70 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Ramjade
post Apr 17 2017, 08:03 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Apr 17 2017, 07:49 PM)
May I remind everyone that wealth is not the most important asset.  Time is. 
To someone else, it might just not worth the time to-and-fro Singapore for that few dollars earned. 

To simplify things, this is a simple calculation :
True Investment Value = Money Earned(or Saved) Divided by Time Spent Travelling (hours/days)

If say, you saved 50 dollars extra by travelling to Singapore which takes probably around 5 hours to-and-fro (total of 10 hours).  So, your true investment value is 50 dollars/10 = 5 dollars per hour.
You are in actual fact being paid 5 dollars per hour for your time and effort.  This has not taken into consideration of logistic, accommodation and F&B costs.

It might be a different story if you have a relative in Singapore whom you visit often or you travel to Singapore for work often.  IMO, travelling there just to save that few pennies is totally not worth it. 

Do not be "Penny Wise, Pound Foolish".  Save on toilet papers, but spend lavishly on Ferraris.
That's true. However I can also show how to do all these from your own living room. No need to go SG also. However keep in mind returns of 10% in Malaysia is not the same as returns as 10% in SG.

Also, let's push it further shall we? whistling.gif devil.gif
A GTF 3 years annualized return is 18.78% p.a.
Henderson GTF 3 years annualized return is 13.28% p.a.

Lets say you participated SGD 1,000.00 into HGTF 3 years ago, today value shall be SGD 1,453.65, convert it to MYR as of today rate = SGD 1,453.65 x 3.16704 = MYR 4,603.77

Lets say you participate MYR 2,595.23 (eqv to SGD 1,000.00) into TA GTF 3 years ago, today value shall be MYR 4,349.16

Source: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=84336206

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 17 2017, 08:09 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 17 2017, 09:23 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 17 2017, 09:03 PM)
Before comparing let us look what public dividend select fund does.

http://my.morningstar.com/ap/quicktake/ove...ceId=0P00008MI0

as stated it invests in Malaysia stock exchange.

so just take Kenanga Growth fund and Kapchai fund.

actually no need to compare. just tell him public mutual SC already makan all the returns. just compare fsm SC and you will know. look at the front loading sc. freaking 5.5%
http://my.morningstar.com/ap/quicktake/Pur...ab=PurchaseInfo
then he is gonna say but we declare dividend every year. if he says that you need to fire him.
Different strategy. Public Mutual focus on dividend only but it sucks. But then again, after reading all of dasecret post bashing PM, I think they all sucks. Only know how to suck money to make shareholders of Public Bank richer laugh.gif

QUOTE(aoisky @ Apr 17 2017, 09:11 PM)
Ramjade Please elaborate show us your magic diy in your own living room.
Sure no problem. I gave this homework to xuzen. Not sure if he did his homework. You can do this homework too if you really want to invest in SG.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=84349022

The above method does not even need you to step into Singapore.

Keep in mind that for every SGD10k you transfer using TT, you will lose min SGD100 vs going down yourself (using train/flight/bus + eating local mix rice at SGD2/meal or eat bread and drink water) and deposit SGD10k yourself. Some people can spend so much for foreign holidays but cannot spend small amount to topup money? confused.gif rclxub.gif Only once a year affair.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 17 2017, 09:29 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 17 2017, 09:46 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Apr 17 2017, 09:43 PM)
what is kapchai fund?

btw, Affin Hwang Select Dividend Fund is so much better than Public Dividend Select Fund  puke.gif
Eastspring smallcap.
Ramjade
post Apr 17 2017, 10:17 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(thesnake @ Apr 17 2017, 10:10 PM)
wew.. Manulife US and TA Global Technology Funds are bleeding these past few days.
Normal what. DT fail in the healthcare bill, went and bomb syria, afgan, send a aircraft carrier to korea. All causes uncertainties and those investors start panicking.
Ramjade
post Apr 17 2017, 10:25 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Apr 17 2017, 10:24 PM)
btw Ramjade since your portfolio holding is confidential, need not to share with us your holding. may be can just share us your recommended fund.
For sg or my?
Ramjade
post Apr 17 2017, 11:02 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Apr 17 2017, 10:26 PM)
Both please
For MY
- KGF
- Eastspring smallcap
(to test which give the best return)
- Cimb Asia Pacific
- Affin Hwang Quantum
- Manulife AP reits
- Amasia reits
- Manulife India
- TA Global Tech
- United Asian HY Bond Fund
United Asian HY Bond Fund volatility 5.95
Schroder Asian Income fund (mother fund of RHB Asian Income Fund) volatility 5.59
Slight difference but more consistent result with United. I am using FSM SG data here as no data for this fund exist in malaysia

Keep in mind this was set up long before I opened my SG account and was meant to be consolidate 2 funds into 1 funds. Wanted to buy this united fund but too expensive in Malaysia and cheaper in SG at only SGD1k vs RM10k but at that time scared cannot get the opportunity to buy in SG so buy in Malaysia first.

Original plan:
1) After 3 years cut down no of funds to 6 from 9 or maybe make it to 5 cutting out Malaysia totally thumbup.gif

New plan:
1) Slowly shift the funds over to SG

Will post up my planned portfolio in FSM SG thread. Make it more lively and less OT icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 17 2017, 10:41 PM)
would strongly suggest you reconsider investing in us and developed nations and focus on Asian countries.
Never forget that US is the largest economy of the world and China is no 2. What US do affects the world. Yes Asia is growth engine but keep in mind if US keep rising interest, asian debts are going to be in big trouble. (you can google this)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 17 2017, 11:05 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 17 2017, 11:30 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Apr 17 2017, 11:11 PM)
Most of the fund u mention i having except the highlighted in red.
Are you planning to get United Asian HY Bond Fund or already bought it ? slight confusing
Already have it. Never have a bond in my portfolio until I took a look at united. That time was tempted between Affin Hwang Select Bond/RHB ATRF/RHB EM. Cannot decide as those 2 RHB bonds are usually dependant on USD/MYR. The volatility of those 2 funds my goodness blink.gif

Then did a few digging back into FSM SG thread and saw this united fund being recommend. Decide to research it by comparing between
United Asian HY Bond
United Asian Bond (mother fund of RHB ATRF)
United Emerging Markets Bond Fund (mother fund of RHB EM)

Where can you find bond fund which give you annualised 3 years return of 13.16% at volatility 5.95. It's closest competitor was United Asian Bond at 7.38 % and volatility of 5.62. When you compare it in terms of 1 year, 2 years, 3 years United Asian HY Bond beats United Asian Bond hands down.

Keep in mind that the same fund may perform better over Malaysia side vs SG side.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 17 2017, 11:33 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 17 2017, 11:49 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(phanghf @ Apr 17 2017, 11:46 PM)
I would like to switch rhb smart balance to kenaga growth fund. Which is the best way? Switch to bond fund first then cmf first to earn credits? Or direct switch? Total around 6.5k. Thanks.
Are you in a hurry to switch? If no then use that way. If yes, then just switch it.
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2017, 12:14 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Apr 18 2017, 12:07 AM)
For United Asian HY Bond you are referring the - MYR / SGD / USD ?
Of course RM la. Mana ada duit to buy SGD/USD10k worth of fund doh.gif
Of course if you buy the same fund directly from SG, it's only SGD1k vs RM10k in Malaysia.
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2017, 12:19 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Apr 18 2017, 12:17 AM)
Who Know you ler, since you like SG Fund.  doh.gif
this is the only fund u having in your FSM MY portfolio ?
No. All the MY funds I listed I have. Just haven't sell as I said they haven't meet my personal profit level to sell. I only choose SG for few reasons:
(i) potential to earn more returns
(ii) higher selection of funds
(iii) cheaper cost for me to buy/switch at will

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 18 2017, 12:21 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2017, 12:31 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Apr 18 2017, 12:25 AM)
both of this reits also in your basket Manulife AP reits & Amasia reits ? I thought you mention Amasia reits terrible fund ?

erm what is your profit level ? what if it never reach ? will you still enter SG mart as you said you'll move out FSM MY to POEMS SG right
I bought amasia reit first (about 3 months before manulife) based on everybody's recommendation. From that time until purchase of Manulife AP reits, it's basically stagnant. Hardly move.
Decide to buy equal amount of Manulife and see for comparison. Upon buying Manulife, can see substantial difference. Macam ada oomph biggrin.gif

IMO it's still a useless fund. It haven't proven me yet that it's a good fund biggrin.gif Initial plan keep for 1 year and see. Kasi chance. laugh.gif

I have already entered SG market just not SG UT with the remaining FD money (it was originally meant to be injected into Amanah Saham which got diverted to FSM MY which didn't get to see it being used to buy any funds aka sitting in egia)

If it never reach, just keep la. I still need some stuff in Malaysia (min amount). No point changing when you are not ready to move. It will reach as it's quite close. Just need the removal of safety regulations, passing of spending bill by Donald Trump and it will spark another bull run which is my cue to tarik my money out of FSM MY.

For Malaysia part, most likely keep as Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund provided eUT MY can give me 0% service charge as they don't sell United.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 18 2017, 12:41 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2017, 12:47 AM

24,421 posts

Speaking of free service charge, whoever who have >RM5k can sell your Affin Select Bond Fund on FSM and buy from eUT. They have mega sales promo now rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
Valid until 31/5/2017
https://www.eunittrust.com.my/fundInfo/promotions.asp

0% service charge, 0% platform fees.

QUOTE(aoisky @ Apr 18 2017, 12:46 AM)
So you have eUT account as well
Nope. Tak da. Never had it. But will open to park Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund there. If only they have united...

QUOTE(aoisky @ Apr 18 2017, 12:45 AM)
whenever you having a fund under-perform you can always sell it / switch it to a performing fund. why still keep amasia reit substitute it, you still young should be more attacking play field more striker fund la icon_rolleyes.gif
Because give chance. You never know amasia may suddely shine like KGF and eastspring smallcap. Few months (-) return. All of a sudden 10% returns.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 18 2017, 12:50 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2017, 01:01 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Apr 18 2017, 12:51 AM)
Aha so the 5K 5K thingy is this eUT pula. having multiple investment platform is that really helping you gain much profit ? or just for the sake of save SC / Platform Fee ?
Some people here pay over RM200 for platform fees (posted here before as that person have over RM100k in Affin Select Bond Fund). If your holdings is small, maybe not worth it. If like that guy at over RM100k, then worth it. RM200/year = RM1k in 5 years.

Many people don't realise that small wasteful stuff such as yearly platform fees will reduce total returns over the years. Whether you buy or not, you are force to pay platform fees. A dollar save = a dollar gain for investment.

For me it's more of principle. If someone can give you the same stuff at a better price, why bother about the other person who is trying to jack up the price? Yes price is small. Eg why buy not buy from banks than buy from FSM. Banks charge you 5.5% what. FSM only 1.75%. Let the bank earn your money. They will be happy to serve you better. But money is still money. All is fair in love and war. For me, money first, banking relationship/brand loyalty last.

If people tell you that cost does not matter, take a look at this article.
https://personal.vanguard.com/us/insights/i...ruth-about-cost

Please don't talk about platform fees antmore. People here very sensitive towards platform fees you know. People here love paying their platform fees. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 18 2017, 01:36 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2017, 08:44 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(lowyatjoe @ Apr 18 2017, 02:17 AM)
I just started reading up on investment and frankly speaking love ur post. Really help. Thans ramjade
Thanks. Finally someone who appreciate what I write.

QUOTE(aoisky @ Apr 18 2017, 07:55 AM)
Masta Xuzen what is your view on United Asian HY Fund ?
He does not have it. My guess is he will say stay with selina/affin hwang select bond fund. Jgn pandai2 beli high risk fund.

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 18 2017, 08:06 AM)
I did not follow ....was just asking....
does a major part of that fund performance caused by the MYR depreciation of the last few years?
Yes that's true. But now that ringgit is "pegged" against the USD I don't a repeat of performance. sad.gif

But if you look at that united fund performance purely from SGD point of view (our only info) for 3 years, that performance is impresaive.

yklooi happens at my place. biggrin.gif Tesco is there. All shoplots building also there. All office people park their car at tesco sheltered car park. If park outside in hot sun, kena put 50c coupon/hour. If one works from 9-5, 8hrs x 50c = RM4/day x 20 days = RM80 gone.

The question is do you want to save RM80/month and park under the shade or park outside in the hot sun? Is RM80/month a moral issue when your whole office people park in tesco, and there are still plenty of parking space for shoppers? (this is a true story - all office people park in tesco but the tesco at my place still have lots of space). Anyway I can cut cost, I will take it. RM80 save = RM960/year. That 50c doesn't look so small anymore is it devil.gif

Let me give you another eg. If you have to IBG 10 people a month, what do you do? Do it and pay RM1.10?
RM1.10 x 12 = RM13.20

Or you just IBG once to a bank account which give free IBG and IBFT and pay only RM0.11/month. Total for the year RM1.32. RM0.11 doesn't look so small anymore right? devil.gif

Total savings = 90%

Anyway ini sudah OT.
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2017, 08:54 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Apr 18 2017, 08:49 AM)
Ramjade when got people asking you is appreciate your view and writting already. nah I give you :thumbsup: satisfy mou ?

United Asian HY is Fixed Income still label as high risk ?
Of course it's high risk. It invest in junk bonds. Bonds with high return rate in exchange for maybe it can default. The higher the return of the bond, the more likely it's going to default. However based on FSM SG screening, it's among the low volatility high yield bond fund which makes it a good buy.

That's why it's categorize as wholesale funds. In SG it's not. Everyone can buy. Maybe because their financial literacy is higher than ours? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 18 2017, 09:01 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2017, 09:13 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Apr 18 2017, 09:11 AM)
I am new to FSM, but I bought CIMB Principal Global Titans Fund last month and it seems to be performing badly. Any comment on this UT?
One month only. Kasi time.
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2017, 09:30 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Apr 18 2017, 09:22 AM)
What is your message here ? this fund categorize as wholesale fund in SG / In SG it's not everyone can buy / Everyone can buy in SG ?
It's wholesale fund in malaysia. Just accept FSM TnC before they let you buy. Wholesale in malaysia means for hnwi. You don't need to hnwi if you want to buy. Just agreee only.
It's open to everyone in SG. Anyone in SG can buy the fund at SGD1k. No need to agreee to any TnC. Read carefully doh.gif

Don't buy because I said it's a good fund. For you know I can be con man.

QUOTE(dasecret @ Apr 18 2017, 09:27 AM)
Here we go again....

All I ask is for those who use eUT platform to start a eUT thread so that the dedicated discussion can take place there.
But no, I've been repetitively ignored. I supposed their users are not only stingy in $$$, but also stingy in effort.... Take and never give  shakehead.gif

Of course I'm not going to go complain to the mods, because this only reflect badly on you, not me
Just discuss here. It's still UT. Just different platform only what. Who want to buy from eUT, let them buy lo. Who wants to buy from FSM buy from FSM. No one is holding a gun to yohr head saying must buy from only FSM/eUT.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 18 2017, 09:33 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2017, 09:56 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 18 2017, 09:45 AM)
just freaking open the eUT thread already and go over there. it is geting irritating talking about silly service charges when it is repeated multiple times every month. mind you it's talking about platforms not UT in general so don't give me the bs about it under the same topic

even in stock exchange the traders opened their own thread after there was an argument between investing vs trading. like wise do it if you have the balls to. other than that keep to the topic which is fundsupermart
What's there to talk about eUT? 0% platform fees/ 0% service charge? Do you see me talking about eUT? We are talking about funds here. In case you didn't notice, aoisky was asking about united and SG funds. So I answered him everything I know. You can't buy something without data. Actually you can. But since the only info available is SG you cannot avoid it. That's why I said stop talking about platform fees. People here are sensitive towards platform fees.

I move all SG post to FSM SG.

Investing and trading 2 different class. UT is UT. Whether you buy from banks/FSM/eUT sama sahaja.

QUOTE(dasecret @ Apr 18 2017, 09:53 AM)
Time for some technical support instead

So, I filtered some of the Malaysia equity income or dividend funds based on names (could be wrong as I didn't check each fund diligently), and true enough, PDSF came out last
[attachmentid=8741052]

Hope this is a good enough chart for you to throw back to your agent as proof of why Pub Mut sucks
The volatility and returns that you are comparing is not apple to apple; volatility is in SGD terms while returns is in MYR terms

The 1 year returns on the SGD fund is 14.02% while the MYR returns is 23.19%. So it's safe to assume that the additional returns is from forex; SGD strengthening against MYR, therefore, volatility for the MYR class is also higher

You would observe similar outcome on United asian bond vs RHB ATR as well
United asian bond
3 years return annualised: 7.38%
3 years annualised volatility: 6.04

RHB ATR
3 years return annualised: 13.75%
3 years annualised volatility: 8.99
I already expected volatility to be higher because depreciation of RM. However keeping in mind that depreciation of RM will be more or less linear drop (depending on how steep it is biggrin.gif ) and there is basically zero chance for ringgit to appreciate so at that time I wasn't even sure I can get a SG account or not, best choice would be take the plunge. When you have no info from Malaysia side, you need to get info from somewhere.
A 20% return with 8.xx volatility is good buy IMO.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 18 2017, 10:01 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2017, 10:42 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 18 2017, 10:08 AM)
nah he can't he is dabbing in forex (sgd), fsm sg, POEMs sg,maybank eGIA-i, fsm my and eUT.

God level already where got care about opening thread. so most likely coming here to blow trumpet at new members and making them more confused and become stingy fellows while we just stand by the sidelines just shaking our heads at this dark comedy.

1k in 5 years from SC bond funda is big thing to him . lol all those bus rides and gardenia breads to sg that one no problem. never mind I'm always here if his body and health fails him from all this rushing up and down looking for the best rates.

my rates are even higher than bond fund bro.
You have no idea do you? rolleyes.gif
If I kasi homework to xuzen and others what makes you think I won't be dabbing in SG UT/stocks? whistling.gif It took me 6 months long of planning and research.
Now is to repay people by teaching others as someone taught me before this. I kasi tunjuk jalan ke pintu untuk make more money. You don't want to take it, no one is forcing you. Those who think I am conman, so be it. whistling.gif biggrin.gif Those who can analyse thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif Pintu sudah di depan muka you.

Yes I am no master/god but let me rephrase what a sifu once told me back when SGD was at 2.7x. I was given a choice to invest in Malaysia or Singapore. I choose Singapore and work my way around the world. That makes all the differences today if I were limit myself to Malaysia.

For newbies. Stay with FSM MY until you are comfortable to go overseas. UT all over the world is the same. Once you get the basics, sama sahaja. Nak pergi HK/US/SG/AU sama sahaja. That's my advise.
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2017, 10:46 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(tensixteen @ Apr 18 2017, 10:42 AM)
Hello!

I've been following this thread for a while now and I truly enjoyed all the lively discussion so far. I have registered with FSM for over a year and my account has been dormant. Took the plunge finally and invested in a couple of UT and hoping to learn more from all of you. I know that UT needs patience but I can't help logging in and checking my holdings every so often. A newbie's persistence or perhaps a newbie's downfall eventually? Ha..

Anyways, just wanna say it's good to have a place here.
Don't worry. I log in everyday to see. Just for fun. biggrin.gif

70 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0525sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:11 AM