Insurance Talk V4!, Anything and everything about Insurance

Holocene
post Dec 19 2018, 08:51 AM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Dec 19 2018, 07:05 AM)
Hi guys,have a question here .
3 years ago I had bought a small insurance premium from Etiqa under a friend as an agent but recently found out he has jump ship to another insurance company.
So what should I do next if I’m unabke to contact him and if I want to terminate this coverage, would it be worth it to do so?
Although he has changed company, he is still able to service you. It is quite normal for agents to switch company but still service their clients that have policies in the old company.

As to what you want to do next, I’d suggest that you understand what your current insurance policy’s benefits and also the terms and conditions then only decide what you want to do next.

If you are unable to contact your friend, you can always call Etiqa’s hotline to get the following details:
- policy benefits
- new servicing agents contact details

Best,
Jiansheng
lifebalance
post Dec 19 2018, 09:47 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Dec 18 2018, 12:16 PM)
Hi guys, how to acquire past medical records that have been disposed by the hospital?

SJMC already disposed my records because I did not visit their hospital anymore for 7 consecutive years

now I need those records on my surgery to process for an application on life insurance
if disposed already then nothing much you can do, just inform record no longer available >7 years

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Dec 19 2018, 07:05 AM)
Hi guys,have a question here .
3 years ago I had bought a small insurance premium from Etiqa under a friend as an agent but recently found out he has jump ship to another insurance company.
So what should I do next if I’m unabke to contact him and if I want to terminate this coverage, would it be worth it to do so?
you can terminate directly by walking to the insurance company.

Whether it's worth to terminate or not depends on your evaluation of the insurance policy.
Mikeyz
post Dec 19 2018, 10:09 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Dec 19 2018, 08:51 AM)
Although he has changed company, he is still able to service you. It is quite normal for agents to switch company but still service their clients that have policies in the old company.

As to what you want to do next, I’d suggest that you understand what your current insurance policy’s benefits and also the terms and conditions then only decide what you want to do next.

If you are unable to contact your friend, you can always call Etiqa’s hotline to get the following details:
- policy benefits
- new servicing agents contact details

Best,
Jiansheng
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Dec 19 2018, 09:47 AM)
if disposed already then nothing much you can do, just inform record no longer available >7 years
you can terminate directly by walking to the insurance company.

Whether it's worth to terminate or not depends on your evaluation of the insurance policy.
Thanks guys for the feedback.it helps.Appreciated
Mr.Weezy
post Dec 19 2018, 05:55 PM

无处安放的魅力
945 posts

Is it possible to claim the medical checkup fees even though it's not panel clinic?
Holocene
post Dec 19 2018, 07:21 PM

945 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Dec 19 2018, 05:55 PM)
Is it possible to claim the medical checkup fees even though it's not panel clinic?
Advisable to check with your agent. There is a reason insurance company require panel clinics.

For Allianz, we are required to only use panel clinics for Medical Examination.

Best,
Jiansheng
lifebalance
post Dec 20 2018, 10:02 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Dec 19 2018, 05:55 PM)
no, must be panel to the insurance company. If it's a check up done previously, no claim/reimbursement
watabakiu
post Dec 20 2018, 11:20 PM

1,572 posts

in my younger days (some 10 years ago), I bought an ILP insurance with allianz (friend brought me out for drink and propose the plan, to which i simply subscribed), but a couple of months later, i have not paid since. will it impact on me subscribing to any other allianz products in the future? in any case, i do not intend to continue with the ILP insurance plan that I subscribed to earlier, as the benefits may differ
Holocene
post Dec 21 2018, 07:07 AM

945 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Dec 20 2018, 11:20 PM)
in my younger days (some 10 years ago), I bought an ILP insurance with allianz (friend brought me out for drink and propose the plan, to which i simply subscribed), but a couple of months later, i have not paid since. will it impact on me subscribing to any other allianz products in the future? in any case, i do not intend to continue with the ILP insurance plan that I subscribed to earlier, as the benefits may differ
No, it will not impact your future application in anyway given this occured more than 10 years ago.

Best,
Jiansheng
exia5733
post Dec 21 2018, 01:16 PM

53 posts

Hi Sifus. Wonder if anyone can enlighten me. I have an existing investment linked medical/life policy with AIA. I took up the policy while employed with a bank. This plan was only for employees of the said bank. Years later, I find that Iwant to increase my coverage but I can't since this plan is no longer offered. What would be the best course of action? Should I cancel the existing plan? It's very outdated..... thanks much
wild_card_my
post Dec 21 2018, 01:21 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(exia5733 @ Dec 21 2018, 01:16 PM)
Hi Sifus. Wonder if anyone can enlighten me. I have an existing investment linked medical/life policy with AIA. I took up the policy while employed with a bank. This plan was only for employees of the said bank. Years later, I find that Iwant to increase my coverage but I can't since this plan is no longer offered. What would be the best course of action? Should I cancel the existing plan? It's very outdated..... thanks much
You should only cancel if you feel like the premium vs coverage is not enough compared to the one in the market. Even then, please consider the fact that the first 6 years of your new policy not all of the premium paid goes into your account. A portion would go towards the "direct distribution costs" of the policy

My general recommendation is to keep the policy, and get a new policy to top it up, especially if it is life-insurance based. If it is medical-based, quite likely the coverage is downright worse than what you can get in the market. Of which you may prefer to just start over, but keep in mind that you would have to restart the 120 days grace period for any illnesses, and this can be extended further if it has been found that your illness is "pre-existing" but never showed any symptoms.

abcdefghijason
post Dec 22 2018, 12:14 PM

Hi all, can anyone here recommend a Great Eastern agent I can consult with? Have a few queries on my existing policy and looking to work up a plan to move forward.

Thanks!
lifebalance
post Dec 22 2018, 12:18 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(exia5733 @ Dec 21 2018, 01:16 PM)
You can keep the existing policy and get an additional policy with AIA for additional coverage

QUOTE(abcdefghijason @ Dec 22 2018, 12:14 PM)
Hi all, can anyone here recommend a Great Eastern agent I can consult with?  Have a few queries on my existing policy and looking to work up a plan to move forward.

Thanks!
I can recommend you some
SUSMNet
post Dec 22 2018, 06:27 PM

11,954 posts

GE ILP can switch the fund online.
But Allianz still lack of it, still need fill in the form and submit to agent or walk in to center
TSroystevenung
post Dec 23 2018, 01:43 AM

2,173 posts

This thread is now officially closed. Its time for Insurance Talk V5! >>>

>>>> Link to V5 Insurance Discussion

0.0350sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:46 AM