122 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Technical Sony PlayStation Portable for Beginners, General PSP Q&A and Homebrew Discussion

Twin_Sparx
post Mar 4 2007, 10:25 PM

127 posts

Hey, great writeup for newbies!!!

My girlfriend just got me a PSP yesterday... silver edition. So happy! smile.gif
Firmware is version 3.03 so I think no homebrews lah!! I also have a VAIO SZ38GP, so so far, no need to connect USB etc... just pop in the MS and everything can move around freely. I also use Sonicstage alot since I'm from a dying breed using MD and Hi-MDs... so most of my music was already in ATRAC3 format... copied over and waalaa... plays instantly on my PSP. Now, this is what I call, convergence!!!

A silly question.... currently, my VAIO is set up on a LAN network. How do I set it up so that I can surf wirelessly on my PSP.

Thanks!
King83
post Mar 5 2007, 02:10 PM

I'm the guy your mother warned you about
5,237 posts

QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Mar 3 2007, 01:36 PM)
but i've watched in youtube,psp infected by virus,n dat psp bricked.make me scare to buy lah
don't buy then...
computer also can kena infected by virus... in fact, it's even more common.
Don't use computer then.

btw, like every virus, there is an anti-virus

Added on March 6, 2007, 10:13 amsome newbie just posted that he wanted to buy a v3.11 and downgrade it.
If u're reading this, that's not possible.
Highest fw which u can downgrade is v3.03 (not even v3.10)

This post has been edited by King83: Mar 6 2007, 10:14 AM
davincci_ph
post Mar 6 2007, 10:15 AM

104 posts

I m going to buy a unit of psp. it is version 3.11 and i was told that i can bring it to shop to downgrade it to version 3.10e to play ahem games without umd.
jz wanna know izzit truth? can i do it by myself? thanks....
KelvinThim
post Mar 6 2007, 10:31 AM

Validating
42 posts

HALO ALL!!!
I'VE GOT A QUESTION HERE...
JUZ NOW I UPGRADE TO 3.03-oec
BUT Y IT DOESN'T COME WITH THE RECOVERY FILE?
WHERE CAN I GET THE RECOVERY FILE OVER THE INTERNET?
King83
post Mar 6 2007, 10:35 AM

5,237 posts

QUOTE(davincci_ph @ Mar 6 2007, 10:15 AM)
I m going to buy a unit of psp. it is version 3.11 and i was told that i can bring it to shop to downgrade it to version 3.10e to play ahem games without umd.
jz wanna know izzit truth? can i do it by myself? thanks....
QUOTE(King83 @ Mar 5 2007, 02:10 PM)
some newbie just posted that he wanted to buy a v3.11 and downgrade it.
shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

subpar
post Mar 6 2007, 11:43 AM

I would totally turn lez for Effy...
827 posts

QUOTE(KelvinThim @ Mar 6 2007, 10:31 AM)
HALO ALL!!!
I'VE GOT A QUESTION HERE...
JUZ NOW I UPGRADE TO 3.03-oec
BUT Y IT DOESN'T COME WITH THE RECOVERY FILE?
WHERE CAN I GET THE RECOVERY FILE OVER THE INTERNET?
if you automatic one, u can download the 3.03 OE-A package auto installer. when u run it, there's 2 options for you:

1) to install 3.03 OE-A
2) to install the recovery folder thingamajig

choose option 2 lor.
DunkyKung
post Mar 6 2007, 03:52 PM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Mar 5 2007, 02:10 PM)
don't buy then...
computer also can kena infected by virus... in fact, it's even more common.
Don't use computer then.

btw, like every virus, there is an anti-virus

Added on March 6, 2007, 10:13 amsome newbie just posted that he wanted to buy a v3.11 and downgrade it.
thx for ur info smile.gif
ben3003
post Mar 6 2007, 06:14 PM

10,859 posts

how come i cant connect to my router? i am using linksys compact router.
SupeR_MariO
post Mar 6 2007, 06:29 PM

187 posts

HI all..try to get more info about Psp...finally read all the post in the thread...
but i still can't make clear about few question...
1.wat the diffirent between OE-C and OE-A, and wat it stand for ??
2.Wat is UMD mean??
3.according to DFlo, wat that mean by V1.50+V3.10=V3.10OE??
4.wat is homebrew??izzit homebrew=firmware??
5.y need to downgrade to V1.50 b4 upgrade to V3.xxOE 1st ??
6.izzit mean that V3.1 and above can't downgrade to OE??
hehe...thx everyone in advance... wink.gif wink.gif
King83
post Mar 6 2007, 06:47 PM

5,237 posts

QUOTE(SupeR_MariO @ Mar 6 2007, 06:29 PM)
HI all..try to get more info about Psp...finally read all the post in the thread...
but i still can't make clear about few question...
1.wat the diffirent between OE-C and OE-A, and wat it stand for ??
2.Wat is UMD mean??
3.according to DFlo, wat that mean by V1.50+V3.10=V3.10OE??
4.wat is homebrew??izzit homebrew=firmware??
5.y need to downgrade to V1.50 b4 upgrade to V3.xxOE 1st ??
6.izzit mean that V3.1 and above can't downgrade to OE??
hehe...thx everyone in advance... wink.gif  wink.gif
1. It stands for Open Edition. "A" is the first version, then came "A2", "B" and "C".. to fix bugs and add more features.

2. Universal Media Disc, the disc Sony created to let us play games with on our PSP.

3. v1.5 can run homebrew, v3.xx can't.
v3.xxOE is actually a hybrid of the 2, that's why it has the latest functionality of a v3.xx and it can run homebrews.

4. Homebrew is software or programs written by people not from Sony. They make the PSP more powerful. The 3.xxOE is a homebrew.
Firmware is the PSP's operating system. Think of firmware as "microsoft windows" for ur PSP. And again, the 3.xxOE is a firmware and also a homebrew (cos it's not written by Sony).

5. Like i said, v1.5 can run homebrews. And 3.xxOE is a homebrew... so u need to downgrade it to 1.5 before u can use homebrew.

6. As of today, 3.03 is the highest firmware you can downgrade. You can't downgrade a 3.10 or a 3.11. If possible, try getting a 2.80 or under firmware, it's easier to downgrade from that fw.

SupeR_MariO
post Mar 7 2007, 09:38 AM

187 posts

o..icic...thx king ya..
still hv some question...hehe,
1. mean OE-C is the latest open edition lo?
2. can i said like this ?? firmware = version
3. homebrew mean "p!r@ted" game??
4. if OE-C and OE-A not issue by sony, right ?? then can play both ori and "specific game ""

Added on March 7, 2007, 9:40 amo..icic...thx king ya..
4. if OE-C and OE-A not issue by sony, right ?? then can play both ori and "specific game ""??
5. if get PSP outside sony shop, won't get any warranty on hardware and software ??
wat version recommended to i get ?? izzit V3.03oec instantly??
thx all in advance again!!!

This post has been edited by SupeR_MariO: Mar 7 2007, 09:40 AM
King83
post Mar 7 2007, 10:04 AM

5,237 posts

QUOTE(SupeR_MariO @ Mar 7 2007, 09:38 AM)
o..icic...thx king ya..

Added on March 7, 2007, 9:40 amo..icic...thx king ya..
4. if OE-C and OE-A not issue by sony, right ?? then can play both ori and "specific game ""??
5. if get PSP outside sony shop, won't get any warranty on hardware and software ??
  wat version recommended to i get ?? izzit V3.03oec instantly??
  thx all in advance again!!!
1. Depends... For 3.03 OE, revision C is the latest. For 3.10 OE, A' a.k.a A2 is the latest.
for more info, visit this site
2. yes
3. I already explained what homebrew is. Pirated games is known as iso or cso. oops tongue.gif, sorry mod tongue.gif
4. Yes
5. No warranty from sony, but should have from the shop.
get lah 1.5 or any OE will do.
WilliamG
post Mar 7 2007, 02:35 PM

142 posts

I saw some ppl posting the gig pack psp...n the psp is in diff shape the corner kinda round n not so big compare to normal psp...is ther anything like tat?

Wats the diff with gig pack psp?
mambo
post Mar 7 2007, 02:43 PM

Me And My Perverted MInd... Never Alone
679 posts

for what i know all psp hardware are the same... just the colour and the content of the package difference. mind to show us the one that u see..
SupeR_MariO
post Mar 7 2007, 03:00 PM

187 posts

o...thx again, king..
Hehe, few question again o...
hope the following question not a silly question.....
if a silly question, pls forgive me as a new learner....
k...here it is...
1. is there any different if i buy V3.03OE instantly from shop and buy from V1.5 the upgrade it later??
2. if upgrade later, izzit cost more money ??
3. bcoz my thinking is why market hv V3.03oe,that already modified..y still ask me get V1.5 de ??refering to DFlo firmware chart...V3.03 is more advance then V1.50.,coz V1.50 don't hv WIFI, etc..
4. is there psp hv build in memory ??
5. where the PSp hardware from, which selling custom firmware 1.?? Fake 1 ??are those PSP hardware in low quality compare with buy in sony shop??
hope it all not a silly question...
many many thank to all....
good day.....
King83
post Mar 7 2007, 05:19 PM

5,237 posts

i have given u a link the last time....
i think i need to give u another link...
this is where u get the updates.... upgrade urself.

click PSP hacks on the left, read the tutorials there.

This post has been edited by King83: Mar 7 2007, 05:25 PM
snipersnake
post Mar 7 2007, 05:20 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

iso is not pirate, iso is its image in bootable form.
King83
post Mar 7 2007, 05:26 PM

5,237 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 7 2007, 05:20 PM)
don't confuse him lah...
iso is pirate, let's just leave it at that tongue.gif
MR.Shiney
post Mar 7 2007, 05:49 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 7 2007, 05:20 PM)
yes, snipersnake is correct. iso is a virtual representation of a physical disc.
hello... wiki anyone?...

QUOTE(King83 @ Mar 7 2007, 05:26 PM)
don't confuse him lah...
iso is pirate, let's just leave it at that  tongue.gif
iso is commonly linked to pirated stuffs. it is actually depends on HOW u
use it. if u actally own one ( e.g a game ) and trying to make a backup. its legal.
if u dont own it. but got the iso. its illegal. its just like having freebies.

pasal nie pon nak menang jugak ker..
SupeR_MariO
post Mar 7 2007, 06:08 PM

187 posts

thx ...mr shinney to explain wat iso mean..i got it thx...
sorry to king... hope that not make u angry la.. sad.gif
coz i don 't really know more about it:stars: rclxub.gif ...i just can stop addicted with it(psp)...and try to make more clear b4 buy it...i don't wish to be to be "tipu"...
anyway thx to all.... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

122 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:07 PM