369 Pages « < 288 289 290 291 292 > » Bottom

Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

imcrazyz
post Jul 28 2019, 12:25 PM

154 posts

Hi guys, I'm here to look for a tvbox that can at least offer our local Malaysian channel, i.e ntv7, 8tv, etc.

Other channels are nice to have but local channels are of my top priority.

Kindly recommend me some reliable tvbox based on the above criteria. Thanks.
voncrane
post Jul 28 2019, 01:02 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(imcrazyz @ Jul 28 2019, 12:25 PM)
Hi guys, I'm here to look for a tvbox that can at least offer our local Malaysian channel, i.e ntv7, 8tv, etc.

Other channels are nice to have but local channels are of my top priority.

Kindly recommend me some reliable tvbox based on the above criteria. Thanks.
What we discuss here =/= "Channels" box.. Kindly read page one first.. Also, at least the last 10 or so pages.. Else go get an antenna or dish.. There are free to air digital (local) stations... Etc..
szecheng
post Jul 28 2019, 01:04 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 28 2019, 11:24 AM)
This question is a bit strange.
basically i have done for mecool box with s912 using magisk
can apply for s905x2 or all amlogic chips box?

puchongite
post Jul 28 2019, 01:29 PM

33,706 posts

QUOTE(szecheng @ Jul 28 2019, 01:04 PM)
basically i have done for mecool box with s912 using magisk
can apply for s905x2 or all amlogic chips box?
I would like to believe that with the new astro Go version, with a hacked apk, there is no need to unroot or Magisk anymore.

But nevertheless, Magisk is still applicable if you want to. The way to install Magisk onto Amlogic devices are almost the same, it is about booting into TWRP ....

But your could have previously used a ROM which has Magisk already preinstalled. So for the new s905x2 device, if you want to install Magisk, you could face some challenge .....

This is a ROM issue, not SoC issue.
szecheng
post Jul 28 2019, 02:56 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 28 2019, 01:29 PM)
I would like to believe that with the new astro Go version, with a hacked apk, there is no need to unroot or Magisk anymore.

But nevertheless, Magisk is still applicable if you want to. The way to install Magisk onto Amlogic devices are almost the same, it is about booting into TWRP ....

But your could have previously used a ROM which has Magisk already preinstalled. So for the new s905x2 device, if you want to install Magisk, you could face some challenge .....

This is a ROM issue, not SoC issue.
i done TWRP & magisk with mecool m8s pro l
without magisk astro go 8.2.6 wont run coz rom consider root

thanks for the confirmation, will try beelink gt1-a
puchongite
post Jul 28 2019, 03:09 PM

33,706 posts

QUOTE(szecheng @ Jul 28 2019, 02:56 PM)
i done TWRP & magisk with mecool m8s pro l
without magisk astro go 8.2.6 wont run coz rom consider root

thanks for the confirmation, will try beelink gt1-a
Yeah if you have root and want to run AstroGo 8.2.6, you need Magisk or unroot.

But you don't need to Magisk or unroot when you run the new AstroGo. I modded the new AstroGo to run together with root. You can PM me if you are interested to TRY.
ntw
post Jul 28 2019, 04:05 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

I connected my android box to Unifi via ethernet/wifi and encounter a lot of buffering on IPTV. But no such issue when I connect through mobile hotspot. Any recommended setting that can solve this issue?
fuadfadz
post Jul 28 2019, 05:00 PM

795 posts

I’m looking for android box. But with giga ethernet and supports netflix 4k/hdr. So far the best is nvidia shield. Looking forward for new version of nvidia shield.
JLD
post Jul 29 2019, 03:24 PM

62 posts

Hi guys, I'm really new with the android box.

I read the 1st page but not much updates on the brand of the android boxes so need recommendation on:

1. Best reputable brand (Is Apple-Bee, Himedia, Minix still being used widely?) & recommended model from medium to high end model of the android box (4gb Ram & above, 32gb or 64gb Rom)

And my family only watch English channels (no BM, Chinese, Tamil, etc) from cartoon channels (the kids), discovery, natgeo, english movies & news. Sports, really seldom watch those as well.

Thank you in advance! notworthy.gif thumbup.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by JLD: Jul 29 2019, 03:26 PM
voncrane
post Jul 29 2019, 10:22 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Jul 28 2019, 04:05 PM)
I connected my android box to Unifi via ethernet/wifi and encounter a lot of buffering on IPTV. But no such issue when I connect through mobile hotspot. Any recommended setting that can solve this issue?
Suggests the issue is either from the router or the fiber network itself.. You could try changing to a better router and test again. if still bad.. ISP problem.. have to take it up with them.

QUOTE(fuadfadz @ Jul 28 2019, 05:00 PM)
I’m looking for android box. But with giga ethernet and supports netflix 4k/hdr. So far the best is nvidia shield. Looking forward for new version of nvidia shield.
Yup...

QUOTE(JLD @ Jul 29 2019, 03:24 PM)
Hi guys, I'm really new with the android box.

I read the 1st page but not much updates on the brand of the android boxes so need recommendation on:

1. Best reputable brand (Is Apple-Bee, Himedia, Minix still being used widely?) & recommended model from medium to high end model of the android box (4gb Ram & above, 32gb or 64gb Rom)

And my family only watch English channels (no BM, Chinese, Tamil, etc) from cartoon channels (the kids), discovery, natgeo, english movies & news. Sports, really seldom watch those as well.

Thank you in advance! notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif  biggrin.gif
Apple-Bee = Apple TV? Else, yes... Nvidia, HiMedi & Minix are still being used widely.. Despite they being no recently released flagships. HiMedia's latest is still the Q10 Pro.. Basically, all devices have their pros & cons.. So depending on what you want done.. Get the device that best handles it. As for how much RAM is best? As often shared here, having the highest amount of RAM =/= the best device/performance. So look at overall performance. Size isn't nearly as important as that.

We don't discuss ehem stuff in here.. Kindly see my previous post... See Garage sales and or Google for services.
Marilynlai513
post Jul 30 2019, 07:25 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Jul 28 2019, 04:05 PM)
Have set to Google dns at router?
Scissorshand
post Jul 30 2019, 09:19 AM

1,691 posts

puchongite

Just maybe your ideal box

puchongite
post Jul 30 2019, 09:55 AM

33,706 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Jul 30 2019, 09:19 AM)
puchongite

Just maybe your ideal box

It is selling > RM 600 and seems very quiet about Widevine level. Most likely Widevine L3.

For those who want to buy GT king can consider this one instead, definitely better WiFi performance than GT1 king.

For me, it is out !
Snoopycute98
post Jul 30 2019, 04:23 PM

407 posts

Just got a LG Smart TV and now looking for a android tv box,

My requirements :
- HDR10 ( As TV support HDR10 only)
- HDMI2.0 ?
- Gigabit / 100Mbps LAN oso can
- Need to have FTP from PC to Android TV Box easily as I might transfer movies downloaded from PC to the HDD.

-If got preloaded apps and movies then nice also la.. parents can stream easily.

any recommendations for my requirements?

birain
post Aug 1 2019, 08:57 AM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

you guys becareful

sos
imcrazyz
post Aug 1 2019, 10:18 AM

154 posts

Hi @voncrane, I want to know which one you will recommend between Mi Box S and KM3?

Although Netflix is not of my top priority, is the extra RM140+ worth the upgrade in specs from 2gb to 4gb?
Ngto
post Aug 1 2019, 12:18 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Aug 1 2019, 08:57 AM)
you guys becareful

sos
Careful home users, read above post if want to buy Android box with all sorts of free stuff. Here's another link.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019...es-to-hit-homes

This post has been edited by Ngto: Aug 1 2019, 12:20 PM
voncrane
post Aug 1 2019, 04:15 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Aug 1 2019, 08:57 AM)
you guys becareful

sos
“They are willing to pay RM15 for a cup of coffee but won’t pay RM13.90 a month for content. If we keep reducing fees, it is not going to solve the problem.

“If Malaysians can support the ‘no straws’ and ‘no plastic bags’ policies, they should also be able to support the ‘no digital piracy’ policy. It can be just as sexy and cool, ” she added."

How about offering Asterruk's entire library and channels listings in FHD, UHD, etc for even RM50 per month...Make it so that non-dish owners can easily sub it like we do Netflix.. Allow profile separation, etc.. See if we won't sub or not? smile.gif People sub Netflix, Hulu, etc and have been for years... There are reasons why we still sub with them. Follow suit and I envision many will do the same and not resort to piracy. Till then, all should be careful.

QUOTE(imcrazyz @ Aug 1 2019, 10:18 AM)
Hi @voncrane, I want to know which one you will recommend between Mi Box S and KM3?

Although Netflix is not of my top priority, is the extra RM140+ worth the upgrade in specs from 2gb to 4gb?
Easy choice.. Definitely go for the Mecool KM3 instead..More performance overall, not just the RAM bump... Better to have more than enough than not enough...

QUOTE(Ngto @ Aug 1 2019, 12:18 PM)
Careful home users, read above post if want to buy Android box with all sorts of free stuff.  Here's another link.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019...es-to-hit-homes
Tell so many times and still many will prefer that option.. While I understand the why.. I don't support em either. At minimum, seller shouldn't be so overt about providing such services with new boxes. Makes it harder for those who want to get certain boxes just for their performance.
StevenL
post Aug 1 2019, 04:51 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(imcrazyz @ Aug 1 2019, 10:18 AM)

KM9 Google Certified
imcrazyz
post Aug 1 2019, 05:47 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 1 2019, 04:15 PM)
Thanks bro! I have another concern here. Any downside that is already known of in KM3? As in stability, connectivity, etc.

369 Pages « < 288 289 290 291 292 > » Top

0.0468sec    1.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:20 PM