65 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

SUSyklooi
post Aug 15 2017, 02:41 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Aug 15 2017, 02:28 PM)
FSM recommended Moderately Aggressive portfolio just re-balanced with 5% less FI to more 5% EQ  brows.gif
Currently set 20:80 for FI:EQ, was 25:75  brows.gif
Thanks for the updates on yr observation....
That is not what FSM had been telling others lately....in their latest article...they are telling others to increase FI😠
SUSyklooi
post Aug 16 2017, 08:28 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Aug 15 2017, 10:51 PM)
Yeah read it and also the other infomation in the website regarding the managed portfolios. Since in a fresh graduate and baru je mula kerja, i believe the agressive portfolio would be the best option to me. Im aware of all the risks and the 1.25 service charge and the 0.5% annual fee. I also know that this portfolio (and the other 4) are well suited for people like me la, who have no interest to research and manage own funds smile.gif .what i would like are opinions on people who have bought the portfolios as the trial run graph of the portfolios seems good.
hmm.gif what opinion may I ask?
well, I had Moderately Aggressive since it launch in end May...till now has a gain of 2.04%. .....nothing to be report about since this port is just 2 .5 months old

well on this ....." suited for people like me la, who have no interest to research and manage own funds" .......
this managed portfolio is just a extra portfolio of mine for I also DIY my onw funds thru FSM for some years.
what I noticed that some forummers that had managed portfolios also has their DIY port too.
SUSyklooi
post Aug 26 2017, 06:21 PM

8,188 posts

cry.gif nothing to top up....all is within my next year planned allocation rclxms.gif
just planning maybe switch 5% allocation from EISC to TA Global Tech
lower vol and less correlation to existing KGF...
TA 5% & EISC 5% each of 2018 portfolio.

2018 planned approximate allocation
KFG 15%
RHB EMBF 14%
Ponzi 1.0 14%
Ponzi 2.0 10%
Manu Reit 10%
AHSBF 10%
Greater China 5%
EI GLF 5%
TA Glb Tech 5%
India 5%
AMPRS Reits 4%

port did well this year, hope and wish latest port could do abt the same or better in terms of ROI & volatility

SUSyklooi
post Aug 26 2017, 07:15 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Aug 26 2017, 07:13 PM)
Mind sharing the 2017 composition ?
just remove the TA GT

This post has been edited by yklooi: Aug 26 2017, 07:17 PM

SUSyklooi
post Aug 28 2017, 09:13 AM

8,188 posts

done switched 1/2 of EISC to TAGTF
done taken out 1% of CMF to enjoy fruit of the labour
done prepared my port for 2018.....
will just need to twerk from now till Jan if "things" does not sway too much....
SUSyklooi
post Aug 28 2017, 10:22 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Aug 28 2017, 10:13 AM)
You have 5% equity in India, China etc but you have like >20% in Malaysia. Quite a heavy bet in bolehsia.
My % of allocation is partially based on the 3yrs volatility ratio number....less for its higher number
SUSyklooi
post Aug 28 2017, 10:30 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Aug 28 2017, 10:26 AM)
I am now trying to avoid imagining some guy twerking. I hope you look like Shakira  biggrin.gif
Simplify it...try imagine shakira at 55 yrs n pregnant 7mths...ha-ha..get it?
SUSyklooi
post Aug 28 2017, 01:01 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Aug 28 2017, 11:31 AM)
Actually I think he was not totally consistent in using the 3 year volatility as the way to allocate.

I just did a quick check, ponzi 2.0 has higher return and better volatility compared to KGF, but allocation wise it is 10% vs 15%. 

Eastspring Dinasti also higher return and lower volatility compared to Cimb Greater China.

Or it was because these are moving figures, and thus it can't be strictly adhered to ?
On this...."Actually I think he was not totally consistent in using the 3 year volatility as the way to allocate."
I try to use the attached yard stick matrix for my % of allocation...will try to use it as much as possible....
just started to use it in Oct 2016...not sure if this yard stick matrix is suitable for me or not in the long run......but as for now just need to wait for "BAD" things to happens to see how much the swing of the port will be.....

on this...."I just did a quick check, ponzi 2.0 has higher return and better volatility compared to KGF, but allocation wise it is 10% vs 15%".
Ponzi 2.0 was supplemented by my CIMB Greater china and my Ponzi 1.0
thus lower allocation given to Ponzi 2.0 VS KGF

I selected CIMB Greater China instead of EI Dinasti even though Vol was higher bcos in of its calendar year performance .......(see attached) and also it was a recommended fund biggrin.gif

on this....." consideration of the current political environment that is plaguing the country and that darn loan we need to service".....
I think the worst had been over for M'sia....now it is either up or stagnant...... sweat.gif just hope I am right on the upswing for it has started on the low point already. blush.gif

SUSyklooi
post Aug 31 2017, 01:46 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Aug 31 2017, 12:51 PM)
Best to take profits now, as we’re all a bit too relaxed about North Korea

‘Asian markets, and in particular South Korean assets, are especially vulnerable to a further deepening of the crisis’

Serious question: shall we?
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 31 2017, 12:56 PM)
meh. weak hearted investors will run and be afraid.

true investors will take the chance to buy more
QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 31 2017, 01:34 PM)
Good friend Avangelice,

What do you think, good friend, perhaps such an answer is not appropriate as it has no benefit to the reader. Perhaps, good friend, you may consider saying in an alternative way such as this:

"Such event is of little consequence to an investor who still is far away from retirement. This investor, perhaps is in the twenty something age, many winters and summers yet to experience before reaching retirement. He should not be overly concern with short term world 's ups and down.

However, for someone who is perhaps may need to use the money in six month or less, then such an investor is appropriate to watch the news more closely and react accordingly.

Weak or true is not an appropriate measure of an investor, length of time expected to hold the investment asset is a better gauge"

Xuzen
hmm.gif I think one should just dig deeper to see how his actual port compositions are.....
I just checked mine......even though having multiple funds that has "link" to just Korea or North Asia region.....
the % allocated is just insignificants.....in terms of invested amount.

now the questions is...if there is really a war in NK....where or which region is not affected?
if really anticipating a war...Korea equity is NOT the only country equity one should get out of now....whether one is old or young.

SUSyklooi
post Sep 4 2017, 09:24 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Sep 4 2017, 09:16 PM)
finally market wake up tomorrow after 5 days sleep!

I think the longest sleep?

Even festive season also never sleep that long! haha
ya-lor....what a drag....
OT...a colleague of mine said he used Maybank2U to transfer money to me on 30 Aug.....till now still not reflected in my PBB... bangwall.gif
still not sure if he did pay me or not doh.gif
SUSyklooi
post Sep 8 2017, 01:16 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Sep 7 2017, 10:12 PM)
The managed portfolios dump GTF on the last working day of Aug. Just wondering developed markets really that bad?
[attachmentid=9115605]
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 7 2017, 10:13 PM)
us economy is over bought and is facing a bubble burst.
QUOTE(toiletking2006 @ Sep 8 2017, 11:39 AM)
They actually save ur ass. Global titans dropped alot these dew days. Due to sudden strengthening of ringgit. Btw, for mine they are buying into amincome plus fund.
hmm.gif FYI,
the composition of my CIMB GTF as at today is similar to as at June 2017 in my Managed portfolio....at 18%
so is % of composition of my Amincome Plus fund at 7%
both no changes since June 2017

This post has been edited by yklooi: Sep 8 2017, 01:19 PM

SUSyklooi
post Sep 8 2017, 02:06 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(toiletking2006 @ Sep 8 2017, 02:01 PM)
Please check ur.monthly statement for August 2017. They are reducing Exposure to EQ. And going overweight on FI. Allocation to Global titans KGF Ponzi 2 and two eastspring funds are reduced on 30/8.

For newbie like me, it is better to use managed port while I am learning how to diy my own portfolio
my portfolio is Moderately aggressive and what is your?
SUSyklooi
post Sep 10 2017, 02:00 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 10 2017, 12:39 PM)
For those that don't do DCA and do lump sum, how do you separate your gains by purchase time.

I  purchased during August last year, April , Jun, July this year.  I would like to individually monitor the gains categorized by time of purchase. Is there any quick method to do that other than going through the history and manually calculating?

eg:- I would like to see my to date gains for my purchase in August 2016, April 2017 , jun 2017 and July 2017 separately.
for lump sum.....this did come into my mind....

SUSyklooi
post Sep 11 2017, 10:52 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 10 2017, 04:10 PM)
They combine all the purchases for a single fund which means i have to manually separate them by time. Doable but just wondering how anyway to get it automatically.
hmm.gif this is what i can think of.....
even "automatic" if doing it DIY...it will have to manually compensate the "extra units" after each distribution....
if that is OK....make some changes to the Polarbearz's file as in post 1 to suits your requirement....for it has an auto NAVs function.

else if does not want to manually update "extra units" after each distribution....
then have to content with doing it as per post 8535

else....buy someone a starbuck coffee everytime you wanted the ROI status.... biggrin.gif

hmm.gif or maybe if we are lucky, some forummers can help to provide some enlightenment..... notworthy.gif

SUSyklooi
post Sep 11 2017, 10:12 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(tjuin @ Sep 11 2017, 09:38 PM)
it does not...im just asking coz thrs a tab in the file on fund allocation and was wondering why its not specified in the factsheet...
its 20%
I have just 10%... and are using this ratio and it may not be correct....but at 10% it does not matter much to me...

This post has been edited by yklooi: Sep 11 2017, 10:20 PM

SUSyklooi
post Sep 12 2017, 12:55 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Sep 12 2017, 12:30 AM)
Personally I'd go for before hedging % as the chance of getting it right is higher than after hedging. But the USD denominated bond doesn't mean it's issued by a US corp la; any corp in any country can issue USD bond, but it's unlikely for a SG company to issue an IDR/MYR denominated bond
that is why i use the 19% instead of 39% as us exposure....
Anyway...i also take into consideration that this is a bond fund thus the volatility is so much less than normal usd exposed eq fund...and at 10% exposure.....like i said it does not matter much

This post has been edited by yklooi: Sep 12 2017, 01:03 AM
SUSyklooi
post Sep 19 2017, 08:12 PM

8,188 posts

between 15/9 and 18/9.....my AHSBF dropped 0.67% hopefully it is distribution effect.....
but on further look......at 10% of portfolio in it....it affected my ROI by 0.067%......and if IRR.....abt 0.0155% of my portfolio....
hmm.gif should I ranting.gif or rolleyes.gif wait and sleep on it?
SUSyklooi
post Sep 22 2017, 11:45 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(estherkon @ Sep 22 2017, 12:28 AM)
Not an expert, but what I did was use the equity portion of FSM's Moderately Aggressive portfolio in the ratios suggested and then topped up the bond portion with Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund:
[attachmentid=9162329]
thanks for sharing, safe port.....I think it should be more towards Moderately Conservative....
SUSyklooi
post Sep 28 2017, 10:32 PM

8,188 posts

anyone compared one's DIY port against FSM's Managed portfolio during this 1 week?
how was the performance of the DIY port?
my DIY port is losing approximately 2x of the FSM Moderately Aggressive port losses
SUSyklooi
post Oct 11 2017, 12:42 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Streetrat @ Oct 11 2017, 12:14 PM)
Hi guys, i'm a total beginner and would like to ask for some advice. I just started investing in public mutual few months ago with minimum initial investment, but lucky enough before putting in more money i found fundsupermart. I've read about half of this tread and am interested to join in. Heres some questions that i hope you guys can help to answer.

1. How should i diverse my fund if i plan to invest 10k/50k/100k? any different?

2. Should i put in 1 lump sum in different fund, or should i RSP for the DCA? How should i divide my RSP?

3. I understand that in short term, the funds might drop. So is it safe to say that if i plan to invest at least 5 to 10 years, then i wont need to worry about the drop?

4. I remember a story about Xuzen in the first few pages in this tread, can i ask why did xuzen sell the fund when it drop 20%? if xuzen remain with the fund and in a few years time the fund rise back, what will happen then. example. I buy fund A for RM1.2, then drop to RM1, and in few years rise back to RM1.5, is my understanding correct that i have earn Rm0.3?

5. RHB cash management fund 2, from what i understand the profit per annual is around 3.3-3.5 with 0 risk, this fund is something like a bank fixed deposit correct?  Is there any fund with minimal risk, give reasonable return and i can take out cash whenever i want without any charges? better then put in FD.

Currently this are the questions that i can think of, i'm sure more questions will come soon after i read more from you guys.

Thank you very much.
1. How should i diverse my fund if i plan to invest 10k/50k/100k? any different?
how to diversify...
https://www.google.com/search?rlz=1C1AOHY_e...1.0.i6gxaqOcGjc

2. Should i put in 1 lump sum in different fund, or should i RSP for the DCA? How should i divide my RSP?
Lumpsum or DCA?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Averaging-1526

3. I understand that in short term, the funds might drop. So is it safe to say that if i plan to invest at least 5 to 10 years, then i wont need to worry about the drop?
try read post#6...there are some links (which did not direct reply to your questions but are useful...hope it helps)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4344627/+0#entry85476209

4. I remember a story about Xuzen in the first few pages in this tread, can i ask why did xuzen sell the fund when it drop 20%? if xuzen remain with the fund and in a few years time the fund rise back, what will happen then. example. I buy fund A for RM1.2, then drop to RM1, and in few years rise back to RM1.5, is my understanding correct that i have earn Rm0.3?
xuzen

5. RHB cash management fund 2, from what i understand the profit per annual is around 3.3-3.5 with 0 risk, this fund is something like a bank fixed deposit correct? Is there any fund with minimal risk, give reasonable return and i can take out cash whenever i want without any charges? better then put in FD.
what are reasonable returns?
funds have no guaranteed returns while FD has known rate at maturity...
Do You 'Invest' In Fixed Deposits?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=1896

65 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0614sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:02 AM