70 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Ramjade
post Apr 8 2017, 03:00 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 8 2017, 02:24 PM)
my take on soft closing. it's to prevent the entire unit trust from turning into a pyramid scheme. I know you are going wtf is he talking about. essentially if you view pyramid scheme and unit trust at its basic structure is that many investors are channeling /pooling their cash together to have the same goal to generate returns.

now what's to stop a fund manager from considering incoming funds from new investors as returns? hence the difference with unit trust and pyramid schemes

Amanah Saham is one that never closes their funds hence why it is open for deceivement
Please. Unit close is not because of ponzi. Ponzi scheme is paying the previous owner with new owner money. Amanah saham never close because it's a political fund. They cannot close. Also, they don't chase returns but keep the returns fixed. Hence they don't really need high returns.

Oh and btw, in case in the future if you have baby, you can sell away your baby portion of amanah saham since you are not happy with it tongue.gif They are giving every baby which is born with an account and some money inside. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(puchongite @ Apr 8 2017, 02:48 PM)
Assuming there is a valid reason why a fund is soft closing, and now investors are finding all means to put money into the replacement funds playing in the same market, is it a wise move ? Die die must invest into that market ?
Yes. If the fund is good and is closing and there is no alternative, I will dump more money inside. If I can find alternative, I wouldn't even be bothered.

Note: I am not putting any additional money in Eastspring smallcap.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 8 2017, 03:07 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 8 2017, 03:25 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Apr 8 2017, 03:18 PM)
All funds would naturally welcome more investors. More people buying their funds, more money he and the company will make. Now the fund manager is against the principle of making more money and yet want to soft close the fund. He has a message to tell.

Let assume that he has a valid and positive reason for his investors.

Now the fund is finally soft closed. And so we channel the money into replacement funds ? Isn't that ignoring the message of the soft closed fund manager ?
I think he is just telling you that he/she is not comfortable with the amount of cash he/she is holding. If you give me anymore cash, I cannot perform as expected. If replacement fund still accept your money (like KGF), it means, not a problem for other fund managers.
Ramjade
post Apr 8 2017, 04:20 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Apr 8 2017, 04:02 PM)
Manulife REITs versus AMAsia Reits. This has been a long running friendly feud between me and friend Ramjade. My stance is both are good and neck to neck in the race for supremacy.

And these two UTFs are a good example to showcase risk versus return.

Manulife Reits has 1/2 exposure into S-REits. 1/5 in HK.

AMAsia has 1/5 exposure into S-Reits. 1/5 n Aussie Reits and 1/5 in J-Reits.

Now can you see the concentration risk in Manulife Reits. Now S-Reits is doing well, that is why you see it gained better profit versus AMReits. What if a reversal were to happen? It will then tanked more than AmReits. If you looks at the volatility numbers, Manulife is more volatile compared to AmReits.

There is no wrong or right, it all boils down to each of us own risk tolerance. If you like to "cheong" type, then go with Manulife. If you like selamba-selamba style, then go for AmReits.

Xuzen

p/s In the end, both are good.
Later on 13/4 I will update the reuslts of amasia vs manulife. biggrin.gif Exactly one month from my last score keeping.
Ramjade
post Apr 9 2017, 06:39 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Apr 9 2017, 06:31 PM)
I am writing this not to disparage FSM material, but my Lic Fin Planner also just shared some market outlook with me. He said he just attended also a conference for Financial Planner.

1) Market sentiment memang is bullish esp East Asia region. The simple reason is low PE. When low PE, smart money will naturally flow in to take advantage of the potential upside.

2) He is cautiously bearish on Malaysia. Despite the noise, the fundamental outlook on Malaysia is weak and the main cause is due to the massive external debt faced by this country. He further alluded to the fact that for the first time, the forex reserve has dropped below the external debt level. In lay man term, on your bank account you got MYR 100K, but you owe bank MYR 120K.
This expected liao  whistling.gif

3) He is also said fund managers are bullish on REITS, but not M-REITS.
Good move with my S-reits  thumbup.gif

4) On US and India, the call is neutral with more downside risk than upside risk because PE is above historical high. What goes up, must eventually come down. If you have India or US, can start taking profit liao. If you do not have either, can give it a miss. You missed the boat already.

5) Watch out for Indonesia, she is the next boom.

Xuzen
Ramjade
post Apr 9 2017, 06:57 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 9 2017, 06:56 PM)
again I owe you one for that informative post master. tomorrow I'll send a request to skim my manulife India.

ramjade what funds invest in sg Reits?
Manulife AP reits/Invest directly (I am doing both) but S-reits have been rising. So dividend kind of not worth buying it now. I am going to sell my FSM MY when the time comes.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 9 2017, 07:01 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 9 2017, 07:18 PM

24,406 posts

Avangelice, just to tease you, these are the yield of S-reits
http://reitdata.com/category/yield/

Bonus point: all counters on SGX are 100% tax free. S-reit have no withholding tax unlike M-reits

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 9 2017, 07:19 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 10 2017, 11:56 AM

24,406 posts

His performance at RHB is nothing compare to Eastspring/KGF.
Ramjade
post Apr 10 2017, 01:39 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Apr 10 2017, 12:08 PM)
It depends on how and when you are measuring really. RHB is a big fund house compared to KGF or EI. Some of their balanced or blended funds are doing quite well (pre-Aug 2016 of course)

As usual, I prefer to support my POV with numbers, the chart is sorted by 2015 returns for all Msian funds; 5 of RHB funds made the list and neither EISC nor KGF top the list
[attachmentid=8714642]

Of course, one would argue that it's just one year, which I tend to agree too. But there are many perspectives in life and we should not just be looking at one *that's the monday blues talking  whistling.gif *
I was comparing Eastspring smallcap, Rhb smart treasure and Kenanga growth fund whistling.gif
Ramjade
post Apr 10 2017, 08:55 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 10 2017, 03:53 PM)
focus on the fund first. what does it do? what region does it invest in? do you have confidence in that region?

a very good fund manager won't do shit if the economy of the country or region tanks.

remember your basics in unit trust investing! don't go chasing a fund because of a FM history.
I don't agree with this statement. When the legendary emerging market of Templeton fund Mark Mobius left Templeton, investors follow him to the next company.

Why?
- Because you are paying for the fund manager expertise. You are not paying for the fund's name.
- A good fund manager is a gem which must ne kept.
Ramjade
post Apr 10 2017, 09:14 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 10 2017, 09:01 PM)
always read the fund's prospectus esp with multiple region funds and go into detail what and where they are investing.
so if kgf fund manager quit now would you sell the fund?
Hell yes. Fund name not important. What's important is that fund manager. Let me quote a phrase I read from one of SG blogger.
"A reit with good manager with bad properties is better than a reit with bad manager and good properties. This is because a good manager can turn things around."

This applies to UT as well. A good manager makes all the difference. Don't believe me? See public mutual funds vs KGF.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 10 2017, 09:15 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 10 2017, 09:58 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 10 2017, 09:39 PM)
hmmm... something to ponder on. thank you.
Not to forget. Remember. Your loyalty lies with your money. Whoever can give you a better deal/return, that person should get your money. That's what I always emphasise and practice.

That's why if a bank can give me better deals (interest/exchange rate), that bank will get me as their customer.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 10 2017, 11:08 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 11 2017, 10:58 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Apr 11 2017, 08:52 AM)
hmm.gif Unless, unless the main man that left can convince this followers (investors) to pull a large out monies from that fund(s), which is comprises of a large % of the fund size......which would lead to the fund having to dispose a large portion of its holdings to cater for the redemption and with large disposal of holdings, thus it would cause or affect the stock prices in the mkts with low liquidity scenario.....

else the fund would no be affected at that moment cause the fund prices are "NAV"

and if that large redemption scenario is in AUG 2016, then it should not be limited to a few stocks........bcos a fund holds many stocks in their holdings

hmm.gif that just ponder me....
No need to ponder. When Mark Mobius left templeton, people tarik their money out also what and follow him. Same thing. If warren buffet issue a sell, everyone will sell. If he issue a buy, everyone will buy.
Ramjade
post Apr 11 2017, 03:58 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Apr 11 2017, 03:56 PM)
Sifu, checking on below if i get it correctly.
Does this means on top of a 1.75 1 time fee, there is a 1.8 + 0.05 + 2.06% annual fee ? the fund kinda need to super perform for the amount of fee's paid.
Total paid = 2.06% which you don't see. All counted into the NAV already.
Ramjade
post Apr 12 2017, 08:11 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 12 2017, 07:55 PM)
what is ASX FP UTF ?
Amanah saham fixed price fund. Buy and sell at RM1/unit. Guaranteed cannot lose money whistling.gif

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 12 2017, 08:07 PM)
Is it the quantum fund?
And what Selina fund? lol
Quantum fund tutup liao. Cannot buy anymore. Can only sell devil.gif
Ramjade
post Apr 14 2017, 07:35 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(ganaesan @ Apr 14 2017, 02:43 AM)
Any buy call for NIKKO AM SINGAPORE DIVIDEND EQUITY FUND- MYR CLASS?

Any input?  

Perhaps @ramjade might want to say something?
If you want follow turtle investor style then ya. Even then, I avoid it for MY portfolio (soon to be removed and transferred to SG) and my planned SG counter part.

Reason:
1) I can buy an ETF in Singapore which replicates the above
2) If you look at the components, they are bluechips. If you have access to SGX, there are better options than those companies.

Turtle investor ETF portfolio can be found here
http://www.turtleinvestor.net/asset-allocation/

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 14 2017, 07:36 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 14 2017, 10:26 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Apr 14 2017, 08:23 AM)
What's up with FSM latest Cash accounts?
it has no description, but I see you can purchase foreign funds with RM.
This is so weird. FSM having cash account.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 14 2017, 10:30 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 14 2017, 10:47 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 14 2017, 10:45 AM)
deference between cash account and CMF?
Who knows. I cannot find anything on FSM MY site regarding cash account and the interest.
Ramjade
post Apr 14 2017, 10:54 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 14 2017, 10:52 AM)
hmmmm because the link was from our HK counter part?

another new member confusing

fsm HK
fsm Malaysia
fsm Singapore.

again.
The cash account exist. Try logging into FSM MY, then under your holdings, there's a cash account. Click it. Page will change towards for those who want to buy bonds. But no detail info about this cash ccount
Ramjade
post Apr 14 2017, 10:58 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Apr 14 2017, 10:54 AM)
I am totally confused but to make sure I look a bit smart, so I have been keeping quiet.  rclxm9.gif
QUOTE(dasecret @ Apr 14 2017, 10:56 AM)
I believe this is to cater for bonds, and maybe in the future for MAPS equivalent. You see, bonds get coupon payments and some of the bonds are not denominated in ringgit. So there is a need for cash account to cater for them
I think they are doing the MAPS soon in malaysia. Your very own agent who do everything for you. In malaysia there's no competitor. So they can monopolise the market first. Also, if that's true, it's only a matter of time FSM is moving towards platform fees whistling.gif
Ramjade
post Apr 14 2017, 11:55 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Apr 14 2017, 11:27 AM)
Hopefully the cash account can store SGD currency,
You hold but you cannot withdraw it in that foreign currency also useless. Like that better change RM for SGD at moneychangers. No difference between this cash account and those multiple foreign currency accounts recently introduce by malaysian banks.

QUOTE(puchongite @ Apr 14 2017, 11:33 AM)
But if the prices of whatever funds and bonds are already ringgit based, what's the point of holding the currency in SGD in static value ?

I think Bank Negara will probably also make noise about doing purchases in foreign currencies.
I think they going to introduce foreign denominated bond in the future. (eg USD, SGD, EUR, JPY etc)

BNM is ok with you doing purchase in foreign currencies as long as the money stays in Malaysia. Why do you think they come out with the rule exporters have to bring back 75% of their currency in RM and retain the other 25% in foreign currency with Malaysian banks? Reason is simple. Even if you retain 25% in foreign currency with Malaysian banks, you cannot withdraw it in foreign currency notes. No banks in Malaysia will accept foreign currency notes. Very few investment instruments in Malaysia are denominated in foreign currency. So having foreign currency in malaysia is essentially useless.

You can only use foreign currency in Malaysia to:
(i) buy house overseas
(ii) pay education fees
(iii) for export business
(iv) use it for overseas investment

Foreign currency in Malaysia is better than letting the foreign currency flow out whistling.gif

QUOTE(john123x @ Apr 14 2017, 11:45 AM)
I was hoping one day we can buy fsm sg UT from fsm my.

Lots of fsm sg ut, reits looks attractive, but i dont wanna go singapore, dont want unfavorable sgmyr forex, dont want to pay fsm sg platform fee,
Come come. I teach you. I gave xuzen homework how to do all that without going to SG at all.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=84349022

Don't know if he did his homework or not whistling.gif

You can do all online. I only go SG to topup cash into my account. thumbup.gif From SG you can venture to other part of the (AU, UK, US, HK, etc)
You use FSM SG, you pay platform fees.
You use POEMS, you pay 0% platform fees.

Me? I use FSM SG info and buy from POEMS. rclxms.gif thumbsup.gif Terika kasih FSM SG notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 14 2017, 11:50 AM)
I highly doubt this cash account will be open to us Malaysian after how our leadership have been known to illegally siphon Malaysian Currency out of the country.

you can thank our Goverment for this.
Are you sure? tongue.gif See this rclxs0.gif
Maybank Master Foreign Currency Account
Cimb Foreign Currency Current Account
RHB Multi Currency Account

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 14 2017, 12:09 PM

70 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0410sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:49 PM