65 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

SUSyklooi
post Jun 13 2017, 08:53 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jun 13 2017, 08:47 AM)
I am trying to look for an answer for my own self. How does one distinguish between "catching a falling knife" vs "top up when dips".

It seems (for me) the answer is in the rate of falling. If the rate of falling is fast, that's a falling knife. If it slowed down, then you can consider top up.

So now the next question is to determine the rate of falling.
hmm.gif I guess, as normal prediction would be from general everyday observation.....
if one were to try his/her luck frequently, to try to catch a falling knife....there will be a lot of times for him/her to have his fingers cut
SUSyklooi
post Jun 14 2017, 08:23 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Vinzcent @ Jun 14 2017, 08:15 PM)
Thanks Ramjade, didnt know it will take 4 days to process  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
hmm.gif may not be relevant or important to you....
depends on what from and what to.....
I sold my KBF on 13/6 to buy CMF
transaction date is 14/6
CMF transaction date will be 20/6
a/c reflected will be 21/6......
how many days in total?.... rolleyes.gif blush.gif

SUSyklooi
post Jun 15 2017, 11:08 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(cloudre01 @ Jun 15 2017, 11:06 AM)
Hi May I know where do you guys obtain the correlation matrix for the various funds in previous posts?
Read post# 5122, page 257....by Dasecret.... thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jun 15 2017, 11:10 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jul 1 2017, 10:42 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Jul 1 2017, 09:55 AM)
well...Depends on how you look at it.  smile.gif
The fact is still the funds in managed portfolio did gain total of 1.75%  smile.gif

I am not bitching about i gain 1.75%...  whistling.gif
rclxms.gif yes,...I understand what you meant.....
the actual fund performed MOM is + 1.75%

mad.gif I thought mine was better......without taking into consideration of other things like asset ratio, RR, diversification, volatility, time of entering etc, etc.....
just for shiok sendiri.....my DIY fund MOM performance is +1.56% (as at 29/6), which is about 12% lesser then my FSM Managed Port

SUSyklooi
post Jul 1 2017, 10:45 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 1 2017, 10:37 AM)
To be fair, one or two months are just too short to see anything.
thumbup.gif + 1 thumbsup.gif
and there is the period of corrections too....
to compare how much it dived in comparison with our own DIY port......
in which, at that time, I think Algozen 11% port would fare very much BETTER.
SUSyklooi
post Jul 1 2017, 11:00 AM

8,188 posts

at time like this today and any other days......
when one feel that he/she is in "heaven" with his portfolio composition and results.....
just an unqualified friendly reminder.......

SUSyklooi
post Jul 1 2017, 11:33 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Jul 1 2017, 11:17 AM)
Pokemon style  biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=8934281]
can you put in the % for each of the funds for this Aggressive Portfolio?

page 277 post 5532 has Moderately Aggressive port listing with the % of allocation....(attached for ease of referencing comparing)

hope you can share the % so that discussion can be further made here....

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jul 1 2017, 11:35 AM

SUSyklooi
post Jul 4 2017, 08:55 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(HahaCat @ Jul 3 2017, 08:38 PM)
My intention is to ask a very legitimate question. But it seems like there isn't an answer here.
post 5959 by aoisky did replied it few days ago....
now I am also saying....yes Mr Chen Fan Fai is still with EI....(info obtained by calling FSM CS, btw I am no platinum)
I try my best to find ways to do better, to do more, to squeeze out that little bit extra and to build my investment. But really, I am sure the more seasoned FSM investor here understand why I ask about Mr. Chen Fan Fai.
if I am not mistaken, I think Mr Chen had not been personally mirco managing individual funds investment in EI for sometimes.....
not sure about others and I am not a seasoned UT investor too, but I too liked to make bit extra and build my investment, BUT I will not " do more, to squeeze out that little bit extra and to build my investment". ....
if I would do that, I will eventually end up committing most of my funds to Small cap and M'sia .
I would just make a portfolio of funds and currently I have 2 EI funds in my portfolio......which is also < 15% in total.
for which when I got them, I did not even looked to know who the FMs are.......I just noted it was from EI and among other things but not the FM's name.
I may be wrong, but I think a FH would have a team/group of people to set directions, manage risks, seek consensus agreement on analysis of risks and opportunities
with that, plus < 15% of my funds in EI or any other FHs,.....(not all funds in EI are good too) and I tried not to place all eggs into a same basket thus same FH.
Good people, geopolitical changes, business direction or policy changes in the FH can come and go; but I want my port to be intact when that happens......a good company should be dependence on no single one employee.

btw, those that wanted a CIO of a FH to personally manage the fund, (as stated in the prospectus...Designated Fund Manager), and yes a good tracked record fund too can try this wholesale fund.....

http://affinhwangam.com/list-of-funds/mixe...nd-ii/#tab-id-3

Occasionally you can see me in some FSM events by invitation, last I went is Affin Hwang's talk in Bangsar Le Midi,probably one of the youngest attendees. Hehe. Thanks Eugene Lye for the invitation and if you're reading, keep it coming wink.gif
thumbsup.gif good that you got such a good deal/lubang.  notworthy.gif   rclxms.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jul 7 2017, 11:42 PM

8,188 posts

wow, last nite was at Ubb Cash trust and tonite is here....I just love visiting FBIH....

anyway, "may" I suggest you 2 wisemen call it a day by not responding to one another....
investing is fully of uncertainty, risk and noises thus posting here should be too...just take it like a pinch of salt....
I think forummers here both new and old should be able wise enough to differentiate the may be right and may be wrong posts.
SUSyklooi
post Jul 10 2017, 06:55 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ganaesan @ Jul 10 2017, 06:18 PM)
Bro Why keep holding to non performing fund house like PM... I like tht statement mati pucuk.. They used to perform well last time,{making around 8%returns per annum max} but for some years their fund managers are sleeping I guess.. Taking us for granted cos they know money keep coming in due to their established company name..

Jus my penny advise..
fyi,
I do keep some money with PM.....it is for the benefits of their group insurance plan called Public mutual life plus....
which I think is very worthy....
jus my penny advise too.
SUSyklooi
post Jul 10 2017, 07:30 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ganaesan @ Jul 10 2017, 07:17 PM)
Are you referring to ittekal sequel fund?
no,....I am holding Asia Ittikal at minimum just to be eligible to buy this

http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...2bc%3D&tabid=69

SUSyklooi
post Jul 10 2017, 08:39 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jul 10 2017, 08:20 PM)
need min of 150,000 MGQP...  cry.gif
I do not have 150,000 MGQP so I opt to pay RM990 for the 200K coverage
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...et=HJ3tj6KZoXw=

so don't cry.gif

SUSyklooi
post Jul 10 2017, 08:48 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jul 10 2017, 08:45 PM)
I cant do that as well if I got PM funds?
I got RM10k in PM, so can buy RM200K insurance
if I could so could you....(unless policy just changed)
talk to your agent or call up PM Office to check?

SUSyklooi
post Jul 10 2017, 11:53 PM

8,188 posts

just for shiok/grumbling sendiri.....

some says that there are currently dips in many sectors/regions but my port performance seems to be going nowhere from 1 June till 7 July..... blush.gif
don't just focus on A fund but look at the overall composition...
currently I am at 28% FI

SUSyklooi
post Jul 11 2017, 08:28 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jul 11 2017, 01:16 AM)

Seriously why cant FSM have a built in IRR calculator in their website??
QUOTE(drew86 @ Jul 11 2017, 07:32 AM)
Let's all drop them an email to request. I've been planning to do so. Just too lazy to input into excel and always have hiccups while doing so.
Seriously what are you trying to achieve? biggrin.gif
for my case, I think it may not be a wise idea to have an IRR incorporated into my FSM a/c.
1st,. like myself....I have 2 UT investment a/c ....1 with FSM and 1 with Affinhwang........thus have to consolidated my UT investment performance
2st,....like myself....it was not a good feeling and at times demoralising when after 3 1/2 years of UT investing.....the IRR shows < 4% which make me wonder if I did make a wrong judgement in investing in UT instead of chasing FD promo tongue.gif

anyway I think IRR is a wise call to have IRR data in the FSM a/c too, for it could be informative to some group of investors.......

but what I learnt from here last year was IRR did not consider your learning curves factor.....so for those that had long period of depressing IRR value , like I did,.....
unless you keep holding the same portfolio for years and still not keen to change.......
I did the normal IRR (since investment date start) and I also consider another IRR value from which I made major changes to my portfolio composition (since new portfolio start)......
but when reviewing the IRR of this new port I also have to consider the timing of my new port entry..for I may have been lucky that the timing of my new port formation could have coincided with the mkt upswing period ....just like this latest port formation and entry.....
I will have to wait for a major correction to see how my port formation stand after the major sell off before I can tell if my port is anywhere near/close to better than the last one.

good and bad actions are shown in IRR that exclude the good or bad actions made recently to change the past performance......

SUSyklooi
post Jul 11 2017, 09:09 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Jul 11 2017, 08:47 AM)
i agree. very disheartening when you see it's still less than 4% or even 8% per year. i mean, just trying to outdo FD only ma. not as easy for some i guess.
have to gives some encouragement to new investors too.....since I made major changes in Jan this year (from 45% in SC, 5% in FI to 15% SC and 28% FI) my ROI increased >12% ...way better than FD biggrin.gif

yes, at times I was bangwall.gif just 4% cannot beat doh.gif that is true....it is not easy for some people and for some period of time.

but will it be better of if I held on to my last year's composition? well I think the result would have been better than 12%...but from my chart trend...my port can also drop abt 7% if I held on to my past port composition.(Dec to Jan 2016)
I did a gamble in Dec 2015 to try to boost up my ROI / IRR by going in heavy on SC....... doh.gif entered at wrong period of time

now I am trying to stabilise it and see if I can have a better port with minimal dependent on timing.
trying to forget the past IRR results and instant trying to learn and try improve on it
thus with my kind of DIY and constantly changing investment trial and error approach...ROI is a better data for me for now.

SUSyklooi
post Jul 11 2017, 09:21 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Jul 11 2017, 09:02 AM)
that may be so. for me, i'm a simple person. just wanna know how much i made over said time. that's it. but of course that simple idea might not be agreeable with some pros here.
for a simple man,ROI is good enough to tell you how much you had made over time...but just at what % rate per year?
try to mentally do a simple division of the ROI value by the number of year invested......that would give a very rough idea of the IRR rate to see if it is worthwhile to continue to pursuit more on this IRR to determine if the Risk in investing is worthy of this IRR value gained......

SUSyklooi
post Jul 13 2017, 12:09 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 13 2017, 11:01 AM)
You are confusing the term NAV here. Please don't mix up total asset with Nav.

Total asset = Sum of stock + Cash = Nav * total units.
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 13 2017, 11:07 AM)
NAV includes in the value of assets regardless is cash/stock value. NAV can be manipulated by distribution/unit split but end of the day it still reflects how much is the fund worth.
QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 13 2017, 11:09 AM)
Your quote clearly indicated that Nav = Total asset / No of units.

Nav itself is NOT the total  !
icon_rolleyes.gif everyone....

it seemed or maybe seemed to be a different interpretation of NAV......
both are corrects, just from a different point?

Most of the investors here noted NAV as the price of the fund
which is according to this Kenanga prospectus as "Net Asset Value (NAV) per Unit"

Net Asset Value (NAV) per Unit = Net asset value per Unit of the Fund is the NAV divided by its total number of Units in circulation

There is another NAV value according to Kenanga.....

Net Asset Value (NAV) = Net asset value of the Fund is the total value of the Fund’s assets minus its liabilities at the valuation point.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...ctusMYKNGGF.pdf

SUSyklooi
post Jul 13 2017, 12:24 PM

8,188 posts

3. What are open-ended and closed-end Unit Trust Funds?

There are two types of Unit Trust Funds in the market, i.e. Open-ended fund and Closed-end Fund.

 Open-ended Fund. This type of fund has no restrictions on the amount of units the fund will issue. When an investor purchases units in such Fund, more units will be created to meet the purchase request.
When investors redeem their units, the units will be cancelled. If the redemption amount is high, the fund manager may have to sell some of the fund's investment / underlying asset in order to meet the redemption request.

 Closed-end Fund. This type of fund has a limited number of units. Unlike Open-ended Fund, new units will not be created by the Fund Manager to meet demand from investors. Instead, the units can be redeemed / sold by the investors.

https://www.hsbc.com.my/1/PA_ES_Content_Mgm..._trust_fund.pdf

icon_rolleyes.gif peace again....

both are correct but from different perspective?
SUSyklooi
post Jul 13 2017, 12:31 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Jul 13 2017, 12:09 PM)
Being the reader of forum for so many years. But, some posts here force me to register an account to write something.  smile.gif
QUOTE(i1899 @ Jul 13 2017, 12:26 PM)
According to page 45 of latest annual report of Inter-pac, the largest investor is not FSM.

For Inter-pac Dana Safi, only 1 investor holds 83.33% of the fund on 31/03/2017. The unit held are 3,484,321, shown on page 7.

On page 45, section 10. Units held by the Manager and related parties , shows that it is Inter-Pacific Capital Sdn Bhd that holds 3,484,321 units. Therefore, the largest holder of this fund is Inter-pac itself.
thumbup.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
you joined today just to clarify this...thank you for joining in. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

65 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0530sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:14 PM