Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2

soonming
post Mar 26 2017, 12:19 PM

187 posts

Looks like I am missing a big opportunity here. Don't even know where to start to get some and how safe it is as my knowledge on these is zero!

Hope still got time. Which I feel is fast running out...
soonming
post Mar 26 2017, 02:12 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 26 2017, 12:37 PM)
Take a look at first post. Some info there. wink.gif

I only entered cryptocurrencies 6 weeks ago and am already up by more than 200% overall. 200% in crypto-crazyland is nothing where people can gain 4-5 digit percentage points. The only thing is to do your own research and be prepared to lose the money if something happens. More info on the first page. smile.gif
Thanks so much... will try to fumble my way thru. Looks interesting and potentially rewarding
Just that the price is high. But will likely make small steps and see where it leads me
soonming
post Apr 11 2017, 08:17 PM

187 posts

Interesting discussion. I am really new to all these and I just say this forum has been very helpful to me. Just wanted to ask how much is safe to be placed on exchanges and when should we start to consider wallet like ledger or Trezor. I know individually it differs

Great to see points being out across to justify which coins to put our money into. I have nothing to contribute yet so for now I just record my appreciation and be a lurker ... Lol
soonming
post Apr 13 2017, 12:39 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 13 2017, 10:39 AM)
Ya, definitely hardware wallet. I'm even thinking of getting another wallet i.e ledger nano S because it supports stratis and ripple (in the future) which Trezor doesn't. Anybody interested? biggrin.gif

But that's my problem, I have so many types of coins that's sitting on the exchange doing nothing but hardware wallets don't support. Granted there are paper wallets and what not but I'm not comfortable with them.

I just hope that Trezor eventually supports some more coins but when googled, it seems they are concentrating on Trezor 2 first, before going for altcoins.
Indeed. Exciting times. I really can't wait to see what the future holds but from current observations, it looks like it will be good!!!!
Can do group buy la. Cut cost. I don't have much but I also feel vulnerable.

soonming
post Apr 13 2017, 08:32 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(sirxl @ Apr 13 2017, 07:20 AM)
History lesson for the newbies, don't keep all your coins on exchanges.

http://www.coindesk.com/poloniex-loses-12-...-exchange-hack/
Thanks for this. Really puts things into perspective as I feel getting hardware wallet will be a priority.mjust that its availability is a limiting factor
soonming
post Apr 18 2017, 04:09 PM

187 posts

I read an article ice about bit finex halting deposits and having delays in withdrawals. . What will the implications be?

Time to sell? Or wait for bargain buys?

Or likely nothing much and everything continues as it is?
soonming
post May 1 2017, 04:59 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(0129876589 @ May 1 2017, 03:55 AM)
i have 0.02 btc in poloniex

how to buy ethereum?
Click in eth tab and set a price u are comfortable with
And once price is matched... U are set!

soonming
post May 1 2017, 05:16 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(0129876589 @ May 1 2017, 05:08 AM)
where eth tab???
It's under the exchange tab
And under that look for eth
Click on that and it will take you to another screen
From there you can buy by setting eth price and deciding how many btc to purchase it with
Once order is matched you will get et. Can be seen under the my orders tab
soonming
post May 6 2017, 09:10 PM

187 posts

can Trezor or ledger store sia coin?
Or any other alternatives
Since we cant lend it out on polo and I feel it's one for the future
Thought may be good to keep it in cold storage

soonming
post May 6 2017, 10:50 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 6 2017, 10:28 PM)
Still a profit ma.  console.gif

Definitely unpredictable.
Unfortunately no. Siacoin has it's own Sia wallet but I haven't used it yet.
Thanks for reply. Just feel insecure having it on an exchange though the value is small.
But as for its potential... I guess only time will tell
soonming
post May 7 2017, 07:06 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(scottyvstheworld @ May 7 2017, 01:35 AM)
Hi guys, would it be better to dump your money into this or gold???

If invest in this if a world war starts, your money will be gone with the records?
Both have a role I suppose. But this is the future. Gold can be store of value but for crypto currency it has potential for massive growth
soonming
post May 7 2017, 07:12 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ May 6 2017, 11:55 PM)
Sorry, a bit off topic, but every time I hear the name "Pennywise" it gives me the chills.
Anyone who watched "IT" adapted from Stephen King's novel of the same name would know what I'm talking about. tongue.gif
Coulrophobia, anyone?
Definitely. A remake is coming out soon...

QUOTE(PennywiseSG @ May 7 2017, 12:19 AM)
Great! We can definitely give better discount for bulk purchase. Maybe can get a mass order going here I'll definitely give discount
If good rates count me in. But shipping will be to all over the country I suppose
soonming
post May 7 2017, 11:32 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ May 7 2017, 10:34 AM)

Me too Nano s
soonming
post May 8 2017, 07:05 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 8 2017, 06:56 AM)
Unbelievable! Stellar gain 9th spot on market cap! Nobody thought it had any use and furthermore, free stellar will be given out in June. As always, in cryptos, no need fundamentals or reasoning.  rclxub.gif

Polo has 30k users and lagging badly or connection error. Can't even do my loan shark manoeuvre!  vmad.gif
How do we get our hands on this free stellar?

Unbelievable sudden rise for this coin. And yea polo lags badly. They should upgrade.
soonming
post May 10 2017, 01:18 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(roy_zu @ May 9 2017, 10:56 PM)
Ah man.. Didn't even know there is such a function in Poloniex. I'm like super noob. So, I need to source at least 1 Bitcoin for play around
Can start with less than 1
I started with less than 1
Like they say, only put in what u can afford to lose...
Unless u are supremely confident or have a high risk tolerance.
soonming
post May 13 2017, 08:19 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(shahrul09 @ May 13 2017, 08:09 PM)
Polo lagging? Cant cancel trade in gnt. No movemnt in the graph also
True
Now only I noticed the price has been static.
No movement at all...
Wonder what's up
soonming
post May 19 2017, 08:42 AM

187 posts

[quote=WooTz,May 19 2017, 07:27 AM]
Please stay safe guys, such incident just might happen to you.

It's good to have Plan B in case of muggings, or your house getting burned down or flooded.

Sharing this for visibility

[/quote

Impressive returns...

If we ever caught in a case like this. Is there anyway we can gain access back?
I know. His private key is gone. Hope the cops some how get him his wallet back. But I suspect they are as efficient as ours here ]

soonming
post May 20 2017, 08:12 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(sirxl @ May 20 2017, 03:40 AM)
State of the Blockchain: Malaysia side. your thoughts on my post:

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@ninjabo...cosystem-part-1
This is a very nice write up sirxl. Thanks for sharing. Very well thought out and easy to follow
soonming
post May 20 2017, 08:18 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 20 2017, 08:10 AM)
I have added this to post #4 in the front page:

7) Make your hardware wallet 24-word recovery seed inaccessible
- Remember that the 24-word recovery seed is the most important piece in your whole hardware wallet setup
- Below are a few tips:
----- a) Keep the recovery seed in a safe place e.g. safe deposit box
----- b) Instead of just writing down the 24-word in sequence, you can rearrange them so that they are out of sequence. Of course, if you do that, you have to remember the rearrangements! Example would be like switching word 1 and word 2.
----- c) Divide the 24-word in different sections and hide it at different places
- Those are just some examples. How you make the 24-word recovery inaccessible is entirely up to your creative imagination. Just make sure you remember your genius creativity!!!
The remembering part is going to be a real big hassle. Especially when we scramble and switch it and don't unscramble it often enough for it to be committed to our long term memory
I feel like just leaving the seed In a safe deposit box. But even that has risks!
soonming
post May 20 2017, 07:35 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ May 20 2017, 06:44 PM)
This thread should be voted as one of the best thread in LYN. (what a shame this forum design doesn't include thread/poster ratings)

Reason because not only the contributors here are very savvy, you know who you are =), the most remarkable thing about you guys here are the willingness to share.

Thanks to all who help replying to me earlier.
Totally agree with this sentiment. I am newbie. But under their guidance I managed to dab my feet into this world of crypto. I got no background in tech but I can see where it's headed.

Still small fry and just getting started but I hope to make it big like the big boys in this forum and return the favour of sharing my knowledge with others.

Thank you. All of you.

0.2290sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:34 AM