QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 12 2017, 06:10 PM)
Correct right my explanation on what you are doing?Ultimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V)发 8ight 发, Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)
Ultimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V)发 8ight 发, Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)
Aug 12 2017, 07:58 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,354 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Aug 12 2017, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(OPT @ Aug 12 2017, 08:05 PM) If what I said is right, one already have the money to settle. The question is no point settling if there's 0% interest balance transfer. Can defer payment and earn interest while waiting to settle the payment without penalty Eg. Can pay RM12k now and earn no interest/return. But with balance transfer, one can postpone payment to say 6 months before paying the full RM12k. Earn 6 months interest. Then when approaching the 6th month, find another place to do balance transfer and defer the payment further for another 6 months. That way, one get 12 months of balance transfer. That RM12k is earning money for 12 months while you are waiting to pay it in full (when there's no more balance transfer). Gen-X taught this trick before. One can use this method to earn extra money while waiting to settle the debts in full without incurring any penalty or cause a blacklist of name provided one have money. For those who reported this post, thank you very much. Why? - Don't be jealous that someone is using amanah saham to earn extra pocket money from the bank. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 12 2017, 08:38 PM |
Aug 13 2017, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(Jackieboy @ Aug 13 2017, 05:06 AM) Not applicable in real life, 0% interest but there are fees for transferring balance from bank to bank, RM200 each time. I don't think all banks charge you fees for doing balance transfer. Some have 0% fees, 0% interest.QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 13 2017, 10:42 AM) Actually any debt to invest is not a good idea. I believed in Gen-X. He already showed it's feasible by using FDs. This is using amanah saham (higher returns than FD). As mentioned by him, before doing a balance transfer, make sure we already have cash ready to pay it off or else stay away from balance transfer.See bow the asb loan is falling. Unless, you very sure can earn more than 10%.... I actually agree to using this method to earn extra pocket money. After all, is money we use everyday (groceries, petrol, bills) not like we go out of the way (buy expensive item just to do trick which I believed is stupid). Why pay off early when bank let you postponed payment without penalty? Let your money work in between. This method have been used by - Gen-X - Mr Stingy This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 13 2017, 11:25 AM |
Aug 13 2017, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 13 2017, 11:34 AM) Yes I also learned from Gen-x. I was sceptical at first but got hooked eventually, pairing BT with ASx which is very liquid. I also timed my credit cards due dates at the beginning of d month so I can maximize my ASx returns. Is there really a fee as what Jackieboy said (RM200/transfer)?https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3918057/+3600 Thanks for the heads up. |
Aug 13 2017, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(Ryk @ Aug 13 2017, 12:20 PM) Quite confused now. Say you have RM1000 (BT is usually more worth to do if have >RM5k or more) in card A. Limit is RM2k. Apply new card from Bank B with limit RM2k. Ask Bank B to absorb all debts on card A. When that happens, Bank B pays bank A in in full and takes over the debts from Bank A.I have only one credit card A, available balance isn't much. So I have to apply a new credit card B, then BT the balance A to B? Afterward when A is clear, then I can use it to invest in ASNB? Now, Card A - RM0k debts, RM2k limit Card B - RM1k debts, RM2k limit Now you have 6 months to pay back Bank B RM1000 (since there's no fees, no interest). You now have RM1000 "free" to do what you want for 6 months. This RM1000 which you set aside initially to pay off Card A. Since you have 6 months to pay Bank B, you can put your money into that RM1000 into whatever you want (FDs/Amanah saham/unit trust/stocks) to get extra pocket money. At the end of 6 months, if there's no more free BT (you can do a BT back to bank A if they are having a BT program that time and continue the cycle), you take out them RM1000 (provided you didn't make a loss) and settle the RM1000 in full with Bank B. Of course all this while your bank B limit is left with RM1000 only. To prevent losing the RM1000 capital, people will put into FDs. This is the first time I heard of people utilizing Amanah saham in place of FDs. |
Aug 13 2017, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(OPT @ Aug 13 2017, 12:57 PM) Damn...baru tau ini You should have learnt this from Gen-X before he went MIA. Siapa offering CC BT directly PM me Update: After reading the BT thread..looks like it's not my cup of tea. Afterall, I'm just ikan bilis, not much CC spending QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 13 2017, 01:20 PM) MyASNBThis post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 13 2017, 02:01 PM |
Aug 13 2017, 02:12 PM
Aug 13 2017, 02:28 PM
Aug 13 2017, 02:50 PM
Aug 13 2017, 09:16 PM
Aug 13 2017, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 13 2017, 10:31 PM) Haha, bro,... straightforward answer,... really pro,... How can be either Bumi or non bumi? ASNB is only for malaysians. And mlaaysians are divided into 2. If org asli, is bumi putra. If lain-lain could be non bumi lo.OKay, what if neither Bumi nor Non-Bumi,... ? What to buy ?? Is not open to foreigners. |
Aug 14 2017, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Aug 13 2017, 10:59 PM) thank you for the advice. That's memang official answer. But we know better however the above 3 they told me quota full may i know why that 2 they recommend is bad? just curious Simple 1) service charge of 5.5% which means the fund need to perform more than that to just break even. 2) Better funds exist (Kenanga Growth fund can be bought via FSM MY). KGF have been shown able to beat this ASG for 10 years+ Of course, there are other better funds than KGF too but I use KGF vs ASG because both invest in bursa saham. If you buy KGF via FSM MY, service charge is only 1.75%. QUOTE(rachy @ Aug 13 2017, 11:27 PM) Hi, could I get some advice on how you guys make money from this? Non bumi because it's applicable to me. As in do you invest in all 3 equal amounts or how? I have all 3 now. Think of it like FD. Put in money, after 1 year, they will give you min 6%. If you don't withdraw, it will be rollover and next year you have more money; original money + 6% money + new 6% monwy (this is compounding at work).Many thanks in advance Instead of FD where you need to go chase banks for best rate (in the range of 4%+), this is set and forget at 6%+ will roll into your account every year. Plus point, you can withdraw anytime and still get the return provided you still have some left over money inside unlike FD where you forfeit your interest if you withdraw early. Now, if you don't withdraw anything, basically your original money will double some where in the 10th-11th year. (rule of 72. 72/6 = 12 year) When you sell your units, you get your money lo. But keep in mind, lots of people will snap up the units you sold This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 14 2017, 12:07 AM |
Aug 14 2017, 12:46 AM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 14 2017, 12:40 AM) Got,... those who have two or more citizenships, but still held-on to their ICs,... which is not legal in Malaysia. If a Malaysian has obtained Citizenship in another country, he/she must surrender the Msian Citizenship, and sell-off their PNB Units for true Malaysians to buy. Wah macam itu pun boleh. I know of Malaysians who studied overseas under gov't scholarships earlier from my old days who are still holding-on to their ASB units and have the dividend TT"ed to them every year. Haha,... and guess what, they never returned to Msia and have gotten Aussie citizenships. So,... they can claim Aussie benefits and PNB dividends. I know PNB is monitoring this forum,... |
Aug 14 2017, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 14 2017, 09:25 AM) Hmm.. But esther and evergreen don't have compounding work... Actually can. You don't withdraw Ester bond, value will keep increasing mah. Can the ROI of fp and Esther+Evergreen comparable? And my evergreen I buy at 2% sc cbbbbbb arrrgfhhhh. Why fsm want take my .25% last year!!!!! Same for KGF. If the fund manager keep buying the same counter with the dividends, he/she is basically compounding it. |
Aug 14 2017, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(9GAG/8FACT @ Aug 14 2017, 09:50 AM) Eg. Amanah saham is really compounding at work. Every year you get 6%. As long as you don't touch that 6%, next year, you get 6% on top of original money + old 6% returns.For other unit trust, if you don't withdraw, later the value drop, it needs time to catch back up. |
Aug 14 2017, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(9GAG/8FACT @ Aug 14 2017, 10:15 AM) Thank you for the explanation. But for unit trust there is yearly dividend which is like interest right? Wrong. Unit trust dividends/distribution are not like amanah saham fixed price dividends. Why?When they give you say 1%, the NAV of unit trust will also drop by 1%. So in actual fact, unit trust dividend does nothing This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 14 2017, 10:28 AM |
Aug 14 2017, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(rachy @ Aug 14 2017, 10:55 AM) Thank you! No. Reasons:And good time to top up on AS1M now since its almost the end of its financial year? 1) ASM is very easy to get so my ASM is the highest 2) ASW is hard to get so of course it's smaller than ASM. But I have topped it up 3) Leave AS1M aside (the least amount) cause I prefer to topup ASM and ASW 4) Decide to shift my money elsewhere for better returns - Putting money into amanah saham = opportunity loss - Also putting money in amanah saham doesn't protect my money from depreciating. - Only recently have I come back to amanah saham as a temporary parking place It's entirely up to you. It may be right in that way. Or if you prefer to be paid out 3x/year, then invest in all 3. No harm getting paid 3x/year vs only 2x/year. ASW, ASM, AS1M can be bought anytime. Doesn't need to wait for end of the financial year. |
Aug 14 2017, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(9GAG/8FACT @ Aug 14 2017, 11:00 AM) Yes. But as I said if they give you 7 sen worth of dividend/unit, the NAV will drop by 7 sen. Then then they add in back this new units into your holdings. Hence, nothing change. Give you 7sen dividend, NAV will drop by 7sen.In stocks, say ori price is RM1. Give you 7 sen dividend, by right the price should drop to RM0.93. However the price can just drop say RM0.98 only/maintain at RM1 or even increase say to RM1.03 That's why unit trust dividend and stock dividend are different story. Unit trust dividend, no change in overall value. Stocks dividend as mentioned above, up to the market sentiment |
Aug 14 2017, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(rachy @ Aug 14 2017, 11:06 AM) Ah thank you! May I know why you prefer ASM and ASW over AS1M? ASM and ASW are more or less the same. AS1M seems to always kena hentam by bad results (maybe just luck that market didn't perform well all the way until dividend day?). However, if you take long term view, all 3 more or less the same. And is the dividend actually calculated on a monthly basis? Yes. Based on the lowest amount you have inside for that month. |
Aug 14 2017, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(rachy @ Aug 14 2017, 11:20 AM) I apologize if this is a stupid question, still trying to understand how the dividends are paid. So dividends are paid once a year only, but calculated on monthly basis? Yes that's right.Eg. You have RM10k already all this while. Eg 1 1/8 until 31/8 didn't topup Dividend for month of August will be RM10k x 1/12 x 0.06 Eg 2 1/8 - topup RM1k, no more topup after that Dividend for month of August will be RM11k x 1/12 x 0.06 Eg 3 2/8 - topup RM1k, no more topup after that Dividend for month of August will be RM10k x 1/12 x 0.06 (lowest amount) Eg 4 15/8 withdraw RM1k, no activity after that Dividend for month of August will be RM9k x 1/12 x 0.06 (lowest amount) That's why people who want to maximise dividends will topup on 30/31 of the previous month and 1st of the present month |
| Change to: | 2.2793sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:03 AM |