Insurance Talk V4!, Anything and everything about Insurance

TSroystevenung
post Feb 17 2017, 09:50 PM, updated 7y ago

2,173 posts

Welcome to the new 2017 Insurance discussion thread Version 4.00

Created Date: 17th Feb 2017

If you have any questions on insurance, just ask the experts in this thread!

>>> Link to Insurance Talk V3!

The Top 20 Thread Contributors in Insurance Talk V3
lifebalance 629
JIUHWEI 125
supersound 81
roystevenung 67
kokkit3 62
Holocene 60
adele123 58
ExpZero 55
cherroy 54
Ryannate 50
spreeeee 47
Ayrehn 46
MNet 40
Avangelice 37
ckdenion 34
leonard73 26
1tanmee 24
watabakiu 23
uforlife 22
Madgeniusfigo 21

This post has been edited by roystevenung: Feb 19 2017, 02:53 PM
TSroystevenung
post Feb 18 2017, 12:38 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Feb 17 2017, 11:47 PM)
No link to old threats?
Link to Insurance Talk V3
TSroystevenung
post Feb 28 2017, 07:36 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(soulmad @ Feb 27 2017, 10:09 PM)
hi all sifu,

need some advice
my mum bought from this MXM
underwrite by pacific insurance
The HOD have leave and join pbbank which now partner with mxm for next medical plan
now mxm very aggressive ask to upgrade to Lonpac insurance
say a lot existing pacific customer have upgrade

so my worry is if there are medical condition currently
what if after the upgrade then the lonpac only say cant claim.

If I choose to stay can they corporate agency simply terminate the policy?
or they need to be responsible to cover for their customer ?
or my mum can straightly deal with pacific for renewal?

pls advice
The insurance is an offer and acceptance process, meaning you apply and the insurer will offer (based on the known and acceptable risk).

Upon reviewing the proposal by the insurer it is ultimately up to you to whether accept the proposal or decline.

The same applies to upgrading. You need to fully declare any health condition that may impact how the policy is being underwrite.

Secondly for upgrading, there is no such thing as buy from company A, but upgrade with company B (unless B buys A).

For The Pacific Insurance, even though the plan is a standalone one, it is guaranteed to be renewed.

Any upgrade, it will have to go through Pacific Insurance and not Lonpac.

Suggest that you deal directly with Pacific Insurance if you want to upgrade.

Once they offer (due to the preexisting illness), you may decline if it is unfavorable for you to do so.

If you need contact person at Penang Pacific Insurance, I can email to you.

TSroystevenung
post Mar 7 2017, 11:15 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Mar 7 2017, 03:48 AM)
Hi all, I want to know what's the "meaning" of Conventional Critical illnesses plan, due to:

1) can only covered or payout compensation for "very critical stage" of illnesses such as cancer at stage 3.

2) for early stage illnesses (like cancer stage 1/2) the insurance holder still need to pay the premium until like forever?

3) as I know, 3rd stage of cancer is very gg already... what's the meaning of such coverage that can only be activated at very critical conditions?? Insurance holder still need to fork out money to pay the premium even though the buyer had already sick but without any insurance compensation at all???
It is best to refer to the policy document on the actual wording of the 36 Critical Illness as since 2005/6 (IIRC) the 36 CI list has been standardized. Older policies which has not been upgraded are not subject to the standardization, therefore a claim for CI in insurance company A may get approved, while it gets rejected (due to different wording) in company B.

But in general, yes, the meaning of CRITICAL Illness is sometimes referred to "point of no return" (very slim chance of recovery).

Let's put the plans aside and concentrate on what YOUR NEED, NOT WANT.

The general public buys the 36 Critical Illness because they fear if they suffers any of the 36 CI, for example Stroke or Cancer AND UNABLE TO WORK. When a person income stops, the bills wont. For example, which company is able to employ a person who does kidney dialysis 3 times a week from 11am~4pm or a person who is bedridden due to Stroke? This is where they see the need of the replacement of income.

In terms of insurance payout, the 36 CI is able to pay as a lump sum or as an annual income until age 70 (we call it Crisis Cover Income) and waives the policy premium (if payor or waiver is attached).

Now if the cancer is an early stage cancer, the chances of recovery is good, and probably one will be back to work after 2 or 3 months later. If you want to spend money to get protected for early stage, it is up to you.

Pros side:

1) surrender value ada in the future.
2) both of premium and surrender value is increasing according to longer time the holder still pay the insurance. But of course, the value cannot exceed simple investment products because CI is offering protection.
1/2. If one managed to lived that long, then congratulations are in order, but that should not be the priority when buying insurance. It is about giving you money when you need it the most especially during a human emergency. When you buy insurance it is for protection, not investment. If at the end of the tenure and you get some money, consider it as a bonus. The premiums paid is as an expense, not income/investment.

Contrast side:
1) surrender value? For what? The premium holder gonna surrender it during he/she is very old which means grater possibility of "get sick/die"???

2) CI offering protection?? With 0 compensation at early stage of illnesses=protection?? It sounds like PI that "only bayar" when insurance holder died or "dying aka nearly died"...

Lastly I just want to seek for opinion what's the meaning/point to keep such conventional CI plan? Everyone telling me this CI plan is best because insurance company do not selling such/similar plan anymore.
2. As mentioned, if you are worried of early CI, then buy plans with early CI. My advice is concentrate on the prolonged illness which STOPS us from working.

The policy document does not mentioned about cancer being "3rd stage", as long as these keywords are in the medical report ""malignant, invasive, destructive to the normal cells"" and not carcinoma in-situ cases, a file for cancer can be done.

Another important point is that the patient must survive for 30 days

But I dislike the "3rd stage cancer" part so much... what's the meaning if insurance holder sick but "not too sick yet" and he/she still gonna pay the insurance premium until like forever?

This sounds kinda absurd in my shallow opinion, please enlightens me. Thanks and good night. smile.gif
If he is "not too sick yet" to be considered as an insurance payout in the 36 Critical Illness, even if he has bought an Early Critical Illness, his insurance premiums will still needs to be paid, so I don't see your point here.

This post has been edited by roystevenung: Mar 7 2017, 11:23 AM
TSroystevenung
post Mar 13 2017, 03:37 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(jacklok @ Mar 13 2017, 03:07 PM)
Hi all sifu, i am planning to get a medical card, may i know which insurance company offer best package? personally more toward prudential, but it seem not so popular here?

Age 26,
Non smoker,
Job Programmer.
Perhaps you may want to call up the hospitals nearby your area on their preferred insurance and work from there.
TSroystevenung
post Mar 17 2017, 07:42 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(jojoe @ Mar 16 2017, 02:52 PM)
can someone suggest investment link insurance for
male
non smoker

~monthly rm250
my current policy been very long time and i think i should update it with the current latest offer.
Do a review with your current agent to do a top up if you find the coverage is insufficient. An upgrade (instead of getting a new one) is always for the policy holder benefit.

You may read more on my blog on why it is not beneficial to you to cancel a policy just to get a new one, if you feel bored.
TSroystevenung
post Mar 21 2017, 03:33 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(shahizz @ Mar 21 2017, 02:13 PM)
Hai everyone. I need some opinions from all sifus on my current situation that im facing right now.
Before that im 30 yrs old and still single and currently im having two insurance policy from AIA which is:
1) WHOLE LIFE PLUS NONPAR = 100K (issued jun 2012)
2) A-LIFE LINK-i = 161k (issued jan 2016)

Both insurance i paid for rm161.2 and rm267 each which is to me quite an amount.

Yesterday, my old old friend which is an insurance agent with ABC company came to me and ask me to bring my policy book. So keep the story short he wants to offer me a new insurance policy which is better than what im getting right now. Plus the amount i'll be paying lesser. He ask me to surrender the policy that im having right now which to me is not a good idea.

Any advice sifus/gurus?
Your so called old old friend is coming to you as an agent, and not as a friend. If he is really your old old friend, he wouldnt do such a thing.

If you are bored and got nothing to do you may read why it is not beneficial to cancel your old insurance plan just to start a new one at my blog.

TSroystevenung
post Mar 31 2017, 10:54 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Mar 31 2017, 02:01 AM)
ty
Be sure to buy the extended coverage for terrorism as well.
TSroystevenung
post Apr 1 2017, 10:14 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Apr 1 2017, 01:47 AM)
Etiqa is by maybank right ? Is it very hard to claim ?
Etiqa is etiqa, Maybank is selling Etiqa products to complement to their insurance needs.

Claims wise, it is going to Etiqa directly.

I wouldn't say Etiqa is hard to claim, as it is an insurance arm after all bounded by the terms and conditions as stipulated in the policy contract. If the event being claim is claimable, they are liable to pay the claim.

For the claims, just make sure the documentations are completely submitted and for that purpose, the front desk counter should be able to advice.
TSroystevenung
post Apr 1 2017, 10:16 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Apr 1 2017, 05:13 PM)
AIA sifus. can you verify this
My wife bought a premium from an agent. I am afraid we lost the policy booklet. Couldn't find the brochure in Website.

Premier Critical Cover - Coverage is Critical illness and personal accident.

Question: Is this a standalone or investment linked?
Paying RM 250 a month for 3 years now.
Premier Critical Cover seems to be offered by ING (which was then bought over by AIA). Therefore if you need further information, going to the AIA counter should be able to resolve your issue.

I take it that the agent that sold your wife the policy is no longer around? If not, you may also ask the agent.

TSroystevenung
post Apr 4 2017, 12:40 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 4 2017, 12:18 PM)
[attachmentid=8685369]

I am seeing this all over my social media and I can't help to share it here. it would be advisable for insurance companies or agents not to deceive people by using calculations like this. it's comparing apples to oranges of course the PRU cash looks better. not trying to flame people's rice bowl here but come on be honest in your dealings. this is something I cannot stand for.
That is not acceptable. You may write in and email to customer.mys@prudential.com.my so that action can be taken against the agent as it is not allowed to do such unfair comparison. Same goes to EPF.
TSroystevenung
post Apr 4 2017, 12:46 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(mdyyliew @ Apr 4 2017, 10:17 AM)
Hi Sifus,

First post here, would like to ask your opinions as I am currently lost in the sea of technical information.
My father bought a term life insurance for me since 12 years old which I took over. It covers RM100K with a premium of about rm1.2K yearly.

I am looking for early critical illness coverage and medical insurance so initially thought wanted to upgrade the plan. Found out I can't do that as the original insurance was by MAA which has been taken over now by Zurich. I was told that no changes can be made to the insurance except surrendering the policy for a value and signing up for a new one. I would most probably keep this insurance as it is just starting to accumulate cash value and I would definitely lose out if I surrender it now.

What kind of policy would sifus recommend me taking as my main aim now is just to get cover medically but most medical policy are riders on top of life insurance.

I am currently
30 years old
male
non smoker
Yearly income ~60K

Thanks in advance!
If the plan has been taken out from the market, changes to the policy may not be possible. Furthermore the plan is a traditional term policy, not as flexible as the Investment Linked Policy.

In this case you need to look for a new policy to complement to your needs (minus the term life of Rm100k).

Since you had just taken over the policy, do be advised to check and ensure that the nomination is up to date.
TSroystevenung
post Apr 4 2017, 12:51 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 4 2017, 12:45 PM)
you want me to report the whole cell in Prudential kuching? that's what is happening now as each of them are sharing it.
Yes, our digital marketing team will take appropriate action once an official notice is made. At times they even monitor social media and email directly to the agent/agency if found to be in violation with the rules of social media.

I was also cautioned a few weeks ago for using the Prudential logo in one of my FB page. cry.gif
TSroystevenung
post Apr 7 2017, 09:26 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(anson lee @ Apr 7 2017, 09:15 PM)
Dear forumers,

Wanna a case regarding myself .
My dad bought smth like an endowment policy for me 10-20 years back . Recently he told me it's matured but forgot the insurance company and misplaced the policy .
My question is there any possible or ways to check out which company it was ? We move to few new homes so I think my dad didn't update the address details .

Do hope few experienced master would give some advises and ideas ..thanks
Your dad needs to go to the insurer and present his IC to check whether he has any policy with it.
TSroystevenung
post Apr 8 2017, 08:44 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(anson lee @ Apr 8 2017, 01:55 AM)
Thanks for the feedbacks sir.
The problem is my dad deposit bought it when im a little boy and just informreality me lately regarding this issue. Just a blue policy book which I dont know which insurance company using it. Thats why im so heache currently rclxub.gif
Maybe snap a photo of the book? (Without any personal details of course)
TSroystevenung
post Apr 14 2017, 08:18 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(philipkyw @ Apr 14 2017, 07:35 AM)
Hi All,

I'm looking for medical insurance for 2 person. Below the summary info:

A:
Male, married, no kids
non-smoker, 34 yrs old
Electronic engineer (IT industry, work in office)
Annual income ~80K
Holds a medical card from AIA, but looking for top up on medical coverage.
Checked with AIA, my AIA plan is very old policy, and couldn't increase the coverage

B:
Female, married, no kids
non-smoker, 35 yrs old
Electronic engineer (IT industry, work in office)
Annual income ~75k
Holds a medical card from GE, but looking for top up on medical coverage

Any  medical insurance allow to claim Chemotherapy if not admitted? For how many terms?

Hope to get some recommendation. Thanks
To answer your question, for Cancer Treatment, unless the Doctor is able to justify that the treatment can be done as an inpatient it will be treated as an outpatient, not require to be admitted.

For Prudential, if the chemotheraphy can be pre-planned (example next week or two weeks later) then one may request the Doctor to fill up a form to request from Prudential a GL.
TSroystevenung
post May 3 2017, 10:10 AM

2,173 posts

[quote=arilrifter,May 3 2017, 12:13 AM]
As a Muslim, you'll need to take up a Takaful policy as it complies with all the shariah regulations and if you're still using a conventional policy, the investment return you're making could be non halal.

You'll also not benefit from your insurance in the event you pass away because a conventional policy for a Muslim will still be subject to Faraid distribution whereas the main reason using a Takaful policy is so that you may utilise Hibah to give the amount within the Takaful to your loves ones 100%.

In terms of benefit, I don't see there is any better coverage, probably you can enlighten me why you said so.

[/quote]
yup, true, as i said as a muslim the source of the investment is better for takaful as the source is halal..

hmm, true about faraid.. but for my policy I've already stated who will recieve the money.. so i guess faraid would not be a problem? the same process goes to my wife prubsn.. she also named her own choice of nominee..

" I don't see there is any better coverage" ?? umm i meant that from the tons of quotes ive recieved on insurance products offered to me... i see that conventional insurance offers more in terms of annual limit, c.i and death.. the reason i chose prubsn takaful, simply because the agent that met me was more educated and convinced me he knows what he is doing.. dont get me wrong, there's a ton of agents that i met online that were excellent.. however the problem was they were mostly based in KL and im based in penang.. prefer agent easy to reach if anything happens

[/quote]

Penang agent here, but travel to KL often. These days it is so easy to keep in touch via Whatsapp, Wechat and FB.

Claims are also made effortlessly using the GL, just need to collect all documents and pass to the agent.

On the conventional, you may select shariah compliant funds if you are worried of the halal status of the returns.

However in conventional insurance as a Muslim (even your EPF), the named nominee when receiving the death benefit shall act as an Executor to distribute the money in accordance to Faraid distribution.

This is also why EPF has started with Shariah compliant contribution and I believe its ultimate aim is to ensure that the participants money can be hibah instead of receiving it as an Executor.
EPF FAQ

In this respect, you may add on another life policy in Takaful and select hibah.

Otherwise, fasterlah get a Son so that the Faraid distribution will not go outside of your own family.
TSroystevenung
post May 3 2017, 11:23 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(vextor @ May 3 2017, 11:13 AM)
I bought standalone medical card before with AX_ , and offer me deductible option.

My case:
My company provide GHS cover up to RM20k. And I buy another standalone medical card AX_ and accept the deductible option, which is first RM20k will cover by my company and afterward will cover by AX_. The problem is AX_ did't provide me "Insurance Card" I have to pay first if anything happen and exceeded RM20k. My agent didn't tell me in advance. I like... bangwall.gif

Please double check before you commit this so call deductible option, just sharing nod.gif
Haha. I know just kidding  tongue.gif
It depends on the insurer. You may want to get the one with deductible from the same insurer as some insurer will allow you to claim seamlessly.

But then again, no one can guarantee you will be working for the same company till you retire, nor can the company guarantee that they will be using the same insurer the next year.

When you get a plan with high deductible, it would be better if you can standby the deductible amount (Rm20k) if the amount being claim is much more than the deductible amount.

For example, if the amount being claim is Rm60k, pay the Rm20k deductible in cash and use the medical card GL for the remaining Rm40k. After discharge, claim the Rm20k from your company insurance.

However, if the amount being claim is Rm25k, just pay the Rm5k and then settle the bill with Ax_

HTH
TSroystevenung
post May 3 2017, 12:11 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(vextor @ May 3 2017, 11:41 AM)
100% agree on this statement.
I have terminated the AX_ policy after the period expired as it is standalone and renew yearly.
Medical expenses is unpredictable and expensive, RM20k GHS provided by my company actually is nothing. Thus I have opted for proper coverage and High Annual Limit insurance policy.
I'm not saying that AX_ is not good, I just too lazy to read the T&C at that time when I sign the policy,  I made a big mistake.

Just sharing. Cheer.
High deductible plans do have its perks especially at older age and by applying the high deductibles, it helps to keep the insurance charges more affordable.

I hope that you are being made aware that plans with high annual limit will have the insurance charges of more than Rm10k per annum at age 70?

The deductible options are being used even by international insurer to keep the insurance charges lower especially at older age.

In insurance there is no free lunch icon_rolleyes.gif
TSroystevenung
post May 6 2017, 10:22 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 6 2017, 10:08 AM)
u need to cancel ur conventional policy and change to takaful as takaful is halal u can bring to akhirat.
doh.gif

I sincerely hope the above statement is just for trolling!

Your EPF contributions and conventional banking was also non Syariah compliant for years! laugh.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:00 PM