Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2

kmarc
post Apr 17 2017, 07:35 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Apr 17 2017, 03:53 PM)
I can try to keep adding to the first post, just tell me when your guidelines are done! smile.gif

The reason for 10 - 20% is because it is very easy, and from the past few weeks' observation, you can easily trade 5 times x 20% profit to get a total of 100% profit in a short period of time (maybe 1 - 2 weeks) instead of waiting for it to shoot to 100% which is more difficult and may take a much longer time to happen (if it happens).
But on the other hand, many of my coins have been going up steadily and in an upward trend so I am also reluctant to sell. sad.gif
So many coins to choose......so little money to buy them with......  cry.gif

One more thing is that I am actually starting to get a bit concerned with the amount of money I am leaving in Poloniex.
Since I don't have too much in any one coin (except for BTC and ETH), I am currently just leaving them on the exchange......but I am terrified of what would happen if Poloniex suddenly shuts down one fine day, or hacked, or my holdings stolen by the Poloniex administrators, or something drastic like that.
There aren't any hardware wallets that support most of the altcoins, either.  sad.gif
1st and 2nd post getting too long. I have sent another request to a staff member to see whether can add post. I distinctly remember last time that mod can add post when I did my old guides. Maybe the rules have changed. Will await the reply.

I guess that's also true. Each strategy has its advantages and disadvantages.

For me, I have made up my mind that I will not be in a situation where I regretted selling my coins for pitiful gains in terms of cryptocurrency standard. I'm sure a lot of people who sold BTC when it was 10,000 a pizza had regretted doing that. Hence the HODL strategy regardless of minor price increase. For me, I think that there has NEVER been such an opportunity in the history of mankind biggrin.gif for us common people to get ridiculous astronomical gains from an investment. Like I was saying some time ago, it is like having the opportunity to invest in a startup company that has the potential to become google or facebook. Of course, trading at the sides will help keep boredom away! thumbup.gif

Me too. Previously, I will balance my account on Polo. Whatever I send to Poloniex, I will transfer out some to my hardware wallet. Now I can't do that as my hardware wallet doesn't support other altcoins (as you have rightly mentioned). cry.gif

That's why I'm considering using another trading platform like Bittrex to reduce too much coin on one exchange. Not decided yet. I also limit my daily transfer out limit to the minimum (which is USD 2,000) which I NEED to check daily to ensure nothing was transferred out. sweat.gif

Other than that, I don't know what else I can do unless I resort to online or paper wallets.

This post has been edited by kmarc: Apr 17 2017, 07:38 PM
TSwengherng
post Apr 17 2017, 11:18 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 17 2017, 07:35 PM)
1st and 2nd post getting too long. I have sent another request to a staff member to see whether can add post. I distinctly remember last time that mod can add post when I did my old guides. Maybe the rules have changed. Will await the reply.

I guess that's also true. Each strategy has its advantages and disadvantages.

For me, I have made up my mind that I will not be in a situation where I regretted selling my coins for pitiful gains in terms of cryptocurrency standard. I'm sure a lot of people who sold BTC when it was 10,000 a pizza had regretted doing that. Hence the HODL strategy regardless of minor price increase. For me, I think that there has NEVER been such an opportunity in the history of mankind  biggrin.gif for us common people to get ridiculous astronomical gains from an investment. Like I was saying some time ago, it is like having the opportunity to invest in a startup company that has the potential to become google or facebook. Of course, trading at the sides will help keep boredom away!  thumbup.gif

Me too. Previously, I will balance my account on Polo. Whatever I send to Poloniex, I will transfer out some to my hardware wallet. Now I can't do that as my hardware wallet doesn't support other altcoins (as you have rightly mentioned).  cry.gif

That's why I'm considering using another trading platform like Bittrex to reduce too much coin on one exchange. Not decided yet. I also limit my daily transfer out limit to the minimum (which is USD 2,000) which I NEED to check daily to ensure nothing was transferred out.  sweat.gif

Other than that, I don't know what else I can do unless I resort to online or paper wallets.
You're right about distributing the holdings into different exchanges, which is something that I need to start doing.
But even that doesn't really comfort me. sad.gif
I think for now, I will just leave them as they are, until I really cannot tahan already, then create paper wallets.

kmarc
post Apr 17 2017, 11:28 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Apr 17 2017, 11:18 PM)
You're right about distributing the holdings into different exchanges, which is something that I need to start doing.
But even that doesn't really comfort me. sad.gif
I think for now, I will just leave them as they are, until I really cannot tahan already, then create paper wallets.
The act of registering in a new exchange is holding me back. Will probably take the plunge soon.

Not too sure. Altcoins were having a field day and now bitcoin just shot up..... hmm.gif

Somebody mention something like LTC1BTC hashrate when up 4x.... Not sure what that means.

What I don't understand is altcoins are tied to bitcoin. So if bitcoin goes up, altcoins/btc should go down but the value remains the same no? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Apr 17 2017, 11:31 PM
TSwengherng
post Apr 17 2017, 11:50 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 17 2017, 11:28 PM)
What I don't understand is altcoins are tied to bitcoin. So if bitcoin goes up, altcoins/btc should go down but the value remains the same no?  hmm.gif
Of course they are tied to bitcoin, since the exchange basis is altcoin/BTC......so, technically speaking, yes, the actual fiat value of the altcoin should go down in the same percentage that BTC went up.
However, this is not a perfect world, and there are far too many trigger-happy traders with shorts and margins that need to protect their positions, hence the panic sell-down every time BTC so much as give a sneeze.
In contrast, look at the more "mainstream" altcoins, the ones with altcoin/USDT exchange.
Their dollar value hardly fluctuates much.
But once BTC price stabilises a little, the same trigger-happy traders will suddenly reverse their positions and start rushing back into the altcoin market, and there you will see a big spike correction again.
Classic herd mentality.
shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by wengherng: Apr 17 2017, 11:50 PM
sirxl
post Apr 18 2017, 06:24 AM

583 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 17 2017, 09:47 AM)
Thx for the link. Polo doesn't have that coin. Incidently, I checked out bittrex a few days ago and I was surprised that they have so many altcoins. Practically hundreds! I'm sure they carry XVG. The problem is, I was drowned in a sea of altcoins at bittrex. Basically any name under the sun can be found there.

Still contemplating whether I want to channel some funds to Bittrex.  Now so comfortable in Polo.
Poloniex is considered the mother of all alt-coin exchanges
while other smaller players include bittrex, yobit and the new one called Liqui that provides IOU tokens for new ICOs.
kmarc
post Apr 18 2017, 08:07 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Apr 17 2017, 11:50 PM)
Of course they are tied to bitcoin, since the exchange basis is altcoin/BTC......so, technically speaking, yes, the actual fiat value of the altcoin should go down in the same percentage that BTC went up.
However, this is not a perfect world, and there are far too many trigger-happy traders with shorts and margins that need to protect their positions, hence the panic sell-down every time BTC so much as give a sneeze.
In contrast, look at the more "mainstream" altcoins, the ones with altcoin/USDT exchange.
Their dollar value hardly fluctuates much.
But once BTC price stabilises a little, the same trigger-happy traders will suddenly reverse their positions and start rushing back into the altcoin market, and there you will see a big spike correction again.
Classic herd mentality.
shakehead.gif
Wait wait. I thought the fiat value would remain the same IF there was no channeling of funds from an altcoin to BTC? Only the ratio changes?

Anyway, I didn't have time to find out what's happening with last night's news. Only managed to see segwit below 75% and Charlie lee saying LTC1BTC is the only major pool not signaling segwit this morning. In a rush, sold off 1/3 of my LTC. Will pickup later if it falls.

Looks like litecoin eventually have to go the way of UASF.

QUOTE(sirxl @ Apr 18 2017, 06:24 AM)
Poloniex is considered the mother of all alt-coin exchanges
while other smaller players include bittrex, yobit and the new one called Liqui that provides IOU tokens for new ICOs.
I see. I'm think of dividing my funds rather than putting them all on one exchange. This would not be a problem if there were hardware wallets supporting more altcoins.
TSwengherng
post Apr 18 2017, 10:17 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 18 2017, 08:07 AM)
Wait wait. I thought the fiat value would remain the same IF there was no channeling of funds from an altcoin to BTC? Only the ratio changes?
All things being perfectly constant, yes that would be the concept.
However, there are too many variables involved.
First, you have to understand that USDT does not equal to USD. USDT is just another cryptocurrency coin like bitcoin, just that they use reserves to peg it as close to the US dollar as possible, but it's not perfectly tied, it usually fluctuates to within 0.3%.
Secondly, markets are all about human sentiments.
A drop in BTC price due to a global hack and theft might create a panic in the cryptocurrency industry as a whole, leading to a cascading sell-off stampede as generally people have even less confidence in altcoins compared to bitcoin. So the altcoin price in this case might depreciate more than bitcoin.
On the other hand, a release of some good news may create euphoria, leading to a surge of buys and causing a sudden spike in altcoin price, even though the bitcoin prices itself is increasing.

This post has been edited by wengherng: Apr 18 2017, 10:18 AM
kmarc
post Apr 18 2017, 01:15 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Apr 18 2017, 10:17 AM)
All things being perfectly constant, yes that would be the concept.
However, there are too many variables involved.
First, you have to understand that USDT does not equal to USD. USDT is just another cryptocurrency coin like bitcoin, just that they use reserves to peg it as close to the US dollar as possible, but it's not perfectly tied, it usually fluctuates to within 0.3%.
Secondly, markets are all about human sentiments.
A drop in BTC price due to a global hack and theft might create a panic in the cryptocurrency industry as a whole, leading to a cascading sell-off stampede as generally people have even less confidence in altcoins compared to bitcoin. So the altcoin price in this case might depreciate more than bitcoin.
On the other hand, a release of some good news may create euphoria, leading to a surge of buys and causing a sudden spike in altcoin price, even though the bitcoin prices itself is increasing.
I see. Interesting. And I actually thought USDT follows USD exactly.

Altcoins run last week was good while it lasted. Today bloodbath. I wonder is it because of LTC1BTC's action? Why is BTC going up????

Will see whether in time to grab some discounted altcoins tonight and hopefully buy back LTC. LTC will probably go up once coinbase adds LTC.

This post has been edited by kmarc: Apr 18 2017, 01:17 PM
max_cavalera
post Apr 18 2017, 01:47 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

Btc rally again....

Price up to 1260usd highest on poloniex smile.gif

soonming
post Apr 18 2017, 04:09 PM

187 posts

I read an article ice about bit finex halting deposits and having delays in withdrawals. . What will the implications be?

Time to sell? Or wait for bargain buys?

Or likely nothing much and everything continues as it is?
sirxl
post Apr 18 2017, 04:37 PM

583 posts

QUOTE(soonming @ Apr 18 2017, 04:09 PM)
I read an article ice about bit finex  halting deposits and having delays in withdrawals. . What will the implications be?

it's only a big issue if you are a bitfinex user.
there are many other exchanges like GDAX, Kraken, Bitstamp, BTC-E, Luno.
archangel22
post Apr 18 2017, 04:39 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(soonming @ Apr 18 2017, 04:09 PM)
I read an article ice about bit finex  halting deposits and having delays in withdrawals. . What will the implications be?

https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/6...lowed_by_other/
max_cavalera
post Apr 18 2017, 05:17 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(soonming @ Apr 18 2017, 05:09 PM)

As i read it, bitfinex allows client to withdraw from their exchange via fiat currency....

This is different from other exchange like poloniex....where they only accept crypto deposit and withdrawal....

I think should be no issue for bitfinex to withdraw their cryptocurency as usual to their wallet
kmarc
post Apr 18 2017, 07:00 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(archangel22 @ Apr 18 2017, 04:39 PM)
So that 's the reason for the BTC rise. The good thing is that major altcoins like ETH are not affected. The rest of the altcoins... big discount. Who's buying? biggrin.gif
sirxl
post Apr 18 2017, 09:02 PM

583 posts

Trading financial products involves significant risk and can result in the loss of your invested capital. You should not invest more than you can afford to lose, and you should ensure that you fully understand the risks involved. Trading leveraged products may not be suitable for all investors. Before trading, please take into consideration your level of experience and investment objectives, and seek independent financial advice if necessary.
kmarc
post Apr 18 2017, 09:40 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(sirxl @ Apr 18 2017, 09:02 PM)
Trading financial products involves significant risk and can result in the loss of your invested capital. You should not invest more than you can afford to lose, and you should ensure that you fully understand the risks involved. Trading leveraged products may not be suitable for all investors. Before trading, please take into consideration your level of experience and investment objectives, and seek independent financial advice if necessary.
thumbup.gif

Shucks. Mod can't add some more post in the front page. Don't feel like cramping everything into one post...... dry.gif

Waw! Only 7 green altcoins in a sea of red! rclxub.gif

Edit : Ok, looks like LTC not going down. Bought back LTC for a... USD 17 profit..... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Apr 18 2017, 10:09 PM
TSwengherng
post Apr 18 2017, 11:53 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 18 2017, 09:40 PM)
thumbup.gif

Shucks. Mod can't add some more post in the front page. Don't feel like cramping everything into one post......  dry.gif

Waw! Only 7 green altcoins in a sea of red!  rclxub.gif

Edit : Ok, looks like LTC not going down. Bought back LTC for a... USD 17 profit.....  biggrin.gif
Brace yourselves......the cryptocurrency world is getting more and more mature, and this translates into faster rebounding times.
Barely hours after the massive dips experienced by most altcoins, many of them are already making a comeback, rebounding back and making up for some of the losses.

On another note, ETH seems to be testing its ATH again.
Damn it, I was hoping to get some at a bargain.

kmarc
post Apr 19 2017, 06:53 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Apr 18 2017, 11:53 PM)
Brace yourselves......the cryptocurrency world is getting more and more mature, and this translates into faster rebounding times.
Barely hours after the massive dips experienced by most altcoins, many of them are already making a comeback, rebounding back and making up for some of the losses.

On another note, ETH seems to be testing its ATH again.
Damn it, I was hoping to get some at a bargain.
Yeah, this time I was really surprised. Bitcoin did a little bit more than sneeze this time and major altcoins just shrugged it off. I was waiting for ETH, Dash and litecoin to drop but it stubbornly hover around the same price. vmad.gif Almost all altcoins are still generally on the upward trend. I wanted to add a bit yesterday (those deep discounted coins) but no bullets. sad.gif

Did a few trades at the sides. So far so good. Exciting! smile.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Apr 19 2017, 06:56 AM
sirxl
post Apr 19 2017, 07:41 AM

583 posts

guys drop by my telegram group BTC 2 if you have not done so.

https://t.me/joinchat/AAAAAD8HdXHMCpurSNxoqA

Then get verified and join the BTC 1 group (MYR200 one time payment) as there are many movers and shakers in there....

CEOs/ High Level Executives from many bitcoin/blockchain startups (Luno/coinbox/Coinpip/NEM/Zcoin/Wirex/Bloktex/Etherscan/HelloGold/Chain of Things/Coinhako/BolehVPN/Bitcoin Indonesia/Bnktothefuture/Smith and Crown/xfers/belfrics/luxtag/trezor/dash/coingecko/SCI)

This post has been edited by sirxl: Apr 19 2017, 07:45 AM
max_cavalera
post Apr 19 2017, 07:59 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

Alt coin gaining ground again as soon as btc stanilize biggrin.gif

Nonetheless enjoy the double appreciation against USD cor alt coin-btc hedger smile.gif

259 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0606sec    1.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:20 AM