126 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Cycling, Any cyclist here??

plkvoon
post May 24 2010, 06:10 PM

358 posts

Is Giant bikes worth the money? Looking at TCR comp1.
any comments on this bike?

I am a beginner in road biking, nvr ride on one. My previously own bike was a raleigh BMX model(long long time ago LOL)....
littlebeettle
post May 24 2010, 09:10 PM

1,099 posts

GIANT is a reputable brand indeed across the world. They produce expensive bikes such as for competition. However they do have budget level too.

Road bike usually need to measure your size. The bike body will need to suit your height so that you won't have after effect on your back after long cycling.

I would suggest you visit bike shop and get some advice from the seller or you can refer to youtube.

hope it help
wt_vinci
post May 24 2010, 09:45 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(scaygoo @ May 24 2010, 05:16 PM)
hi.. can anyone recommend me a bicycle shop around PJ than sell bikes less than $400 (no i'm not talking bout kids bike heh) 
Also how much money should i budget for a decent bicycle helmet & glove?
S$ 400 or RM 400? If you want to get a decent bike, aim for at least RM 1k new. Other than that, suffer in hell! hahaha! Jus tkidding ;-)

A decent helmet would cost you around RM100 or less. A more expensive ones are lighter though. Gloves should be around RM 100 too for a good one. I got a crappy one for RM 40 and it almost got me killed because it got stuck in my handlebar...

There is one shop near Taman Bahagia LRT station called KSH Merida. You won't miss it because they have a big banner with the Merida word. I like going to that shop compared to another nearby shop called BikePro in Taman Megah. Reason being the people in BikePro are one arrogant people. Unless you have loads of money or want to buy something expensive, they won't even bother about you. Their boss is the super arrogant ones, I guess their mechanics learnt it from him. This was the deciding factor when I wanted to buy my own road bike with a budget of RM 3k. People in KSH are friendly and responsive. Thumbs up to them!

Cheers,
Winston
Bil88
post Jun 14 2010, 02:00 AM

So many cyclists here!! ... wonder anyone having folder bike for outing, commuting by bike / bus / train (LRT/KTM/etc.) Besides the usual cycling Ulu Langat, PutraJaya, Gombak Orang Asli, etc ... anyone here game for mix-commuting adventure outings?

This post has been edited by Bil88: Jun 14 2010, 02:01 AM
littlebeettle
post Jul 5 2010, 10:16 AM

1,099 posts

Had my first trip to Genting Sempah yesterday.

It was a good exposure..although it is little bit tiring after the ride. Consider a good effort for first timer like me.

Nice environment, peaceful area....lots of bike enthusiast there man!!!!
Cycle more guys!!
Bigfoot-X
post Jul 5 2010, 02:06 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(wt_vinci @ May 24 2010, 09:45 PM)
S$ 400 or RM 400? If you want to get a decent bike, aim for at least RM 1k new. Other than that, suffer in hell! hahaha! Jus tkidding ;-)

A decent helmet would cost you around RM100 or less. A more expensive ones are lighter though. Gloves should be around RM 100 too for a good one. I got a crappy one for RM 40 and it almost got me killed because it got stuck in my handlebar...
There is one shop near Taman Bahagia LRT station called KSH Merida. You won't miss it because they have a big banner with the Merida word. I like going to that shop compared to another nearby shop called BikePro in Taman Megah. Reason being the people in BikePro are one arrogant people. Unless you have loads of money or want to buy something expensive, they won't even bother about you. Their boss is the super arrogant ones, I guess their mechanics learnt it from him.  This was the deciding factor when I wanted to buy my own road bike with a budget of RM 3k. People in KSH are friendly and responsive. Thumbs up to them!
Cheers,
Winston
I haven't been cycling since I was in Form 4 or 5 (and that was way back in 1995/1996!!!) and recently wanted to pick it up again.

I used to have a LOOK roadbike but I can't remember the specs - I got it from a trade with a friend. Realized that my parents had given it away a few years ago when we were moving house. I didn't realize it was gone for years until one fine day when I went to the back of my house and wanted to check on the bike! I've wanted a MTB since I was 15 years old and finally got one 16 years later! biggrin.gif

I went to almost all the shops in PJ/Taman Tun area. However, didn't go to BikePro cause I think they've moved to Taman SEA nearby.

I agree that the guys at KSH are friendly. After months of researching, I finally settled for a MTB from KSH TTDI.

littlebeettle
post Jul 6 2010, 10:18 PM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Jul 5 2010, 02:06 PM)
I haven't been cycling since I was in Form 4 or 5 (and that was way back in 1995/1996!!!) and recently wanted to pick it up again.

I used to have a LOOK roadbike but I can't remember the specs - I got it from a trade with a friend. Realized that my parents had given it away a few years ago when we were moving house. I didn't realize it was gone for years until one fine day when I went to the back of my house and wanted to check on the bike! I've wanted a MTB since I was 15 years old and finally got one 16 years later! biggrin.gif

I went to almost all the shops in PJ/Taman Tun area. However, didn't go to BikePro cause I think they've moved to Taman SEA nearby.

I agree that the guys at KSH are friendly. After months of researching, I finally settled for a MTB from KSH TTDI.
Glad to hear that you are falling in love again.

I also took some time to go back into cycling ever since gotten my driving licence drool.gif
hitokai
post Jul 7 2010, 04:37 AM

350 posts

anyone can recommend a bike shop in kuantan... any recommendation on mountain bike?

This post has been edited by hitokai: Jul 7 2010, 04:42 AM
LightEnchanter
post Jul 7 2010, 10:38 AM

336 posts

do you guys know anywhere in pj or kl area has racing bicycle rental service? with helmet, equipment and stuffs, thanks
ncbf
post Jul 7 2010, 08:29 PM

O������ŧє�м
1,787 posts

QUOTE(LightEnchanter @ Jul 7 2010, 10:38 AM)
do you guys know anywhere in pj or kl area has racing bicycle rental service? with helmet, equipment and stuffs, thanks
Hi, you can try The Bike Boutique @ Damansara Perdana

Added on July 7, 2010, 8:30 pm
QUOTE(littlebeettle @ Jul 5 2010, 10:16 AM)
Had my first trip to Genting Sempah yesterday.

It was a good exposure..although it is little bit tiring after the ride. Consider a good effort for first timer like me.

Nice environment, peaceful area....lots of bike enthusiast there man!!!!
Cycle more guys!!
Hi there, which bike and jersey were you in? see whether I've noticed you while riding up =D, if u're riding since 7.30am that is ...

This post has been edited by ncbf: Jul 7 2010, 08:30 PM
Bigfoot-X
post Jul 7 2010, 10:00 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(littlebeettle @ Jul 6 2010, 10:18 PM)
Glad to hear that you are falling in love again.

I also took some time to go back into cycling ever since gotten my driving licence  drool.gif
You're right - I stopped cycling a couple of years before I got my license I reckon.

This is what I got as I was looking around for a black MTB. Loving the matte black colours biggrin.gif

rjb123
post Jul 8 2010, 02:31 AM

1,820 posts

Glad to see a cyclist thread here biggrin.gif

I have a Cannondale Synapse bike in the UK, thinking of shipping it to KL. I cycle quite a bit in when in UK , cycle to office around 20KM per day and on weekends some trips 50-100KM

Now I'm staying by KL Sentral , Brickfields and I really want to bring my bike here even though a lot of traffic and hot weather. But cycling in the gym is too boring sad.gif

Is it a crazy / stupid idea to try and cycle around here? I really miss having my bike !!!
littlebeettle
post Jul 8 2010, 09:45 AM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(ncbf @ Jul 7 2010, 08:29 PM)
Hi, you can try The Bike Boutique @ Damansara Perdana

Added on July 7, 2010, 8:30 pm
Hi  there, which bike and jersey were you in? see whether I've noticed you while riding up =D, if u're riding since 7.30am that is ...
Haha...7:30 I was just started not long ago....

Black jersey with blue/black polygon 100 bike. Guess you are infront of me already. I went down quite late that day due to heavy rain.
littlebeettle
post Jul 8 2010, 10:05 AM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jul 8 2010, 02:31 AM)
Glad to see a cyclist thread here biggrin.gif

I have a Cannondale Synapse bike in the UK, thinking of shipping it to KL. I cycle quite a bit in when in UK , cycle to office around 20KM per day and on weekends some trips 50-100KM

Now I'm staying by KL Sentral , Brickfields and I really want to bring my bike here even though a lot of traffic and hot weather. But cycling in the gym is too boring sad.gif

Is it a crazy / stupid idea to try and cycle around here? I really miss having my bike !!!
cycling to work in KL city is kind off rare... tongue.gif

normally here we do day/night ride on selected highway or also uphill ride in Genting / Ulu Langat

It's a weekly event, so you may join icon_rolleyes.gif
ncbf
post Jul 8 2010, 07:28 PM

O������ŧє�м
1,787 posts

QUOTE(littlebeettle @ Jul 8 2010, 09:45 AM)
Haha...7:30 I was just started not long ago....

Black jersey with blue/black polygon 100 bike. Guess you are infront of me already. I went down quite late that day due to heavy rain.
ooo, didn't realize last week. But shouldn't be hard to notice your bike next time as Polygon bikes are not common in Genting Sempah. Heavy rain that time, I was on the way back from Bentong XD...yeah was cycling in the rain...
littlebeettle
post Jul 8 2010, 10:10 PM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(ncbf @ Jul 8 2010, 07:28 PM)
ooo, didn't realize last week. But shouldn't be hard to notice your bike next time as Polygon bikes are not common in Genting Sempah. Heavy rain that time, I was on the way back from Bentong XD...yeah was cycling in the rain...
ohh..
we forced to stop at the genting sempah R n R due to heavy rain..

Wow!! you continue to ride...must be pro already.

According to my friend who is also regular there, there will be some ppl will ride all the way to bentong and make a u turn.

I wish to do that. But first, need more training.

Dun forget to say hi to me when you see me next time whistling.gif

Perhaps, I would update this thread a day b4 I go thumbup.gif
ncbf
post Jul 10 2010, 06:49 PM

O������ŧє�м
1,787 posts

QUOTE(littlebeettle @ Jul 8 2010, 10:10 PM)
ohh..
we forced to stop at the genting sempah R n R due to heavy rain..

Wow!! you continue to ride...must be pro already.

According to my friend who is also regular there, there will be some ppl will ride all the way to bentong and make a u turn.

I wish to do that. But first, need more training.

Dun forget to say hi to me when you see me next time  whistling.gif

Perhaps, I would update this thread a day b4 I go  thumbup.gif
pro? not so fast, hopefully soon. haha
That's only my 2nd time riding to Bentong. just ride everyday or once every 2 days to Genting Sempah in the morning before your class or work, then you'll be fit enough to ride to bentong within 2-3 weeks.

Will you be riding tomorrow?
SUSSyphon
post Jul 10 2010, 06:51 PM

97 posts

Road is for cars not bicycle.
ncbf
post Jul 10 2010, 07:12 PM

O������ŧє�м
1,787 posts

QUOTE(Syphon @ Jul 10 2010, 06:51 PM)
Road is for cars not bicycle.
I'm so not gonna start another bike-car debate, if you dislike them, then don't drive on the road, that's all to it
littlebeettle
post Jul 11 2010, 12:38 PM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(ncbf @ Jul 10 2010, 06:49 PM)
pro? not so fast, hopefully soon. haha
That's only my 2nd time riding to Bentong. just ride everyday or once every 2 days to Genting Sempah in the morning before your class or work, then you'll be fit enough to ride to bentong within 2-3 weeks.

Will you be riding tomorrow?
Nope,
this two weekend, I would have something on.
Perhaps, i will go back on Aug. My bike also need to replce brake pad laugh.gif

126 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:25 AM