16 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

SSJBen
post Feb 16 2021, 04:48 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Feb 16 2021, 04:12 PM)
same questions were asked for the zen 2 XT variants  laugh.gif

anyways just hoping only, else I'll just stick with 5800X or swap to 5900X if back to launch price later this year
Zen 2 XT variants at least had a legit reason because the 7nm yields has improved and the bins were better. 3900XTs actually clocked really well. So they used the Zen 2 XTs as a "test bed" for the improved 7nm bins to be used on Zen 3.

Zen 3 XT though... for what? Zen 4 is going to be on 5nm and on a whole new platform. Only way I see it is to entice Zen 2 users to jump into an overpriced upgrade.
SSJBen
post Feb 16 2021, 09:49 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Feb 16 2021, 06:01 PM)
I won't be surprised they have more I/O dies than CPU dies, hence more CPUs pushed out as 5600X/5800X too.
That sounds plausible yes.

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Feb 16 2021, 09:22 PM)
Should I consider myself lucky that my 5950x IF is perfectly stable at 1866Mhz and RAM running at 3733Mhz?  sweat.gif
Absolutely. Should be polishing your golden eggs that your 5950x are doing beyond stock IF speed without WHEA errors.
SSJBen
post Feb 17 2021, 01:25 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Well unfortunately too many people are ignorant to the Zen 3 issues.

Of course I'm sure that there are more happy customers than there are angry ones, but doesn't discount the fact that there are still problems out there that AMD doesn't seem to want to acknowledge...
SSJBen
post Feb 17 2021, 04:14 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 17 2021, 04:08 PM)
But to be fair, at the point of time when 3600 came out, I was at lowyat initially shopping for 9400F and the spec doesnt even come close and from a value proposition.. it was the best and that's why I got the 3600 and was optimistic as I had athlon64 and phenom and they were solid.... and also at that time I had 0 knowledge about the problems with zen and zen+ and never did any prior research as I had to decide on the purchase on the spot. Also it was only a week after ryzen's launch so not many feedbacks yet.

I originally used 2666Mhz ram on the ryzen 3600 and of course, it is generally stable. Problem comes when I upgraded to 3200mhz and start to do tweaking and subsequently a 32GB kit... and with heavy usage plus installing various SDK, VM and emulators due to work from home during the pandemic makes the problems surface more and more... like for example when my code has an error when testing, it could also bsod the windows.. but this doesnt happen with intel. To the point I end up buying a used laptop to leave in office to access files via teamviewer so I can bring home my office laptop cuz I dont wanna be running on VPN with all the IP blockage at home.

I already made alot of compromises on Ryzen, and my patience have finally run thin when it affects my primary hobby of music listening so I promptly switched to intel... dont even have the patience anymore to wait for rocketlake and B560.
Cukur my audio setup has no issues on AMD. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(timeonce @ Feb 17 2021, 03:59 PM)
Hi guys. This is my first time posting here. As im building my rig. And Im too hasty... i found myself a 5800x and 5900x.

Before i put it to my motherboard. Which one will you guys think i should keep.

I just do normal gaming only and going to use this desktop for working purposes more.
Assuming both chips aren't lemons and they are working as specified, I'd say keep the 5900x eventhough primarily for gaming, 5800x is more than enough. But the 5900x has less issues with hot spotting and could perhaps last you longer until the next build.
SSJBen
post Feb 17 2021, 04:42 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 17 2021, 04:23 PM)
it could be one of the following: kernel streaming, full file buffering on RAM, dsp compatibility, the DAC's USB interface driver, amd chipset's USB controller (which is also the PCI-E) and lastly the chipset's USB drivers.

and Im also running my huge lossless audio files from a USB external HDD so perhaps it could also be caused by the amount of traffic on the bus.... in the end they're all linked to the capability of the IF and especially IMC.
I truly cannot replicate the bsod but the only thing in common is it happens when I had music playing on the background... nevertheless, problems all solved now with the "desperate" solution of switching to intel.
Pretty much running the same setup too, except all my music is on an SSD - lossless of course.

Logically, it's very likely the USB controller (chipset side) causing fault. But it won't make sense if the issue still occurs if you use optical out... sweat.gif
Well happy for you that your problems are solved regardless.
SSJBen
post Feb 18 2021, 01:15 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

You go open up a thread at garage sale, conlanfirm within 1 hour you get PMs.
SSJBen
post Feb 18 2021, 01:23 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(timeonce @ Feb 18 2021, 01:22 PM)
Yeah.. do u think should i switch to 5900x now and sell my 5800x or to keep 5800x and sell 5900x. Actually i am not eyeying on profit Just that now i have 2 CPU.. TT. slap face at me for going to greedy and fast for my full cpu built as my old rig got overheated and all component deep fried during cny as i overclock too much and hot weather. So gg.
Already told you, keep the 5900x.
SSJBen
post Feb 18 2021, 02:57 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(timeonce @ Feb 18 2021, 01:28 PM)
Do you think got ppl buy 2nd hand 5800x at Rm2k . Dont mind selling it at loss but then i buy it as set. Not so sure how the buyer claim in future.

But downside is i did liquid metal already. TT
Shouldn't be an issue for RM2k.

As for LM application, I'm not sure if AMD actually still receives it under warranty claim though.
SSJBen
post Feb 19 2021, 02:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(oldKyoo @ Feb 19 2021, 08:25 AM)
Just had my first taste of zen experience with my first whea error.
Also JFC this chip idle's hotter than my 10900k
Zen 3 memang hotter than Comet Lake. You squeeze in so many cores and threads into 1 tiny ass package, if not hot then it goes against logic already.
SSJBen
post Feb 20 2021, 03:03 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Feb 20 2021, 10:02 AM)
anyone got a 'beginner' guide for 5600x on CTR 2.0?
Personally I think CTR is a waste of time and the creator is also a bitch.
SSJBen
post Feb 20 2021, 10:05 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

AMD is finally acknowledging the USB drop out issues on x570/b550 - https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/lnmet...ith_500_series/

Better late than never I guess.
SSJBen
post Feb 22 2021, 12:24 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Personally I've not had any USB drop outs either and I pretty much max out all the available USB ports too. Doesn't mean I'm ignorant to the fact that there is a flaw in how they implement their USB controller though.

Just like if you didn't kena covid doesn't mean it doesn't exist, right?
SSJBen
post Feb 22 2021, 01:25 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Feb 22 2021, 12:37 PM)
It does exist in some configs. Backing up large quantity data to usb storage devices especially external HDD easily replicate the usb dropout issue. Happens in my previous aorus Xtreme.
I backed up a whole 2TB worth of Game of Thrones UHD remux recently, went without a hitch. The transfer speeds did drop substantially overtime though, but that's while other topic.
SSJBen
post Feb 22 2021, 01:38 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 22 2021, 01:32 PM)
apparently it also happens on specific ports. and it could be under certain conditions too... like during higher cpu/gpu loads.

But yeah best not to trigger it if it’s running fine, else will create some sort of paranoid haha.
From what I'm reading, usually happens most on the front panel USB ports in regards to external storage devices causing an issue.
SSJBen
post Feb 22 2021, 04:41 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Feb 22 2021, 04:22 PM)
I have heard reports of weird behaviour with SMI controllers on NVME using PCH on X570 chipset too, might be related to the transfer speed issue you're having.

SX8200 Pro is quite popular in Malaysia and uses SMI, although that SSD is not worth buying anymore due to multiple stealth downgrades without any meaningful reduction in cost putting it in line with other SSDs using the same parts.
Possible reason yes. I am using a SX8200 Pro 1TB as the OS drive. It doesn't always happen, but when it does it is frustratingly slow. From 130+MB/s average, it would drop down to below 40MB/s average.

What's weird was that once I disabled torrenting (qbtorrent) the transfer speeds never dropped. But what's REALLY weird is that torrenting usually only uses very little bandwidth as the transfer speeds are below 10MB/s. But when I use say jdownloader2 for direct downloads, of which would max out my internet speed (over 50MB/s), transfer speed on the disk DO NOT drop. rclxub.gif
SSJBen
post Feb 23 2021, 02:25 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Feb 22 2021, 05:42 PM)
Hmm.......just a query, do you use disk encryption on SX8200 boot drive? Bitlocker or Veracrypt?

EDIT: Have you try to turn on and off the disk caching? Cause every time after windows feature update, the disk caching functionality somehow "broken". Only turning it off and on again fixed it/

For the encryption part, if veracrypt is used.....lot of slow down...... sweat.gif
Yes I'm using bitlocker. I'm aware of veracrypt causing slow downs, but that's a problem with the software itself since it also happens for Intel systems.

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Feb 22 2021, 07:46 PM)
Possible hardware, yes. Also more possibly is Windows problem. I give up on finding the root cause, instead as long as there's workaround I'll use it..
Example is I transfer files from PC to NAS can't maximized the bandwidth, play around with some settings and able to transfer full speed. Windows do some update then broken again. doh.gif
Mount my PC drive in NAS and use NAS to do the transfer, every time can get full speed.

Now is trying to solve usb wifi intermittent disconnect on my HTPC, last time already solve it but same story, Windows update some things and it broke again.
I don't remember exactly which chipset driver update did help alleviate the issue though, but there was one which helped transfer speeds to stay above 100MB/s most of the time. But like I said, there are still the odd times where it can just drop below 40MB/s for no reason.

Either ways as long as connection don't drop when file transferring, I cukur.

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Feb 23 2021, 10:24 AM)
The issue I described doesn't happen when using the main NVME slot that goes directly to CPU bypassing the chipset - is that the slot you're using?

Since everyone is talking about various issues with USB/NVME/wireless etc - some B550 boards also have LAN issues when using 2.5GBe Intel chips - apparently everyone blames Intel for it though, since the issue is more prevalent on Z490.
Yes I'm using the slot that is connected directly to the CPU lanes, not going through the chipset.

The i225V intel wifi/LAN controller is mostly fixed now I hear. Believe any latest revisions on B550 shouldn't have the bandwidth bug anymore.
SSJBen
post Feb 23 2021, 02:47 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Feb 23 2021, 02:33 PM)
Bitlocker? Which mode of encryption?

SSD built-in hardware encryption,
Bitlocker software (CPU AES-NI accelerated) 'Used Disk Space Only' or 'Fully Encrypted'?

There are reports on TRIM/Garbage Collection not working unless being triggered several times on bitlocker "Fully encrypted" mode especially then the SSD is OS drive.

As the result, users got normal turbo read speed while got slow 1GB/s for write speed.
Hardware encryption.

Understand that the transfer speed drop is NOT on the NVME. It's from an internal drive (SATA) to an external (USB 3.0).
SSJBen
post Feb 23 2021, 03:02 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Feb 23 2021, 02:58 PM)
Internal SATA to external USB3.0...... hmm.gif

Hmmm......
Any info the the external USB3.0 drive?
Enclosure type (SATA/M2SATA/NVME) or WD/Seagate/Transcend type?
Is there UASP listed at Device Manager?
It's just a ugreen docker, so basically it's a SATA to USB converter as far as the connection is concerned. UASP is listed under device manager.
SSJBen
post Feb 23 2021, 03:30 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Feb 23 2021, 03:10 PM)
Then,I ran out of troubleshooting on your transfer speed slow down between internal NVME and external USB3.0 rclxub.gif

Lastly, any 2.4Ghz based wifi/bluetooth/mouse active? Ages ago, when 2.4ghz was common, it borked the USB3.0 transfer speed between 2 drives whenever Bluetooth or Wifi 2.4ghz are in use.

Other than that, no idea what really goes wrong.
I have 2 wireless devices, Logitech G Pro and Xbox One X controller, they're all connected via their own proprietary RF connection.

Yea, long time ago there was issues where BT can cause a huge drop in USB 3.0 performance.

Slow I/O speeds aren't a new thing, has been complained [numerous times. But of course, AMD diam diam sweep under the rug because it's not widespread enough. Bring it up again and people call you a hater. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Feb 23 2021, 03:31 PM
SSJBen
post Feb 24 2021, 01:28 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Feb 23 2021, 10:27 PM)
When or Why we will need to update the Agesa? the update coming out is quite frequent.
My single core able to hit 4.95ghz with just stock installation. haven't mess with the PBO etc.

only will try it once really complete the rig, not only testing the mobo and PSU stability.
If you have no issues, don't touch the AGESA. Enjoy your system.

People update because they have issues and they hope the next update will fix it for them.

16 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0367sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:03 AM