Interesting, I wonder if those modifier keys are reverse dyesubbed?
Also, Kailh BOX Navy and Jade are available on KBDFans' Taobao site too.
not sure what a reverse dye-subbed means, but when i looked closely to these modifier caps, they are like doing dye sublimation for all five surfaces. the key cap is white in color initially (thick pbt, which you can observe from the bottom. the dye color is like fused into the caps)
only modifiers have such treatments. the legends are normal dye subbed for both sets.
the overall quality is not bad actually. the surface is relatively smoother than varmilo caps.
also, there are some other new sets that are pbt based (different profiles, like modified sa - looks like sa, but shorter; still taller than oem)
for kailh box heavy or thick click switches, i might get some for reference and collection only. what i'm interested in more is if there is a silent version for their normal linear hehe
not sure what a reverse dye-subbed means, but when i looked closely to these modifier caps, they are like doing dye sublimation for all five surfaces. the key cap is white in color initially (thick pbt, which you can observe from the bottom. the dye color is like fused into the caps)
only modifiers have such treatments. the legends are normal dye subbed for both sets.
the overall quality is not bad actually. the surface is relatively smoother than varmilo caps.
also, there are some other new setsĀ that are pbt based (different profiles, like modified sa - looks like sa, but shorter; still taller than oem)
for kailh box heavy or thick click switches, i might get some for reference and collection only. what i'm interested in more is if there is a silent version for their normal linear hehe
Wow, 5 surface dye sub! How's the legend quality on those caps? are they sharp like the alphas?
Kailh haven't release any kind of silent switch yet, but one always can hope. Just imagining Box Red/Black Silent makes me drool
KBDFans also has their Aliaz switches up for pre-order: Link
Edit: Found out people are comparing Box thick click tactility to BKE Redux domes... Oh man, a highly tactile and crisp clicky switch, dayum this is tempting
This post has been edited by zongeva: Jan 10 2018, 11:59 AM
Wow, 5 surface dye sub! How's the legend quality on those caps? are they sharp like the alphas?
Kailh haven't release any kind of silent switch yet, but one always can hope. Just imagining Box Red/Black Silent makes me drool
KBDFans also has their Aliaz switches up for pre-order: Link
Edit: Found out people are comparing Box thick click tactility to BKE Redux domes... Oh man, a highly tactile and crisp clicky switch, dayum this is tempting
the legends on modifiers are sharp. they are the slim type some more. the background color tone is uniform (from my bare eyes)
some close-up shots:
i think this technology is around for quite sometimes already. varmilo and a few of other vendors have used the same technology to produce some of their caps quite recently also. it seems that they have found ways to reduce costs further for mass production.
hopefully if kailh produced silent versions, they can design the silencing part better.
imo gateron's implementation doesn't quite hit the spot. they are just slightly quieter than their normal linear. (they are still good switches especially after lubed, but the silencing and cushioned effects are quite off relatively) on the other hand, my silenced gk64 with lubed cherry mx silent red/black is almost quiet (still make a little sound on modifiers and space bar due to stabilizers, but the switches are good; and thick lube helps a lot)
the legends on modifiers are sharp. they are the slim type some more. the background color tone is uniform (from my bare eyes)
some close-up shots:
i think this technology is around for quite sometimes already. varmilo and a few of other vendors have used the same technology to produce some of their caps quite recently also. it seems that they have found ways to reduce costs further for mass production.
hopefully if kailh produced silent versions, they can design the silencing part better.
imo gateron's implementation doesn't quite hit the spot. they are just slightly quieter than their normal linear. (they are still good switches especially after lubed, but the silencing and cushioned effects are quite off relatively) on the other hand, my silenced gk64 with lubed cherry mx silent red/black is almost quiet (still make a little sound on modifiers and space bar due to stabilizers, but the switches are good; and thick lube helps a lot)
Super Lube 21030 at AceHardware. (recommended by sifus here; to me it's good stuff because it has similar chemical characteristics of those dupont grease, and this is a big tube for many many boards) i bought oil paint brushes for lubing from there too.
note that unlike others who look for optimal mixture solutions to preserve certain original feels of switches, i prefer thick lube/grease for my preferred switches, which are linear. i use the same grease for everything. for other type of switches, maybe other options are more optimal.
This post has been edited by horns: Jan 10 2018, 06:07 PM
some close-up shots:
haha... I just bought the cheese version of the keycaps you mentioned. Also got them Gateron silent reds. Anyway, you have any rattling issue with the space bar on your GK64? Mine rattle like crap. At least I think it's rattling quite a lot. How did you apply the lube on the stabilizers?
A few questions regarding the Super Lube 21030 you mentioned. Is it very thick like thick grease or more gel like? I bought this: https://www.lelong.com.my/cyclo-electrical-...7-01-Sale-I.htm but I am not sure if it's okay to use as it's like very thick grease and not really liquid form.
haha... I just bought the cheese version of the keycaps you mentioned. Also got them Gateron silent reds. Anyway, you have any rattling issue with the space bar on your GK64? Mine rattle like crap. At least I think it's rattling quite a lot. How did you apply the lube on the stabilizers?
A few questions regarding the Super Lube 21030 you mentioned. Is it very thick like thick grease or more gel like? I bought this: https://www.lelong.com.my/cyclo-electrical-...7-01-Sale-I.htm but I am not sure if it's okay to use as it's like very thick grease and not really liquid form.
yes the space bar rattles at stock. (the same but less obvious happens to modifiers too) it's caused by the stabilizers. however, i minimized the rattling by lubing all stabilizers, and inserts a small piece of sponge between the wire and the base of stabilizers. it still make noise, but with minimal rattles now.
do this when you swap to new switches. i followed these two youtube videos.
lubing stabilizers
fixing rattling stabilizers
i have also bought a few sets of new stabilizers so that i can do clipping modification on these cherry stabilizers later. (hopefully it will help also)
Super Lube is gel-like, not liquid. adjust the coating thickness by controlling the amount to apply with your brush. (usually you just need a thin coat on all points that cause frictions, and the spring) the one you have should work fine (dielectric grease; shown in the second video), but i am not sure. to me, as long as it's not corroding plastics or anything internal of your board, it's fine haha
edit: taking off stabilizers from the top plate is easy. there are videos showing how to do that also.
additionally you can add a layer of sound dampening materials between the pcb and base cover.
cheap dampening materials include shelf liners; i use the one with patterns in my gk64 with lubed gateron normal red/black, so that i don't need to cut holes for screw place holders
for my silenced gk64 with cherry mx silent red/black, i use the sound dampening material for car sound proofing (solid rubber-like; not the spongy type). this one has better silencing effect, but expensive.
This post has been edited by horns: Jan 10 2018, 08:39 PM
yes the space bar rattles at stock. (the same but less obvious happens to modifiers too) it's caused by the stabilizers. however, i minimized the rattling by lubing all stabilizers, and inserts a small piece of sponge between the wire and the base of stabilizers. it still make noise, but with minimal rattles now.
do this when you swap to new switches. i followed these two youtube videos.
lubing stabilizers
fixing rattling stabilizers
i have also bought a few sets of new stabilizers so that i can do clipping modification on these cherry stabilizers later. (hopefully it will help also)
Super Lube is gel-like, not liquid. adjust the coating thickness by controlling the amount to apply with your brush. (usually you just need a thin coat on all points that cause frictions, and the spring) the one you have should work fine (dielectric grease; shown in the second video), but i am not sure. to me, as long as it's not corroding plastics or anything internal of your board, it's fine haha
edit: taking off stabilizers from the top plate is easy. there are videos showing how to do that also.
additionally you can add a layer of sound dampening materials between the pcb and base cover.
cheap dampening materials include shelf liners; i use the one with patterns in my gk64 with lubed gateron normal red/black, so that i don't need to cut holes for screw place holders
for my silenced gk64 with cherry mx silent red/black, i use the sound dampening material for car sound proofing (solid rubber-like; not the spongy type). this one has better silencing effect, but expensive.
Thanks a gazillion for taking the time to reply bro. Much appreciated. I guess right now I just need to get myself some brushes, dampening material and also some stabilizers. Also wondering does original stabilizers plays a crucial part in minimizing them rattling sound. Apart from clipping and what not. I tried the way on one of the video. Placed a small piece of sponge and also lubing the metal part as shown. Somehow it help a bit but not to the extend of what I had hoped for. Perhaps I need to go the full distance as what you had done. Need to dismantle the case and also lubing it the proper way.
I think you can look at Leopold FC980M. Ultimate.Zone did sell them previously. Perhaps you can ask them about it. Last I asked it was selling for around RM539. https://www.facebook.com/UltimatedotZone/
Thanks a gazillion for taking the time to reply bro. Much appreciated. I guess right now I just need to get myself some brushes, dampening material and also some stabilizers. Also wondering does original stabilizers plays a crucial part in minimizing them rattling sound. Apart from clipping and what not. I tried the way on one of the video. Placed a small piece of sponge and also lubing the metal part as shown. Somehow it help a bit but not to the extend of what I had hoped for. Perhaps I need to go the full distance as what you had done. Need to dismantle the case and also lubing it the proper way.
Anyway, thanks again for the reply! Cheers!Ā
no problem hehe
to me it's true that these mods normally contribute a bit to the final outcome on its own. it's the combo of the mods that can give much better results. (lubed switches and stabilizers, sponge insertion, then dampening material)
just to make sure we're on the same page on rattling space bar, i mean the sound differences in this video.
the space bar does make noise after the mods, but now it's more like varmilo's or filco's space bar implementations. (maybe i do need to clip the stabilizers' legs to achieve the best results, but i am ok with the one without clipping) i've tried doing the way in the video initially, it's not good enough for me.
not sure about how original cherry stabilizers can help.
edit: i have to say that this is what i know for now. maybe there are better ways than to do all these.
This post has been edited by horns: Jan 11 2018, 12:05 PM
no problem hehe
to me it's true that these mods normally contribute a bit to the final outcome on its own. it's the combo of the mods that can give much better results. (lubed switches and stabilizers, sponge insertion, then dampening material)
just to make sure we're on the same page on rattling space bar, i mean the sound differences in this video.
the space bar does make noise after the mods, but now it's more like varmilo's or filco's space bar implementations. (maybe i do need to clip the stabilizers' legs to achieve the best results, but i am ok with the one without clipping) i've tried doing the way in the video initially, it's not good enough for me.
not sure about how original cherry stabilizers can help.
edit: i have to say that this is what i know for now. maybe there are better ways than to do all these.
Yup. Exactly as the video you shown. Anyway, I recorded mine. Have a look.
This post has been edited by antaras: Jan 11 2018, 02:16 PM
I think you can look at Leopold FC980M. Ultimate.Zone did sell them previously. Perhaps you can ask them about it. Last I asked it was selling for around RM539. https://www.facebook.com/UltimatedotZone/
oppppss o.o seem like overbudget gg i was expecting the price was around rm200-350 o.o
Yup. Exactly as the video you shown. Anyway, I recorded mine. Have a look.
oh you use clicky switches. it will be more obvious when you use linear switches.
about the space bar sound, yours is louder because of clicky switches. i'm using gk64 with lubed gateron red/silent black. i use silent black for modifiers and space bar (stabilizers lubed, but without sponge). mine is quieter because of the silent switches, but yes the rattling is still there, but not obvious now.
this is why i think clipping might help, because i am now comparing it with varmilo's in front of me. (varmilo uses cherry stabilizers, and from what i read, they are clipped. they are definitely lubed) the main difference is that the space bar on varmilo is like filco's, no rattling at all.
This post has been edited by horns: Jan 11 2018, 06:18 PM
oh you use clicky switches. it will be more obvious when you use linear switches.
about the space bar sound, yours is louder because of clicky switches. i'm using gk64 with lubed gateron red/silent black. i use silent black for modifiers and space bar (stabilizers lubed, but without sponge). mine is quieter because of the silent switches, but yes the rattling is still there, but not obvious now.
this is why i think clipping might help, because i am now comparing it with varmilo's in front of me. (varmilo uses cherry stabilizers, and from what i read, they are clipped. they are definitely lubed) the main difference is that the space bar on varmilo is like filco's, no rattling at all.
Okay, maybe I should had pressed the space bar a little softer. hahaha... The space bar is using Kailh box black actually. Box white for the top number rows, box brown for characters keys and box black for modifiers. So, in a way, that kinda illustrate how rattly it is. XD
This post has been edited by antaras: Jan 11 2018, 06:44 PM
Okay, maybe I should had pressed the space bar a little softer. hahaha... The space bar is using Kailh box black actually. Box white for the top number rows, box brown for characters keys and box black for modifiers. So, in a way, that kinda illustrate how rattly it is. XD
oh haha yeah maybe you hit the space bar too hard. that level of rattling is not normal. when they're at stock, the space bars of my gk64s do rattle, but they're not that loud. (the switch was unlubed cherry mx red)
now i still feel slight rattling when i tap the bar lightly.
also, i found that kailh box linear makes relatively louder noise than cherry mx and gateron linear when keys bottom out.
edit: ok now i have clipped and lubed stabilizers for space bar installed. it's making relatively less noise compared to unclipped. (now still without sponge) i guess it will be better when i put the sponge in. (now lazy)
note that it's still not as good as varmilo's. i started to think about replacing stock stabilizers, because one thing i noticed about them in gk64: the one i installed for the space bar is kind of loosed when they are secured to the top plate. i guess this might be the main cause to rattling effect.
This post has been edited by horns: Jan 12 2018, 01:30 AM
the last time i asked they said stock will be in feb, but it wont be very many as they dont sell alot of leopolds unfortunately
hello folks, long time lurker, but not new to the scene i guess, mostly active on r/mk and the fb group
current board is an anne pro w/ gat browns + dsa dolch caps but im slowly buying parts to build my own custom, maybe kbd8x or kbd75 i have an igk61 from the reddit GB on order mostly as a tester board
im a linear guy but enjoy the occasional gat yellow also very interested in the new box navies because why not!