LYN Toyota Avanza Owners V2, Discussions, Talks, Sharing
TSwaiwai_wai
Jun 4 2019, 12:03 AM

QUOTE(iverice @ Jun 3 2019, 08:49 AM) idle in 2000rpm is too much even with compressor kick in, the factory idle rpm for avanza is 750rpm, u can see this inside yr hood. normally if compressor kick in, it will rise to about 1000rpm, in early morning cold start engine is about 1.5k rpm, after engine heatup, it will drop to 750rpm. i suggest u adjust back to 750rpm, sry but i cant help much on the aircond issue though, have u chg the compressor as well? I changed the compressor before, maybe 15-18months before. Today 03/06/2019 something serious happen, during peak hour evening traffic jam near Sungai Wang. The RPM suddenly go up 4000 down 3000 rpm, up down up down. I press brake but still can few the acceleration keep revving, then I put to P, the rev sound damn loud like you press 3000rpm during P. Then I off engine in the traffic jam, when they move, I start back engine put to D then suddenly rev to 3000, the car suddenly go very fast, totally cannot stop. Atlast I park at somewhere and call the aircond guy, he say maybe his staff adjust too high RPM so when the engine oil hot already the RPM go higher and higher. Otherwise is the throttle body KONG liao then need to send to Toyota do replace throttle body around rm1000-1200 with genuine warranty. Damn scary, you can imagine your car keep revving at 3500rpm between the traffic jam crowd.
iverice
Jun 4 2019, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Jun 4 2019, 12:03 AM) I changed the compressor before, maybe 15-18months before. Today 03/06/2019 something serious happen, during peak hour evening traffic jam near Sungai Wang. The RPM suddenly go up 4000 down 3000 rpm, up down up down. I press brake but still can few the acceleration keep revving, then I put to P, the rev sound damn loud like you press 3000rpm during P. Then I off engine in the traffic jam, when they move, I start back engine put to D then suddenly rev to 3000, the car suddenly go very fast, totally cannot stop. Atlast I park at somewhere and call the aircond guy, he say maybe his staff adjust too high RPM so when the engine oil hot already the RPM go higher and higher. Otherwise is the throttle body KONG liao then need to send to Toyota do replace throttle body around rm1000-1200 with genuine warranty. Damn scary, you can imagine your car keep revving at 3500rpm between the traffic jam crowd. dude, i seriously think yr car get sabo by that incompetant aircon dude. seriously they macam no exp and simply fix without testing? i will not go back to that shop again.
TSwaiwai_wai
Jun 5 2019, 12:56 AM

QUOTE(iverice @ Jun 4 2019, 08:47 AM) dude, i seriously think yr car get sabo by that incompetant aircon dude. seriously they macam no exp and simply fix without testing? i will not go back to that shop again. I have no idea, I have not much knowledge about the engine or aircond thing, now I only hope they know how to fix this shit thing. After they fix, maybe I will wnter Toyota SC check again. Do u have any good workshop recommend ? Cheras area, VivaHome, LeisureMall, Permaisuri, Connaught Thanks
iverice
Jun 5 2019, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Jun 5 2019, 12:56 AM) I have no idea, I have not much knowledge about the engine or aircond thing, now I only hope they know how to fix this shit thing. After they fix, maybe I will wnter Toyota SC check again. Do u have any good workshop recommend ? Cheras area, VivaHome, LeisureMall, Permaisuri, Connaught Thanks i would like to hlp but im not from around kl area. but i hope u can fix yr car man., or better yet u sell it then buy civic( i heard u had been consider it) haha
TSwaiwai_wai
Jun 9 2019, 08:50 PM

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Jun 4 2019, 12:03 AM) I changed the compressor before, maybe 15-18months before. Today 03/06/2019 something serious happen, during peak hour evening traffic jam near Sungai Wang. The RPM suddenly go up 4000 down 3000 rpm, up down up down. I press brake but still can few the acceleration keep revving, then I put to P, the rev sound damn loud like you press 3000rpm during P. Then I off engine in the traffic jam, when they move, I start back engine put to D then suddenly rev to 3000, the car suddenly go very fast, totally cannot stop. Atlast I park at somewhere and call the aircond guy, he say maybe his staff adjust too high RPM so when the engine oil hot already the RPM go higher and higher. Otherwise is the throttle body KONG liao then need to send to Toyota do replace throttle body around rm1000-1200 with genuine warranty. Damn scary, you can imagine your car keep revving at 3500rpm between the traffic jam crowd. Finally problem settle, it is the noozle problem. Cost me rm120, so totally rm200 for everything.
TSwaiwai_wai
Jun 9 2019, 08:52 PM

QUOTE(iverice @ Jun 5 2019, 08:43 PM) i would like to hlp but im not from around kl area. but i hope u can fix yr car man., or better yet u sell it then buy civic( i heard u had been consider it) haha Civic in June don't have TCP white stock, need to wait until end of July, somemore the back row seats of Civic not comfortable, the head rest too straight and the back side too straight, make me feel headache (maybe is own feeling)
eniltoh
Jun 10 2019, 08:40 AM

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Jun 9 2019, 08:50 PM) Finally problem settle, it is the noozle problem. Cost me rm120, so totally rm200 for everything.  Glad to hear your problem is solved. May I ask what name is this part and where is this located in the engine bay? Update : I found out this is a avanza idle air control valve or IAC. Thanks ya. This post has been edited by eniltoh: Jun 10 2019, 09:08 AM
TSwaiwai_wai
Jun 11 2019, 01:17 AM

QUOTE(eniltoh @ Jun 10 2019, 08:40 AM) Glad to hear your problem is solved. May I ask what name is this part and where is this located in the engine bay? Update : I found out this is a avanza idle air control valve or IAC. Thanks ya. The workshop boss told me this so called "noozle". The guy say usually if the rev problem on Avanza, just need to check "noozle" or "valve". At one time only one piece will spoil, won't suddenly both spoil together. But he ask me to be careful the throttle body especially car age more than 8 years. noozle as :  valve as : This post has been edited by waiwai_wai: Jun 11 2019, 01:18 AM
eniltoh
Jun 11 2019, 09:01 AM

Thanks for sharing. I think this is for 1.5 if not mistaken. Does anyone here know if 1.3 engine for first gen has this IAC or not?
TSwaiwai_wai
Jun 12 2019, 09:52 PM

QUOTE(eniltoh @ Jun 11 2019, 09:01 AM) Thanks for sharing. I think this is for 1.5 if not mistaken. Does anyone here know if 1.3 engine for first gen has this IAC or not? You are welcome, we are here to sharing about the avanza problem, discuss and solve it. Does anyone here know if 1.3 engine for first gen has this "idle air control valve / IAC" or not? Thanks
butthead76
Jun 14 2019, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Jun 11 2019, 01:17 AM) The workshop boss told me this so called "noozle". The guy say usually if the rev problem on Avanza, just need to check "noozle" or "valve". At one time only one piece will spoil, won't suddenly both spoil together. But he ask me to be careful the throttle body especially car age more than 8 years. noozle as :  valve as :  Thks for info. Each time I clean the 1st IAC then seems ok. I normal wipe it clean, spray a little carb cleaner into the hole wipe it clean too. Then refit then remove air filter. Start engine, then spray a little carb cleaner into the throttle body and pull accelerator cable to rev it. Then repeat spray and rev for few times. I guess mine going to KO too. Buy from China less then rm40 to your door. heheheeh...I better order before it KO. Avanza IACThis post has been edited by butthead76: Jun 14 2019, 10:38 PM
butthead76
Jun 14 2019, 11:02 PM
IAC 8969097202 ACTUATOR ASSY, IDLE SPEED CONTROL 89690 89690BZ010 ACTUATOR ASSY, IDLE SPEED CONTROL 89690 Vacuum Switch Valve 89470BZ020 VALVE ASSY, VACUUM SWITCHING, NO.1 25860 Good video on VSV, EGR VSV EGRThis post has been edited by butthead76: Jun 14 2019, 11:27 PM
butthead76
Jun 14 2019, 11:05 PM
As for the stabiliser link, I just change yesterday. Awesome, like new handling again. I am surprised such a small link so much effect. The old ball link was loose, easy to turn with hand. New link super stiff, need lots of strengthen just to turn the ball link. Rm220 per pair, brand 555 from Japan. Don't get the cheaper version as ball link is smaller. This is similar like the original. Stabiliser LinkAlso service my rear brake drum, just blow dust off and adjust handbrake. Amazing thing is the pad like new. Me dumb fool go buy the brake since last year, think for sure will be worn out. Think when I sell avanza, the pad still ok. This post has been edited by butthead76: Jun 14 2019, 11:07 PM
TSwaiwai_wai
Jun 16 2019, 02:28 PM

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Jun 14 2019, 10:32 PM) Thks for info. Each time I clean the 1st IAC then seems ok. I normal wipe it clean, spray a little carb cleaner into the hole wipe it clean too. Then refit then remove air filter. Start engine, then spray a little carb cleaner into the throttle body and pull accelerator cable to rev it. Then repeat spray and rev for few times. I guess mine going to KO too. Buy from China less then rm40 to your door. heheheeh...I better order before it KO. Avanza IAClol, so cheap, the guy earn damn alot wehhh now i learn this lesson, next time should google it properly because that day the guy terus install and tell me everything okay already , and tell me the price didnt even ask me want change or not
TSwaiwai_wai
Jun 16 2019, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Jun 14 2019, 11:05 PM) As for the stabiliser link, I just change yesterday. Awesome, like new handling again. I am surprised such a small link so much effect. The old ball link was loose, easy to turn with hand. New link super stiff, need lots of strengthen just to turn the ball link. Rm220 per pair, brand 555 from Japan. Don't get the cheaper version as ball link is smaller. This is similar like the original. Stabiliser LinkAlso service my rear brake drum, just blow dust off and adjust handbrake. Amazing thing is the pad like new. Me dumb fool go buy the brake since last year, think for sure will be worn out. Think when I sell avanza, the pad still ok. Bro, you replace the stabiliser link yourself ? easy ? What different if the old one was loose and we dont change, danger to drive in highway ?
butthead76
Jun 16 2019, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Jun 16 2019, 02:28 PM) lol, so cheap, the guy earn damn alot wehhh now i learn this lesson, next time should google it properly because that day the guy terus install and tell me everything okay already , and tell me the price didnt even ask me want change or not if OEM rm25+rm4=rm29 for shipping from China, if Daihatsu/Toyota Rm80 locally....I have yet to check local shop pricing.
butthead76
Jun 16 2019, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Jun 16 2019, 02:31 PM) Bro, you replace the stabiliser link yourself ? easy ? What different if the old one was loose and we dont change, danger to drive in highway ? U can DIY. I was at my workshop doing service so get them to do it. When u change driver side, turn steering to max right. U stand in front stick your arm in to loose nut. Less then 10mins 1 side. No change ok, just that u will hear sometimes a funny metal PING sound loud. Even if the link break no issue just that your body roll will be more. But after change handling damn nice at corners. If u drive slow then not much difference. Me take hard corners. hahahah.
Confession
Jun 17 2019, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(butthead76 @ Jun 16 2019, 03:36 PM) U can DIY. I was at my workshop doing service so get them to do it. When u change driver side, turn steering to max right. U stand in front stick your arm in to loose nut. Less then 10mins 1 side. No change ok, just that u will hear sometimes a funny metal PING sound loud. Even if the link break no issue just that your body roll will be more. But after change handling damn nice at corners. If u drive slow then not much difference. Me take hard corners. hahahah. do you have to go for alignment after change ?
iverice
Jun 17 2019, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(Confession @ Jun 17 2019, 04:59 PM) do you have to go for alignment after change ? stabilzer link no need do alignment.
TSwaiwai_wai
Jun 17 2019, 08:56 PM

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Jun 16 2019, 03:36 PM) U can DIY. I was at my workshop doing service so get them to do it. When u change driver side, turn steering to max right. U stand in front stick your arm in to loose nut. Less then 10mins 1 side. No change ok, just that u will hear sometimes a funny metal PING sound loud. Even if the link break no issue just that your body roll will be more. But after change handling damn nice at corners. If u drive slow then not much difference. Me take hard corners. hahahah. yaya, sometimes not even road will have PING PING sound, feel like some metal knocking sound, feel weird but the sound few years already so I ignore it