Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

AVFAN
post May 18 2017, 04:59 PM

24,456 posts

Something for old android box users to consider, plan...

I see a quite a lot of new videos now cominng out in hevc or h265 format.

Hevc is an efficient compression format, uses half that of h264.

There has been continuous upgrades and new versions for hevc.

Personally, i have noticed that over the last year or so, a couple of my older devices that could play or stream hevc in the past can no longer do that with the latest hevc videos... either no video or no audio.

It is probably due newer n newer versions coming out.

So, do upgrade yr boxes as and when u find necessary!

On June 3, 2016, HEVC/H.265 version 4 was consented in the ITU-T and was not approved during a vote in October 2016.[33][34]
On December 22, 2016, HEVC/H.265 version 4 was approved as an ITU-T standard.[35][36]
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/High_Efficiency_Video_Coding

GuyM
post May 18 2017, 07:03 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 18 2017, 04:59 PM)
Something for old android box users to consider, plan...

I see a quite a lot of new videos now cominng out in hevc or h265 format.

Hevc is an efficient compression format, uses half that of h264.

There has been continuous upgrades and new versions for hevc.

Personally, i have noticed that over the last year or so, a couple of my older devices that could play or stream hevc in the past can no longer do that with the latest hevc videos... either no video or no audio.

It is probably due newer n newer versions coming out.

So, do upgrade yr boxes as and when u find necessary!
Sifu, Q16 still able to play those?
AVFAN
post May 18 2017, 07:26 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ May 18 2017, 07:03 PM)
Sifu, Q16 still able to play those?
That was really why i posted that...

Older ones can, latest ones cannot.

Time for u to get q10pro! biggrin.gif

Rocket
post May 20 2017, 12:04 PM

37 posts

Hi. i already bought roku. And already bought https://www.smartdnsproxy.com/
but why still didn't appear hulu apps. How to solve my issue on my LG smart tv
please help
Rocket
post May 20 2017, 12:17 PM

37 posts

please help me
idoblu
post May 20 2017, 12:18 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(saikit25 @ May 18 2017, 04:52 PM)
Seem smooth. I already got it. Shipping was fast thought. HDTV working well now.
Is kodi preinstalled in your gt1 ultimate? Mine seems not
TSdwRK
post May 20 2017, 12:18 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(Rocket @ May 20 2017, 12:04 PM)
please help
Which roku? Did you check Hulu & Roku sites FAQ, & your seller?

AFAIK Hulu comes pre-installed.

This post has been edited by dwRK: May 20 2017, 03:34 PM
aeiou228
post May 20 2017, 07:04 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 20 2017, 12:18 PM)
Is kodi preinstalled in your gt1 ultimate? Mine seems not
Can instal the latest Kodi from Play store. So, your box got dark screen issue?
idoblu
post May 20 2017, 07:32 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 20 2017, 07:04 PM)
Can instal the latest Kodi from Play store. So, your box got dark screen issue?
I spend whole afternoon setting it up and I haven't even added any add-on yet lol. I dunno what I'm doing.

I install YouTube but dunno why my remote can't move to the keyboard entry position or select any of the recommended videos

I installed Kodi 17 but it can't play any 5.1 sound 🤔

My box seems to hang a few times just going thru the menus. Had to on/off. And also gives an error that reads "unfortunately play store had to close" or something liddat

This post has been edited by idoblu: May 20 2017, 07:35 PM
TSdwRK
post May 20 2017, 09:14 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 20 2017, 07:32 PM)
I spend whole afternoon setting it up and I haven't even added any add-on yet lol. I dunno what I'm doing.

I install YouTube but dunno why my remote can't move to the keyboard entry position or select any of the recommended videos

My box seems to hang a few times just going thru the menus. Had to on/off. And also gives an error that reads "unfortunately play store had to close" or something liddat
YT normal apk needs mouse...want remote friendly use YT for TV...

Kodi 17...go Kodi thread & pls give more info...how you wired up, what 5.1 source, how you configure audio...

Sometimes new boxes best do factory reset...play with it a few more days, if problem persist, reset...

Normally new boxes I install and uninstall kaw kaw test for any issues ... and expect to reset before finally setting up the way I want it...

This post has been edited by dwRK: May 20 2017, 09:16 PM
voncrane
post May 21 2017, 12:05 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Rocket @ May 20 2017, 12:04 PM)
please help
Disclaimer: I'm not entirely familiar with the Roku system. But I reckon it should have some type of "app store"? Allowing you to search for and install the Hulu app, if it isn't pre-installed in the first place.. Which I also think it is..

For the LG smart TV and DNS.. You should check the TV's network settings for the option to set the DNS it should use in commucating. Setting it to that of USA (and if working..aka, not blocked by Hulu), should allow you to not only download the Hulu app onto the TV itself, but to also access USA content and watch without the need of an external device... Works on my Samsung TV... Same concept applies to Netflix.

Yeah, as suggested by dwRK.. The mobile version of the YouTube app does require a mouse to simulate the touching of the screen. There's however, a more TV Box friendly YouTube app (please Google). I can't recall the exact version.. But it's either the one made for the Android TV OS or its based off it. With this version, you can navigate the menus and videos using the d-pad of your remote.
idoblu
post May 21 2017, 09:36 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 21 2017, 12:05 AM)
Disclaimer: I'm not entirely familiar with the Roku system. But I reckon it should have some type of "app store"? Allowing you to search for and install the Hulu app, if it isn't pre-installed in the first place.. Which I also think it is..

For the LG smart TV and DNS.. You should check the TV's network settings for the option to set the DNS it should use in commucating. Setting it to that of USA (and if working..aka, not blocked by Hulu), should allow you to not only download the Hulu app onto the TV itself, but to also access USA content and watch without the need of an external device... Works on my Samsung TV... Same concept applies to Netflix.
Yeah, as suggested by dwRK.. The mobile version of the YouTube app does require a mouse to simulate the touching of the screen. There's however, a more TV Box friendly YouTube app (please Google). I can't recall the exact version.. But it's either the one made for the Android TV OS or its based off it. With this version, you can navigate the menus and videos using the d-pad of your remote.
QUOTE(dwRK @ May 20 2017, 09:14 PM)
YT normal apk needs mouse...want remote friendly use YT for TV...

Kodi 17...go Kodi thread & pls give more info...how you wired up, what 5.1 source, how you configure audio...

Sometimes new boxes best do factory reset...play with it a few more days, if problem persist, reset...

Normally new boxes I install and uninstall kaw kaw test for any issues ... and expect to reset before finally setting up the way I want it...
Thanks guys, I just need to learn up more
Btw is there any app I can install to make my smartphone into an air mouse? 😅
plumberly
post May 21 2017, 10:09 AM

4,761 posts

AA
Assuming that is not a brand new box, suggest clearing the memory and try again. Box needs some free MB memory to run properly.

BB
On Himedia remote, there is this REMOTE button. That will toggle the mouse function on and off. Try that and see.

Good luck.
Rocket
post May 21 2017, 10:19 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 20 2017, 12:18 PM)
Which roku? Did you check Hulu & Roku sites FAQ, & your seller?

AFAIK Hulu comes pre-installed.
Roku
roku streaming stick sir
I know hulu, hbo etc apps will not display at our lg smart tv
As long as u set the different dns that i bought from smartproxydns

But already set still didnt
Display
Rocket
post May 21 2017, 10:20 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 21 2017, 12:05 AM)

Already change at dns server but still have problem
AVFAN
post May 21 2017, 10:32 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(Rocket @ May 21 2017, 10:19 AM)
Roku
roku streaming stick sir
Display

QUOTE(Rocket @ May 21 2017, 10:20 AM)
Already change at dns server but still have problem
netflix has vowed to block all non usa users from getting into usa sites; can only access local sites.
some users have reported still possible, some say no more - whatever dns or vpn u use.
in all likelihood, work-in-progress.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3828808/+700

hulu, since it is all us based, the same thing may be happening.
may be worth yr while to ask in the netflix thread as some may be using both netflix and hulu, same or similar dns/vpn.
or start a new thread, see if any hulu user will comment.
TSdwRK
post May 21 2017, 10:33 AM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 21 2017, 09:36 AM)
Thanks guys, I just need to learn up more
Btw is there any app I can install to make my smartphone into an air mouse? 😅

Try CetusPlay...not air mouse though...

Host app run on box, client app run on phone. Get from Play Store

This post has been edited by dwRK: May 21 2017, 10:54 AM
TSdwRK
post May 21 2017, 05:51 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(Rocket @ May 21 2017, 10:19 AM)
Roku
roku streaming stick sir

Display
First make sure you have setup smartproxydns properly... verify using phone or pc by running Hulu, or play some TV shows from fox, cnbc, etc...or run some other usually geoblocked channel

Once confirm running and not geoblocked...then try the Roku channel store again...

fruitie
post May 21 2017, 10:27 PM

Rise and Shine
72,840 posts

Does anybody able to play videos on Tonton's live channels? I installed it via Google Play Store but nothing was played... sweat.gif

I wanna watch 8TV actually, any recommended free app? I just wanna watch once only because my face will be shown in a TV programme. tongue.gif Else, I will stick to AOTG via my iPad Mini. sad.gif
TSdwRK
post May 21 2017, 10:37 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 21 2017, 10:27 PM)
Does anybody able to play videos on Tonton's live channels? I installed it via Google Play Store but nothing was played... sweat.gif

I wanna watch 8TV actually, any recommended free app? I just wanna watch once only because my face will be shown in a TV programme. tongue.gif Else, I will stick to AOTG via my iPad Mini. sad.gif
Played on my Q16 few weeks back...

369 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0389sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:23 PM