LYN Toyota Avanza Owners V2, Discussions, Talks, Sharing

TSwaiwai_wai
post May 16 2019, 09:56 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(iverice @ May 16 2019, 08:40 AM)
the new gen altis that havent reach malaysia im not sure, but im sure that the current altis comfirm not as stable at those speed cause i had driven one, not even dare to cross over 160kmh(maybe me noob), 140,150kmh is still ok, the steering is too light, the chassis felt floaty at high speed compare with the 9th gen civic i drove, (sry again im comparing to prev gen civic cuz i havent had the chance to try the new gen civic), the civic fb is overall a better car in every way except maybe worse a little bit more soft comfortable ride of the altis.
The current Altis below 160kmh you feel like not stable, but if you press over 180kmh will be back to stable liao, because another gear already, if you stay at 160kmh consider the peak of the gear thats why you feel not so comfortable and floating. Tried 190-200kmh from Malacca to Sungai Besi toll, the steering can feel under control after 180kmh and not floating after 180kmh. Feel floating 150-170kmh.
andylau3 P
post May 19 2019, 02:16 PM

Probation

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ May 15 2019, 11:59 PM)
engine cold ? Do you mean cold start in the next day ?
If you mean cold start, it is normal if you cold start with aircond ON and cause RPM high because the engine too cold and the engine oil not yet enter the engine. Thats why AC professional advice us to turn OFF aircond when you leave the car, start the car with aircond OFF, turn ON aircond when your car warm up enough.
Cold start after a few hours of parking, if on ac after engine start, even i drive for 1 hr, the rpm stay at 1.5k until i off the ac or the car. 😅😅
butthead76
post May 19 2019, 10:06 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ May 10 2019, 12:31 AM)
i went to another workshop, the guy tell me because i set the aircond temperature to 60-70% near to the middle. so when the car too cold when keep turn on and off the alternator. He ask me turn temperature to 75-80% then will be no problem, after few day, the auto rev come again but after rev 1 or 2 time then go back normal already. Not like the previous keep rev until I off aircond.
This seems to work....I don't feel the engine rpm slow down....ahahah..weird shit, ....

found an excellent video to explain possible brake noise issues....1 of my fren did explain the vibration that causes the noise....also possible the 2 bolts need grease..just that many shops shit lazy to grease it....

Brake noise explained

This post has been edited by butthead76: May 19 2019, 10:08 PM
TSwaiwai_wai
post May 22 2019, 12:37 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(andylau3 @ May 19 2019, 02:16 PM)
Cold start after a few hours of parking, if on ac after engine start, even i drive for 1 hr, the rpm stay at 1.5k until i off the ac or the car. 😅😅
same problem with me now..
ask the workshop guy, he say no problem, then this few days become aircond no cool air when idle, i suspect the rpm problem is the initial symptoms to show that the aircond motor spoil soon, i encounter this aircond motor problem few years ago then i change Denso motor at outside workshop (another shop, the uncle macam aircond pro). Maybe I go back the shop to do checking.
TSwaiwai_wai
post May 22 2019, 12:41 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ May 19 2019, 10:06 PM)
This seems to work....I don't feel the engine rpm slow down....ahahah..weird shit, ....

found an excellent video to explain possible brake noise issues....1 of my fren did explain the vibration that causes the noise....also possible the 2 bolts need grease..just that many shops shit lazy to grease it....

Brake noise explained
but so bad, after 1 month now, the "adjust temperature" not work for me already, the rpm only slow down if i off aircond.
now i have 2 different problem, 1 is keep up down rev the RPM, another 1 is keep rev at 1700rpm-1850rpm (estimate).

1 is keep up down rev the RPM
I need to off aircond to recover normal rpm.

1 is keep rev at 1700rpm-1850rpm (estimate).
I cannot solve this problem. Tried put gear D, tried off aircond, tried rev abit the rpm. Cannot solve this issue.
TSwaiwai_wai
post May 22 2019, 12:48 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ May 19 2019, 10:06 PM)

Brake noise explained
The brake noise i think so is brake pad problem...
If i use original toyota brake pad, after 1000km or above (travel few times kl-jb-kl 600km), it will have "brake noise issues" until I change another brand. Tried few brake pad already. Currently using Brembo economy brakepad, not performance brakepad brows.gif

Last year July 2018 go do inspection, workshop guy say remains left 30% right 25%
Sept 2018, he say remains left 25% right 25%
Dec 2018, he still say remains left 25% right 25%
Feb 2019, his senior check for me, say remains left 35% right 35% rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Until now May 2019 almost June 2019, I lazy go check already, they simply say the %. Everyday still drive very fast and brake like normal, ignore the brakepad thickness.
Ultima
post May 22 2019, 02:54 AM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

New avanza good or not?

Love the front
iverice
post May 22 2019, 08:55 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ May 22 2019, 12:48 AM)
The brake noise i think so is brake pad problem...
If i use original toyota brake pad, after 1000km or above (travel few times kl-jb-kl 600km), it will have "brake noise issues" until I change another brand. Tried few brake pad already. Currently using Brembo economy brakepad, not performance brakepad  brows.gif 

Last year July 2018 go do inspection, workshop guy say remains left 30% right 25%
Sept 2018, he say remains left 25% right 25%
Dec 2018, he still say remains left 25% right 25%
Feb 2019, his senior check for me, say remains left 35% right 35%  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Until now May 2019 almost June 2019, I lazy go check already, they simply say the %. Everyday still drive very fast and brake like normal, ignore the brakepad thickness.
drive very fast need to brake hard bro icon_idea.gif
vinceTRD
post May 22 2019, 08:47 PM

QUOTE(Ultima @ May 22 2019, 02:54 AM)
New avanza good or not?

Love the front
as good as old model with new face, blind spot monitor , touch screen HU with reverse camera.
if u are from klang valley , u are welcome to contact me test drive
TSwaiwai_wai
post May 23 2019, 10:23 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(iverice @ May 22 2019, 08:55 AM)
drive very fast need  to brake hard bro icon_idea.gif
Bro, change other brand brakepad, dont use ori brakepad, useless, easily overheat ohmy.gif
iverice
post May 24 2019, 10:16 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ May 23 2019, 10:23 PM)
Bro, change other brand brakepad, dont use ori brakepad, useless, easily overheat  ohmy.gif
my brakepad now got "yiiiiiiiiiiii" noise when the car almost stop.

so chg the brakepad ? what brand u recomand?
TSwaiwai_wai
post May 27 2019, 11:33 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(iverice @ May 24 2019, 10:16 AM)
my brakepad now got "yiiiiiiiiiiii" noise when the car almost stop.

so chg the brakepad ? what brand u recomand?
Everytime also have the sound or sometimes ?
Usually every morning I use will have the sound, but use after some distance then okay already
I using Brembo brand, economy brakepad, forgot the price, the price same as normal economy brakepad.
future80
post May 27 2019, 12:10 PM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(iverice @ Apr 19 2019, 09:08 AM)
fyi, stabilizer link and bush is two different thing.

the link u can see easily if u rotate yr tyre out and see, it connect the anti roll bar to the strut , like this

the bush is actually quite hard to see because it is located kinda inside the car, the bush is like a rubber that hold the anti roll bar firmly to the suspension part. like this:

honestly u should change it anyway regardless got kong or half kong if yr car is like over 5, or 10 years, bassically these all is wear and tear item, and a pair of stabilizer link and a pair of bush cost less approx rm100 to get anyway so just change it.
and labour cost too.

iverice
post May 27 2019, 01:04 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(future80 @ May 27 2019, 12:10 PM)
and labour cost too.
labour cost no more than rm100 la also. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSwaiwai_wai
post May 28 2019, 11:58 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(future80 @ May 27 2019, 12:10 PM)
and labour cost too.
Change this will increase stability and comfortably ? or ?
I think so I havent change until now, maybe need to go workshop check liao
iverice
post May 29 2019, 10:14 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ May 28 2019, 11:58 PM)
Change this will increase stability and comfortably ? or ?
I think so I havent change until now, maybe need to go workshop check liao
stability, in theory yes, because the link and the bush is the thing that holding the anti roll bar securely to the strut, if the link or bush kong, then the bar will got free play meaning loose.

ericcc
post May 31 2019, 03:54 PM

216 posts

Avanza fan club! hahahehe. i'm using 2008 1.5G

- Overhaul after water damage a couple years ago - suspect it's from the petrol.
- Gear system change due to slipping - any of you have this problem? sadly it's still happening a bit now even after using the recon set.
- Drop-in air filter and Bosch Super 4 plugs; haven't gone full mod yet, thinking about lightened pulley and exhaust header
- Today changing all 4 absorbers to KYB RS Ultra, should help with the lousy handling with standard set-up.

Superbly happy with this as a family car thumbup.gif Goes everywhere, no troubles, reasonably fuel efficient.

This post has been edited by ericcc: May 31 2019, 03:56 PM
iverice
post May 31 2019, 04:00 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(ericcc @ May 31 2019, 03:54 PM)
Avanza fan club! hahahehe. i'm using 2008 1.5G

- Overhaul after water damage a couple years ago - suspect it's from the petrol.
- Gear system change due to slipping - any of you have this problem?  sadly it's still happening a bit now even after using the recon set.
- Drop-in air filter and Bosch Super 4 plugs; haven't gone full mod yet, thinking about lightened pulley and exhaust header
- Today changing all 4 absorbers to KYB RS Ultra, should help with the lousy handling with standard set-up.

Superbly happy with this as a family car  thumbup.gif  Goes everywhere, no troubles, reasonably fuel efficient.
how does gear slip feels like in avanza?

i also chg all 4 absorber to rs ultra, no bounce two three times already but the ride is stiff though, i suggest u install a rear anti roll bar at the rear axle, made whole lot of difference on the car.
TSwaiwai_wai
post Jun 3 2019, 01:14 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Apr 16 2019, 09:43 PM)
sometimes when I brake to slow speed, engine slow down till like almost died split second
i have this problem too especially in cold weather (evening raining or after rain), no idea what happen with the rpm go as low as below 1000.
Update for this problem
Problem : RPM auto rev 800-1200 unlimited times until off temperature.
Day 1 (01062019) - I went to one of the aircond workshop. The boss uncle say it might be my valve or throttle body dirty, so he remove it and wash it, then wash the front radiator as well, total charged me rm8x. But after I reach home, if i use aircond the engine also rev up down again, if i no use aircond the engine RPM go down to 300-500 the car keep shaking, like manual car no press clutch doh.gif .

Day 2 (02062019) - Before I go to workshop again, early the morning I start the car, the car keep RPM at 500 and no cold start feeling means no high RPM while I doing cold start. if i use aircond the engine RPM no go up and no aircond means the compressor stop function because RPM too low, until I press pedal, the aircond comes immediately but once I stop at traffic light then RPM low again and aircond automatically shut off.

I went there and ask him again, then he say maybe the RPM set too low, let him adjust abit, so after adjust, without ON the aircond, the engine keep at 2000 rpms, when ON aircond it will magic drop until 1000 rpms, after half day, the auto rev problem not occur again but the RPM will suddenly keep at 2000 rpms.

I dont want to adjust the RPM to forever 2000rpm, it is ridiculous, he say put higher in order to dont shut off the compressor. But how come all the while no this issue. Only happen after he do something on the engine part on the day 1.
iverice
post Jun 3 2019, 08:49 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Jun 3 2019, 01:14 AM)
Update for this problem
Problem : RPM auto rev 800-1200 unlimited times until off temperature.
Day 1 (01062019) - I went to one of the aircond workshop. The boss uncle say it might be my valve or throttle body dirty, so he remove it and wash it, then wash the front radiator as well, total charged me rm8x. But after I reach home, if i use aircond the engine also rev up down again, if i no use aircond the engine RPM go down to 300-500 the car keep shaking, like manual car no press clutch  doh.gif .

Day 2 (02062019) - Before I go to workshop again, early the morning I start the car, the car keep RPM at 500 and no cold start feeling means no high RPM while I doing cold start. if i use aircond the engine RPM no go up and no aircond means the compressor stop function because RPM too low, until I press pedal, the aircond comes immediately but once I stop at traffic light then RPM low again and aircond automatically shut off.

I went there and ask him again, then he say maybe the RPM set too low, let him adjust abit, so after adjust, without ON the aircond, the engine keep at 2000 rpms, when ON aircond it will magic drop until 1000 rpms, after half day, the auto rev problem not occur again but the RPM will suddenly keep at 2000 rpms.

I dont want to adjust the RPM to forever 2000rpm, it is ridiculous, he say put higher in order to dont shut off the compressor. But how come all the while no this issue. Only happen after he do something on the engine part on the day 1.
idle in 2000rpm is too much even with compressor kick in, the factory idle rpm for avanza is 750rpm, u can see this inside yr hood. normally if compressor kick in, it will rise to about 1000rpm, in early morning cold start engine is about 1.5k rpm, after engine heatup, it will drop to 750rpm. i suggest u adjust back to 750rpm, sry but i cant help much on the aircond issue though, have u chg the compressor as well?

57 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0355sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:14 AM