127 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Chubby Hamsters V4, Fun little furballs

prophet007
post Mar 3 2007, 09:50 PM

1,048 posts

no...he still can open eyes. the whole eye bengkak liao...juz use luke warm water to clean the eyes.....there are substances (looks like pus filled) growing on the eye balls. ....
BlueHeng
post Mar 3 2007, 10:31 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Mar 3 2007, 09:50 PM)
no...he still can open eyes. the whole eye bengkak liao...juz use luke warm water to clean the eyes.....there are substances (looks like pus filled) growing on the eye balls. ....
Sounds like an infection. I've read from other forums that vets advised them to use lukewarm water to clean the eyes for a week or so.. if no improvement then bring to the vet. Also heard it's.. fatal? But there are many cases where hamsters made a recovery from it.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 3 2007, 10:39 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Mar 3 2007, 09:50 PM)
Ohhh... I kena that before... 2 hamsters died and 1 recovered... but it may be a different type of infection since mine died overnight after got the eye pus.

Anyway, what you should is clean with luke warm water. If possible, go to a pharmacy and get antibiotic eye drops... I can't remember the brand but it has a logo of a lion or something.... or you can get an eye ointment called Teramycin or something.... I dunno the spelling but it sounds like that when say it lah. Then you apply on the effected eye once a day.
the_catacombs
post Mar 3 2007, 10:44 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

today i noticed my female hamster has a bald patch on her buttock... there are small red spot on her bald area as well... i wanna ask if this is dangerous to my hamster??... she has been behaving normally... vr active everynite... her cage isnt infested by insects or ants.... this happens after i've came back from my 1 week cny holiday (left them at home alone my themselves).... i wonder if its due to the heat in the room (it as locked and only a window was left open)....
Street Force
post Mar 3 2007, 10:54 PM

491 posts

Hey..
I wondering hamster can Puasa how many days ar?
lolx....no offence in this question..
prophet007
post Mar 3 2007, 11:03 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 3 2007, 10:31 PM)
Sounds like an infection. I've read from other forums that vets advised them to use lukewarm water to clean the eyes for a week or so.. if no improvement then bring to the vet. Also heard it's.. fatal? But there are many cases where hamsters made a recovery from it.
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 3 2007, 10:39 PM)
Ohhh... I kena that before... 2 hamsters died and 1 recovered... but it may be a different type of infection since mine died overnight after got the eye pus.

Anyway, what you should is clean with luke warm water. If possible, go to a pharmacy and get antibiotic eye drops... I can't remember the brand but it has a logo of a lion or something.... or you can get an eye ointment called Teramycin or something.... I dunno the spelling but it sounds like that when say it lah. Then you apply on the effected eye once a day.
wah....u guys dun scare me lar....he is still eating like normal....ok, will go guardian search tomolow. also can use normal saline ar???
BlueHeng
post Mar 3 2007, 11:07 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Mar 3 2007, 11:03 PM)
wah....u guys dun scare me lar....he is still eating like normal....ok, will go guardian search tomolow. also can use normal saline ar???
I've read a site and the vet said no chemical items though.. warm water is still the best.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 3 2007, 11:17 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 3 2007, 10:44 PM)
today i noticed my female hamster has a bald patch on her buttock... there are small red spot on her bald area as well... i wanna ask if this is dangerous to my hamster??... she has been behaving normally... vr active everynite... her cage isnt infested by insects or ants.... this happens after i've came back from my 1 week cny holiday (left them at home alone my themselves).... i wonder if its due to the heat in the room (it as locked and only a window was left open)....
Bald area with some red spots? Nah.... don't think it's dangerous or anything.... it could be the bedding dirty since 1 week you left it.

QUOTE(Street Force @ Mar 3 2007, 10:54 PM)
Hey..
Well, as long got water they can go for a few days without food... but why you ask? How long you wanna leave it?

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Mar 3 2007, 11:03 PM)
Not to scare lah... well, I think it would be better you get the normal saline solution first and wash the eyes.... it the pus doesn't clear in 3 days, then use some antibiotic drops.... to me drops would be better than ointment lah.

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 3 2007, 11:07 PM)
I've read a site and the vet said no chemical items though.. warm water is still the best.
Well, the eye drops and ointment always been given to me and my pets when they got infection... one time my rabbit had pus around the eyes, brought to vet and was given the same antibiotics... well, I'm just giving advice base on my experience lah... the 2 hamsters that died did not react to the eye drops, they were terribly weak and never eat for 2 days... then 3rd day die... the one still alive did not die coz it only had pus in 1 eye, had good appetite and was active... so since the pus cleared up after 2 days of cleaning, I never use any antibiotics lah.

But what the vet that you saw at the site said is true. Water is still the best. Try out with water first, if there is no effects then move on to antibiotics.

BlueHeng
post Mar 3 2007, 11:22 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(Street Force @ Mar 3 2007, 10:54 PM)
Hey..
I leave my hammy at home for a week last time. Just dump in enough food and water. Did it several times.
ibexgeo
post Mar 3 2007, 11:31 PM

124 posts

Hi, i m new to this thread, can find alot of hamster info here rclxms.gif
I've a question, what can i use to stop my hamster from scratching itself? Does hamster spray works?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 3 2007, 11:40 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(ibexgeo @ Mar 3 2007, 11:31 PM)
Hi, i m new to this thread, can find alot of hamster info here rclxms.gif
I've a question, what can i use to stop my hamster from scratching itself? Does hamster spray works?
Scratch itself? Hmm... how often does it do it? You would need to find a mite solution that is made for rabbits... well, the spray for dogs and cats is far too strong for a hamster and it can easily be sprayed into the eyes since so small... so better, get something that is made for rabbits or guinea pigs.

Firstly, you must know why it scratch... got any red or hairless areas? Do you notice any insects on it? Is there dandruff falling when it scratches?

If it scratches itself a few times a day, then it is normal. Most likely grooming.
jaspery27
post Mar 4 2007, 12:28 AM

664 posts

i tot scratching itself is normal?? hmm.gif just like we also "groom" ourself to bcome more handsome/pretty ma tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 4 2007, 12:49 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Mar 4 2007, 12:28 AM)
i tot scratching itself is normal??  hmm.gif just like we also "groom" ourself to bcome more handsome/pretty ma tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Yes, scratching itself is part of grooming for hamsters but if say they over do,... like scratch till botak or red... then it could be a problem.
the_catacombs
post Mar 4 2007, 01:21 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 3 2007, 11:17 PM)
Bald area with some red spots? Nah.... don't think it's dangerous or anything.... it could be the bedding dirty since 1 week you left it.
but the bald spot grew even after i've changed the bedding for a week... how leh??.... infected with disease since last week??.... ohmy.gif
BlueHeng
post Mar 4 2007, 01:33 AM

1,604 posts

Another possibility is old age.
the_catacombs
post Mar 4 2007, 03:55 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 4 2007, 01:33 AM)
Another possibility is old age.
yes, she is almost 2 yrs old adi... but my other male hamster is even older than her... but he dun have bald spot also.... ohmy.gif
prophet007
post Mar 4 2007, 10:07 AM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 3 2007, 11:07 PM)
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 3 2007, 11:17 PM)
Well, as long got water they can go for a few days without food... but why you ask? How long you wanna leave it?
Not to scare lah... well, I think it would be better you get the normal saline solution first and wash the eyes.... it the pus doesn't clear in 3 days, then use some antibiotic drops.... to me drops would be better than ointment lah.
Well, the eye drops and ointment always been given to me and my pets when they got infection... one time my rabbit had pus around the eyes, brought to vet and was given the same antibiotics... well, I'm just giving advice base on my experience lah... the 2 hamsters that died did not react to the eye drops, they were terribly weak and never eat for 2 days... then 3rd day die... the one still alive did not die coz it only had pus in 1 eye, had good appetite and was active... so since the pus cleared up after 2 days of cleaning, I never use any antibiotics lah.

But what the vet that you saw at the site said is true. Water is still the best. Try out with water first, if there is no effects then move on to antibiotics.
i cleaned wif water liao....but today still no improvement lor....going to buy the normal saline. mine still active and can eat...hopefully wont die...he is so beautiful and nice.
BlueHeng
post Mar 4 2007, 12:08 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Mar 4 2007, 10:07 AM)
i cleaned wif water liao....but today still no improvement lor....going to buy the normal saline. mine still active and can eat...hopefully wont die...he is so beautiful and nice.
How often are you cleaning it? The site i saw wrote that you should clean it every 4 hours.
dazzle
post Mar 4 2007, 12:27 PM

Peace Seeker's
799 posts

Why my WWs like to sleep only.

Sometimes I make them wake up.

They are tame, like to play with them and sometimes make they make cute sound during playing.

1 more thing, I found that my male WW like to over turn him body on the female side and make some noise. They face to face each others. Any special thing on this.

BlueHeng
post Mar 4 2007, 12:33 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(dazzle @ Mar 4 2007, 12:27 PM)
Why my WWs like to sleep only.

Sometimes I make them wake up.

They are tame, like to play with them and sometimes make they make cute sound during playing.

1 more thing, I found that my male WW like to over turn him body on the female side and make some noise. They face to face each others. Any special thing on this.
Overturn..? I don't get you. Can you rephrase your sentence? My ww also like to sleep. he's only active from 3am -7am. After that he goes back to his sleeping routine.

127 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:54 AM