Insurance Talk V4!, Anything and everything about Insurance

JIUHWEI
post Mar 7 2017, 12:31 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Mar 7 2017, 11:56 AM)
Is there any insurer in Malaysia that provides insurance for income protection? One example that I saw is Pay Assure from GE Singapore
Here's something for your reference:
GenNext <<< Click
lifebalance
post Mar 7 2017, 05:41 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Mar 7 2017, 03:48 AM)
Hi all, I want to know what's the "meaning" of Conventional Critical illnesses plan, due to:

1) can only covered or payout compensation for "very critical stage" of illnesses such as cancer at stage 3.

2) for early stage illnesses (like cancer stage 1/2) the insurance holder still need to pay the premium until like forever?

3) as I know, 3rd stage of cancer is very gg already... what's the meaning of such coverage that can only be activated at very critical conditions?? Insurance holder still need to fork out money to pay the premium even though the buyer had already sick but without any insurance compensation at all???

Pros side:

1) surrender value ada in the future.
2) both of premium and surrender value is increasing according to longer time the holder still pay the insurance. But of course, the value cannot exceed simple investment products because CI is offering protection.

Contrast side:
1) surrender value? For what? The premium holder gonna surrender it during he/she is very old which means grater possibility of "get sick/die"???

2) CI offering protection?? With 0 compensation at early stage of illnesses=protection?? It sounds like PI that "only bayar" when insurance holder died or "dying aka nearly died"...

Lastly I just want to seek for opinion what's the meaning/point to keep such conventional CI plan? Everyone telling me this CI plan is best because insurance company do not selling such/similar plan anymore.

But I dislike the "3rd stage cancer" part so much... what's the meaning if insurance holder sick but "not too sick yet" and he/she still gonna pay the insurance premium until like forever?

This sounds kinda absurd in my shallow opinion, please enlightens me. Thanks and good night. smile.gif
Critical illness plan acts as an income replacement because there is a probability that it will disable you from working in your job property. Whereas a 1st or 2nd stage cancer might not kill you, the payment from the early Critical Illness will help you with your finances.

What it means Critical Illness ? it's a sickness that would kill or render you disabled. If you can survive through it then definitely you'll need some cash on hand to take care of your health which is already partially or completely destroyed by the disease.

Always get sufficient coverage for yourself and transfer your risk to the insurance company.

QUOTE(heavensea @ Mar 7 2017, 04:33 AM)
Thanks jiansheng, for your informative feedbacks.

- Yes it is the older plan that you mentioned.
- The insurance gonna pay until 85 years old.
- This plan isn't cover early stage at all, which means I've to pay it unless I'm diagnosed with stated "very critical illnesses"..
- I do not set my priority in such long term CI plan, because of it's unreasonable for an aging person to surrender it during he/she is very old (6x-7x years old), so the surrender value is a double edge sword which is useless imho.
- Early stage illnesses compensation is one of the "most useful" protection in CI plan, no?

About the survival period, my CI comes with "death benifits".
The survival period is 30 days, is it too long? (Many plans are 14 days)

Good luck with your meeting with clientele, flight well smile.gif
whether Early or Late Critical Illness, there is always pros and cons to it, as long as you are sufficiently covered, the Critical Illness add on will be a bonus, make sure your death coverage is sufficient.

There are plans now which can last you up to 100 years old but whether it's wise or not to pay such premium for a longer period of time will depend on your financial status.

QUOTE(MANKiND @ Mar 7 2017, 10:57 AM)
Hi, I got question regarding travel insurance. If, I being hospitalized during my journey what should I do?

If, the bill is small the easiest should be I pay first and claim it back when I arrived in Malaysia?

What should I do If the bill is too expensive which I cannot afford? The insurance will made the payment before discharge?

If you're on travel insurance, you can pay first and file a claim, normally if it's clinically then the fees are quite affordable. If you get hospitalized then you can produce your insurance policy and wait for the GL

QUOTE(jutamind @ Mar 7 2017, 11:56 AM)
Is there any insurer in Malaysia that provides insurance for income protection? One example that I saw is Pay Assure from GE Singapore
There are income protection plans available from insurance company, feel free to meet up with your life planner to talk about it.
heavensea
post Mar 7 2017, 07:57 PM

9,616 posts

Thanks jiuhwei ans roysteve, I parking here and reply later. Having dinner and cont work, quite a busy day.
phoenix24
post Mar 8 2017, 12:35 PM

183 posts

Hi sifu sekalian,
I have a life insurance from GE since I was 1 years old with annual premium of RM 1.1k and sum assured only rm100k. I am currently 24 years old. Is this plan still good for me? Any recommendations of better plan out there?
Holocene
post Mar 8 2017, 12:42 PM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(phoenix24 @ Mar 8 2017, 12:35 PM)
Hi sifu sekalian,
I have a life insurance from GE since I was 1 years old with annual premium of RM 1.1k and sum assured only rm100k. I am currently 24 years old. Is this plan still good for me? Any recommendations of better plan out there?
Hey phoenix24,

You've got a protection of RM100k so that's definitely good. However if you're purely comparing cost to value then that's another case all together.

Another thing to consider is, I believe your plans comes with a high annual bonus/interest ie: your premium is 1k bonus also about there. But I could be wrong.

I rather you make an appointment with a professional agent and analyse what you need. Everyone's needs are different hence there is never a straight answer when it comes to whether a plan is good or not.

Best,
Jiansheng
lifebalance
post Mar 8 2017, 12:46 PM

10,162 posts

Hi sifu sekalian,
Will advise you to get a life planner to understand your personal financials need and guide you to get the right coverage.

Get your policy reviewed
ssh2222
post Mar 8 2017, 01:00 PM

123 posts

Hi sifu sekalian,
Hi phoenix24,

It really depends on your lifestyle and what's going on etc. The usual things that you'll need to take into consideration are whether you have any liabilities that need to be dealt with, or any dependents etc.

It's good that you're asking now, and it's always good to review (not just insurance) our situation from time to time.

Cheers,
Matt
jusTinMM
post Mar 8 2017, 11:28 PM

523 posts

Prudential wealth gain. Pay 25k per year for 3 years, every year can take interest out for 15 years. If don take interest will have bonus as well. Worth?
lifebalance
post Mar 8 2017, 11:36 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Mar 8 2017, 11:28 PM)
Prudential wealth gain. Pay 25k per year for 3 years, every year can take interest out for 15 years. If don take interest will have bonus as well. Worth?
You'll have to get a life planner to calculate for you the total return

Whether its worth or not depends on what you're looking for in returns or coverage. Each individual has a different gauge and I don't know your background so I can't really comment whether it's really worth for you.

Get them to analyse for you the need for protection, medical and your retirement plan

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Mar 8 2017, 11:51 PM
SUSMNet
post Mar 12 2017, 09:46 AM

11,954 posts

Hi sifu sekalian,
u should upgrade.
plumberly
post Mar 12 2017, 10:37 AM

4,761 posts

Like to know whether a car registered in Msia with 3rd party insurance is covered for 3rd party claim should one has an accident in Brunei, Spore or Thailand?

roimekoi
post Mar 12 2017, 12:22 PM

337 posts

lifebalance
do i need to do a premedical checkup before getting a medical insurance?

already have a savings link with AIA.

male 33
non smoker
software engineeer

This post has been edited by roimekoi: Mar 12 2017, 12:23 PM
lifebalance
post Mar 12 2017, 12:28 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(roimekoi @ Mar 12 2017, 12:22 PM)
lifebalance
do i need to do a premedical checkup before getting a medical insurance?

already have a savings link with AIA.

male 33
non smoker
software engineeer
If you're healthy with normal weight then there is no need for pre medical check up.
jacklok
post Mar 13 2017, 03:07 PM

74 posts

Hi all sifu, i am planning to get a medical card, may i know which insurance company offer best package? personally more toward prudential, but it seem not so popular here?

Age 26,
Non smoker,
Job Programmer.
Holocene
post Mar 13 2017, 03:11 PM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(jacklok @ Mar 13 2017, 03:07 PM)
Hi all sifu, i am planning to get a medical card, may i know which insurance company offer best package? personally more toward prudential, but it seem not so popular here?

Age 26,
Non smoker,
Job Programmer.
😅😅

Don't spill blood in the water by asking which insurance company offer the best package 😂

Anyways if you're comparing medical cards, this link will be able to give you a summary: http://www.howtofinancemoney.com/2016/03/b...d-malaysia.html

Once you've done with that you can pose your questions here

Best,
Jiansheng
jacklok
post Mar 13 2017, 03:13 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Mar 13 2017, 03:11 PM)
😅😅

Don't spill blood in the water by asking which insurance company offer the best package 😂

Anyways if you're comparing medical cards, this link will be able to give you a summary: http://www.howtofinancemoney.com/2016/03/b...d-malaysia.html

Once you've done with that you can pose your questions here

Best,
Jiansheng
Haha. Sorry for my straight forward. Anyway, thanks for the info, will look into it before continue my question. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
lifebalance
post Mar 13 2017, 03:17 PM

10,162 posts

Age 26,
Non smoker,
Job Programmer.
rclxms.gif best package is the "Agent" who services you.
TSroystevenung
post Mar 13 2017, 03:37 PM

2,173 posts

Age 26,
Non smoker,
Job Programmer.
Perhaps you may want to call up the hospitals nearby your area on their preferred insurance and work from there.
jutamind
post Mar 14 2017, 09:34 AM

2,429 posts

i understand that most if not all CI plan covers stroke, but i would like to ask whether stroke and being bedridden as a result, is considered as TPD, hence entitled to TPD payout of life insurance?
lifebalance
post Mar 14 2017, 09:44 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Mar 14 2017, 09:34 AM)
i understand that most if not all CI plan covers stroke, but i would like to ask whether stroke and being bedridden as a result, is considered as TPD, hence entitled to TPD payout of life insurance?

Good question!

Here's the answer to your question

"Total and Permanent Disability (Suited Occupation)" means total, permanent and continuous
disability where:
1. The Insured as a result of injury, sickness or disease, has not performed any work for a
continuous period of at least six (6) consecutive months solely due to the same injury, sickness or
disease; and
2. the Insured is attending a Physician and has undergone all reasonable and usual treatment
including rehabilitation for the injury, sickness or disease; and
3. in Our opinion the Insured, despite optimal medical care/treatment and rehabilitation efforts, is
unable ever again to work in:
(a) any occupation or regular duties for which he or she is reasonably qualified by
knowledge, training or experience; or
(b) any full time or part time occupation or regular duties in the case that the Insured was
not in paid employment in the month immediately preceding the onset of Disability; and
4. for the purpose of the definition of Total and Permanent Disability (Suited Occupation), it is
immaterial whether a business, occupation or regular duty is remunerated or not.

I'm pretty sure this is very clear, and yes to answer your specific question, if stroke renders you disabled continuously for 6 months, then TPD will be paid out.

138 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:21 PM