mad. What happens next time? So we better not buy low volume coins until it shoots up and become persistently high volume? Makes me want to stop using polo but too bad no other exchanges with such volumes.

Should I sell my darkhorse SC?????!!??? Boy, I dread to think what will happen next time polo mass delist again. And I'm sure there would be insider trading in Polo especially when those coins were shooting up for no reasons these past few days. How much you could gain from shorting those coins !!!

Funny thingg is most of this going to be delist crypto hav such massive rally few days earlier.... 😳
TSwengherng
post Apr 19 2017, 10:51 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 19 2017, 09:52 AM)

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Apr 19 2017, 10:06 AM)
Funny thingg is most of this going to be delist crypto hav such massive rally few days earlier.... 😳
Ah crap......I had originally thought that these coins would be also available for trading on other exchanges......seems not always the case.
I had seriously considered buying NOBL about two or three weeks ago, and didn't, hence missed the massive rally. In hindsight, I was really lucky.

Yes, I am also very angry at this.
How would we be protected from such sudden delistings in future? I also believe that there would probably be some sort of insider trading, but it would be difficult to prove unless someone in the US files a lawsuit against Poloniex.
The only viable option here would be to totally avoid buying any altcoin that does not have significant trading volumes on the other exchanges.
Other than that, I really do not know what else we can do to protect ourselves.

EDIT: I just did a quick check on Bittrex, and realised that 3 of my altcoins are not trading there. I have not yet checked the other larger volume exchanges like Bitfinex.

This post has been edited by wengherng: Apr 19 2017, 11:24 AM
luotang
post Apr 19 2017, 11:19 AM

349 posts

Hi guys I am looking good at cryptocurrency to appreciate and becoming popular in 1-2 years to come. In addition to holding some ETH at the moment, I am thinking is there any cryptocurrency-business-related company (e.g., selling wallets) that are listed in NYSE/NASDAQ? Anybody has any idea about this? Planning to buy some stocks doing cryptocurrency stuff.

Cheers
TSwengherng
post Apr 19 2017, 11:31 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(luotang @ Apr 19 2017, 11:19 AM)
Hi guys I am looking good at cryptocurrency to appreciate and becoming popular in 1-2 years to come. In addition to holding some ETH at the moment, I am thinking is there any cryptocurrency-business-related company (e.g., selling wallets) that are listed in NYSE/NASDAQ? Anybody has any idea about this? Planning to buy some stocks doing cryptocurrency stuff.

Cheers
I might be wrong, but I think the two largest hardware wallet manufacturers at the moment, Ledger and SatoshiLabs, are still private companies, and not trading on the stock exchange.
So far, I have not heard of any cryptocurrency-related companies being listed on the stock exchange.

kmarc
post Apr 19 2017, 12:16 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Apr 19 2017, 10:06 AM)
That's why I'm thinking about insider trading. I almost bought MYR but didn't because it suddenly shot up without any news or reason. Didn't make sense so lucky I didn't buy.

QUOTE(wengherng @ Apr 19 2017, 10:51 AM)
Ah crap......I had originally thought that these coins would be also available for trading on other exchanges......seems not always the case.
I had seriously considered buying NOBL about two or three weeks ago, and didn't, hence missed the massive rally. In hindsight, I was really lucky.

Yes, I am also very angry at this.
How would we be protected from such sudden delistings in future? I also believe that there would probably be some sort of insider trading, but it would be difficult to prove unless someone in the US files a lawsuit against Poloniex.
The only viable option here would be to totally avoid buying any altcoin that does not have significant trading volumes on the other exchanges.
Other than that, I really do not know what else we can do to protect ourselves.

EDIT: I just did a quick check on Bittrex, and realised that 3 of my altcoins are not trading there. I have not yet checked the other larger volume exchanges like Bitfinex.
Phew! Lucky vox is traded at bittrex. Thx Poloniex for the push. I'm going to register on bittrex tonight!

I think I will open a ticket in Polo tonight, requesting them to have a proper fair way to delist. A policy or SOP to give fair warning of POSSIBLE delisting and a time-frame where investors or traders can find alternatives or sell off the coins. The way they do it is plain wrong and unfair. I bet if there was another equivalent exchange, they would have lost a lot of customers.

Ok, now I'm thinking crazy. Can we get some benefits out of this? Is there any delisted coins that still have development going on, is listed in other exchange and has its own wallet? I don't have the time to research all those coins now. cry.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Apr 19 2017, 12:28 PM
sirxl
post Apr 19 2017, 01:43 PM

583 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 19 2017, 12:16 PM)
A policy or SOP to give fair warning of POSSIBLE delisting and a time-frame where investors or traders can find alternatives or sell off the coins. The way they do it is plain wrong and unfair. I bet if there was another equivalent exchange, they would have lost a lot of customers.
Good luck with that. Alt-coin trading is not regulated yet.
TSwengherng
post Apr 19 2017, 02:47 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 19 2017, 12:16 PM)
Ok, now I'm thinking crazy. Can we get some benefits out of this? Is there any delisted coins that still have development going on, is listed in other exchange and has its own wallet? I don't have the time to research all those coins now. cry.gif
I have the same thoughts.
Even though at the moment Poloniex is by far the largest exchange by volume, that doesn't mean that other exchanges won't start carrying these de-listed coins at some point.
Would it be too much of a gamble to buy some of these coins at deep discounts, then keep them in paper wallets until some other exchange start carrying them?
I've never done that before, so I don't know how it works.
Is it even possible to create paper wallets for these altcoins?
Some of these coins actually have development teams working behind them, and there are projects ongoing......who knows, they might still have a bright future.

WooTz
post Apr 19 2017, 03:21 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(luotang @ Apr 19 2017, 11:19 AM)

Cheers
Pay attention to Golem, Storj, IPFS filecoin and SWARM.

You're going to witness the mother of all computing and file storage rentals of the planet.

All computers worldwide will contribute, and I mean ALL of them, once they figure out they can get free utilities by doing so.
kmarc
post Apr 19 2017, 03:32 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(sirxl @ Apr 19 2017, 01:43 PM)
Good luck with that. Alt-coin trading is not regulated yet.
Bittrex apparently has a flag when coins have low volume. Perhaps Polo can follow. Let's see whether I can suggest that tonight.

QUOTE(wengherng @ Apr 19 2017, 02:47 PM)
I have the same thoughts.
Even though at the moment Poloniex is by far the largest exchange by volume, that doesn't mean that other exchanges won't start carrying these de-listed coins at some point.
Would it be too much of a gamble to buy some of these coins at deep discounts, then keep them in paper wallets until some other exchange start carrying them?
I've never done that before, so I don't know how it works.
Is it even possible to create paper wallets for these altcoins?
Some of these coins actually have development teams working behind them, and there are projects ongoing......who knows, they might still have a bright future.
Yeah, example is Vox. When I was searching on Vox last time, the development team was still actively developing it. I just didn't buy initially because I thought it was niche market.

Ok, tonight register bittrex and do research on the delisting coins. Oooo, my wife is going to complain again..... sweat.gif
kmarc
post Apr 19 2017, 03:33 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Apr 19 2017, 03:21 PM)

You're going to witness the mother of all computing and file storage rentals of the planet.

All computers worldwide will contribute, and I mean ALL of them, once they figure out they can  get free utilities by doing so.
WooTz, what do you mean? I have golem and storj. So buy some more? biggrin.gif
WooTz
post Apr 19 2017, 04:34 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 19 2017, 03:33 PM)
WooTz, what do you mean? I have golem and storj. So buy some more? biggrin.gif
That and look into setting up a small and cheap server farm. This could be your new monthly BR1M.

Unlike crypto mining, the cloud rentals doesn't care about hashrate and difficulty. So anything goes really.
kmarc
post Apr 19 2017, 04:56 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Apr 19 2017, 04:34 PM)
That and look into setting up a small and cheap server farm. This could be your new monthly BR1M.

Unlike crypto mining, the cloud rentals doesn't care about hashrate and difficulty. So anything goes really.
Any reason for your sudden statement? I don't mean to ask in a bad way. I'm just interested to read more on this as I am targeting mainly on siacoin which is a dedicated decentralized cloud storage cryptocurrency. I do have a bit of maidsafe besides storj which is also storage.

Siacoin recently announced that minebox NAS will support Sia, just that I don't think we can get that NAS over here. Due to come out in May.

That's the problem over here. So difficult to get proper parts for a small farm.
sirxl
post Apr 19 2017, 05:05 PM

583 posts

All computers worldwide will contribute, and I mean ALL of them, once they figure out they can  get free utilities by doing so.
don't forget NAVcoin.
WooTz
post Apr 19 2017, 05:43 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 19 2017, 04:56 PM)
Any reason for your sudden statement? I don't mean to ask in a bad way. I'm just interested to read more on this as I am targeting mainly on siacoin which is a dedicated decentralized cloud storage cryptocurrency. I do have a bit of maidsafe besides storj which is also storage.

Siacoin recently announced that minebox NAS will support Sia, just that I don't think we can get that NAS over here. Due to come out in May.

That's the problem over here. So difficult to get proper parts for a small farm.
Nah, just that the crypto revolution is so much more than just trading chops. We can make a difference to the world and make some lunch money while doing it.

We're helping to bring forward a better economy by providing infrastructure however we can.

Apart from staking on pools, I'll be running a small scale server setup for speedier content here in Malaysia.

Ps: all four of these have exposure to the Ethereum ecosystem, so that helps to ensure sufficient renters of your equipment.

This post has been edited by WooTz: Apr 19 2017, 06:00 PM
luotang
post Apr 19 2017, 05:52 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Apr 19 2017, 11:31 AM)
I might be wrong, but I think the two largest hardware wallet manufacturers at the moment, Ledger and SatoshiLabs, are still private companies, and not trading on the stock exchange.
So far, I have not heard of any cryptocurrency-related companies being listed on the stock exchange.
Good I will pay attention on those 2 companies. Cheers.

Wow that's very good information there. I will look for these companies
My thought is like splitting my fund into 2 portions, one putting in ETH and the other one put in stocks, hopefully will be good
TSwengherng
post Apr 19 2017, 06:05 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(sirxl @ Apr 19 2017, 05:05 PM)
don't forget NAVcoin.
NAVcoin dropped 70% since last September to this February...... sad.gif
Only recently it is starting to see some positive trends.
Hopefully the trend continues on.

QUOTE(luotang @ Apr 19 2017, 05:52 PM)
Good I will pay attention on those 2 companies. Cheers.
Wow that's very good information there. I will look for these companies
My thought is like splitting my fund into 2 portions, one putting in ETH and the other one put in stocks, hopefully will be good
Why only ETH?
There are many cryptocurrency coins available, like BTC for example.
I would recommend diversifying a bit, and not put all your investments in one cryptocurrency only, no matter how good the future seems.
The majority of my crypto-nestegg is also in ETH, but I do keep quite a few other types as well.

259 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:09 AM